Product Reviews

Big & Curvy Mascara

Average Customer Rating:
3.292 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
rating snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
19
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
7
1 star
12
58%would recommend to a friend
Customer Reviews for Big & Curvy Mascara
Review 1 for Big & Curvy Mascara
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ohiogal
Location: Reynoldsburg
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Lack of Firmness
Frequency: Daily
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Good Mascara
Date:March 3, 2014
Have tried other department store brands and this is much better than all the ones I have tried ( tried a lot ). It doesn't smudge and is easy to remove. Makes my lashes look full. Very happy with this mascara.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Big & Curvy Mascara
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
cris1582
Location: Baltimore
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Is Exactly What It Claims to Be
Date:August 22, 2012
This product does provide big curly lashes. So much so that people thought I curled my lashes. It definitely is not good for a newbie to mascara as the wand is pretty much just to get it on your lashes. For full effect you will need either a lash comb or a clean wand to separate the lashes. Use the zig zag method from root to tip and it will definitely only take one coat. I only used one coat in the enclosed picture.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
Define & Lengthen Mascara
 
 
 
 
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Big & Curvy Mascara
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Courtneytcu98
Location: Fort Worth
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Excellent product!
Date:June 25, 2012
I lurve this mascara. This was the first mascara I purchased at The Body Shop and I am loving how thick and full my lashes look after just one coat. I don't understand the critique of it being wet or clumpy, I haven't had that experience. I am getting the same results with one coat that it was taking three or more to achieve with my cheap-o mascara. Even better is that its not filled with harsh chemicals. I will definitely be purchasing again!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Big & Curvy Mascara
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
BettyMartha
Location: honolulu
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Not the best out there
Date:May 14, 2012
For the price, this is not a good mascara. It's clumpy and hard to apply. I would rather spend around $5 for a cheaper drug store mascara that would hold the same quality.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Big & Curvy Mascara
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Firegirl
Location: Milwaukee
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
What is this?
Date:August 19, 2011
I'm trying to think of nice things to say, but all I can come up with is that the package is pretty, and it's black. I don't like this mascara at all. My lashes converged into about 4-5 big clumpy lashes, and my eyes look like a spider. It doesn't do anything to make my lashes look thicker or shapelier; it just makes them a mess.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Big & Curvy Mascara
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
BKrusi611
Location: Smithfield
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Frequency: Daily
My New Favorite Mascara
Date:August 4, 2014
This is the best mascara I have ever had! I was a little hesitated to buy this product because some of the reviews said it had problems with clumping however I think this is inaccurate! I have had mine for several months now and it isn't clumping and it works like its still new!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Big & Curvy Mascara
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Basically
Location: San Antonio
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Shine
Frequency: Daily
The ONLY mascara I will ever use!!
Date:June 25, 2014
This is the best mascara EVER!!
A little about the product:
The consistency varies. It is usually very liquidy when you first open a tube and becomes very hard/dry within 4 weeks. Be patient with it and it will reward you with beautiful lashes. The mascara dries stiff/hard so it is easy to build on for volume and there is no smudging throughout the day. The brush makes it very easy for me to coat each lash evenly.
In daily life:
I have been using this consistently for almost 3 years because of how much I love the results. Several times a week, strangers or friends will stop to compliment my lashes and ask me what mascara I use. I have introduced so many people to The Body Shop just from using this product!
Cons:
The price - I buy in bulk when there are sales (buy 3 get 3 or 50% off) because $18 is a little rich for my tastes.
The life of the product - Since it dries out so quickly, I run through a tube in 4-6 weeks (another reason to buy in bulk). The benefits I get from this product make it worth it.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Big & Curvy Mascara
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Hock
Location: New York
Body Shop employee: No
Worst Mascara Ever
Date:June 1, 2014
Worst mascara I've ever used. Very clumpy and needed to wipe off wand to remove excess. Too much of a mess. Not worth the trouble and definitely not worth the price.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Big & Curvy Mascara
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
AverageGirl
Location: Chicago
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Other
Clumps/dry
Date:May 2, 2014
It became too clumpy and dry after several uses
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Big & Curvy Mascara
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Lyzz
Location: Denver
Body Shop employee: No
Clumps!
Date:October 24, 2013
The brush is terrible. You have to work very hard to not have clumps, and once they form there is no separating them! If you don't want clumps, you have to wear very little mascara (which defeats the 'big and curvy' goal). I have better luck using the normal mascara by the body shop to get the look I'm going for.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Big & Curvy Mascara
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wilma
Location: Savannah, GA
Body Shop employee: No
Good Product - worth it
Date:October 4, 2013
I have a hard time with mascara and I love this one. I have short, thin eyelashes and most of the time when I put on mascara you can't even tell I have any on, but with this one you can. However, I only get one pass if I try to go back and put on a little more then it gets really clumpy. It also doesn't flake which has been a problem for me with other brands. I love it and from now on this will be the only mascara in my makeup bag.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Big & Curvy Mascara
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
RockyMom
Location: Rockford, MI
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
Best Mascara
Date:January 12, 2013
I love this mascara! I read other reviews before purchasing it and used their tips for wiping off the excess mascara before applying. It works great! Stays on all day without smudging off. And this may sound weird but I am sensitive to smells and the smell of this is great! Very clean smelling. Have already bought more while it is on sale. Otherwise, it seems too pricey for mascara.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Big & Curvy Mascara
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Cbear
Location: columbus
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
Horrible design
Date:December 5, 2012
It's like there's a missing part. All the mascara comes out on the wand, should be something in the tube that wipes off the excess. Once you get most of it off, it's a great mascara. But the tube design is completely flawed. Takes too long to use, I'm never buying again.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
birdgurl
 
