Product Reviews

Rainforest Moisture Shampoo

Rainforest Moisture Shampoo
Average Customer Rating:
3.727 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(66 Reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
rating snapshot (66 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
14
3 stars
10
2 stars
6
1 star
8
70%would recommend to a friend
Customer Reviews for Rainforest Moisture Shampoo
Review 1 for Rainforest Moisture Shampoo
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Central New York
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
non-silicone prods need getting used to
Date:October 2, 2011
I have gone off silicone/sulfate products before, and there is a period of adjustment. One of the things that happens is a detox period where all the silicones that have stuck to the hair are gradually being removed, which can leave the hair looking just awful, dry, feeling tacky and actually sticking together. Bad hair days! Once through that period though you see the true health condition of your hair, and can go from there. This shampoo is extra moisturizing and does not lather much because no sulfates. Once getting all the build up off, this shampoo left my hair soft and curly like it was when I was a little girl. The thing is, once through the detox process if you use a styling product with silicones (like Brazil Nut Define or Cottonseed Curl Boost) you are going to have to go through that Bad Hair thing every time. In my opinion, Coconut Oil Shine is more along the lines of a good match to a non-silicone shampoo like Rainforest Moisture. The Playdoh smell was very "in-my-face," stayed on my hands and is still all over the towel I wrap my wet hair in. I recommend very strongly getting this collection in the travel sizes and giving it a good week to see if it is for you.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Rainforest Moisture Shampoo
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Hayden
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Other
Frequency: Other
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
A little too moisturizing
Date:June 26, 2013
Because of this product, I decided I do not have dry hair. Nor is it oily; I'd say it is prone to product build-up, and this shampoo made the problem a little worse.
I wouldn't say not to buy this because this shampoo could be someone's solution to a dry scalp and perhaps thin hair. But if someone even remotely feels like their hair is oily and/or they have lots of thick hair, I don't recommend it. It truly rocks at moisturizing your hair, almost better than the conditioner does.
The smell is not the greatest... reminds me of play-doh. It is also on the runny side, it's not one you would have to turn upside down once you start to run low.
I tried the rainforest radiance before this one, and even though the shampoo was so runny, the smell was far better (like berries) and worked very well for my hair.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Rainforest Moisture Shampoo
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Best Shampoo Ever, and I've tried many
Date:April 10, 2013
This is by far one of the best shampoos I've ever used. I use only high quality shampoos, mostly buying from L'Occitane and Aveda. This shampoo is right up there with "Damage Remedy" by Aveda which costs much much more than this one. I love the smell and the rich oils you can feel while you shampoo your hair, just like you feel when you're using Aveda. It doesn't have a cheap soapy lather like all the other budget shampoos out there that contain sulfates and parabens. Love, love, love it!!!! I love the matching hair butter too. (I have permed hair that is a little dry from the perming. Shoulder length).
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Rainforest Moisture Shampoo
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Location: Texas
Gender: Female
Age: 45 - 49
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Left my hair flat...
Date:June 23, 2011
I was dissapointed in this shampoo. I had such high hopes as I love The Body Shop and its products. The scent is very nice but the shampoo didn't do anything for my hair but leave it heavy and flat.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Rainforest Moisture Shampoo
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Houston
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Great shampoo
Date:May 14, 2011
I bought this because I wanted a shampoo without sulfates. It works great. I have very curly (3b-3c) hair, and live in a high humidity area. It moisturizes my hair, helps get rid of the frizzies, and is not drying. A little goes a long way.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Rainforest Moisture Shampoo
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Bay Area, California
Gender: Male
Age: Below 25
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Very satisfied
Date:March 22, 2011
After I switched to sulfate/silicone free products, I began looking for different products to try and got a suggestion to try out the rainforest line. This shampoo does its job and leaves my hair feeling very soft and moisturized as well as helping to bring out all of my curls. I've been using this shampoo alongside the rainforest moisture conditioner and I've had great success. I'm usually left with a little frizz but so far that has shown to be inevitable with any products that I've tried using.
It's worked great for me! Give it a try if you want to bring out those curls.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Rainforest Moisture Shampoo
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: San Diego
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Great Shampoo. Once you get use to it
Date:March 14, 2011
This is my first shampoo from The Body Shop and I would buy this again. I have medium-length, wavy-curly hair and this is a great everyday shampoo. I highly recommend using this, as directed, a couple of times before giving up. I use 2-3 products to style my hair and the first shampoo didn't feel like it got all of the product out. After continuing to use this shampoo for about a week my hair felt clean and smelled great.
One BIG thing to note, if you use heavy products or don't wash everyday then you might not be getting the best out of this shampoo.
Overall, great product that saves me half of my regular priced shampoo.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Trinisoca
 
