Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Shea Lip Butter

Rich intensive moisturiser for the lips.
Average Customer Rating:
4.108 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
rating snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
3
78%would recommend to a friend
Customer Reviews for Shea Lip Butter
Review 1 for Shea Lip Butter
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: place, location
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Im not sure about this...
Date:August 16, 2014
So I assumed that because this was called a lip "butter" it was going to be very moisturizing like TBS's body butters, but I was wrong. I had perfectly soft lips before I started using this because I use my Baby Lips Dr. Rescue lip balm. I put some of this onto my lips. It felt very greasy but that did not really bother me. At the end of using this for a whole day, I felt my lips. They were chapped and crackly and dry! I can't believe this! I also purchased the coconut lip butter, that also was a disappoint. The smell of this is great- creamy and sweet. There was a slight white film, but only if you load a ton onto your lips. I recommend Baeby Lips Dr. Rescue in the clear color instead. I really hoped that I would love these.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shea Lip Butter
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Location: Vermont
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Smells great but doesn't work
Date:January 23, 2013
The shea lip butter smells great and feels good going on. If you use enough to feel moisturized, it leaves a white cream on your lips (and sometimes around your lips), so I've only been using it at home. The bigger disappointment is that it doesn't seem to work- if I only use a little bit (and avoid the white sheen) my lips actually feel drier than before within 20 minutes or so. If I use more, the moisture doesn't seem to penetrate my lips and the lip butter rubs off fairly quickly. Disappointing!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shea Lip Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Michigan
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
First time lip purchase
Date:May 14, 2012
I went into The Body Shop for some eye shadow and ended up with this lip butter. I love Shea and the feel of this is amazing. My lips feel alot smoother. I do notice, if I don't use it, my lips become a little rough again. Lesson to myself, use daily. I would definatly buy this again. :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shea Lip Butter
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Florida
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Feels weird
Date:June 7, 2011
this is like putting actual butter on your lips. Which sounds nice, and feels nice at first, but it doesn't moisturize, in fact my lips felt dry after using it, and it disappears quickly. The oilier lip balms are much better. With this you keep putting it on, and it's never there.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shea Lip Butter
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Location: Vancouver, WA
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Not as perfect as I planned
Date:December 14, 2011
I was not excited about how this product felt on my lips. I love the smell and there is no funny taste, but it doesn't seem to last. I would not purchase it again. Also, rather expensive.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shea Lip Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Redwood City, CA
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Blue
Frequency: Daily
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Date:June 23, 2014
Wearing this feels like eating peanut butter! It's a must if you love peanut butter!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shea Lip Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Chicago
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Daily
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Show Your Lips Some Love!
Date:October 19, 2013
I am usually not a fan of pots of lip gloss because I don't like lip stuff that I have to stick my finger into, so this isn't something I would ordinarily buy. It came along with a Shea gift set that I bought, and I'm glad it did! The Shea products all have a very light, clean yet comforting scent to them, and although I like it for the bath/body products, I wasn't sure if that barely-there scent would translate well to a lip product. However, I was pleasantly surprised that the Shea Lip Butter had a nice, sweet hint of tropical coconut to it, which made it extra yummy. I keep it in my nightstand drawer so it's handy at bedtime. It keeps my lips moist and conditioned while I get my beauty rest. Because the lip butters are not tinted or shimmery or anything, I only wear it during the day if I'm going "all natural" or I'm just hanging out around the house. I consider it to be a nice lip treatment, not a cosmetic I'd reach for if I was doing my makeup - however the Shea Lip Butter would make an ideal pre-treatment before applying lipstick to dry lips. The shimmery or tinted glosses I prefer to use during the day never seem to have the same conditioning effect on my lips that the Lip Butter has (and I only buy nice brands). My lips used to be dry all of the time and would even peel, even though I always kept something on them. My lips are NEVER dry since I started using this (even though I mostly use it at night time) and they look conditioned and healthy all day. I guess lips need love too, and Lip Butter is a nice way to show your lips some love. :-)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Medium Shea Gift Set
5 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shea Lip Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Oklahoma City
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Other
Frequency: Daily
I have purchased 7 in the past month!!
