Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Hemp Body Butter

Hemp Body Butter
Average Customer Rating:
4.524 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(187 Reviews) 180
Open Ratings Snapshot
rating snapshot (187 reviews)
5 stars
141
4 stars
26
3 stars
4
2 stars
9
1 star
7
89%would recommend to a friend
Customer Reviews for Hemp Body Butter
Review 1 for Hemp Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Edgewood, NM
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Very Dry
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Outstanding
Date:November 30, 2013
TIPS: Remove excessive dead skin from elbows with face buffer. Use NO MORE ROUGH STUFF PUMICE for heavy foot/hand calluses. Extend product and increase penetration into skin by applying immediately after shower/bath to wet/damp skin. Massage into skin, giving extra care to dry areas like heels, elbows, nailbeds, calluses, wrinkles, stretchmarks. Reapply to extremely dry areas after absorbtion, or use hand butter for extra moisturizing. Follow with foot/hand protector on feet/hands as needed
BEFORE THE BODY SHOP
I have suffered the hereditary curse of very bad skin. At its best it was dry and cracked with a few calluses that bleed and elbow psoriasis about the size 4 quarters. I had "chicken bumps" all the time. I don't know why. The worst was hideous. Doctors notes excusing me from clothing because it was so painful, bleeding, and infected that it felt like my body was covered in paper cuts. Elbow psoriasis the size of a dollar bill which cracked and bled. I desperately tried to control the worst of it (infections) with heavy Cold pressed castor oil which left my skin incredibly oily and was hard on the clothing.
AFTER THE BODY SHOP
I have been using the entire line for 2 years now with amazing success. I have had no full body break outs, and the worst the elbow psoriasis got is a red spot the size of a quarter (I was wickedly stressed due to multiple family deaths). My psoriasis is largely invisible. Fingernails and nailbeds are amazing and the cracks on my feet are totally gone. My skin is baby smooth with no bumps, and my natural color radiates with no ashiness. It seems to have improved elasticity and sagging and decreased wrinkles and appearance of stretch marks. I finally have the skin I only dreamed I could have, and I LOVE IT!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hemp Body Butter
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: Watertown
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Contains PARABENS
Date:January 25, 2012
Body Shop, why are there parabens in this product?? I was shocked to discover that some of the body butters still have parabens in them. Won't be buying this again.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hemp Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Fayetteville
Gender: Male
Age: 45 - 49
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Great Product
Date:May 14, 2012
I like all the products in this line. This body butter really moisturizes my dry skin without leaving it feeling greasy. Hard to beat this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hemp Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Macomb, MI
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Repells Mosquitos too!
Date:August 16, 2011
I purchased the Hemp products because they had a really good sale - I was VERY leary of the scent (it is not my favorite). I actually grew to like the scent, and NOW this is a MUST HAVE in my Beauty Bag. This is not only a Great moisturizer, but it has proven to me to be a natural mosquito repellant! After staying a week at scout camp, in the woods, on platform tents I emerged virtually bite free. Everynight I would slather a generous amount on my body. It was like I was wearing a Bug Barrier. You gotta try it! Try Tea Tree wipes too!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hemp Body Butter
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Location: Massachusetts
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Recently Reformulated, Beware!
Date:August 1, 2011
Sadly, this has been reformulated and just not the same. Much oilier, and moisturizing effect is much less. Please bring back the old Hemp Body butter!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hemp Body Butter
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: central coast, CALIF
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Sigh...
Date:April 26, 2011
This is and was my all time favorite body butter. I LOVED the fragrance and I loved the way the butter made my skin feel. It went on thick and moisturized all day. But seems the body shop decided to change a good thing and did something to the fragrance. Instead of a nice clean earthy fragrance it now has an almost sick floral one. Bring back the old version!!! I am giving 4 stars on the butter itself, not the fragrance.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hemp Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Philadelphia
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
If You Have Eczema..This is needed
Date:March 24, 2011
I've suffered from eczema my entire life, and since i was a kid my mother has been trying to find something that would make the itching go away, and improve the discoloration of my skin. It wasn't until this past February on my 19th birthday that I found this product. At first I was really distracted by the smell, but got use to it and now actually quite enjoy it. I saw improvement with my skin in less than 2 weeks, and continue to use this product daily. I've also used it on my one year old nephew who suffers from eczema, and saw improvement within days after the initial use. This product is really a MUST HAVE!!!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hemp Body Butter
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: Short Hills, NJ
Body Shop employee: No
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Smell is NOT for everyone...
Date:February 5, 2014
As usual, this is a great moisturizer. Excellent on the skin, creamy, thick, buttery...
BUT...a very strange and overpowering smell!!! Some people may like it, some, like me, will hate it.
