Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream

Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(209 Reviews) 205
Open Ratings Snapshot
rating snapshot (209 reviews)
5 stars
163
4 stars
28
3 stars
8
2 stars
8
1 star
2
93%would recommend to a friend
Customer Reviews for Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream
Review 1 for Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Location: Washington, DC
Body Shop employee: No
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Disappointing Product
Date:December 3, 2013
I disliked this product for 3 reasons.
1) There wasn't much mattifying.
2) The fragrance was overwhelming.
3) I was disappointed to learn that there are at least 5 types of parabens, which I try to avoid.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: San Diego
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
A great product
Date:March 9, 2011
This product truly does mattify your skin so it's not shiny and leaves your skin smelling beautiful! For me, however, it was a little bit drying, which is why I eventually found a better solution with the Tea Tree Blemish Fade Night Lotion (which is much more nourishing to my acne-prone skin). Definitely if you want a seaweed product that mattifies, I recommend this product over the Body Shop's other seaweed mattifying lotion with SPF (which does not work as well).
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Tucson, AZ
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Normal
SkinConcern: Fine Lines
Frequency: Daily
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Great stuff!
Date:February 28, 2014
I love this stuff! It works well for me me, especially during the summer months in AZ when its super hot, and really dry. I gave it a 3-star performance rating simply because its not moisturizing enough for me to use in the wintertime. When I began using the Seaweed line I skipped this product at first -- its called a cream, and I typically avoid creams because they're so thick. This is actually more of a hybrid gel/cream; not so thick and gooey as your typical cream, but definitely not as thin as a gel. Love the texture, fragrance, and consistency. Its light, it absorbs quickly, and leaves my skin feeling fresh and moisturized. Great for anyone with normal/combination skin, with areas of dryness/flakiness. I supplement this with Tarte's Maracuja Oil to take care of the extra dryness I experience during the winter months, or if I'm just dealing with some flakiness around my nose.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Location: Dallas, Texas
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: Daily
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Dried my skin out
Date:February 10, 2014
I have combination skin, and I made a mistake using this product (and other seaweed products) during the winter. It made my skin so dry that the skin underneath my eyes started to crack and peel, regardless of how much I tried to avoid that area. I don't recommend this to people with combination skin; I recommend it to those with overly oily skin. Otherwise it might dry you out like it did to me. Another thing I don't like about it is the texture and consistency; it's kind of thin and sticky, but at least it smells good!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Jacksonville
Body Shop employee: Yes
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
The balancing act!
Date:September 23, 2013
This cream is amazing and it works wonders! It is great for combination skin. If you have oily skin with dry spots or vice versa, or are worried about getting shiny throughout the day, then this is for you! This cream reduces excess oil, but will never dry out the skin. If you get oily as the day goes on, it "time releases" and burts to remove that excess. Simply amazing and great for those true combination skin types
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Orlando, FL
Gender: Female
Age: 45 - 49
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Shine
Frequency: Daily
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
I love this moisturizer, but not on my entire face
Date:April 18, 2013
This cream is great. It really helps keep excess oil under control without clogging pores. I have a lot more oil in my t-zone, so I use the tea tree skin clearing lotion on that area. I use this on my cheeks and neck area. This combo is perfect for me!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
It's the only thing I use!
Date:June 22, 2012
I absolutely love this moisturizer! It's not too heavy, but it still does the job. It's not *quite* expensive as other moisturizers that The Body Shop offers, but it's still a little pricey. I've tried both the Tea Tree (did not moisturize enough - made my face feel "tight") and the Vitamin E (moisturizer overkill - it felt like it never absorbed), and this was my happy medium. I have combination type skin, but I haven't had a breakout since I started using the Seaweed line. I've been using this for years!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Kansas City, Missouri
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
I Love Love Love this stuff!
Date:May 14, 2012
This is the only moisturizer that I can use without breaking out. I have very oily skin, so struggled to find a moisturizer that is effective, but won't break me out. This has been the answer for me--for over three years! It is one of my favorite products!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Green Bay
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Favorite Day Cream. Ever.
