Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Extra Virgin Minerals™ Powder Foundation

Average Customer Rating:
4.384 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(73 Reviews) 72
Open Ratings Snapshot
rating snapshot (73 reviews)
5 stars
48
4 stars
14
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
2
88%would recommend to a friend
Customer Reviews for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Powder Foundation
Review 1 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Powder Foundation
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: New York
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Oily
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: Daily
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Amazing!
Date:October 7, 2013
I have oily/acne prone skin and have tried just about every powder and mineral foundation out there. I must say I am pleasantly surprised with this one. I do find the shades to run dark. I have a light-medium skin tone and use Natural Vanilla 202. This shade is a true neutral color. It has a semi-matte satin finish and the coverage is light but can be built up to a medium coverage, not full. I wear a primer underneath and it helps keep this foundation to last and looking fresh. I will definitely re-purchase. The price is great for the quality plus the neutral and golden shades have the perfect amount of yellow and/or warmth to even out my redness and match my skin perfectly.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Powder Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: santa fe
Gender: Female
Age: 45 - 49
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
i love this product!
Date:February 5, 2012
it is - by far - the most superior mineral powder foundation i've used.
the coverage is sheer, blendable & natural, possessing enough coverage capability to conceal imperfections without looking "muddy" or "cakey". the finish is matte - yet has enough dimension and reflection that it does not look "flat" or "chalky".
i have dry, environmentally-sensitive skin & find that it works very well over both light (oil-free) & emollient mousturiers - even during the driest/most humid seasons & indoor conditions or under significant stress - without any irritation, clogged pores or blemishes.
it's become an easy, simple & time-saving part of my daily routine. i highly recommend this product for all skin types.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Powder Foundation
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Location: Columbus
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Average product
Date:November 25, 2011
I have combination/sensitive skin and wanted a more natural look. I bought this hoping to have some light coverage so that my skin can breathe. The product is light alright, but it is too light and it does not cover up anything at all. Even when I try to layer it to add more coverage, it does nothing. It feels like an average drugstore product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
MiaG
 
Please wait while more information about MiaG is loaded.
Additional information about MiaG could not be loaded.
Couldn't Agree more!
Posted February 6, 2012
I totally agree with both statements, I wish I knew where my receipt was to make the return.
I was super disappointed since I love all of the body shop products. :o(
Customer Avatar
SuziQ226
 
Please wait while more information about SuziQ226 is loaded.
Additional information about SuziQ226 could not be loaded.
Drug Store Product is Better!
Posted December 5, 2011
I agree with Elaine. I had a mineral powder that I was very happy with, but it was getting too dark now that my skin is lightening up for the winter. I thought, why not try this one. Boy am I disappointed. It covers NOTHING, and it is very dry. I'll stick with my PFormula from the drug store. $25 down the drain.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 4 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Powder Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Lahore
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Medium
SkinType: Combination
Frequency: Daily
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
loving this product
Date:March 9, 2013
After using this product for a full year I can safely say I am in love with it. It gives a very light coverage that you can build on till a certain degree (before you start looking cakey) by adding more layers of foundation. For combination skins, does require the user to touch up halfway through the day.
However I found TBS matte it skin primer which has taken care of that problem. I can go a whole day without any problem with retouching.
Also with the primer, the coverage of the product increases as well. I put on foundation in one layer on my whole face. I go back for another layer around my nose, eyes and might do a third layer around my dark circles. It works like a charm. It drastically changes my appearance.
I should mention though I have Indian skin that has only dis-colouring issues. Texture wise it is fairly smooth.
As for value, I used the product once every day for 11 months before it ran out. That is great value for money for me.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Haibei
 
Please wait while more information about Haibei is loaded.
Additional information about Haibei could not be loaded.
Love!
Posted January 2, 2014
Beautiful colors! I get a few closely different shades for different seasons and sometimes for blending. Super natural looking and super gentle to skin. I don't sweat it if I occasionally forgot to take it off at night. Love this product!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Powder Foundation
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Denver, CO
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Great!
Date:December 2, 2012
I love the coverage and how it looks on my face. I look absolutely flawless and I love it. However, I hate the container, it's very messy - I wish I can take this make up and put it in the bare minerals click and go container.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Powder Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Northern Michigan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Date:August 31, 2012
I bought this for my 16 year old daughter. It is the only foundation that she will wear and she loves it! She has very fair and sensitive skin, the color blends very well and the product does not irritate her skin at all.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Powder Foundation
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Trumbull, CT
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Great powder, cruddy container
Date:July 11, 2012
I love pairing this powder with the EVM cream-to-powder foundation base. My skin looks more even and the entire line is perfect for my newly acne-liberated skin (thank you, tea tree!)
My only qualm is the container. Powder just FALLS out of it--even when the lid is on. The sifting portion of the lid releases the powder entirely too easily and powder sprinkles out if you leave the closed container on it's side (say, in a makeup bag in your purse). I think I've lost about a face or two's worth of powder over the past week. For a $25 pot of powder, I am not looking to apply foundation to the inside of my purse.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Powder Foundation
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: denver
Gender: Female
Age: 50 -54
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
works for 50+ year-old
Date:December 14, 2011
Good coverage, nice choice of shades.
I add ligher color to my usual shade in a winter - works very well. I would recommend using a Body Shop kabuki brush for better coverage.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Janmarie
 
