Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Aloe Calming Facial Cleanser

Aloe Calming Facial Cleanser
Average Customer Rating:
4.603 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(78 Reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
rating snapshot (78 reviews)
5 stars
58
4 stars
10
3 stars
9
2 stars
1
1 star
0
91%would recommend to a friend
Customer Reviews for Aloe Calming Facial Cleanser
Review 1 for Aloe Calming Facial Cleanser
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
PeachyMe
Location: Denver
Gender: Female
Age: 50 -54
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Daily
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
My Sensitive Skin LOVES this Line
Date:June 25, 2013
I cannot tell you how thankful I am for the entire Body Shop Aloe skin care line. My worst fear is that they will stop making it and I'll have to start my search once again for products I can use on my super-sensitive, reactive skin. I know this is supposed to be a review of the Aloe Calming Facial Cleanser but this review goes for the entire Aloe line. All of the products are super gentle. After checking the ingredients list, I see that there is not one single ingredient that is considered "reactive" to sensitive skin--meaning none of the ingredients are harsh or stripping or contain fragrance or other potential irritants. Believe me, I've done my research over the years since I get occasional rosacea and my skin reacts horribly to so many ingredients in all of the expensive, medical or high-end skin care lines. So, this line (and this cleanser) are constants on my bathroom counter. I use nothing else but these products on my skin. My skin is also prone to acne breakouts on the nose and chin. No breakouts with these products. They do not contain pore-clogging oils and are truly non-acnegenic as far as I'm concerned. If you order the sample kit as I originally did, you may well become addicted to this line. If you are like me, and have searched high and low for a great line of products that won't aggravate sensitive skin, I think you will find this line your "miracle" cure. At least I did. As for the Aloe Calming Facial Cleanser, it is super gentle and works beautifully to cleanse the skin of makeup, oil and dirt. At night, when cleansing is the most important, I use this cleanser and then follow up with the Aloe Gentle Facial Wash. I like to use both so that my skin is thoroughly cleansed. In the morning I use only one of the cleansers, depending on whether I feel I want a creamy cleanser or a foaming one. Enjoy these products!!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Aloe Calming Facial Cleanser
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
jmarv75
Location: NYC
Gender: Female
Age: 50 -54
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Daily
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Great product / TERRIBLE container
Date:May 11, 2013
So sad I can only give this great product a low rating. Please, someone tell me how to get this cleanser out of the bottle. I bought the travel size in order to test the product, and fell in love with this cleanser. It is so gentle and soothing. But the regular size bottle is a hard plastic and it is impossible to get out the thick cleanser!! I would buy this product regularly if the packaging worked, but until TBS changes it, I won't buy again. Too bad, it's a great cleanser.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Aloe Calming Facial Cleanser
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
BinCA
Location: CA
Gender: Female
Age: 50 -54
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
No more pimples!
Date:September 4, 2012
This is the absolute best product and the ONLY one that's worked for me in my 50 years. I've had acne all my life and now i'm 50 and it's still there, and as always it worsens at my monthly period and lessens after it. No cream, cleanser or even pill has made any difference. I bought this with the intention of it helping with dry skin that comes with age but what it did was a miracle in that within 7-10 days my face became completely clear and it's been that way since. That was about 6 months ago. I still get regular periods and all the other symptoms but no pimples at all any more. I love this product. Don't change it please Body Shop!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Aloe Calming Facial Cleanser
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
jely
Location: Miami
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Great for super sensitive skin!
Date:June 17, 2012
So, I've been searching for the perfect cleanser to go with my Mia2, which is working beautifully. I've had problem skin (acne, rash, redness, oily/dry, sensitive to anything) since puberty (I am now 31), but nothing really ever seems to work long-term. I've tried the Purity line from Philosophy, which did okay, but after a few weeks my face wasn't getting any better. I tried items from Lush, being vegan I thought they would work nicely but sadly no. I've even used drugstore brands since they are obviously a good value, but nope! Nada!
THEN, by some random chance I came across the Aloe line and grabbed a handful of products for the 5 for 3 deal and WOW! This is exactly what I've been searching for. The whole line is amazing, but especially this cleanser in combination with the toner. My skin does not feel irritated or tight-dry, just clean and fresh and ready for the next step. I can already notice the difference in my skin from using this and it's only been a couple of days!
I know, I've tried lots of things from every corner of the cosmetic world and not everything works on everyone. But, if you have super sensitive skin that reacts to everything, give this a try. It's also a much better value than other products that give you much less and charge you way more. I hope they never stop making the Aloe line!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Aloe Calming Facial Cleanser
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
KLT83
Location: Chicago
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Saved my skin
Date:May 12, 2012
I have severe skin issues on my face, including redness, dryness, and acne. My skin is very sensitive, and I tried this because aloe has helped me before. It is the only face wash that I have used that didn't cause me to break out into a horrible, dry eczema nightmare. I have used it for years and buy it in bulk every year and use it twice a day everyday. I lost hope there was nothing left to help my skin, and this whole product line saved my skin.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Aloe Calming Facial Cleanser
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Raindrops
Location: San Francisco
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Great!