Date:April 14, 2012
I have been using this day cream for 18+ months now, and am a huge fan. The product is lightweight and not greasy at all. I struggle with breakouts, and some products only seem to make them worse. This is not one of them. :) This product is gentle, does its job well, and has a nice, subtle fragrance.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Location: Columbus
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Not as effective at moisturizing
Date:March 10, 2012
I bought this several months ago because I have oily skin and thought this would help moisturize while keeping my skin matte. The product is a gel consistency and smells great. But it did not effectively moisturize my face. I have really oily skin so I don't need much moisturizer but my face felt still felt tight after washing it and using this. It also did not keep my skin matte or control my oil. It is pricey for a product that is not that effective. It may be better during the summer months though when skin doesn't as much moisturizer. But overall, I feel like there are better products out there that are more effective at controlling oil and moisturizing. I am using burts bees sensitive skin cream now and it is great for my oily, acne-prone skin!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Stillwater, MN
Gender: Female
Age: 50 -54
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Feels sooo good
Date:November 10, 2011
I'm not one to rave about products. This day cream is the best I have used. It is soo light and cool on application. There is no oily feeling and I don't shine after application.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Sioux Falls
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
spa like quality
Date:November 8, 2011
MMM...this face cream smells and performs as if I purchased it at a fancy spa somewhere overseas... while cruising the Medditeranean on a fancy yacht. It is fresh, clean and makes the skin on my face so smooth and supple. I love the light, gel like consistancy...great for "just the right amount of moisture feel" of a moisturizer, although I will switch to something heavier for the cold, drying winter months ahead.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Fresno
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Wonderful!
Date:March 30, 2011
I really love this moisturizer. I have combo skin and my t-zone can get crazy oily, but this helps immensely. My skin isn't completely mattified, but it's so much better than it was with other moisturizers. A little goes a LONG way with this. The smell is light and pleasant, and it feels great on my skin. Fantastic!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: New York
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
not bad
Date:November 29, 2011
full of moisture. Not a bad product!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Portland
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
SkinType: Combination
Frequency: Daily
Wonderful Product
Date:December 6, 2014
I started putting this on every morning when I woke up, and it is simply the best. It is just such a great way to wake up, and it makes your skin feel so refreshed. I put it on before my makeup, and it just makes my skin glow, and keeps my makeup from drying up on my face without being oily. I have had people comment on how healthy my skin looks since I have started using this product, and I recommend it to everyone.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Location: Concord
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Does nothing
Date:December 4, 2014
The whole Seaweed line did absolutely nothing for my skin. I have combination skin, so I bought the seaweed mask, day cream, serum, cleanser, and toner. They did nothing. I did not feel like my skin was less oily or dry in certain places. Really disappointed
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Orlando
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Shine
Frequency: Daily
This one does the job
Date:October 15, 2014
I read reviews about it and I decided to give it a try. I don't have any major skin issues but living in the warm and humid florida, my t-zone gets shiny when I do activities outside. I use two prestige department store brands for my skin cares and make ups but I could not find a good day cream without SPF that is mild and moistures my t-zone yet without make it shiny after a couple of hours. They either are too dry or do not control the shine at all. This one does the work more effectively. I like how it is gentle and moisturizing yet shine-control effective. I would recommend it to anyone who has the same concerns as I do. Do not get the one with SPF, that one is not nearly as good.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Location: OK
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Nice But Lacking
Date:September 3, 2014
I am always looking for a mattifying product for my face. I think I've tried them all! First this smells great - if you like that fresh ocean type of scent, which is one of my favs. It absorbs really well - it's like a combo of gel & lotion, so it's really light going on & feels really nice leaving skin soft. That's about where it ends for me - I really didn't see much mattifying happening. I have really shiny skin & always have (I'm 39) so if you just have slight oiliness this might work well for you.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Torrance
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Oily
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: Daily
Great product!
Date:September 2, 2014
This product has good smell and can provide moisture to your skin, good for oily to combination skin types.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Key West
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: Daily
Love it!!
Date:August 28, 2014
This is a wonderful product. It moisturizes very well without a greasy residue. Absorbs quickly. My favorite.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>