Product Reviews

Lightening Touch

Lightening Touch
Average Customer Rating:
3.4 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
rating snapshot (35 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
5
66%would recommend to a friend
Customer Reviews for Lightening Touch
Review 1 for Lightening Touch
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
TheSarcasticWasian
Location: San Francisco Bay Area, California
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Daily
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Great Highlighter
Date:April 26, 2013
Although not the best concealer as it is a bit thin, this is a beautiful highlighter and works amazingly for small coverups or layered with another conceaper and/or foundation. I bought online and was a bit confused about the coloring, but I aired on the lighter side and it looks amazing! The built in brush applicator is also very handy and practical. Totally recommend!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Lightening Touch
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
xquisit
Location: Hawaii, USA
Gender: Female
Age: 45 - 49
Very helpful and moisturizing
Date:February 4, 2013
I have tried concealers from MAC to Pur minerals and I find Lightening Touch does works well. I do not like to pack on concealer and having some imperfections are normal. But with this product, it helps cover my dark circles or any dark spots you may have (followed by a light concealer or powder).
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Lightening Touch
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
teainthedark
Location: Racine, Wisconsin
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Helpful Add On
Date:January 16, 2013
I've been using Lightening Touch for almost SEVEN years so obviously I am a return user. This product is not necessarily something I NEED but I buy it whenever its on sale. I layer it on top of my normal concealer. I love how it reflects light. under my eyes and around my nose. I think it makes my under eye circles nearly invisible. But like I said, I can live without it. Not a necessity but great to have when you can get it on sale!
I normally buy the pinker shade but this last time I ordered online and took a guess, purchasing shade 3. To be honest I love this one even more. I'm naturally pale so surprisingly its not dark at all. Its actually a yellowish shade, which is great for neutralizing dark circles and red spots.
You'll love it if you need extra help covering something up!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Lightening Touch
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sundance
Location: Pleasantville
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Cautious on choosing color
Date:November 17, 2012
The numbers are confusing.They go from #3 to # 1 to #4
For shades of darkness and the number three looked the darkest so I got it ,however ,wrong four must have been the darkest.
I Like that it is thin because it does not crease in your fine lines.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Lightening Touch
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
MontanaGirl
Location: Manhattan
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
Great Product!
Date:September 19, 2012
Love this product especially when I haven't been getting enough sleep and need to cover up dark circles. It works great! Would definitely recommend this product. I use two colors. A lighter one during winter and a darker one during summer.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Lightening Touch
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
lovethebodyshop13
Location: Boston
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Great undereye concealer
Date:September 18, 2012
Ive used this concealer primarily as an under-eye concealer for dark circles for about 2 years now. It is the only thing I have ever found that covers my dark circles and does it well! The difference is amazing! I use it to cover up blemish scars and dark spots as well. It was a bit difficult to figure out how to use it to get the best results but I have a technique now that works great. Dab on a bit with the brush, and pat with my fingertips. A gentle pat, not a rub, because if you rub you will remove the product, by patting it in to my skin it blends and does not remove the product. As far as the other reviews that mention the product separates or comes out watery sometimes, there's an easy solution for that, just shake before use. I find you have to shake it quite a bit when you purchase a new one, but all of that is well worth the amazing results!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Lightening Touch
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
shopgirl1997
Location: West Palm Beach
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Not a fan
Date:August 10, 2012
This concealer does not cover, and it is hard to use. The packaging is wasteful, too. It separates, so sometimes what comes out is just clear and watery. The color is ok--not too pink or orange like some concealers, but I wish they'd bring back the stick concealer that had the white/clear core. That one went on smoothly, and covered much better than this. This concealer is comparable to just putting liquid foundation around your eyes, but with a useless brush. Skip this one and go for the big pencil concealer instead.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lightening Touch
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
youyou
Location: Dallas
Hard to control
Date:July 25, 2012
First I don't know how to use it, maybe there is a good way I just dont't know to control when and how much the liquid comes out.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Lightening Touch
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
erlaz
Location: Scottsdale
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
Great little cover up
Date:July 6, 2012
I have dark spots and need to make sure that when i cover them, that others cannot tell I am covering them. This has a nice light coverage while camouflaging my flaws. Love these and the the cover sticks.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Lightening Touch
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
AshesMarie
Location: Clermont
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
Doesn't Conceal
Date:June 22, 2012
This really doesn't do anything to hide blemishes or dark circles. It is practically see-through. :( I personally reccommend the pencil concealer by the Body Shop. SUCH an amazing product that really covers and stays put without making you look like you are hiding under unnatural amounts of makeup. If you have tried this lightener with results similar to mine, check out the pencil concealer.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
shopgirl1997
 
