Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream

Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream
Average Customer Rating:
4.648 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(199 Reviews) 195
Open Ratings Snapshot
rating snapshot (199 reviews)
5 stars
156
4 stars
27
3 stars
7
2 stars
7
1 star
2
93%would recommend to a friend
Customer Reviews for Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream
Review 1 for Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
SJMolnar
Location: Washington, DC
Body Shop employee: No
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Disappointing Product
Date:December 3, 2013
I disliked this product for 3 reasons.
1) There wasn't much mattifying.
2) The fragrance was overwhelming.
3) I was disappointed to learn that there are at least 5 types of parabens, which I try to avoid.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
BodyShopFan
Location: San Diego
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
A great product
Date:March 9, 2011
This product truly does mattify your skin so it's not shiny and leaves your skin smelling beautiful! For me, however, it was a little bit drying, which is why I eventually found a better solution with the Tea Tree Blemish Fade Night Lotion (which is much more nourishing to my acne-prone skin). Definitely if you want a seaweed product that mattifies, I recommend this product over the Body Shop's other seaweed mattifying lotion with SPF (which does not work as well).
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Leanneves
Location: Tucson, AZ
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Normal
SkinConcern: Fine Lines
Frequency: Daily
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Great stuff!
Date:February 28, 2014
I love this stuff! It works well for me me, especially during the summer months in AZ when its super hot, and really dry. I gave it a 3-star performance rating simply because its not moisturizing enough for me to use in the wintertime. When I began using the Seaweed line I skipped this product at first -- its called a cream, and I typically avoid creams because they're so thick. This is actually more of a hybrid gel/cream; not so thick and gooey as your typical cream, but definitely not as thin as a gel. Love the texture, fragrance, and consistency. Its light, it absorbs quickly, and leaves my skin feeling fresh and moisturized. Great for anyone with normal/combination skin, with areas of dryness/flakiness. I supplement this with Tarte's Maracuja Oil to take care of the extra dryness I experience during the winter months, or if I'm just dealing with some flakiness around my nose.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
skincareaddict
Location: Dallas, Texas
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: Daily
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Dried my skin out
Date:February 10, 2014
I have combination skin, and I made a mistake using this product (and other seaweed products) during the winter. It made my skin so dry that the skin underneath my eyes started to crack and peel, regardless of how much I tried to avoid that area. I don't recommend this to people with combination skin; I recommend it to those with overly oily skin. Otherwise it might dry you out like it did to me. Another thing I don't like about it is the texture and consistency; it's kind of thin and sticky, but at least it smells good!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
killerwhaley
Location: Jacksonville
Body Shop employee: Yes
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
The balancing act!
Date:September 23, 2013
This cream is amazing and it works wonders! It is great for combination skin. If you have oily skin with dry spots or vice versa, or are worried about getting shiny throughout the day, then this is for you! This cream reduces excess oil, but will never dry out the skin. If you get oily as the day goes on, it "time releases" and burts to remove that excess. Simply amazing and great for those true combination skin types
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
VickiFL
Location: Orlando, FL
Gender: Female
Age: 45 - 49
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Shine
Frequency: Daily
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
I love this moisturizer, but not on my entire face
Date:April 18, 2013
This cream is great. It really helps keep excess oil under control without clogging pores. I have a lot more oil in my t-zone, so I use the tea tree skin clearing lotion on that area. I use this on my cheeks and neck area. This combo is perfect for me!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aubreeezy
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
It's the only thing I use!
Date:June 22, 2012
I absolutely love this moisturizer! It's not too heavy, but it still does the job. It's not *quite* expensive as other moisturizers that The Body Shop offers, but it's still a little pricey. I've tried both the Tea Tree (did not moisturize enough - made my face feel "tight") and the Vitamin E (moisturizer overkill - it felt like it never absorbed), and this was my happy medium. I have combination type skin, but I haven't had a breakout since I started using the Seaweed line. I've been using this for years!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
DoggieMama
Location: Kansas City, Missouri
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
I Love Love Love this stuff!
Date:May 14, 2012
This is the only moisturizer that I can use without breaking out. I have very oily skin, so struggled to find a moisturizer that is effective, but won't break me out. This has been the answer for me--for over three years! It is one of my favorite products!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Location: Green Bay
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Favorite Day Cream. Ever.
