Product Reviews

Seaweed Mattifying Moisture Lotion SPF 15

Seaweed Mattifying Moisture Lotion SPF 15
Average Customer Rating:
3.941 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(118 Reviews) 118
Open Ratings Snapshot
rating snapshot (118 reviews)
5 stars
61
4 stars
21
3 stars
15
2 stars
10
1 star
11
73%would recommend to a friend
Customer Reviews for Seaweed Mattifying Moisture Lotion SPF 15
Review 1 for Seaweed Mattifying Moisture Lotion SPF 15
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Northern NJ
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Great Light Sunscreen
Date:June 3, 2012
I'm in my 30's but still have oily, acne prone skin. I also have fair skin so I have to be careful about the sun. I just picked this up in TBS store, and so far so good. It's a very light lotion, and I don't see the usual sheen on my face that you get with lots of sunscreen brands. I just wish the Tea Tree line, which is my favorite, would come out with a sunblock lotion. :)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Seaweed Mattifying Moisture Lotion SPF 15
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Chicago
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Great oil-fighting lotion
Date:February 1, 2012
I picked this up on a whim during my first visit to the Body Shop along with the Tea Tree Facial Wash and Toner. My skin is combination/oily, and while the Tea Tree products dry out my skin to fight my acne, the Seaweed Mattifying lotion helps restore a little balance so that my skin doesn't start to fry. It's not a perfect product. While my skin stays soft and oil-free for around 6-8 hours, my oily spots do return, but it's still a great product that leaves your skin feeling healthy and smelling fresh. Definitely recommend it to pair with Tea Tree facial cleansers.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Seaweed Mattifying Moisture Lotion SPF 15
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Boston
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinType: Oily
Frequency: Daily
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
good to use
Date:December 27, 2013
I have oily skin, and this product suits me really well. After applying it, my skin feels cool and cleaned.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Seaweed Mattifying Moisture Lotion SPF 15
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Gainesville
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Shine
Frequency: Daily
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Not Matiffying AT ALL
Date:September 19, 2013
This product is so misleading that I'm still in shock as to how Body Shop could make this. One may think that the product would mattify, moisturized, and protect against the sun's rays because of the name, but no. I do give this product props for its moisture because my face was soft after applying it and I did feel hydrated, yet it was oily. Here comes the bashing.
I was disappointed to see that the product did not keep its word for at least an hour. My face was more oily in the first half hour alone than i would have if i had applied my regular suncreen after three hours, and my regular sunscreen does not say anything about keeping your skin mattified. And the consistency of this product did not feel as if it protected my skin from the sun.
Again I am really disappointed in the outcome of this product. I bought this because I live in the south, and it is always humid and sunny. Even if i did not step outside after I applied this product my face would look like I rubbed my face in garlic bread.
On a lighter note, I will delete this post if I do see a change. And i'm hoping it's just that my skin is still getting use to it. And since I do live in hot, humid area and it's summer time, I may be pushing it past its limits. i applied it to a small area on my arm and it seems to have some promising results but I would definitely not recommend it to oily skin types.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Seaweed Mattifying Moisture Lotion SPF 15
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: St. John's, Antigua and Barbuda
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Dark
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Oily
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Use only under powder makeup
Date:February 9, 2013
My skin gets extremely oily/greasy when this product is used alone. I live in the Caribbean where the weather can get extremely hot. I almost considered it useless until one day I used this product before applying MAC pressed powder. The results were beautiful. Therefore, I would only recommend this for use under powder makeup. For my skin type, combination/oily, this product is not for stand alone use.
The product is a bit pricey, however, a little goes a long way.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Seaweed Mattifying Moisture Lotion SPF 15
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: college town
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Finally found the ONE
Date:August 10, 2012
So I have horrible combination skin, oily all over the T-zone and dry on the sides. Not to mention I work out regularly(in the sun mind you) and I sweat like my life depends on it. After trying various products that are meant for oily, combination, and sensitive skin, I have literally Found the ONE. This lotion is so light on my skin and best of all, it does not do the white cakey stuff most other lotions/sunblocks do. It smells great and I use it before applying my make-up. It is simply a great product that I would recommend to everyone with combination and even just oily skin.
ANd if you don't believe me, believe the woman who raised me. She is the pickiest person when it comes to skin products and she absolutely loves it.
The only down fault is its price. As a struggling college student is just a bit much.. but i love the product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Seaweed Mattifying Moisture Lotion SPF 15
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: NEWYORK
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
The secrets out...
Date:July 16, 2012
SPF, oil free, moisturizing and much much more; the secrets out I've found my soul mate in skincare111
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Seaweed Mattifying Moisture Lotion SPF 15
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Oak Park
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Love it
Date:May 14, 2012
I have acne combination skin and am extremely oily in my t-zone area. This moisterizer is great, it has spf 15 but does not make my skin oily. Its a thin consistancy so it goes on light and smooth.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Seaweed Mattifying Moisture Lotion SPF 15
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Cambridge
Gender: Female
Age: 55 - 60
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Great for combination skin
Date:May 14, 2012
I have very oily skin on my T area and very dry around my mouth. It also tends to break out. A lot of moisturizers are just too oily. This is perfect for both dry and oily areas and has SPF also
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Seaweed Mattifying Moisture Lotion SPF 15
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Location: California
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
I wish I could give this 5 stars
Date:October 23, 2011
This moisturizer smells amazing, I use it every day but it does leave my skin oily. I already have oily skin so I'm used to it, I just really wish it actually mattified my skin. I guess I'll be trying the day cream and putting a sunscreen on after.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Seaweed Mattifying Moisture Lotion SPF 15
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Portland
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
My New Favorite Moisturizer!