Please wait while more information about Janmarie is loaded.
Additional information about Janmarie could not be loaded.
colors
Posted April 2, 2012
the colors are really different from the old powder. I have to return what I ordered because it is too light. Wish they had a guide to order the color similar to what you are used to using.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Powder Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Tampa
Gender: Female
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
great product
Date:November 24, 2011
This is very good make-up. It is nice and light on your skin.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Powder Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: New York
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
great find
Date:October 13, 2011
i have oily acne prone skin that is fair/sensitive. I use this foundation with the extra virgin minerals compact foundation for a matte finish. I used to use bare minerals but always felts disappointed with it. I didn't get a "glow" on my skin and didn't feel that a blemish would be covered up effectively. Often an area that i would try to cover up would become cakey and flakey. I find that this product gives me the extra coverage i need without feeling heavy on my skin, or making it appear that i am wearing any make up at all. I have been very happy with the product thus far! My friends have been asking me about what product i have been using because there is such a difference between this line and the bare minerals line. I would recommend this product to use with the compact foundation for extra coverage and a matte finish.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Powder Foundation
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Location: CT
0 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Bad brush
Date:January 26, 2012
I do not have anything bad to say about the concealer itself. The concealer is great! The brush that comes in the compact falls apart very quickly. Bristles were falling out everywhere. I had to go back to the store to purchase a $22 dollar brush. The store should have replacement brushes. Now, I do not have a brush in the compact.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Powder Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Sacramento
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Great with Freckles
Date:September 21, 2011
This is the only makeup I have found that does not irritate my sensitive sunburnt skin and lets my freckles show through while reducing redness.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Powder Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Las Vegas
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Normal
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Daily
Love!
Date:September 7, 2014
I love the quality of this powder, and with blending two shades together I'm able to achieve the perfect match. Can not beat the price though, that just puts it over the top!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Powder Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Mishawaka
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Lack of Radiance
Frequency: Daily
Best. Foundation. Ever.
Date:August 29, 2014
I love how lightweight and silky the finish of this foundation is...will be using it for years to come!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Powder Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Dearborn
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Normal
Frequency: Daily
<3 this powder!
Date:April 17, 2014
Great finish, wish it was a little cheaper but I've been stocking up when it's $5. I just hope that doesn't mean it's being discontinued.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Powder Foundation
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Pennsylvania
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Combination
Frequency: Daily
Won't wear anythilng else!
Date:April 23, 2013
Even though it doesn't last very long, this is my favorite foundation! It covers great and is cruelty free! :)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Powder Foundation
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Topeka,Ks
Gender: Female
Age: Above 60
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Normal
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: Daily
Smart purchase
Date:April 1, 2013
This foundation goes on easily and well, stays all day. My only concern is I will probably need a little darker shade in the summer but the product itself is terrific.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Powder Foundation
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Vancouver
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Shine
Frequency: Daily
Favorite
Date:February 20, 2013
I have always loved a popular mineral powder foundation, because I'm not a fan of liquid foundation or compact. I like the air-light feeling of mineral powder, and love that it's better for my skin. The body shop's powder is a little bit more coverage than other mineral powders i've tried, which means it doesn't all fade away throughout the day, which I've had problems with before. It is, of course, more natural, and produced in a way which helps the world. If you are looking for a lot of coverage, mineral powder in general is not for you. When I need a little more coverage, I just use a little concealer and then apply the powder over it with my Kabuki brush and it works like a charm. It looks and feels very natural on the skin, and works great as an everyday powder and base for contouring. I do always have problems with my t-zone getting shiny throughout the day. Reapplication of powder helps, but as of yet have not found a product perfect for this issue. I use a darker shade than I do with other products, not sure why. But I would definitely recommend having someone apply and test it on your skin to find the right match, first. At this price, and with the sales TBS has all the time, it's more than worth it for a good mineral powder/foundation.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Marion
 
Please wait while more information about Marion is loaded.
Additional information about Marion could not be loaded.
Love it!!!
Posted June 1, 2013
I have been using this mineral foundation for a while and i just love it.
It leaves my skin with a healthy and natural look.
If you apply it after a bb cream (I also love the bshop one) your skin will look even more amazing.
A five star product! ;)
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Powder Foundation
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Cleveland, OH
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
Great light coverage foundation!
Date:February 7, 2013
I ordered this because it was 50% off and I am almost out of my other popular, name-brand mineral foundation. Can't beat 50% off. I ordered the golden ivory. I would say for my winter skin tone, this is the proper color, but if it were summer or if I were self-tanning, I would order a shade darker. The powder feels light on and offers good coverage (the other brand I use; however, offers more coverage I think). The only caveat is after the shipping process, when I opened the actual container the powder had come out of the screen (as opposed to a sifter like some other brands) and was kind of messy. But once that was used up, it seems fine and is no longer falling out. Overall, a great foundation for light coverage.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Powder Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Claremont, CA
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
Messy but Great
Date:January 31, 2013
The packaging leaves something to be desired- I've never managed to use this without getting it everywhere. I use the rose ivory shade and it looks great. It matches my skin without looking too pale.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>