Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Shea Whip Body Lotion

Shea Whip Body Lotion
Average Customer Rating:
4.541 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(61 Reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
rating snapshot (61 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
3
89%would recommend to a friend
Customer Reviews for Shea Whip Body Lotion
Review 1 for Shea Whip Body Lotion
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sheeba
Location: CA
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Good product in a not so good container
Date:April 5, 2012
I use a lot of this product. Stock up on it and use everyday after my shower because this product is so light on the skin. It gets absorbed quickly and yet leaves the skin with the nourished feel until the next bath. Although I find the smell overpowering at times.. it is an awesome moisturizer with no sticky feel. However, what I do find annoying is that it comes in this less than useful container and 1/4th of the product sticks to the bottom of it and the pump does NOT help you get this out and EVERY time I have to throw away unused product at the bottom. But I would continue to buy it.. :)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shea Whip Body Lotion
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cutiepie
Location: New York, NY
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Light and Non-Greasy!
Date:March 16, 2012
This lotion has a very nice and light feel and moisturizes very well without being greasy at all. I can use it in the summer as well, because its soo light!
Since its a lotion, its good for applying all over your body and smells well. Like other reviewers, I agree that it smells a little like perfume, unlike the Shea Body Butter.
The reason I gave it 4 stars is because it doesn't work very well in winters, especially if you have very dry skin. For small patches of very dry skin, you need the Shea or Mango Body Butter.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shea Whip Body Lotion
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
daltron3300
Location: Memphis
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
My favorite winter body lotion
Date:November 17, 2011
I buy this lotion every year. Love the scent and the viscosity/texture. Just right for the drier seasons, I use in combination with the extra-thick Shea body butter in dry patch areas.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shea Whip Body Lotion
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
cpatrish
Location: Terre Haute
Gender: Female
Age: Above 60
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Love this lotion
Date:October 2, 2011
I love the Shea Body Lotion because it is lightweight in texture and moisturizing and has a wonderful fragrance that gets compliments. I love all the products at The Body Shop!!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shea Whip Body Lotion
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vita
Location: Tri Cities WA
Gender: Female
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Good for dry sensitive skin
Date:June 24, 2011
I was surprised that some TBS lotions caused irritation of my skin. This one is perfect for me. I have a few body butters from here and when I hesitate which to apply I use Shea Whip. It reduces flakiness and dryness and feels great on my skin. I like the tender smell and texture too.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shea Whip Body Lotion
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
chicgeek
Location: Ocean Springs, MS
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Great lotion
Date:May 8, 2011
Thick lotion and absorb quickly. On my skin feels light and yet moisturizing. Where I live it's always hot and humid, but this lotion never feels heavy nor greasy. Nice scent too.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shea Whip Body Lotion
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
SarahInMichigan
Location: Michigan
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Good if you like purfume
Date:November 28, 2011
First time buyer of this product. Works well, skin is very silky smooth but unfortunately it has such a strong scent of perfume that I wont be using it.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shea Whip Body Lotion
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
MichelleRBarber
Location: Vienna, WV
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Daily
Great Product!
Date:September 11, 2014
I absolutely love this product. I have very sensitive skin and this lotion is amazing on my skin. The smell is perfect and is great for dry skin. The only downfall is that once the lotion gets low, it is impossible to get out, therefore you waste a good amount of the lotion. Overall, I continue to buy this product, because I do love it.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shea Whip Body Lotion
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Batka
Location: Greensboro
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
non-greasy and fast absorbing
Date:September 2, 2014
I just love it. The lotion is easy to use because of its pump, absorbs very quickly and doesn´t leave a greasy feel on your skin. The smell is very pleasant and not too overwhelming ( I suffer from migraines so the smell is very important to me).
The only con of the product is that it is difficult to get the last bits of lotion out from the bottle.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shea Whip Body Lotion
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PrettySweetz
Location: NYC
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Fine Lines
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
Light but moisturizing!!!
Date:May 17, 2014
I love this soooo much, the lotion is light but very moisturizing. I have dry skin and this does a good job at keeping my skin moist! I don't like to apply lotion to dry skin so I mainly apply this when I'm still damp right out of the shower, then I dab with towel to dry. I don't think I'm wasting any product because I rub this lotion in very well and the water aids in spreading the lotion beautifully!!! Oh and he scent is delightful! Unisex, just like I like it. A bit manly but feminine at the same time..very sexy...nutty and vanilla mmmm but not sweet aching sugary cookie vanilla. I love to pair this with the mist, I get lots of compliments when I wear this...men and women and even children, my little daughter tells me I smell good. The scent is great for every occasion and season.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shea Whip Body Lotion
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
kristatx
Location: Austin, TX
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Fine Lines
Frequency: Daily
Light & Airy with Perfect Moisturization
Date:April 14, 2014
I love the Shea Body Whip! It's light and airy with great moisturization properties. It's never greasy and makes skin soft and moisturized without that slick feeling. I'm just so impressed because most lotions have to be thick in order to make your skin look better...not this one! The scent is light & wonderful and doesn't clash with perfumes (I use Clinique's "Happy") and it compliments the fragrance without hiding it! Great job Body Shop, I'll never be without this one!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shea Whip Body Lotion
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
magscats79
Location: Neenah
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Shine
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
Love This Body Lotion
Date:April 10, 2014
I love how this body lotion feels and smells on my skin. I use it on my arms and upper body after I take my shower and it leaves my skin feeling soft and hydrated. Shea is my go to ingredient for my dry skin.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shea Whip Body Lotion
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
lulularue
Location: berkeley CA
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Normal
SkinConcern: Lack of Radiance
Frequency: Daily
exfoliates
Date:February 27, 2014
I leave this next to my bed, before I go to sleep, I use it on my hands and feet. It seems to exfoliate the dead skin; I started to do this because like other reviewers, I didn't like the smell that much, a little masculine, but I LOVE the way this works! I have my hands in water a lot and I don't always use lotion after - this gets rid of the dead skin, when you rub, the skin starts to come off, (which may be icky if I wasn't in bed), and exposes fresh skin and the lotion gets right in. I know very specific use, but try it!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shea Whip Body Lotion
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
cheekycherry
Location: monroe
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 50 -54
Not so light
Date:January 18, 2014
I bought this after reading the product description & reviews that said Shea Whip had a nice light clean fragrance. It actually has a heavy dense fragrance... almost more suitable for a male (it reminded me just a little of Patchouly).
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shea Whip Body Lotion
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
kathyinpa
Location: Philly suburbs
Body Shop employee: No
Offensive Cologne Smell
Date:December 18, 2013
Obviously the appeal of a scent is subjective, but I was really surprised how offensive this one was.
Other reviews suggested that this is a light earthy pleasant scent, and I have no idea how we could be smelling the same product. To me it smells very strongly like a cheap cologne. And I'm not fond of colognes and similar perfumes. I'm fine with flowery, with sweet, with fruity, and even with earthy (for example the hemp products). But not with cologne. And this was overpowering.
I tried it several times, hoping I could get past it, but I couldn't. It even lingered on my hands after washing them thoroughly. My mother also could not stand it, so I next offered it to a coworker who said it was tolerable once applied.
I am sad to discover that so many of the Body Shop products are heavily perfumed. I'll have to make a trek to one of the retail locations to smell products before I buy anything new again.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Americangirl
 
