Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Skin Primer Matte It

Skin Primer Matte It
Average Customer Rating:
4.442 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
rating snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
0
88%would recommend to a friend
Customer Reviews for Skin Primer Matte It
Review 1 for Skin Primer Matte It
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
roldannicole
Location: Seattle
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Oily
SkinConcern: Shine
Frequency: Daily
Smoothes & Mattifies
Date:November 15, 2013
I love this product. I have oily skin and I put this on first under my makeup. It primes my skin well providing a smooth even surface for my makeup to go on. Also, throughout the day it prevents shine from my normally oily skin. I put this on before the All-In-One BB Cream, my mineral powder, then finish w/ TBS Baked to Last Bronzer, and my makeup stays all day. The only downside is when it is really hot outside and I get sweaty, it doesn't last as long and I get shiny again. But normally it is awesome. I would definitely recommend this product as well as many other TBS makeup products.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Skin Primer Matte It
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sofie
Location: Denver, CO
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Dark
Eye color: Black
SkinType: Normal
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
Really Thick
Date:September 23, 2013
Yes this product works great as a primer but it's VERY thick. My face felt super heavy and putting foundation on top of that --- eh I felt gross. I would not recommend to a friend and would tell them to try out hourglass or smashbox for a better primer.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Skin Primer Matte It
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
sydangel
Location: Sacramento
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Shine
Frequency: Daily
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
felt greasy
Date:September 2, 2013
I decided to try this primer after the one (not Body Shop brand) that I had been using and loved was discontinued. The reviews were so positive that I had high hopes. Unfortunately, I did not like this primer at all. It felt greasy when applying and just wasn't as effective as my old primer....just didn't seem like it did anything for me. I kept thinking I should return and exchange it for something else, but thought I'd keep trying it for a while longer to see if my opinion would change. It has not and I can't wait to find another primer.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Skin Primer Matte It
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
ARosie
Location: Houston, TX
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Best
Date:September 2, 2013
I have tried quite a few primers, and this is my favorite. It really does seems to keep my makeup in place and keep back shine. Every now and then it has an off day, but for the most part I trust it the most of the various brands and styles I have tried. And a decent price compared to others as well.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Skin Primer Matte It
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
VickiFL
Location: Orlando, FL
Gender: Female
Age: 45 - 49
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Shine
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
I'm very happy I bought this!
Date:April 18, 2013
This is great stuff! It really keeps shine under control! I use the seaweed matifying day cream and tea tree skin clearing lotion first. Then I use this under my makeup.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Skin Primer Matte It
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
septmorne
Location: Cleveland
Gender: Female
Age: 55 - 60
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Shine
Frequency: Daily
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Love this!!
Date:March 27, 2013
I had never used a make-up primer before, and now wonder why! I use the Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream first and then the primer. My skin feels smoother and my foundation goes on better. The shine on my face stays away for a good part of the day except for my nose. I can usually just blot it with a small amount of the primer later in the day and that takes care of it. It's not a large tube, but you only need a small amount. I have all ready recommended this product to others who have oily skin.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Skin Primer Matte It
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Zorain
Location: Lahore
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Medium
SkinType: Combination
So happy with the purchase
Date:March 9, 2013
I bought this primer because my Body Shop's extra virgin mineral liquid foundation would not stay on throughout the day.
Though I stopped using the liquid foundation altogether, I am very happy with this product. I use it under TBS's extra virgin mineral powder foundation and the difference is amazing. Without it, the powder foundation just smooths out my skin lightly but with it, the difference is BIG and it still doesn't look like i'm wearing a foundation. When I was in Australia, I had people complimenting how fresh I looked after nine-hour work days.
The transparent tube also helps you see exactly how much product is left which is a big plus for me after running out of eye primers without warning (or finding out how little product the tube actually held).
I'm still looking for a good eyelid primer but for the rest of the face, this is it for me.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Skin Primer Matte It
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
DEBSTHEMOM
Location: Thornton CO
Gender: Female
Age: 55 - 60
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Oily
SkinConcern: Shine
Frequency: Daily
LOVE THIS PRODUCT
Date:March 1, 2013
I accidentally stumbled upon this product while at the airport waiting for a flight and have been using it ever since. Very very good and helpful for keeping make up on. When you can get it for buy2Get2, it's a great deal!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Skin Primer Matte It
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
tvtcsn
Location: Tucson
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
Didn't work for me :(
Date:January 15, 2013
I really wanted this to work but unfortunately it didn't. My make up still runs out off my face and still greasy as always.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Skin Primer Matte It
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Danigirl11
Location: St. Louis
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
Another great find at TBS...
