Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Lip & Cheek Stain

Lip & Cheek Stain
Average Customer Rating:
4.175 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(103 Reviews) 103
Open Ratings Snapshot
rating snapshot (103 reviews)
5 stars
59
4 stars
22
3 stars
10
2 stars
5
1 star
7
82%would recommend to a friend
Customer Reviews for Lip & Cheek Stain
Review 1 for Lip & Cheek Stain
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Other
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Layers!
Date:June 11, 2013
So I was originally going to post an unsatisfied review, but then I realized that I shouldn't give up so easily on this product... Seeing how there are actually many positive reviews. I have several lip stains ranging in the same color because the slightly reddish pink lip is what I usually aim for. I figured I'd give this one a try.
I wasn't surprised that the consistency of this product was extremely watery with no tackiness whatsoever. I mean it's not a lip gloss but a lip stain. I purchased this solely for the purpose of tinting my lips only (I prefer powder blushes). Since this product was very watery, the trick is to apply multiple layers in order for the color to actually show up and stay. I didn't take that into consideration at first and only applied one layer. I was inevitably unsatisfied because it barely tinted my lips and faded within the hour (if not sooner). So I was quite disappointed and thought this product was a bust.
But then I tried applying one layer and letting it dry for several seconds and reapplying another layer. I applied up to five layers and it gave my lips the most beautiful pinkish/red tint! Not to mention it finally actually "stained" them so it definitely lasted longer!
I suppose I took off a star because of the need to apply multiple layers which makes it harder to achieve the desired look if I'm in a hurry. 5 Layers is a bit inconvenient. But I will mention that although it's watery, it doesn't leave my lips dry! (Keep in mind, it's best to apply a moisturizing lip balm in advance and then applying this afterward). The color is the perfect shade I was looking for and although it doesn't last all day, it doesn't disappear right away like many lip stains do. The key is to layer!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Lip & Cheek Stain
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Providence
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Love this stuff!
Date:October 26, 2012
I have used this stain for years and I love, love, love it! It stays forever, you can use it as blush too -- which is great -- and the color is perfect -- it looks really red on the screen, but it becomes a perfect blushy lip shade when you put it on....or add an extra coat for that va-va-voom red look.
I would suggest using a lip balm over it, it doesn't moisturize at all, but that is the only thing you will be reapplying is the lip balm because the color will stay.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Lip & Cheek Stain
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Los Angeles
Gender: Female
Age: 50 -54
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Normal
SkinConcern: Lack of Firmness
Frequency: Daily
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Love this stuff
Date:April 17, 2013
I've always liked the look of rosy stained lips, but I've never found any that lasted like this one does. I put it on my lips and put clear lip gloss over it and it's a different look than just using a pink or red lip gloss, more young and sexy. I also use this as blush, and it lasts and looks natural. It goes on smoothly and easily for me if I'm wearing makeup over a moisturizer. It's a little trickier on naked skin. I definitely recommend this!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
maryanne3
 
Please wait while more information about maryanne3 is loaded.
Additional information about maryanne3 could not be loaded.
love the cheekstain
Posted August 19, 2013
I've always used this and it lasts longer. You just need to spread it on your cheek the right way. Worth the price compared to other cheek stain out there. It lasts the whole day even if you sweat.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Lip & Cheek Stain
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Gender: Female
Age: 45 - 49
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Lack of Radiance
Frequency: Daily
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Really love this stuff!
Date:April 3, 2013
This is a wonderful gel that spreads beautifully and looks very natural. I am fair-skinned with an olive undertone, and this color works miracles on my pale complexion - have yet to try on my lips. Just purchased a small truck-load of these from the website: that's how much I love this product. Thanks, Body Shop! :-)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Lip & Cheek Stain
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Gonzales
Gender: Female
Age: 55 - 60
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Daily
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Stays on very well
Date:March 9, 2013
Really like the Lip & Cheek stain a lot! I'm one of those women who does not like to have to keep applying makeup on throughout the day. It only took a couple of experimental trial runs to get this right on both lips and cheeks. The pink tint looks very good on me...like a natural blush.
Happy I took a chance on this!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Lip & Cheek Stain
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Chandler
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Absolutely love this product!
