Product Reviews

MADAGASCAN VANILLA FLOWER PERFUME OIL

MADAGASCAN VANILLA FLOWER PERFUME OIL
Average Customer Rating:
3.143 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
rating snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
6
57%would recommend to a friend
Customer Reviews for MADAGASCAN VANILLA FLOWER PERFUME OIL
Review 1 for MADAGASCAN VANILLA FLOWER PERFUME OIL
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Scented
Location: somewhere, ny
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
Very pretty scent
Date:February 23, 2014
This is such a beautiful scent (I'm not comparing this to the old body shop vanilla oil)!! I can't get enough of it. Sometimes, less is more and I love the simplicity of this (and other Body Shop fragrances) and being able to smell all of the notes in it. The vanilla is sweet without being too plastic-y, and it has just the slightest touch of floral. It stays on my skin for several hours, too.
Giving one star for quality because the bottle wasn't filled all the way and the sticker on the back was peeled off a little.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for MADAGASCAN VANILLA FLOWER PERFUME OIL
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
SheliaBee
Location: Pound
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 45 - 49
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Normal
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
Love the perfume oils
Date:February 12, 2014
My skin started itching and the doctor told me I needed to switch to all natural products. With a heavy heart I cleaned out my entire stash of colognes and perfumes. I thought I am gonna never smell pretty again, until I discovered The Body Shop. Everything I have tried smells beautiful and does not make me itch. I am in love. Love the vanilla in this. I put it in my hair and on my body. I can apply before bed and still smell pretty in the morning.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for MADAGASCAN VANILLA FLOWER PERFUME OIL
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
fragrancediva
Location: nashville, tn
Body Shop employee: No
Bring Old Vanilla Back!
Date:January 7, 2014
The worst idea ever was discontinuing the old vanilla perfume oil. Now you have to pay $50 or more on ebay to get it. I am being miserly with my bottle. I had hoped this would be a good substitute but it isn't. I hope that The Body Shop will listen to their costumers. I see I am not the only one that feels this way!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for MADAGASCAN VANILLA FLOWER PERFUME OIL
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
bella11507
Location: Florida
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Daily
Love it!
Date:October 19, 2013
I am so happy I tried the perfume oils!! I have been randomly itching like a crazy person and my dermatologist told me to stop using perfumes and anything with smells....but I like perfume! So I thought I would try the oils, have NOT itched or had an allergic attack of any sort since it has almost been 2 months!
I never smelled the old vanilla so I can't compare. This is a NICE vanilla scent, it's not ridiculous (there are some out there) it's just pleasant and lasts forever!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Naya
 
Please wait while more information about Naya is loaded.
Additional information about Naya could not be loaded.
Bring back original frosted brown bottle vanilla!
Posted February 2, 2014
Like so many others have commented...I wish Body Shop would bring back the original vanilla...the one that smelled just like baking vanilla. Like cookie dough. I wore it in college (1992-96)...and then sometime maybe around 2000, they came out with a slightly different vanilla. It has just never been the same. I have a few drops of my original vanilla left...that I'm afraid to use....lest I never be able to take a whiff and be transported back to all the wonderful, warm, happy moments that the original vanilla brought me. I loved all the original oils...when the stores had the little pedestals with ~30 apothecary-style bottles of oils for customers to sample. I had so many favorites...white musk, ORIGINAL vanilla, fuzzy peach, Juba, dewberry, and about 10 others. Now everything is so pared down...as if the 'nose' of the everyday customer has just become narrow-minded...and every line of perfume oils smells alike. All vanillas now seem to smell floral or spicey.....or fruity. Yuck. The only vanillas I've found that even come close to that heavenly Body Shop Original....are the ORIGINAL L'Occitaine Vanille Bourbon (also discontinued but occasionally available on ebay for like $200/teeny-tiny .25 oz bottle.....or, more easily available, is Aura Cacia's vanilla essential oil in jojoba oil. It smells pretty similar to the Body Shop original...but not as strong. Still, it's close enough that it keeps me from fuming about my long-lost BoSho fave. BRING BACK THE FIRST VANILLA. Pleeease?
(I will say...in general, I love the BoSho....and at least White Musk is still a strong seller. That's another signature scent for me.)
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for MADAGASCAN VANILLA FLOWER PERFUME OIL
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Loulou
Location: Bridgetown
Body Shop employee: No
Date:October 16, 2013
I love this fragrance! Enough vanilla with musk. Love it!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for MADAGASCAN VANILLA FLOWER PERFUME OIL
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
KimSim
Location: Queens, New York
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Not crazy about it!!!!
Date:August 31, 2013
ReviewBRING BACK THE OLD VANILLA
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for MADAGASCAN VANILLA FLOWER PERFUME OIL
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
bodyshop13
Location: Poughkeepsie
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Fine Lines
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Not what I wanted
Date:August 23, 2013
Desperately in love with the original vanilla scent, I have avoided this fragrance for a while now. I remember when you could go into the body shop and make your own lotion with a big table of oils. Fuzzy Peach and Vanilla were my go-tos. Finally, desperate for the "good ol' days" I tried this oil. I am so disappointed. While I'm sure it does smell like a madagascan vanilla flower, it is not the scent I want. I want the original vanilla back. The warm, yummy smell of vanilla made my bad day go away. I would wear it in college and it soothed me while studying. Lulled me to sleep. I remember weraing it and hearing people comment on how something smells good. My sister described it as comforting and warm. All things you want to hear when you wear a frangrance. The "new" vanilla did none of that for me. I didn't seem as strong - lasted for only a few hours compared to the lingering scents of baked goods I used to wear that lasted all day. The flowery scent overpowered the vanilla. it left me wanting more. I gave this one a shot - I wore it for a month. I was hoping to fall in love with it - but I guess I just want to smell delicious, not like a flower.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for MADAGASCAN VANILLA FLOWER PERFUME OIL
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Maggie
Location: Ohio
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Combination
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Date:July 16, 2013
i like this perfume oil better than the other new oils in the same line (japanese cherry blossom, atlas mountain rose, and amazonian wild lily). i personally didn't like the old vanilla oil, so i'm not comparing this vanilla flower oil to that. i think this oil will be better for me in the cooler months, is a little heavy for the summer. is spicy and unique. i like this better than the spray with the same name as this is alcohol free and smells a little different without the alcohol.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for MADAGASCAN VANILLA FLOWER PERFUME OIL
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chodie
Location: Sarasota
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Oily
SkinConcern: Other
Frequency: Daily
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Spicey Indeed
Date:June 11, 2013
This doesn't smell like vanilla (maybe a tiny hint) but it does smell absolutely fabulous. Its like a sweet spice with a touch of melon. I'd be more specific but I honestly don't know what to compare it to. It's a complex, sweet, spicy, warm (not cinnamon warm but still warm) sexy scent.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for MADAGASCAN VANILLA FLOWER PERFUME OIL
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Care
Location: Coventry
bring the old vanilla perfume back!
Date:March 13, 2013
I was so bummed that the body shop discontinued the old vanilla perfume oil. This new vanilla is absolutely terrible! Please bring back the old vanilla!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Rubymm
 