Date:May 5, 2011
This moisturizer works great on my sometimes oily skin! My skin absorbs it almost immediately and it doesn't leave behind any oily residue like a lot of other moisturizers. It also doubles as sunscreen but has a nice, light scent that's way better than any sunscreen smell.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Seaweed Mattifying Moisture Lotion SPF 15
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Philly
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Perfect for Oily/Combo skin
Date:March 24, 2011
I have the weirdest skin. It get dry and oily so quickly. I can wash it and it is dry and within an hour it's oily again. This moisturizer is perfect. It immediately makes my skin comfortable and then it doesn't get greasy later! The added bonus of SPF makes this the best purchase from this store possible for me.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Seaweed Mattifying Moisture Lotion SPF 15
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Staten Island, NY
Gender: Female
Age: 50 -54
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Could Be Better
Date:March 22, 2011
This is an OK SPF 15 lotion. Like most SPF lotions or moisturizers, it leaves a white film behind. Also, and this could be because my skin is pretty oily, it doesn't "mattify" as well as I would expect. But that could just be my oily skin. I use this in the warmer weather months because it is light and doesn't clog pores. $18 is a lot for a small tube of lotion, but it lasts a really long time - about a year. You only need a very small amount - just a couple of dots at the tips of your fingers, and it covers your face, neck and ears.
I recommend the Vitamin E SPF 15 Moisture Lotion for the cold months.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Seaweed Mattifying Moisture Lotion SPF 15
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Evanston
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Not mattifying at all
Date:September 2, 2012
This is a good-quality product, but it is not mattifying whatsoever as the product name claims. As soon as I put it on, my face was shiny. After a couple of hours of running errands, I looked like I had oil on and my skin felt sticky and slick. I guess the one good thing is that I haven't broken out in pimples.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Seaweed Mattifying Moisture Lotion SPF 15
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Location: Washington DC
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Left my face oily
Date:September 28, 2011
I thought I would surely love this product since I love all of the other seaweed products, but it just didn't work well with my face. The SPF worked great- I wasn't sunburned at all, but it left my face so oily and nasty. I couldn't wait to get home and take it off. I would much rather prefer the Seaweed Mattifying Day lotion and then put sun screen on top of that.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Seaweed Mattifying Moisture Lotion SPF 15
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: Milwaukee
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Shine
Very disappointed
Date:March 26, 2015
I have been using the Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream for years and although I will still be a little shiny/oily, it has been the best moisturizer I have used to combat this issue. Last summer I noticed dark spots on my face and the dermatologist told me it was melasma and gave all the precautions. i decided to give this a try since it contains an SPF and the regular day cream has been my favorite for some time. I went on vacation to Florida/Bahamas that following week and brought only this moisturizer along thinking I would be set. I used it the first day and extremely disappointed. The texture and consistency was of a regular sunscreen, it smelled like a regular sunscreen, and left my face very oily just like a regular sunscreen. I would have been better off just using my regular oil free sunscreen (which I naturally forgot at home) that contains a higher SPF and doesn't leave me feeling like I rubbed grease all over my face. When I got back home, I returned it to the store and told the employee about my experience and she said that she had the same experience and wasn't very impressed with that one as well. Do not buy this if you have any hint of oily skin. I would consider my skin type to be more combination - oily t-zone, drier lower half of the face during winter.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Seaweed Mattifying Moisture Lotion SPF 15
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Location: Wichita
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Shine
Frequency: Daily
Not Mattifying
Date:February 10, 2015
While the lotion smells good and isn't greasy it's not mattifyig at all. I typically use a more expensive brand and decided to try this while it was on sale. My hope was to find something less expensive but with the same results. Sadly this isn't it.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Seaweed Mattifying Moisture Lotion SPF 15
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Mesa
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: Daily
Not to thick...
Date:September 13, 2014
The smell of this stuff is wonderful, light fresh kind of smell not like actually seaweed. Its not thick like the Vitamin C one but this only has 15 spf so its better than none.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Seaweed Mattifying Moisture Lotion SPF 15
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Location: Chicago
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
meh
Date:September 2, 2014
I got this because it has SPF and I like the seaweed line. The formula goes on a bit like sunscreen and smells a bit like it as well. Once it has been rubbed in, it is a nice lotion, but it is a bit awkward to put on because of the thick sun screen like consistency and smell.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Seaweed Mattifying Moisture Lotion SPF 15
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Washington DC
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Shine
Frequency: Daily
Excellent Product
Date:September 1, 2014
This is one of my favorite Body Shop products. It isn't too oily or greasy, but does a great job hydrating my combination skin (which changes on a daily basis). I love the SPF 15 and have worn it while traveling the world - most recently Southeast Asia - and it works! I also think the smell is quite decent - it's not too strong/gross. Overall a great product. My only complaint is that it's on the pricier end of the seaweed line of products, but it's worth it!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>