Date:November 9, 2011
This does what it's suppose to do and what does not do what it's not. It cleanses your skin thoroughly yet does not irritate the skin. I have slightly sensitive skin and whenever I used foam cleansers my forehand around my eyebrows would get red and itchy. None of that with this!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Aloe Calming Facial Cleanser
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
mm1001
Location: Ohio
Body Shop employee: No
Great facial cleanser
Date:June 27, 2014
I have dry, sensitive skin and this cleanser is the only one that makes my face feel clean, yet not dried out. It is the perfect blend of moisturizing and cleansing. The only negative about this product is that the container is terrible! There is wasted product because the container is made of very hard plastic, which can't be squeezed. There is probably quite a bit of wasted product each time I throw out the container. It would be great if the product was sold in either a tub (like the aloe calming moisturizer) or in a squeezable tube. I also wish the product was sold in larger sizes.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Aloe Calming Facial Cleanser
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Saphirra
Location: New Albany
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Normal
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Daily
Perfect for Dry Sensitive Skin
Date:April 26, 2014
I love this product. I have used tons of different face washes and acne kits in the past and none have worked. In fact, most just made my sensitive skin peel or break out more. I've never had terrible acne, but my chin is prone to breakouts that I've never been able to tame. I discovered The Body Shop about a month ago and was blown away by all of their products and the amount of care that goes into them. Definitely more expensive that what I'm usually comfortable with, but you get what you pay for. I chose this lotion-like cleanser because I didn't want my skin peeling and it was perfect. It keeps my face moisturized and although it is VERY gentle, it does reduce pimple size and redness. However, I do use the aloe toner alongside with this product, so I'm not sure if my face would look at great as it does now if I didn't use the combination. Either way, I love how soft my skin feels after using this and I like how natural it is. If you have sensitive skin, this amazing face wash will do just the trick for you :) I added a picture of my face with my hair pulled back so you can see the results. I've been using the product for 2 weeks and my face is almost flawless. I have a couple spots on my face, but they aren't very noticeable since they are decreasing in redness every day.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Aloe Calming Facial Cleanser
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
monogrammom
Location: Cumming, GA USA
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 45 - 49
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Daily
My face is not red after shower now
Date:April 24, 2014
I really like this. I was thinking I had rosacea. My skin is not red and blotchy after shower. Came back to see if they have this is body wash. Only negative is it is hard to get out of bottle in shower. I am going to try the pump version and see if it works as well.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Aloe Calming Facial Cleanser
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
dsmeltz
Location: Lafayette, IN
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
Awesome Stuff
Date:February 19, 2014
Whenever I use harsher, non-TBS cleansers, my face often stings or feels raw. This line feels so gentle but gets the job done. I use other products when I am having a breakout, but this is what I use before bed every night!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Aloe Calming Facial Cleanser
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
rsfred
Location: Boston
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Daily
Great Gentle Creamy Cleanser!
Date:February 2, 2014
I bought this aloe cleanser along with the aloe soothing face lotion and the seaweed pore perfecter for my sensitive, red skin with big pores on my cheeks and nose. This aloe cleanser is great if you live in dry, cold weather for most of the year. I have been using it for a little over a month and it has helped to even out the redness on my face and does remove oils and makeup effectively without drying my face out. The only reason it did not get 5 stars was because, in my experience, it is not something you would use in the summer months if you have oily/combo skin, I went on vacation down south where it was 80 degrees and humid, and I broke out so badly,This cleanser is not for acne, and I think in the summer months I will have to get the seaweed cleanser for something that has a deeper clean. Other than that, it has worked great for my sensitive, red, combo skin!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Aloe Calming Facial Cleanser
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
ponycrazy
Location: Florida
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Very Dry
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Daily
Perfect for Accutane Users
Date:January 26, 2014
I bought this when I started using accutane, knowing my skin was going to be severely dry and it's been such a life saver. It's extremely soothing and doesn't irritate or dry my skin more than it already is from the medication. Plus, I do feel that it truly does clean my skin, it doesn't leave a residue behind and leaves my face very smooth. If you suffer from dry or sensitive skin, or even worse, are on accutane, this is the staple face wash you need by your sink.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Aloe Calming Facial Cleanser
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
jenaginy
Location: Chicago
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Dark
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Other
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
It's Okay
Date:June 5, 2013
This cleanser is okay, but not the best cleanser I've used. I like that it doesn't irritate my skin, but it leaves my skin feeling a little dehydrated and unclean. I've used many lotion type cleaners and they seem to clean my skin while leaving it hydrated at the same time. I'm going to use it as a shaving cream now.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Aloe Calming Facial Cleanser
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
cath
Location: Gonzales
Gender: Female
Age: 55 - 60
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Daily
Good stuff
Date:March 9, 2013
When I first started using the Aloe facial cleanser, I found it didn't do well at all taking off makeup...any of it:( So I started using it every morning instead of at night. I like that it leaves a slight moisturizing film on my face which helps my dry skin.