Date:November 9, 2012
I love this product! I apply a little bit of it on my cheeks and distribute it with sponge. I`m very pale and most blushes look unnatural on my skin, but not this one, it gives nice glow and looks very natural. I purchased the 3rd one already.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Lip & Cheek Stain
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Madison
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Best Blush Made & Best Body Shop Product
Date:October 25, 2012
This lip & cheek stain is the one product I could never live withou! I have tried any cheek stain I could find for over ten years (and paid over $50 for one product) & nothing comes close. It makes cheeks have a healthy, natural color- as if you'd "pinched them pink" like in the old days. It is a liquid, so doesn't cake or crease, can easily control amount of color by blending in or applying more, works with foundation, or without, lasts entire day without rubbing off or irritating skin. Many stains set instantly and if put on too much- it's hard to fix, but this stain is less concentrated, allowing you to control how deep color is by layering (same for lips). I have very fair skin and most blush makes me look like a clown- this instead I get compliments on how naturally pretty it looks and many don't believe I'm wearing anything at all- just "naturally" have pretty glow (which is not true). Everyone I know who has tried it loves it- despite different skin tones and make-up styles. This product main reason I shop at the Body Shop!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lip & Cheek Stain
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Denver, Colorado
Gender: Female
Age: 55 - 60
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
The best lip/cheek stain ever
Date:September 22, 2012
I have been using this lip stain for years and absolutely love it.
It looks darker in the tube than it will be on your lips but is perfectly natural looking on lips and cheeks. It's important to let it dry on your lips before applying any other lip product over it.
On Cheeks I lightly blend it into my skin with my fingertips then allow to dry before applying anything else on your face.
It will stain your fingertips so remember to immediately wash your hands after applying. You may have to re-apply to lips after eating and drinking as it fades a little but this stain does really last longer than others I have tried over the years. Perfect for kissing because it isn't sticky, doesn't rub off and your man will never know you have anything on your lips.
I highly recommend this as a staple and buy more than one tube so you can carry one in your purse, one at home and maybe one left in your desk at work. LUV, LUV, LUV it!!!!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Lip & Cheek Stain
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Location: Tampa Bay, FL
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Defective?
Date:June 27, 2012
I'm fair skinned, but I have naturally rosy lips. This color looked hot pink my lips! It never sunk in to just leave a tint, it just stayed sticky and too bright.
I live in a warm climate so I have to wear some sort of powder on my face. When I used this as blush, the powder just clumped on top of it so I tried just using it with foundation and no powder and the foundation balled up under it. I never found a way to wear it as blush with other makeup.
The last straw was that the container leaked in my purse, even when the wand was properly screwed in place. The same thing happened to my friend who bought it the same time and place as I did. Maybe those tubes were defective.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Lip & Cheek Stain
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: honolulu
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
My secret weapon
Date:May 14, 2012
Tip: use a lip moisturizer because it tends to dry a bit. Looks great alone, with gloss or under lip color.
The lip stain is very versatile. If I'm just running errands and I want a quick beauty boost, I slap this bad boy on. If I'm going out with friends I'll put about 4 layers so that the color is a little more dramatic (layer, let it dry, layer, repeat). Everyone comments on how naturally blushed my lips look! Great for those days when the wind keeps blowing your hair in your face. There's nothing for your hair to get stuck in!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
youyou
 
Please wait while more information about youyou is loaded.
Additional information about youyou could not be loaded.
i dont like this kind of texture
Posted July 15, 2012
too much water in it, hard to make it evenly on my lip. moreover, this should be rose red instead of pink.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Lip & Cheek Stain
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Seattle
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Good product
Date:April 25, 2012
I purchased this product just to try it out and i ended up liking it alot. as a stain it doesnt stay on your lips as long as some others ive tried, but its better in other ways. most lip stains start to dry out your lips and the stain will start to give them a chapped look through out the day, but this doesnt do that at all. on your cheeks it seems to stay there without any problems and its a really pretty color and its a good product for people that want the color without having to wear and re apply a lipstick or a gloss. good value as well since its a 2 in 1 and since the tube seems like it will last a while. a little also seems to go a long way.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Lip & Cheek Stain
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: New York
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Better than I expected
Date:March 6, 2012
I bought this solely as an experiment as i have never tried lip stains before. I usually don't use cheek stains as my cheeks already have a lot of natural colour.
