Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Seaweed Mattifying Moisture Lotion SPF 15

Seaweed Mattifying Moisture Lotion SPF 15
Average Customer Rating:
4.009 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(110 Reviews) 110
Open Ratings Snapshot
rating snapshot (110 reviews)
5 stars
59
4 stars
21
3 stars
12
2 stars
8
1 star
10
76%would recommend to a friend
Customer Reviews for Seaweed Mattifying Moisture Lotion SPF 15
Review 1 for Seaweed Mattifying Moisture Lotion SPF 15
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chloe347
Location: Northern NJ
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Great Light Sunscreen
Date:June 3, 2012
I'm in my 30's but still have oily, acne prone skin. I also have fair skin so I have to be careful about the sun. I just picked this up in TBS store, and so far so good. It's a very light lotion, and I don't see the usual sheen on my face that you get with lots of sunscreen brands. I just wish the Tea Tree line, which is my favorite, would come out with a sunblock lotion. :)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Seaweed Mattifying Moisture Lotion SPF 15
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taxonomista
Location: Chicago
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Great oil-fighting lotion
Date:February 1, 2012
I picked this up on a whim during my first visit to the Body Shop along with the Tea Tree Facial Wash and Toner. My skin is combination/oily, and while the Tea Tree products dry out my skin to fight my acne, the Seaweed Mattifying lotion helps restore a little balance so that my skin doesn't start to fry. It's not a perfect product. While my skin stays soft and oil-free for around 6-8 hours, my oily spots do return, but it's still a great product that leaves your skin feeling healthy and smelling fresh. Definitely recommend it to pair with Tea Tree facial cleansers.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Seaweed Mattifying Moisture Lotion SPF 15
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
rejoycez
Location: Boston
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinType: Oily
Frequency: Daily
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
good to use
Date:December 27, 2013
I have oily skin, and this product suits me really well. After applying it, my skin feels cool and cleaned.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Seaweed Mattifying Moisture Lotion SPF 15
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Angzilla
Location: Gainesville
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Shine
Frequency: Daily
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Not Matiffying AT ALL
Date:September 19, 2013
This product is so misleading that I'm still in shock as to how Body Shop could make this. One may think that the product would mattify, moisturized, and protect against the sun's rays because of the name, but no. I do give this product props for its moisture because my face was soft after applying it and I did feel hydrated, yet it was oily. Here comes the bashing.
I was disappointed to see that the product did not keep its word for at least an hour. My face was more oily in the first half hour alone than i would have if i had applied my regular suncreen after three hours, and my regular sunscreen does not say anything about keeping your skin mattified. And the consistency of this product did not feel as if it protected my skin from the sun.
Again I am really disappointed in the outcome of this product. I bought this because I live in the south, and it is always humid and sunny. Even if i did not step outside after I applied this product my face would look like I rubbed my face in garlic bread.
On a lighter note, I will delete this post if I do see a change. And i'm hoping it's just that my skin is still getting use to it. And since I do live in hot, humid area and it's summer time, I may be pushing it past its limits. i applied it to a small area on my arm and it seems to have some promising results but I would definitely not recommend it to oily skin types.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Seaweed Mattifying Moisture Lotion SPF 15
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
IslandGirl268
Location: St. John's, Antigua and Barbuda
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Dark
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Oily
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Use only under powder makeup
Date:February 9, 2013
My skin gets extremely oily/greasy when this product is used alone. I live in the Caribbean where the weather can get extremely hot. I almost considered it useless until one day I used this product before applying MAC pressed powder. The results were beautiful. Therefore, I would only recommend this for use under powder makeup. For my skin type, combination/oily, this product is not for stand alone use.
The product is a bit pricey, however, a little goes a long way.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Seaweed Mattifying Moisture Lotion SPF 15
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
neutronstarlight
Location: college town
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Finally found the ONE
Date:August 10, 2012
So I have horrible combination skin, oily all over the T-zone and dry on the sides. Not to mention I work out regularly(in the sun mind you) and I sweat like my life depends on it. After trying various products that are meant for oily, combination, and sensitive skin, I have literally Found the ONE. This lotion is so light on my skin and best of all, it does not do the white cakey stuff most other lotions/sunblocks do. It smells great and I use it before applying my make-up. It is simply a great product that I would recommend to everyone with combination and even just oily skin.
ANd if you don't believe me, believe the woman who raised me. She is the pickiest person when it comes to skin products and she absolutely loves it.
The only down fault is its price. As a struggling college student is just a bit much.. but i love the product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Seaweed Mattifying Moisture Lotion SPF 15
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
WNDY
Location: NEWYORK
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
The secrets out...