My mom commented that I smelled like rotting lawn clippings :( :( :(
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hemp Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Fresno, CA
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Normal
Frequency: Daily
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Best body butter EVER
Date:October 3, 2013
I am fairly new to writing reviews but I read them all the time. Anyway I had very dry skin and had red bumps on the back of by arms and on my thighs. After about maybe two weeks or less of using this they were gone. My husband commented about how smooth and soft my skin is. I put it on after a shower and sometime will add a little at night. I love waking up in the morning to my super hydrated awesome feeling skin!!!! Buy it you won't be disappointed!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hemp Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Jacksonville
Body Shop employee: Yes
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
amazing
Date:September 13, 2013
This is perfection! I have eczema and I have struggled with it growing up, and then I started using this. It is like chapstick for your body! It is so moisturizing and doesn't feel greasy like you would think. The smell is very neutral, it almost smells like nothing! Love this product
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hemp Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Gonzales
Gender: Female
Age: 55 - 60
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Other
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Hemp body butter
Date:March 9, 2013
When it comes to wintertime dry skin, NOTHING works better for me than the Hemp body butter. It has been a lifesaver! That stuff just sinks right into my skin, leaving it soft and well moisturized for the day. GREAT product:)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hemp Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Chicago
Gender: Female
Age: 45 - 49
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Excellent Product
Date:March 25, 2012
Unfortunately, I suffer from mild eczema and bouts of dermatitis. This is the first product that I have found that actually works for and doesn't irritate my skin. I'm not too fond of the smell but a few drops of perfume or essential oils cover the smell and don't seem to bother my sensitive skin. It rubs on smoothly and dissolves into the skin. I recommend it highly. I wish I had found it sooner but now that I have, I am a fan and it's one of my beauty secrets.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hemp Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Wichita
Gender: Female
Age: 50 -54
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
magic
Date:February 16, 2012
this stuff is magical. both my husband and i use this product. the scent is subtle and nondescript (which i appreciate.) the texture of it is nice and it soaks into my skin immediately. so few lotions soak in thoroughly on me, often i feel like i am wasting them because they just rub off.
this works !
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hemp Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Great scent and performance
Date:February 14, 2012
This has a mild earthy scent. I don't know where some people percieve it as being stronger than the hand cream since I have used that for years and find that this is quite mild compared to the scent of that. Perhaps because it is being used on the whole body rather than just the hands. It is earthy so if you are not fond of those types of scents it may not be for you. It is a mild patchouli herbal scent--a true patchouli not the kind that is made sweeter artificially. I love the performance of this body butter, I live in a very dry climate and my hands become a bright chapped shade of red frequently in the winter and will just hurt to touch anything, my elbows and heels will callous and crack also. This body butter is exactly what I needed. It feels so soothing and gentle on my irritated skin. I have just discovered the body butters here and I wish I had years ago! I love all the body butters but this one is by far my favorite one I have tried so far. I will continue to buy this as long as it is available I hope it will always be an option.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
chira
 
Please wait while more information about chira is loaded.
Additional information about chira could not be loaded.
Hemp Body Butter
Posted March 3, 2012
I have only tried this for two days and its probably the best body butter i have tried since i came to Canada.It can be very cold and dry here therefore I need a very thick and effective butter for my skin.I dont mind the scent at all-its earthy and reminds me of Africa where i originate from.Other body butters-just have artificial scents
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Hemp Body Butter
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: Morgantown
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Awful smell
Date:February 10, 2012
I recently purchased this item after about 10 years of not being able to find it anywhere.... I was so excited to finally see it online that I ordered one immediately.... When I received it I opened it and rubbed it all over my hands then suddenly I realized this horrific smell.. It was a combination of dirt and wet clay. I never remembered it smelling like this and think it must just be a flawed product.....please tell me someone else has noticed a significant change... And not for the good..... In the smell that I used to love dearly!! If you loved it in he past you will be sadly dissapointed in the changes they have made. Please bring back the old formula!!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hemp Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: US
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Very good stuff
Date:November 14, 2011
I see someone else is complaining about the scent - make no mistake, this does not smell like girly-girl lotion. Frankly that's one of the things I like about it - it smells very much like a herb. It is also the very best lotion/butter I've found for severely dry skin. You can feel it still on your skin when you take your next shower. It truly is a great product for those who get dry in the winter - and I mean pig-skin-elbow dry. A few days' use and you will be astonished at the difference.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hemp Body Butter
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Iowa
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
My New Go-To Scent
Date:November 14, 2011
I had to quit wearing perfumes because of a work assocate's allergies but my hemp body butter doesn't bother! I love the scent, a lot less expensive than perfume, AND it softens my skins!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hemp Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: New York
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Date:August 17, 2011
This works so well for my dry skin. I've heard for so long that hemp products are a practical cure for dry skin and this proved that right. It did such a good job, the only thing I don't like about this is the smell.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hemp Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Port Huron
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Awesome product for dry, itchy skin!
Date:March 30, 2011
I have a skin condition that creates super itchy dry patches on my hands and torso. This product is the ONLY lotion that doesn't further irritate these areas AND it helps combat the itch, speeds the healing and used daily, helps prevent it from coming back. Prescription products and Dr. recommendations didn't even do that. LOVE this stuff!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hemp Body Butter
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: houston
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
stinks
Date:March 6, 2013
I was shopping for my aloe body butter which was out of stock during a promo (in stock the next day) and the Hemp body butter was supposed to be even more moisturizing so I tried it for the first time. The smell is so horrible and offensive, who cares if it moisturizes. Can't get rid of the offensive odor in my sheets and sleepwear even after washing. Horrible smell!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>