So I was pleasantly surprised when I finally tried it on as a cheek stain. It gave a very natural, rosy, blushed look.
Although as a lip stain, its not very long lasting, the colour is natural and very fresh.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Lip & Cheek Stain
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Location: Hazel Park, MI
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
I tried...
Date:November 28, 2011
I really tried to like this product. I used it several times to give it a fair chance. However, I just don't like it. It looks like what you get after you wear red lipstick, and you wipe it all off at the end of the night, and are left with this exact look. I also tried doing multiple layers when I applied, and still couldn't get it to look good. Maybe its me, but this product was a disappointment.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Lip & Cheek Stain
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Location: Austin
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
It's Alright
Date:November 1, 2011
I got this as a freebie in my recent order. I thought, "Why not?" It's been at least a couple of years since I've had lip stain, but this one reminded me of how much it dries your lips. The color is pretty vivid after one application-- but it's surprisingly runny. I find myself having to be careful how far along my lip line I should go; and if there's too much on my lips, it ends up making splotches of darker color.
Like others have said, the color doesn't last for very long. I wore this inside for a day as a test-run, and after three or four hours, it was already fading. Having said all that, however, the color was still very pretty and fun to wear. I found it does better as a cheek stain/color base than anything, and sets very well with a spritz of the Vitamin E spray.
A final warning: this isn't a subtle color if you're into natural makeup. The color you see on the bottle is what you're putting on. If you like a natural look (like me), then the fade-out of the stain should be your cup of tea. Just keep some lip balm or healthy gloss at your disposal.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Lip & Cheek Stain
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: Baltimore
Gender: Female
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Disappointed
Date:July 20, 2011
New customer to The Body Shop. I was looking for a lip stain that lasted at least through the work day and didn't dry out lips. Bought the Lip/Cheek Stain in Rose Pink. I applied the lip stain in numerous layers at 7:00 am and then applied a lip gloss. At noon, without drinking or eating anything, the stain had faded and was hardly visible. My quest for a lip stain that lasts a whole day without drying continues.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Lip & Cheek Stain
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Denver
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Love it on my cheeks
Date:March 23, 2011
I love this stuff on my cheeks and tip of my nose - it gives your face a natural flush look, rather than the fake blush look. I use a powder foundation, so, I don't know how it would work with liquid, but, I apply first, then powder over, and, it looks so great and natural. It is also nice if your not wanting to wear any makeup, but, want a bit of natural looking color on your cheeks. Also, it has never made me break out.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Lip & Cheek Stain
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: Denver, CO
Body Shop employee: Yes
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
watery
Date:September 23, 2013
This does absolutely nothing. It's basically colored water and dyes your lips for about an hr....Save your money and buy something else
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Lip & Cheek Stain
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Chapel Hill
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Other
Frequency: Daily
Wear Under Balm or Gloss
Date:September 21, 2014
I bought this stain in the rose color for a specific purpose and I love it. I wanted a stain that would last a long time that I could wear layered under lip gloss, and it works great for that. I apply a coat of the stain and let it dry, then put whatever color I want over it. I have found that it gives me a fuller, more rounded lip color and it lasts all day.
I haven't tried to wear it just by itself and I don't know if I would. I like the color but the stain alone is drying and doesn't add fullness to the lips, so I would still at least wear a lip balm over it to moisturize and to give the lips some shine. I also haven't tried it as a cheek stain, so I don't know it's effectiveness in that way. But for the purpose I bought it for, it works great!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Lip & Cheek Stain
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: West Linn, OR
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: Daily
A make up MUST
Date:September 11, 2014
This is the best cheek stain I have ever used. The color is just perfect and instantly adds life to my face, whether I'm tan or not. It lasts all day and is a staple in my make up bag.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Lip & Cheek Stain
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Mishawaka
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Lack of Radiance
Frequency: Daily
So versatile!
Date:August 29, 2014
I take this stain with me everywhere because it's so versatile and can be used any time, day or night. As a model, it's extra special because I don't have to pack blush and lip gloss for shoots, I can just carry this tube! Love the shades and the consistency.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>