Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Skin Primer Matte It

Skin Primer Matte It
Average Customer Rating:
4.409 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
rating snapshot (71 reviews)
5 stars
45
4 stars
13
3 stars
10
2 stars
3
1 star
0
87%would recommend to a friend
Customer Reviews for Skin Primer Matte It
Review 1 for Skin Primer Matte It
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Kansas City
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
best primer i've ever worn!
Date:February 21, 2012
i'm extremely oily and wow this primer really does the trick! i don't wear makeup i just put this primer on top of my moisturizer and it keeps my skin matte, soft, and shine free. when i first felt it in my hands i was a little scared because it felt really thick, but it doesn't feel that way on your skin, it absorbs quickly and doesn't feel heavy, it doesn't even feel like it's there.
i use it in conjunction with the tea tree line and my skin has cleared up and is looking really nice.
my search for the perfect primer is over. :)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Skin Primer Matte It
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Pittsburgh
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Better than Smashbox
Date:May 12, 2012
I use to spend 4 times as much on smashbox primer and thought I would try this primer since I love most of the body shops products. I love it. It feels softer and smoother than other brands I have tried and the price is great!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Skin Primer Matte It
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Location: Sacramento
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Shine
Frequency: Daily
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
felt greasy
Date:September 2, 2013
I decided to try this primer after the one (not Body Shop brand) that I had been using and loved was discontinued. The reviews were so positive that I had high hopes. Unfortunately, I did not like this primer at all. It felt greasy when applying and just wasn't as effective as my old primer....just didn't seem like it did anything for me. I kept thinking I should return and exchange it for something else, but thought I'd keep trying it for a while longer to see if my opinion would change. It has not and I can't wait to find another primer.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Skin Primer Matte It
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Cleveland
Gender: Female
Age: 55 - 60
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Shine
Frequency: Daily
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Love this!!
Date:March 27, 2013
I had never used a make-up primer before, and now wonder why! I use the Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream first and then the primer. My skin feels smoother and my foundation goes on better. The shine on my face stays away for a good part of the day except for my nose. I can usually just blot it with a small amount of the primer later in the day and that takes care of it. It's not a large tube, but you only need a small amount. I have all ready recommended this product to others who have oily skin.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Skin Primer Matte It
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: New York
Gender: Female
Age: Above 60
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Super Stuff
Date:April 6, 2012
Most non-powder foundations leave me looking shiny, which I loathe, so then I have to go over my face with powder. I've discovered that mixing a little of Matte It with liquid foundation on the back of my hand, then applying with a stipple brush, gives amazing matte coverage. No shine, no need for powder! Great stuff, reasonable price.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Skin Primer Matte It
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Marquette, MI
Gender: Female
Age: 50 -54
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
New Product in My Makeup Bag!
Date:March 17, 2012
Tried this on a whim; I bought it when I discovered the Tinted Glow Enhancer was no longer available (which was the basic of my makeup kit)! I wouldn't go out without it! I mix it with the Honey Bronzer to get a lighter shade for my complexion. It provides me with a smooth consistency for the color, shade & cover-up anytime of the year. As an 'older' woman who still has great skin tone, it works as marvelous product to minimize age spots and those imperfections that appear from no where some days! It's a staple product in my make-up bag now!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Skin Primer Matte It
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Northern New Jersey
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Date:December 16, 2011
Works well with my skin and it's not heavy.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Skin Primer Matte It
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Seattle
Gender: Female
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Decent Primer for a First Timer
Date:December 3, 2011
I've never used a primer before, but was looking for something that would keep my face looking fresh all day and - more importantly - prevent the eyeshadow from sliding off my lids. This product isn't perfect, but my eyeshadow did stayed put and I had considerably less shine at the end of a long work day. I didn't find it too be too oily either, and this is coming from someone who is extremely finicky about my skin care and makeup. I'm not willing to spend $20+ on a fancy primer, so this was probably decent value. Just wish it lasted longer and came in a bigger bottle.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Skin Primer Matte It
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Mexico
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
The best ever
Date:September 27, 2011
This is my first primer from TBS. I have been using Smashbox, but it is kind of thick. So I will change brand 'cause this primer matte is the best one I have ever tried; smooth, light and cheap ! works great on my oily skin, matte all day long without touching up my make up. Thank you body Shop !!!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Skin Primer Matte It