Date:March 7, 2014
Heaven in a little jar!! I absolutely can't go without this stuff. I have one in a pocket of every coat, one in my purse, one at work, one on my night stand and one in my cosmetics case. This lip butter has no tint or sparkle, which allows me to use it as a base layer for my lipsticks and glosses. It works nicely after a lip stain has set, to add a slightly dewy look to the lips. My lips feel so soft and smooth after using this product around the clock. It has a fresh, creamy taste, which isn't overpowering, but rather neutral. I have several other flavors of the lip butters, but the Shea is my favorite, hands down! Stock up while they are on sale, you won't be sorry!!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shea Lip Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: albany, ny
love this balm!
Date:December 14, 2012
It's silky smooth and tastes great, too. I leave it in my coat pocket and look forward to getting outside and putting it on.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shea Lip Butter
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: Boca Raton
Gender: Female
Age: Above 60
Did not like
Date:November 18, 2012
I have used The Body Shop's Lip Balm for years. This one is called Lip Butter, and does not work the same way. My Kiwi Lip Balm lasted all night. I only used it at night.
The amount has changed also. Used to be 0.5 oz. and now 0.35.
I didn't realize how much it changed, as I bought several each time, and I just ran out.
Very disappointed.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shea Lip Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Harrisonburg, Virginia
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
can't go to sleep without it
Date:November 9, 2012
The shea lip butter is thick and creamy- it's fantastic! It does leave a white sheen on the lips. I only wear it to bed and wake up every morning with soft, moisturized lips. I seriously can't live without this! It's a great value considering that a pot of this lasts about 6 months, and that's with slathering it on every night.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shea Lip Butter
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Chattanooga
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
Made for Reapplication
Date:November 4, 2012
This stuff really does wonders for lips... but the wonder only lasts about an hour before you have to reapply it. And even though it keeps lips soft and smooth, it only maintains these features; if your lips are REALLY chapped, like mine were when I purchased it, don't expect this stuff to fix it. But once you fix it, expect great results with a lightweight, supple feel that will last you an hour or two!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shea Lip Butter
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: New York
Eh.
Date:September 21, 2012
I bought this product because I love all of the Shea butter products and I thought I would like it. I liked it at first, but it doesn't last all day, maybe an hour at the most. I will not be buying this again.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shea Lip Butter
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Tampa Bay, FL
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
Softer lips
Date:June 27, 2012
This just feels good going on! It's light and not sticky at all. My lips always feel soft and smooth after I use this.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shea Lip Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Boston
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
Healthy Winter Lips
Date:May 12, 2012
Every winter I'd suffer from dry cracked lips. They would get so painful at times. So when I moved to Boston from CA, I thought my lips were doomed for sure. I discovered this lip butter on sale after Christmas, and I didn't experience dryness at all my first winter in Boston. Amazing! I put it on every night since it left a slight white film, but my lips stayed soft all winter! I've since bought several and given some as gifts.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shea Lip Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: New Mexico
Great Lip Butter
Date:May 9, 2012
I love Shea Butter and this lip balm/butter is really great. My only problem (and it's probably just me) is that lip balms tend to rub off fairly quickly. I like that it's not fruity tasting/smelling. A great one to keep in my bag during the windy/dry season.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shea Lip Butter
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Small town Minnesota
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
Great Product
Date:April 25, 2012
I really like the lip butters. This one is really good and I also have used the strawberry one. I like the cocoa butter just because it feels very lightweight and natural.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shea Lip Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
Best lip balm!
Date:January 25, 2012
This is the best lip balm I have ever purchased and used. It's super moisturizing and nourishing. I put it on every night before I go to bed and never have problems with chapped lips again.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shea Lip Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Ohio
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
Date:December 2, 2011
this is one of my all time favorite lip products. is very moisturizing. doesn't have a heavy scent/taste. i carry this with me everywhere and use it several times per day.. if my lips are very dry i use the hemp lip protector..but for everyday moisture this is my go to product!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shea Lip Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Tujunga
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
I love this stuff!
Date:June 17, 2011
This is great. The feel... not sticky, heavy or gunky at all. Very smooth and does the job very well. The scent is lovely! Smells to me almost like a coconut mixture to me. I like everything about it. I own well over 10 of these in different scents. I love them all but this one seems to be my favorite.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>