Please wait while more information about Americangirl is loaded.
Additional information about Americangirl could not be loaded.
Top 10 Contributor
Scent light and subtle
Posted May 7, 2014
I don't like strong scents at all. I find this to be a very light scent that really doesn't linger as long as I wish it did. Sorry it didn't work for you.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Shea Whip Body Lotion
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thursday
Location: IL
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Combination
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
Great for sensitive skin
Date:December 13, 2013
I have weirdly hive-prone skin on my chest. Almost any kind of moisturizer makes me break out. I have tried many things. I tried this expecting the same. This is great! The consistency is wonderful. It sinks right in. The fragrance is light. And best of all, it doesn't make me break out!!! I also love the Aloe Body Butter for drier days.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shea Whip Body Lotion
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
CeeJay00
Location: Raleigh
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
Perfect Body/Hand Moisturizer
Date:November 9, 2013
This product smells amazing but the scent is not overpowering. My husband even likes to use it, especially on his hands. It moisturizes well and doesn't feel greasy. Will definitely purchase again!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shea Whip Body Lotion
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
ErikaP
Location: Upstate NY
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Daily
Smells soooo good!
Date:August 31, 2013
I love everything Shea from TBS... it's such a pleasant, clean, earthy fragrance. I feel like I can put this on and mix it with so many other scents for perfumes, body sprays, etc. My husband always says I smell really good whenever I put this on.
Definitely one of my favorites from The Body Shop. This store makes my efforts to be cruelty free absolutely effortless!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Shea Eau de Toilette
4 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shea Whip Body Lotion
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Location: Salt Lake City
Love this lotion!
Date:March 30, 2013
This is another favorite! I love the texture & smell - it's light enough to not distract if I put perfume on over it but still smells good if I don't.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
shuh
 
Please wait while more information about shuh is loaded.
Additional information about shuh could not be loaded.
Great but for the smell...
Posted July 18, 2013
This is an awesome skin quencher. I love how it hydrates. But personally, I cannot stand the fragrance. When I apply it, I smother the smell with my Vineyard Peach Body Butter.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Shea Whip Body Lotion
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
zitsnomore
Location: Asheville, NC
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: Daily
awesome lotion found!!!
Date:March 29, 2013
I have to let you know that this shea whip whipped my dry winter skin into shape! I don't know how it does this, but I am not in the habit of looking a gift horse in the mouth. I have (as does half the population) that weird, bumpy "chicken skin" on the backs of my upper arms. I have tried probably hundreds of dollars of products which claimed to eliminate it or diminish it, and they did nothing at all. This shea whip lotion made it vanish, I swear, and I do not know how, but I am VERY happy with the results.
This product sinks quickly into my skin, I do not have to work up a sweat trying to rub it in, which is an attractive feature in a lotion, to me. Also, I appreciate that it comes in a pump bottle, which, logistcally speaking, is a lot more convenient for me to use than a can with a screw-top lid.
The fragrance is light, and mercifully does not overwhelm, especially because I am in the habit of wearing scent, and do not like my lotion to fight for center stage. Also, the shea smell is a light, sweet smell, which is very nice, by itself, as I can quickly tire of smelling like a Welcome Basket of fruit, or a Magnolia Tree. A more neutral fragrance is really my speed, and I was very glad that they had this choice.
So many good things to say about this product! The size is good for the price, and it works like crazy for a nice, light lotion. I highly reccomend this product to anyone with similar needs.:)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>