Product Reviews

Cranberry Joy Body Butter

Cranberry Joy Body Butter
Average Customer Rating:
3.875 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
rating snapshot (56 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
3
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 star
5
68%would recommend to a friend
Customer Reviews for Cranberry Joy Body Butter
Review 1 for Cranberry Joy Body Butter
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Location: Binghamton
Gender: Female
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Smells Like Beer!
Date:December 10, 2012
I thought it was just me, but when my husband said something in the room smelled like old beer I said, "It's my cranberry body butter!" The fermented-fruit smell goes away after a couple minutes then it smells fine, but the initial whiff is very beer-like! :) Olive Body Butter is good, has a clean scent that my husband also uses on his dry skin.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cranberry Joy Body Butter
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: Brooklyn, MI
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Beer
Date:November 30, 2012
All I can say I put it on and smelled like beer all day. I love the body shop and use alot of there products. First time I had to return a product. Yuk.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cranberry Joy Body Butter
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: Hawthorne
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Daily
I really wanted to love it but...
Date:January 10, 2014
So, I have been wanting to buy the Body Shop's cranberry Christmas body butter ever since I smelled it for the first time about 15 years ago. I could never quite justify the expense though, and now that I make a bit more money I thought why not buy it? I was so disappointed though, I have a peach body butter that is extremely hydrating on my hands and body, but the cranberry seems to leave an oily residue, and when I wipe that off my hands are dry. Being that it's winter and that I work with paper this is a huge problem, as I start to get a rash if my skin is to dry.
I don't buy Bath and Body or Victoria's Secret because there products aren't hydrating and I was expecting better from the Body Shop, I feel extremely let down. The smell is ok, I don't smell beer like everyone else does, but it's not great. I cannot, however, complain about the price, as I got three for $5 each plus my love your body discount :) I'm going back to the Peach, and I might try Mango next. Please do better next year Body Shop!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cranberry Joy Body Butter
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Hubbard, OH
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Combination
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
Surprising
Date:January 9, 2014
I had not read the reviews before I purchased this product, and so when I looked at them after I had placed my online order, I panicked. All of the reviews citing that it smelled like beer made me freak out. I had gotten it on sale, but what on earth was I going to do with a beer scented lotion. When my package arrived, I opened in fearfully and sniffed the Cranberry Joy and... Well, I fell in love. It smells nothing like beer to me, it had the soft tart smell of cranberries, with just a touch of sweetness, and then a deliciously natural touch of plant. The scent actually reminded me a lot of my favorite body butter, The Blueberry!
The texture is perfect to me as well. I find some of the ones I have purchased to be too runny, and ones like Vanilla Bliss to be too thick for day use. I love this scent so much. I wish it wasn't seasonal!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cranberry Joy Body Butter
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Location: boston, ma
Body Shop employee: No
First body butter....can't get over the scent
Date:January 6, 2014
For some reason, I decided in the store that this smelled good enough (the $5 sale applied to this or the ginger one so I went with this one)...however, that night I kept smelling something I couldn't pinpoint. I put it on at night before bed as well and the texture is so dreamy that I wanted to love it. I kept smelling something that reminded me of cigarettes for some reason but reading everyone say it smells like beer made me realize YES that's the smell I keep thinking of. It smells like cranberry beer...which people might like as a beverage, but probably not as a body product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cranberry Joy Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Monroe
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
Best Purchase Ever
Date:December 29, 2013
I bought this product on sale for only $5 instead of $20. And let me just say... This product smells amazing, creamy, and one of my best purchases. People says it smells like beer, but I really don't think so. It smells like cranberries. So I would definitely recommend this product to absolutely any one!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cranberry Joy Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Denmark, copenhagen
Body Shop employee: Yes
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Normal
SkinConcern: Fine Lines
Frequency: Daily
Smell before you buy!!!
Date:December 28, 2013
This body butter has the best smell ever! If you smells it before you buy it! Some of the cranberry joy body butters smells like beer, and others smells like fruity cranberry! So smell it before you buy it, and you will love it. It makes my skin sooooo soft! I love it!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cranberry Joy Body Butter
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Other
Still Not Sure
Date:December 18, 2013
When I took the first smell of this butter I hated it. My boyfriend even said it smelled like beer and flowers instead of fruity cranberry. However, when I used it, it did smell a little better. Good thing this was a free product.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cassy
 
Please wait while more information about Cassy is loaded.
Additional information about Cassy could not be loaded.
I like it
Posted January 11, 2014
It has just a whiff of a beer smell when it's in the jar, but once I've had it on my skin it smells wonderful and not like beer at all. I live in the desert, and the butter works great on my dry skin making it soft and supple. It goes on nicely and absorbs super fast. I also bought it on sale and I'm really glad I purchased 2 jars since I plan on continuing to use this product.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Cranberry Joy Body Butter
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: St Peters, MO
Body Shop employee: No
Smells like beer! Seriously!
Date:December 13, 2013
I love The Body Shop and have been going here for many years. I love the body butters as well. This is the exception! I had a coupon for a free body butter but it could only be one of 3 holiday scents. I chose this one but that was a mistake. I got it home and used it for the first time and realized that it smells just like beer. I thought I was crazy but I had a few friends smell it and they all agree. Awful. :(
Will still shop there all the time but I will be more careful with the scents I choose
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cranberry Joy Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Southeast Michigan
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: Daily
The best cranberry
Date:December 12, 2013
I LOVE this! It smells like authentic cranberry. It's a lovely, fresh, winter scent. I like its balance; it's dark enough to be a winter scent and light enough to cut through the dullness that winter can bring as well. Not to mention, it feels wonderful.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cranberry Joy Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Greenville
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Dry
Frequency: Daily
Tart and wonderful!
Date:November 27, 2013
This is one of my winter staples! It's very moisturizing to dry skin, but it doesn't leave a greasy film. It smells amazing-- very tart and savory but still wintry. I highly recommend it.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AmyL
 