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Marquette
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Awesome prodauct
Date:August 11, 2011
I love this product! It allows for a smooth finish on my skin leaving it non oily all day!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Skin Primer Matte It
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Denver
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Date:June 27, 2011
This is great. It fills in all the bumps and imperfections on your face before you put in foundation and then your makeup goes on much smoother and lasts longer.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Skin Primer Matte It
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Houston, TX
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Best
Date:September 2, 2013
I have tried quite a few primers, and this is my favorite. It really does seems to keep my makeup in place and keep back shine. Every now and then it has an off day, but for the most part I trust it the most of the various brands and styles I have tried. And a decent price compared to others as well.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Skin Primer Matte It
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Location: Grand Rapids
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Gel Like
Date:June 1, 2012
I enjoy this product so far however I normally and will always prefer a smoother product for a primer. To me this looks/feels like a gel texture.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Skin Primer Matte It
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Seattle
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Oily
SkinConcern: Shine
Frequency: Daily
Smoothes & Mattifies
Date:November 15, 2013
I love this product. I have oily skin and I put this on first under my makeup. It primes my skin well providing a smooth even surface for my makeup to go on. Also, throughout the day it prevents shine from my normally oily skin. I put this on before the All-In-One BB Cream, my mineral powder, then finish w/ TBS Baked to Last Bronzer, and my makeup stays all day. The only downside is when it is really hot outside and I get sweaty, it doesn't last as long and I get shiny again. But normally it is awesome. I would definitely recommend this product as well as many other TBS makeup products.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Skinclean
 
Please wait while more information about Skinclean is loaded.
Additional information about Skinclean could not be loaded.
The worst primer ever
Posted April 20, 2014
This makes my skin oily Very quickly, dont mattifies at all, dont hide pores, its so so nasty, dont recomend it at all
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Skin Primer Matte It
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Denver, CO
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Dark
Eye color: Black
SkinType: Normal
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
Really Thick
Date:September 23, 2013
Yes this product works great as a primer but it's VERY thick. My face felt super heavy and putting foundation on top of that --- eh I felt gross. I would not recommend to a friend and would tell them to try out hourglass or smashbox for a better primer.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Skin Primer Matte It
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Orlando, FL
Gender: Female
Age: 45 - 49
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Shine
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
I'm very happy I bought this!
Date:April 18, 2013
This is great stuff! It really keeps shine under control! I use the seaweed matifying day cream and tea tree skin clearing lotion first. Then I use this under my makeup.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Skin Primer Matte It
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Lahore
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Medium
SkinType: Combination
So happy with the purchase
Date:March 9, 2013
I bought this primer because my Body Shop's extra virgin mineral liquid foundation would not stay on throughout the day.
Though I stopped using the liquid foundation altogether, I am very happy with this product. I use it under TBS's extra virgin mineral powder foundation and the difference is amazing. Without it, the powder foundation just smooths out my skin lightly but with it, the difference is BIG and it still doesn't look like i'm wearing a foundation. When I was in Australia, I had people complimenting how fresh I looked after nine-hour work days.
The transparent tube also helps you see exactly how much product is left which is a big plus for me after running out of eye primers without warning (or finding out how little product the tube actually held).
I'm still looking for a good eyelid primer but for the rest of the face, this is it for me.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Skin Primer Matte It
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Thornton CO
Gender: Female
Age: 55 - 60
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Oily
SkinConcern: Shine
Frequency: Daily
LOVE THIS PRODUCT
Date:March 1, 2013
I accidentally stumbled upon this product while at the airport waiting for a flight and have been using it ever since. Very very good and helpful for keeping make up on. When you can get it for buy2Get2, it's a great deal!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Skin Primer Matte It
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Location: Tucson
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
Didn't work for me :(
Date:January 15, 2013
I really wanted this to work but unfortunately it didn't. My make up still runs out off my face and still greasy as always.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Skin Primer Matte It
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: St. Louis
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
Another great find at TBS...
Date:September 22, 2012
I have rarely been disappointed with any purchase at the body shop, and this is no exception. Great texture, not too expensive, make up looks fresh longer - once again, thank you body shop!!!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>