Please wait while more information about Trinisoca is loaded.
Additional information about Trinisoca could not be loaded.
Love this shampoo
Posted January 18, 2014
This was also my first shampoo buying from The Body Shop! I love it my hair is clean and soft even before I use the matching condition. It will work on my daughter's hair too because her hair is like mine!
5 Stars
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Rainforest Moisture Shampoo
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: Great Falls
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
not that great
Date:March 8, 2011
after multiple washes my hair looks greasy/dirty
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Rainforest Moisture Shampoo
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: Tampa
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Disappointment...
Date:February 16, 2012
I purchased the Rainforest Moisture Shampoo and Conditioner in December for its natural properties, specifically, the fact that it is made without sulphates and parabens. Unfortunately, this shampoo and conditioner is the worst product for my hair. My hair has never been so incredibly dry, coarse, and frizzy before, even when I used a cheaper product from the drug-store. I am super disappointed and surprised as the skin care items I purchased are phenomenal. I would never recommend this for someone with dry or color-treated hair.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Rainforest Moisture Shampoo
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Bensalem, pa
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Shine
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
In between...
Date:August 16, 2014
This product it's so moisturizing it's amazing . Smells great as well . The only down side it's too water down. When I poured in my hand I had to be careful so it wouldn't spill through my fingers. And it doesn't lather well I have to use a large quantity to make the lather I like
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Rainforest Moisture Shampoo
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Michigan
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Weekly
Great shampoo
Date:August 1, 2014
I only wash my hair 3 times every 2 weeks and this works perfectly with that regime. The only thing I do not like about it and the reason for 4/5 stars is the smell, it really does smell like play-doh. I plan in adding some essential oils to improve the scent, but I am still tryng to figure out what would work best without totally clashing with the original scent. My first thoughts are an orange or a rosemary.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Rainforest Moisture Shampoo
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: orange
Gender: Female
Age: 50 -54
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Daily
great shampoo
Date:June 1, 2013
i came back for more......i think this is a great shampoo...cleans well....doesnt dry out my hair....does not leave any weird residue like some organic or natural shampoos.....and best of all (and this is why i originally was attracted to it ) it does not irritate my scalp - i have sensitive scalp & this product does not bether me........i will cotinuye to buy this shampoo:)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Rainforest Moisture Shampoo
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Location: Worcester
Gender: Female
Age: 45 - 49
Don't like the scent
Date:January 13, 2013
This shampoo does seem to moisturize as promised but the scent is overpowering and not in a good way.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Rainforest Moisture Shampoo
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
Disappointed
Date:November 9, 2012
I love the Banana shampoo, and decided to give the Rainforest line a try to see how it compares. I was definitely disappointed. I agree with the other reviewer who said it smells like play-doh. Definitely not appealing. It doesn't lather at all, feels heavy, and I find my hair is very hard to brush afterwards. I'll be sticking with the Banana line.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Rainforest Moisture Shampoo
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Vienna
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
Excellent!
Date:September 18, 2012
My hair was really damaged and super dry and my haircutter recommended me, that I should use moisturizing hairshampoo, otherwise I would have to cut my hair.
So I went to the Store and asked that woman there and she showed me that shampoo and the matching conditioner. I used it one week evryday I washed my hair and now it's perfectly fine!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Rainforest Moisture Shampoo
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Location: San Diego
Gender: Female
Age: 45 - 49
Not happy...
Date:September 11, 2012
Not happy with the product. Weighs hair down, does not moisturize, and rinses oddly. Had really looked forward to it giving moisture. Unfortunately, the product did NOT work as written about for my hair. No matter how much, or how little I used, it was odd. I do still appreciate most of The Body Shops products however, so no worries. I do have a friend that can be given the oil and have it work just fine for her. :)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Rainforest Moisture Shampoo
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: Springboro, OH
Gender: Female
Age: 45 - 49
Bad product!
Date:September 3, 2012
I would not recommend this product to anyone! It is awful. I have thick wavy hair that needs moisturizing shampoo and this shampoo was anything but. It felt like it stripped everything from my hair leaving it very dry. It also smells bad. Smells very similar to Play-doh. I am so glad I tried the smaller trial size instead of buying the larger bottle first. Very disappointing!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Rainforest Moisture Shampoo
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Location: East Lansing/London ON
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
Dissapointing Rainforest Moisture Shampoo
Date:August 15, 2012
I bought a trial pack of this moisture shampoo which came with a travel sized conditioner and mask. Be prepared for hardly any bubbles, even when foaming it up in your hand as suggested on the bottle.
I really appreciate the fact that it is good for the environment as that is a very important quality in a hair/makeup product. I got past the lack of lather, however, I felt that my scalp was not as clean and clear after my shower. I wash my hair every other day or every third day to avoid drying out my hair (and my hair is pretty strong and healthy), so perhaps if you wash your hair every day it might be ok as there is less pollution and oil.
'
PS in the preview it shows that the capitalization and punctuation is weird, but please know I typed it out properly :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Rainforest Moisture Shampoo
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Roanoke
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
WOW!
Date:August 8, 2012
Greatest shampoo I have used for curly/frizzy hair! The only fault I have is the packaging. I would love to see The Body Shop get away from plastic packaging all together. Overall though, greatest shampoo (especially when used with the deep conditioner) and won't hurt your body or the environment. Do make sure and follow directions or you will have waste. You will want to add a little water to the shampoo in your hand and lather it before adding to head.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Rainforest Moisture Shampoo
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Tampa Bay, FL
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
Satisfied customer
Date:August 2, 2012
I have coarse, dry, curly hair. This cleanses well without weighing down my curls. I am use to non-lathering shampoos and only wash my hair once a week anyway. This works well with my hair regiment.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>