Please wait while more information about birdgurl is loaded.
Additional information about birdgurl could not be loaded.
Posted February 7, 2013
PS: The wand is NOT the same brush style as pictured.
Customer Avatar
birdgurl
 
Please wait while more information about birdgurl is loaded.
Additional information about birdgurl could not be loaded.
Useless applicator
Posted February 7, 2013
I agree. Big glops of mascara wasted. It's an okay mascara, but will be returning.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 14 for Big & Curvy Mascara
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sephy
Location: Newark
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
Not really a makeup person...
Date:November 17, 2012
I'm not much of a makeup person, but I rather like this mascara. I don't find it to be too clumpy, though I think it would probably look better if I had an eyelash comb to separate my lashes after I apply the mascara, though that doesn't seem vital. It doesn't flake much at all.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Big & Curvy Mascara
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Janey
Location: Chattanooga
Gender: Female
Age: 50 -54
Love It
Date:September 23, 2012
I love this mascara. It really coats my lashes well. Does not flake off. Easy to remove with soap and water. Makes my lashes BIG!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Big & Curvy Mascara
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Aruba
Location: Portland
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
Glad I got it for only $5
Date:May 28, 2012
This is not a very good mascara. I am glad that I got it on a promotion for only $5 or else I would have felt I spent to much. It is very wet and clumps up on my eye. I would not purchase again.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Big & Curvy Mascara
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
kllh260
Location: Federal Way, WA
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
Agree with previous reviews
Date:March 12, 2012
I really wanted to like this mascara, and tried to ignore previous reviews, but I wish I had listened. It works well once it dries, but it is very wet for a very long time and clumpy if you're not careful. Comes off easily with Body Shop's eye makeup remover (would highly recommend that product by the way!). There are ways around these problems as mentioned previously, but I will just buy a better mascara next time.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Big & Curvy Mascara
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
omchild
Location: rougemont
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
Much better than expected!
Date:February 27, 2012
I was very unsure about this mascara after reading all the reviews but I decided to give it a shot anyway. Thankfully, I absolutely LOVE it! Its a little wet but just dont shut your eyes too tight and that won't be a problem. It is not clumpy if you just wipe off the brush on the opening of the tube, easy. My only real complaint is that it works so good that I look like I am wearing fake lashes, but that can be a good thing. I will definitely purchase this again!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Big & Curvy Mascara
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Nemertes
Location: San Antonio TX
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
Messy
Date:December 22, 2011
I was really excited to try this mascara, but it fell short of my expectations. Along with all most of the other reviews, I agree that it is clumpy. If you wipe the excess off the brush, it works okay, but it gets really messy. also not a fan of the design of the packaging.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Big & Curvy Mascara
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
starbella525
Location: Charlotte
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
TOO CLUMPY
Date:December 11, 2011
I used to LOOOOOVE all of the Body Shops Mascaras. However, this one is a big "NO NO". it is SOOOO clumpy and when you wipe it off, the amount of "waste" is too much to justify paying $18 for the mascara. After the waste that you wipe off, you are probably only using less than half of what is in the tube.Not worth the price and WILL NOT purchase again. Stick with the divide and multiply which is much much better!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>