THEN, I ordered one of those flannel facial washcloths, and voila,...PROBLEM SOLVED! I use it day and night:)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Aloe Calming Facial Cleanser
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
SkinGoddess
Location: Olympia, WA
Gender: Female
Age: Above 60
Fantastic cleansing cream
Date:December 27, 2012
I love this mild and gentle lotion on my face. Because my skin is so sensitive, I cannot use most products with fragrance, so this really is great for me. I too loved Mary Kay cleanser - but this one tops it all. I downgraded my rating because of the user UNFRIENDLY packaging. It is extremely difficult to get the product out of the rigid bottle. Please consider putting this in a squeeze tube or bottle with a pump.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Aloe Calming Facial Cleanser
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
MrsMiller
Location: Denton
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
Decent cleaner/moisturizer
Date:December 20, 2012
Honestly, I really can't comprehend how a product can clean and provide moisture but this definitely meets the goal. Better than Mary Kay ( if previously used)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Aloe Calming Facial Cleanser
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mandolin
Location: Charlotte
Nice but thick
Date:September 19, 2012
This cleanser feels good on the skin but it is difficult to get out of the bottle and I also end up with too much.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Aloe Calming Facial Cleanser
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
lpriv
Location: New Jersey
Gender: Female
Age: 45 - 49
Excellent for super sensitive skin
Date:July 12, 2012
This is the lightest and most sensitive cleanser you will ever buy. My facial skin is so sensitive that most cleansers burn. This is great, no burning, itching or irritation. This is for cleansing only, not for acne. I use this cleanser on days when I wear makeup as I cannot use my regular, stronger cleanser twice a day because my skin becomes irritated. It's great for removing makeup also. If you've tried everything else and still experience irritation, this is the product for you.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Aloe Calming Facial Cleanser
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pepin909
Location: Tampa Bay, FL
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
Great for sensitive skin!
Date:June 27, 2012
I've used this for years and get compliments on my skin a bit. My face tends to be dry and is definitely sensitive. Before I started using this line, I had a bit of peeling and redness, but I've never been prone to breakouts. I've found this works well when paired with the rest of the line. I very much like that this does not lather and is so creamy.
I do remove my makeup with the chamomile makeup remover before using this cleanser. By the time I use the toner, my skin is quite clean and I get no traces of makeup at all.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Aloe Calming Facial Cleanser
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Anonymous
Location: Cedar Rapids
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
It was okay
Date:May 22, 2012
I bought this due to raving reviews on here and total beauty. Overall, i wasn't very impressed with how it worked. First off, i don't really fancy the texture of this wash, it doesn't feel like it's doing it's job. And secondly, it didn't do much for my skin. Granted, it's not an acne clearing product, but i though it would've worked better than it did. I'm going to try the tea tree cleanser & toner instead and see how those work.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
RNKate
 
Please wait while more information about RNKate is loaded.
Additional information about RNKate could not be loaded.
Try both together!
Posted November 16, 2012
I'm 31, and have very fair & sensitive skin that is also very acne-prone. I've tried products from every store & brand, through every price-range, and nothing could compare to the job my prescription gel ever did (though that was rather harsh on my face itself, it took care of the acne!). Then, I tried the Tea Tree line... and have been thrilled with the results! While the prescription worked a bit better, the Tea Tree products are the only ones that have actually 1) worked, and 2) worked quite well.
My problems came when my T-zone still got rather flaky. No amount of moisturizer could fix it. Then I discovered the wonders of non-astringent toner! The Tea Tree toner really just helps balance out the skin's pH before you use moisturizer. No more big, ugly flakes on my nose & forehead since using a toner before moisturizer.
Now, of course there are times when sensitive skin needs a bit of extra TLC, maybe a more gentle cleanser before Tea Tree toner & moisturizer, or a more gentle moisturizer after the Tea Tree cleanser & toner, or any other combination. I find that when I spend more time outside, or during the super-dry Northeast winters, this is often the case. So, I use a mix of Tea Tree and Aloe products, depending on my skin's needs on any given day. The ingredients in the Aloe products don't irritate the skin or cause breakouts, and the Tea Tree products fight breakouts.
Definitely a win-win combo for me!
The point being: don't be afraid to try different products to achieve what your skin needs. Also, pay attention to your skin daily, and tweak your skin care routine to make it happy! Routine should only mean that you are actually doing something, not necessarily using the same exact things day, after day, after day.
I hope you find the right combo for your needs!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 3 next>>