Please wait while more information about AmyL is loaded.
Additional information about AmyL could not be loaded.
Does not smell like cranberry!
Posted December 12, 2013
I'm a big fan of The Body Shop, and I have many body butters that I've been using and enjoying for years - Satsuma, peach, coconut, etc - all are true to their scent and a pleasure to use. Cranberry Joy is the first one that I actually threw in the garbage the day after I received it. So disappointing! I wish I had read the reviews here first, because it absolutely does not smell like cranberry - a little bit when you first open it, but on my skin it reeked of grapefruit (and not in a good way!) I had used it on my hands before bed, tried to sleep, and then actually got out of bed to wash it off because I couldn't handle the smell. The grapefruit smell actually transformed into something really unpleasant (that I won't specify here). Very, very disappointing.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Cranberry Joy Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Neenah
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Shine
Frequency: Daily
Smells Like Cranberries-for real!
Date:November 19, 2013
I just bought this and I have never tried body butter before. The smell is definitely of cranberries mixed with shea butter. It smells absolutely divine! It goes on smooth and the scent lasts for awhile. Plan on using this twice a day until I use it up. Great Product!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cranberry Joy Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Racine
Body Shop employee: No
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Normal
SkinConcern: Other
Frequency: Daily
Not like beer......
Date:October 29, 2013
I honestly don't know how anyone can say this smells like beer. It just smells like cranberry to me. Even after it's been on the whole day. This is one of those fragrances that smells awesome anytime, but even better around Christmas time to get you in the holiday spirit! Well done!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cranberry Joy Body Butter
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: San Diego
Body Shop employee: No
Weird Background Scent
Date:October 20, 2013
Years ago, I purchased Cranberry-scented body butter and loved it. Despite the reviews that claimed that the Cranberry body butter smelled like beer, I ordered it on-line. Unfortunately, the reviewers were right - there's a weird background, fermented smell. I returned it at a store in exchange for one of my favorites, Vanilla. Hopefully, the Body Shop has adjusted their formula!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cranberry Joy Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Vermont
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
Smells fantastic, nice and creamy
Date:January 12, 2013
I love this body butter! A friend gave this to me for Christmas this year and I'm hooked- I've bought two more. The cranberry scent is fantastic- it's not too sweet or too fruity. I find that sometimes fruit lotions smell like they're made for little kids, but this one is more subtle and mature. It's nice and creamy and moisturizes well. Perfect for legs after shaving or hands at night. I'd recommend this to anyone!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cranberry Joy Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Tulsa
Gender: Female
Age: Above 60
Love all the Cranberry body items!
Date:January 10, 2013
I hold my breath every year, hoping The Body Shop will once again have Cranberry items at Christmas! I have been buying the Body Butter, Scrub, Hand Lotion and room spray for years and years. In fact, I stock up by buying as many Body Butters and Scrubs I will need for an entire year. I get it while it is available. I highly recommend these products!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Saly
 
Please wait while more information about Saly is loaded.
Additional information about Saly could not be loaded.
Cranberry body butter
Posted November 16, 2013
I'm a teacher. I used to wear this until about the FOURTH time someone walked into a room I was in and commented that it smelled like stale beer. That is NOT something I need students going home and saying I smell like.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Cranberry Joy Body Butter
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Glastonbury
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
Disappointed...
Date:January 9, 2013
I'd begin by saying that I absolutely LOVE the way TBS Body Butters moisturize and pamper my skin! The Cranberry Joy is no exception in its performance.
I just don't like the smell, there is something in the base of it that's simply very unpleasant, and very un-cranberry-like :( And, unfortunately, that undertone does not go away, it seems that it stays on the skin the longest..
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cranberry Joy Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: West Columbia
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
Great Moisterizer
Date:January 2, 2013
Smells great and I like that it is a little thicker for drier skin during the winter months.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cranberry Joy Body Butter
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: wisconsin
Gender: Female
Age: 50 -54
If you LOVE Beer!
Date:December 17, 2012
I wish I'd seen the "Beer" reviews before I purchased this!
Cranberry Joy sounds so good and I have loved other cranberry lotions (by other companies) so couldn't wait to try this one. I love body butter! always so creamy and absorbs so well, never greasy either. HOWEVER, this one just smells like beer! Someone said this scent fades over time but, I don't want to wait for that or smell like a beer 1st thing in the morning. Would you? Stick with the Olive Body butter. Nice herbal scent anyone can use. Even guys!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Cranberry Joy Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Arkadelphia, AR
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
Yum!
Date:November 26, 2012
This smells sooo good! And it works, too. Great for fall and winter.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>