Date:July 16, 2012
SPF, oil free, moisturizing and much much more; the secrets out I've found my soul mate in skincare111
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Seaweed Mattifying Moisture Lotion SPF 15
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
readaholic
Location: Oak Park
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Love it
Date:May 14, 2012
I have acne combination skin and am extremely oily in my t-zone area. This moisterizer is great, it has spf 15 but does not make my skin oily. Its a thin consistancy so it goes on light and smooth.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Seaweed Mattifying Moisture Lotion SPF 15
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
pamey
Location: Cambridge
Gender: Female
Age: 55 - 60
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Great for combination skin
Date:May 14, 2012
I have very oily skin on my T area and very dry around my mouth. It also tends to break out. A lot of moisturizers are just too oily. This is perfect for both dry and oily areas and has SPF also
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Seaweed Mattifying Moisture Lotion SPF 15
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
caligirl
Location: California
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
I wish I could give this 5 stars
Date:October 23, 2011
This moisturizer smells amazing, I use it every day but it does leave my skin oily. I already have oily skin so I'm used to it, I just really wish it actually mattified my skin. I guess I'll be trying the day cream and putting a sunscreen on after.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Seaweed Mattifying Moisture Lotion SPF 15
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Slotaby
Location: Portland
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
My New Favorite Moisturizer!
Date:May 5, 2011
This moisturizer works great on my sometimes oily skin! My skin absorbs it almost immediately and it doesn't leave behind any oily residue like a lot of other moisturizers. It also doubles as sunscreen but has a nice, light scent that's way better than any sunscreen smell.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Seaweed Mattifying Moisture Lotion SPF 15
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
kittyzar
Location: Philly
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Perfect for Oily/Combo skin
Date:March 24, 2011
I have the weirdest skin. It get dry and oily so quickly. I can wash it and it is dry and within an hour it's oily again. This moisturizer is perfect. It immediately makes my skin comfortable and then it doesn't get greasy later! The added bonus of SPF makes this the best purchase from this store possible for me.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Seaweed Mattifying Moisture Lotion SPF 15
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
zaramama
Location: Staten Island, NY
Gender: Female
Age: 50 -54
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Could Be Better
Date:March 22, 2011
This is an OK SPF 15 lotion. Like most SPF lotions or moisturizers, it leaves a white film behind. Also, and this could be because my skin is pretty oily, it doesn't "mattify" as well as I would expect. But that could just be my oily skin. I use this in the warmer weather months because it is light and doesn't clog pores. $18 is a lot for a small tube of lotion, but it lasts a really long time - about a year. You only need a very small amount - just a couple of dots at the tips of your fingers, and it covers your face, neck and ears.
I recommend the Vitamin E SPF 15 Moisture Lotion for the cold months.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Seaweed Mattifying Moisture Lotion SPF 15
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
JHSL
Location: Evanston
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Not mattifying at all
Date:September 2, 2012
This is a good-quality product, but it is not mattifying whatsoever as the product name claims. As soon as I put it on, my face was shiny. After a couple of hours of running errands, I looked like I had oil on and my skin felt sticky and slick. I guess the one good thing is that I haven't broken out in pimples.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Seaweed Mattifying Moisture Lotion SPF 15
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
DCNative
Location: Washington DC
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Left my face oily
Date:September 28, 2011
I thought I would surely love this product since I love all of the other seaweed products, but it just didn't work well with my face. The SPF worked great- I wasn't sunburned at all, but it left my face so oily and nasty. I couldn't wait to get home and take it off. I would much rather prefer the Seaweed Mattifying Day lotion and then put sun screen on top of that.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Seaweed Mattifying Moisture Lotion SPF 15
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steve
Location: NH
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Male
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Fine Lines
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
Actually Works
Date:August 10, 2014
Some of the reviews stated this didn't work for them, maybe its just my chemistry. Normally when I use a moisturizer, after 5-8 hours my face is an oil slick. With this stuff, even after 12+ hours my face does not appear greasy at all... it doesn't even feel greasy either.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Seaweed Mattifying Moisture Lotion SPF 15
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
bodyshoplover7
Location: Phoenix
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Don't Recommend
Date:August 5, 2014
It's not mattifying at all, it's actually really visibly oily. I'm always satisfied with the body shop stuff but I wouldn't recommend this
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Seaweed Mattifying Moisture Lotion SPF 15
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
JennyW
Location: Baltimore. MD
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Great SPF for the face
Date:July 9, 2014
I specifically needed an SPF for my face for a day on a boat. And I tried this product for the first time. I have oily blemished skin that can become dry all too quickly. This product is light on the skin, and does have a nice, not overly matt finish. The best part, it works. No burn on these cheeks!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Seaweed Mattifying Moisture Lotion SPF 15
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ukraine627
Location: East Hartford, CT
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
Great smell and great texture!
Date:July 4, 2014
I have to be honest and say that I didnt think seaweed and sun lotion put together would be the greatest but I was wrong. You can smell the two ingredients when you first put it on but minutes later, you can't! Your skin is left feeling soft, not greasy. The texture is smooth and it helps protect my fair skin from the sun! Thanks Body Shop!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Seaweed Mattifying Moisture Lotion SPF 15
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mariah
Location: Minnetonka
Body Shop employee: Yes
Great
Date:March 31, 2014
I love how it got rid of all my dumps and took care off the oiliness that i had, and the SPF is great for the summer.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>