Please wait while more information about shopgirl1997 is loaded.
Additional information about shopgirl1997 could not be loaded.
Agree 100%!
Posted August 10, 2012
What she said. Really! I just wrote practically the same review, and I also love the pencil concealer. Unfortunately, it looks like they no longer make it, because when I visited the site today to order some, I couldn't find it :(
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Lightening Touch
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
rosey
Location: USA
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
WOW! Fantastic Product!
Date:June 21, 2012
This was one of those products I got in store. The person who assisted me in my purchase did an excellent job, finding the color I needed to match my skin. Even showed me how it looked on my skin, and showed me how to use it. This was extremely helpful! I walked in wanting a product to cover up my discoloration / dark areas under my eyes from lack of sleep and aging. This product worked 100% perfectly. I don't wear a lot of makeup, in the summer I don't even wear foundation, just lipstick or lip gloss, and I needed something I could wear without having to put foundation or powder on top of it to blend it in This product blends in so well, I don't have to wear any other makeup. I'm glad I bought this in store with the body shop person assisting me with the color because I'm pretty sure I would have gotten the wrong color and been disappointed if I got it online, first. Now that I know the color I need, I will definitely purchase it online without hesitation online next time.
A few things I will point out: is I when I unwrapped the shrink wrap from the product, the part that you have to turn to get the makeup out popped off, it did easily pop back on and I had no issues with it not working. I wished the shrink wrap would have been easier to get off. As far as number of clicks to get the product out, it did not seem any different then similar products I've used by other brands. The silver packaging is very nice and modern. Looks a fancy too in the purse.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Lightening Touch
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
1happyretiree
Location: Washington State
Gender: Female
Age: Above 60
Best Concealer Ever!
Date:June 14, 2012
I discovered this concealer a couple years ago. I haven't used anything else since then. Just a few dots under my eyes, blend & no dark circles! I love this product! No streaks or caking; it is long-lasting and light reflective. Very natural looking too.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Lightening Touch
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Location: Louisville
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
Date:May 20, 2012
I have always had extremely dark circles under my eyes. Thicker concealers from the supermarket worked, but always caked up. I was nervous about this product because of how thin it seemed, but I wanted to give it a whirl because of The Body Shops good sustainability ratings. At the end of the day I was absolutely amazed with how well this worked. When I first put it on it didn't seem to cover my black circles at all, but by the time I finished my entire makeup routine they were completely gone. The product lasted all day without any caking. This has quickly become my favorite product for undereye circles.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Lightening Touch
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nicster
Location: Sacramento
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
Great product/Horrible package
Date:May 16, 2012
I LOVE this product! I have used it for years and still appreciate the lightweight, light-reflecting coverage. It truly makes dark circles disappear, which isn't true of any drugstore products I've tried. I do HATE the applicator. I wish Body Shop would make the packaging more user friendly. As others have said, it does take way too many clicks to get the product to come out, and it is wasteful! My last applicator wouldn't even work, and I had to take it apart to get the concealer out.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Lightening Touch
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
librariansrawk
Location: New York
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
great for under eyes and around nose
Date:May 3, 2012
I know most reviewers don't like this product because it's too sheer, but that's why I like it. I find most concealers too thick, and this one does a great job of brightening up the area under my eyes and on either side of my nose, near my nostrils. I have bad allergies an there are little broken blood vessels down there all the time--gone thanks to this little magic wand! It never cakes up like thicker concealers do. I am not a fan of the packaging, but I love the product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Lightening Touch
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
pbnj
Location: Phoenix
blahh
Date:April 3, 2012
I agree with other reviewers...its too thin...supplies no coverage whatsoever...and you have to click the wand so many times to get any of the product I think it's halfway gone before the second useage. And then I have to click click 20 more times to get it to appear again. I'll stick with super cheap stuff at the supermarket.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Lightening Touch
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
MissMushi
Location: Ny
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Another product gone to ruin.
Date:March 10, 2012
Body Shop is really good at reformulating/discontinuing great products that people love. 8 years ago, lightning touch was made in a tube with an application wand and it had great coverage along with illuminating, light diffusing particles- it was fantastic. Fast forward, years later, with 3 or so reformulations to what we have today- a sheer, no coverage liquid, and as another reviewer pointed out, that is housed in rediculously wasteful packaging. I do reccomended this for younger skin that needs little to know spot concealing, or to those who just need a little 'highlight'. It works well as a light eye shadow base and under the eyebrow for an illuminating effect. I use it in conjunction with another, full coverage, concealer, around my eye area.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sha2ron
 
Please wait while more information about Sha2ron is loaded.
Additional information about Sha2ron could not be loaded.
You wrote the perfect review...
Posted April 7, 2012
I'm taking this out of my cart now. I'd forgotten the previous version of this, and after I used it up in less than a month of not-every-day usage, I'm not getting it regardless of the price. I used to love it. Thanks for the great review.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for Lightening Touch
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Roshy
Location: New York
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
bad
Date:March 10, 2012
that's the worst concealer I've ever had, it doesn't cover anything .... it doesn't look like I'm wearing concealer I hated it!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Lightening Touch
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Magma
Location: Tucson, AZ
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Good product, excessive packaging
Date:February 19, 2012
I actually really love the consistency of the product and the gentle application brush, and haven't had trouble with dispensing the concealer. However, it seems that the packaging is overkill, wasteful, and detrimental to the overall success of the product. Plus the suddenness of the concealer running out is distressing. There's no way to tell when you're getting low on concealer.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Lightening Touch
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Rhonda
Location: Chicago
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Not a great concealor
Date:December 23, 2011
I do not like the consistency of this product and it is very hard to dispense. The lightest color seems to be pinkish and runny. I think this product is not worth the price.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>