Please wait while more information about Rubymm is loaded.
Additional information about Rubymm could not be loaded.
Posted July 8, 2013
I agree I used the original scent for years and was so sad when I couldn't get it anymore.even ordered it from Canada when you stopped carrying it in The Colonie store.i would buy a case if I could get it again.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for MADAGASCAN VANILLA FLOWER PERFUME OIL
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
VanillaMUM
Location: Beverly Hills, CA
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Please bring the Original Vanilla Perfume Oil back
Date:March 7, 2013
Why on earth would the Body Shop get rid of the original scent??? This scent smells almost medicinal, with nno hint of vanilla. I have been using the Original Vanilla Perfume Oil for over 20 years and get so many compliments on it. Random, from strangers even! I know I'm not the only one who's incredibly upset the Original Vanilla Perfume Oil being discontinued. Please, PLEASE bring it back!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for MADAGASCAN VANILLA FLOWER PERFUME OIL
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
broadsword
Location: kinder
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
floral and creamy vanilla
Date:February 7, 2013
getting rid of the original perfume oils was the worst business decision the body shop ever made.that being said, this vanilla perfume oil is very nice and my favorite out of the voyage collection.this scent is very creamy and vanilla-y with a lovely touch of floral.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for MADAGASCAN VANILLA FLOWER PERFUME OIL
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Buttercupcake
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
Love the New Fresh and Exotic Vanilla Scent
Date:February 7, 2013
I LOVE this new scent!!!
It reminds me more of an Island Vanilla than say the Vanilla Bliss or the other Vanilla products from The Body Shop.
I can see why some people may not like it as much as the previous Vanilla scent but The Body Shop does still offer a very Vanilla Body Mist and a new EDT.
If you like a warmer, true Vanilla scent then take a look at the Vanilla Body Mist and EDT in my recommendations below.
If you like the sound of a fresh and exotic Vanilla scent - then this is the scent for you!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for MADAGASCAN VANILLA FLOWER PERFUME OIL
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
LilyAnn
Location: MSP
Bring back the original Vanilla!
Date:January 25, 2013
I had high hopes for this product. I heard that it is replacing the classic Vanilla line, so I thought it would be similar to the Vanilla Perfume Oil. No such luck. There is no vanilla here - it is all flower. Which would be fine if it was supposed to be a purely floral scent. I want my Vanilla back!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Care
 
Please wait while more information about Care is loaded.
Additional information about Care could not be loaded.
Terrible
Posted March 3, 2013
I was a huge fan of the old vanilla line so I was hoping this would replace my old vanilla perfume and unfortunately it won't. It smells nothing like the old vanilla line. Please bring back your old vanilla. Pretty please...
Comments (1)
Comment (1)