Date:September 22, 2012
I have rarely been disappointed with any purchase at the body shop, and this is no exception. Great texture, not too expensive, make up looks fresh longer - once again, thank you body shop!!!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Skin Primer Matte It
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
FabFungus
Location: Sacramento, CA
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
The Matte It primer WORKS!
Date:September 18, 2012
I've tested plenty of high-end primers but I never really felt like any of them worked for me when I wanted the matte finish. I decided to give TBS's primer matte a try and I REALLY saw the difference! I get oily about mid-day but with this primer (maybe it could've also been the matte materials in my foundation as well), but I barely felt any oil on my face by the evening time. Even when I was sweating, my sweat would perspire through my makeup and my makeup stayed on just as well after dabbing the sweat off of my face.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Skin Primer Matte It
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
MrsPottersLullabye
Location: Syracuse
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
Helps Makeup Last
Date:September 14, 2012
This primer goes on smoothly and makes under eye concealer and foundation go on very easily.
I apply my moisturizer; let that set a few minutes; apply the primer in a very, very thin layer and then apply makeup. Set with powder and am good to go for 2-4 hours.
My skin is very acne prone, so I am always wary of applying too many products (or any products) to my face. This has not caused any breakouts, which is pretty impressive. As I said, I use it sparingly, but now I wouldn't want to apply under eye concealer or foundation without it.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Skin Primer Matte It
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
tg4jc
Location: Phoenix
Gender: Female
Age: 50 -54
Best for the value
Date:August 21, 2012
This product is a must if you use mineral foundation. I have used several different brands and believe this to be the best. And pricewise you can't beat it!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Skin Primer Matte It
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
JillyBee
Location: Greensboro
so soft!
Date:August 18, 2012
This makes my face super soft! I put it on after my sunblock but before my tinted moisturizer and it seems to work best that way. I typically have normal skin, but with sunblock and tinted moisturizer I can start to look a little oily by the end of the day. This stuff makes it so I can go about 6 hours before I need a touch up on my powder.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Skin Primer Matte It
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
eliz42
Location: West Virginia
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
Wonderful!
Date:July 30, 2012
Love this! See a difference right away and lasts all day. Wonderful on my nose!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Skin Primer Matte It
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
zsanchez
Location: chico
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
freaken love this product!
Date:July 14, 2012
this primer is AMAZING! the first time i tried it i couldn't believe how soft it left my skin. i don't think i have ever had a primer that made my skin feel this good. i almost don't want to put anything over it. it leaves an nice soft surface for my foundation without it being oily. i can go the whole day wearing it too.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Skin Primer Matte It
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
TJW83
Location: Lakewood
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
A new skin
Date:July 6, 2012
This primer definitely does the job of hiding pores and making skin appear smooth as a baby's face. I love how my combination/oily skin stays matted for at least 8 hours of the day. You don't even need to apply alot just a dime size for your whole face. In my opinion this works just as good as Smashbox Photo Finish Primer and Bare minerals which are two that I've tried in the past. My skin doesn't break out either and it seems to keep my oil glands in check.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Skin Primer Matte It
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
suzette
Location: SC via NY
Gender: Female
Age: 50 -54
A little goes a very long way
Date:July 5, 2012
I love the smooth gel feel of this primer. It goes on smoothly, evenly and my foundation glides on. Body Shop has promotions frequently enough that I feel I'm able to purchase some of the pricey products without breaking my bank. I normally wouldn't have purchased this product, but now I'm hooked!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Skin Primer Matte It
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Dory
Location: Grand Rapids
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Gel Like
Date:June 1, 2012
I enjoy this product so far however I normally and will always prefer a smoother product for a primer. To me this looks/feels like a gel texture.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Skin Primer Matte It
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
bodyshopjunkie
Location: Pittsburgh
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Better than Smashbox
Date:May 12, 2012
I use to spend 4 times as much on smashbox primer and thought I would try this primer since I love most of the body shops products. I love it. It feels softer and smoother than other brands I have tried and the price is great!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>