Date:April 14, 2012
I have been using this day cream for 18+ months now, and am a huge fan. The product is lightweight and not greasy at all. I struggle with breakouts, and some products only seem to make them worse. This is not one of them. :) This product is gentle, does its job well, and has a nice, subtle fragrance.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Elaine
Location: Columbus
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Not as effective at moisturizing
Date:March 10, 2012
I bought this several months ago because I have oily skin and thought this would help moisturize while keeping my skin matte. The product is a gel consistency and smells great. But it did not effectively moisturize my face. I have really oily skin so I don't need much moisturizer but my face felt still felt tight after washing it and using this. It also did not keep my skin matte or control my oil. It is pricey for a product that is not that effective. It may be better during the summer months though when skin doesn't as much moisturizer. But overall, I feel like there are better products out there that are more effective at controlling oil and moisturizing. I am using burts bees sensitive skin cream now and it is great for my oily, acne-prone skin!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
HostingHealth
Location: Stillwater, MN
Gender: Female
Age: 50 -54
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Feels sooo good
Date:November 10, 2011
I'm not one to rave about products. This day cream is the best I have used. It is soo light and cool on application. There is no oily feeling and I don't shine after application.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
SereneMomma
Location: Sioux Falls
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
spa like quality
Date:November 8, 2011
MMM...this face cream smells and performs as if I purchased it at a fancy spa somewhere overseas... while cruising the Medditeranean on a fancy yacht. It is fresh, clean and makes the skin on my face so smooth and supple. I love the light, gel like consistancy...great for "just the right amount of moisture feel" of a moisturizer, although I will switch to something heavier for the cold, drying winter months ahead.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
hellocourtney
Location: Fresno
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Wonderful!
Date:March 30, 2011
I really love this moisturizer. I have combo skin and my t-zone can get crazy oily, but this helps immensely. My skin isn't completely mattified, but it's so much better than it was with other moisturizers. A little goes a LONG way with this. The smell is light and pleasant, and it feels great on my skin. Fantastic!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
MCzhou
Location: New York
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
not bad
Date:November 29, 2011
full of moisture. Not a bad product!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
kirpon
Location: New York
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: Daily
My favorite moisturizer ever
Date:April 1, 2014
After searching for years, I finally found this moisturizer which is absolutely perfect for me. I have combination skin, and this product really does mattify it without drying it out at all. A little bit goes a long way. The scent is pleasant and the texture of the product is perfect, not sticky and not greasy at all. Definitely recommend for people whose skin gets excessively oily throughout the day.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Matthew
Location: St. Louis USA
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Male
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Shine
Frequency: Daily
As Advertised
Date:March 31, 2014
This does exactly what it is meant to do. My T zone is my main concern and this matte, yet moisturized finish lasts all day. Before applying, I use the Aloe Pre Moisturizing serum.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
RobotButler
Location: Orlando
Body Shop employee: No
Does what it says.
Date:February 6, 2014
This product does exactly what it says it'll do. I live in Florida, so we get kind of hot and humid here. This cream definitely takes away shine and oil. I like that it doesn't have SPF, sunscreen gives me acne.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
KeiB
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Male
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: Daily
Never be shiny again!
Date:January 25, 2014
I was a bit hesitant with this product at first because of the price but bit my lip and decided to give it a try. After a week I noticed that my face wasn't as oily and my forehead, my main concern, was not shiny anymore. I'm a male and I use this product daily and a little bit of this stuff goes a VERY long way!
 
My Product Recommendations
Tea Tree Pore Minimiser
4.2 out of 5(34)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
jlee
Location: Long Island, New York
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: Daily
Best Product for makeup routine
Date:January 17, 2014
This cream is amazing! I apply it before my foundation routine, and it works like a mattifying primer. The only downside to this product is that, it isn't super moisturizing.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Seaweed Mattifying Day Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
MeevX
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: Daily
Controls my oil!
Date:December 30, 2013
This day cream is great! it's not heavy to apply on and my skin absorbs it really quick. it's not greasy either! After using it, I've noticed that by the time noon rolls around, my forehead isn't as oily as the times when I used other moisturizers. I've permanently made the switch to this as my day cream and can't be any happier.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>