Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Extra Virgin Minerals™ Powder Foundation

Average Customer Rating:
4.227 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
rating snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
2
84%would recommend to a friend
Customer Reviews for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Powder Foundation
Review 1 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Powder Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
megan1177
Location: Dearborn
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Normal
Frequency: Daily
<3 this powder!
Date:April 17, 2014
Great finish, wish it was a little cheaper but I've been stocking up when it's $5. I just hope that doesn't mean it's being discontinued.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Powder Foundation
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mel00
Location: New York
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Oily
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: Daily
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Amazing!
Date:October 7, 2013
I have oily/acne prone skin and have tried just about every powder and mineral foundation out there. I must say I am pleasantly surprised with this one. I do find the shades to run dark. I have a light-medium skin tone and use Natural Vanilla 202. This shade is a true neutral color. It has a semi-matte satin finish and the coverage is light but can be built up to a medium coverage, not full. I wear a primer underneath and it helps keep this foundation to last and looking fresh. I will definitely re-purchase. The price is great for the quality plus the neutral and golden shades have the perfect amount of yellow and/or warmth to even out my redness and match my skin perfectly.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Powder Foundation
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
pdoc
Location: Pennsylvania
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Combination
Frequency: Daily
Won't wear anythilng else!
Date:April 23, 2013
Even though it doesn't last very long, this is my favorite foundation! It covers great and is cruelty free! :)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Powder Foundation
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Baba3
Location: Topeka,Ks
Gender: Female
Age: Above 60
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Normal
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: Daily
Smart purchase
Date:April 1, 2013
This foundation goes on easily and well, stays all day. My only concern is I will probably need a little darker shade in the summer but the product itself is terrific.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Powder Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Zorain
Location: Lahore
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Medium
SkinType: Combination
Frequency: Daily
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
loving this product
Date:March 9, 2013
After using this product for a full year I can safely say I am in love with it. It gives a very light coverage that you can build on till a certain degree (before you start looking cakey) by adding more layers of foundation. For combination skins, does require the user to touch up halfway through the day.
However I found TBS matte it skin primer which has taken care of that problem. I can go a whole day without any problem with retouching.
Also with the primer, the coverage of the product increases as well. I put on foundation in one layer on my whole face. I go back for another layer around my nose, eyes and might do a third layer around my dark circles. It works like a charm. It drastically changes my appearance.
I should mention though I have Indian skin that has only dis-colouring issues. Texture wise it is fairly smooth.
As for value, I used the product once every day for 11 months before it ran out. That is great value for money for me.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Haibei
 
Please wait while more information about Haibei is loaded.
Additional information about Haibei could not be loaded.
Love!
Posted January 2, 2014
Beautiful colors! I get a few closely different shades for different seasons and sometimes for blending. Super natural looking and super gentle to skin. I don't sweat it if I occasionally forgot to take it off at night. Love this product!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Powder Foundation
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
allnaturalgirl
Location: Vancouver
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Shine
Frequency: Daily
Favorite
Date:February 20, 2013
I have always loved a popular mineral powder foundation, because I'm not a fan of liquid foundation or compact. I like the air-light feeling of mineral powder, and love that it's better for my skin. The body shop's powder is a little bit more coverage than other mineral powders i've tried, which means it doesn't all fade away throughout the day, which I've had problems with before. It is, of course, more natural, and produced in a way which helps the world. If you are looking for a lot of coverage, mineral powder in general is not for you. When I need a little more coverage, I just use a little concealer and then apply the powder over it with my Kabuki brush and it works like a charm. It looks and feels very natural on the skin, and works great as an everyday powder and base for contouring. I do always have problems with my t-zone getting shiny throughout the day. Reapplication of powder helps, but as of yet have not found a product perfect for this issue. I use a darker shade than I do with other products, not sure why. But I would definitely recommend having someone apply and test it on your skin to find the right match, first. At this price, and with the sales TBS has all the time, it's more than worth it for a good mineral powder/foundation.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Marion
 
Please wait while more information about Marion is loaded.
Additional information about Marion could not be loaded.
Love it!!!
Posted June 1, 2013
I have been using this mineral foundation for a while and i just love it.
It leaves my skin with a healthy and natural look.
If you apply it after a bb cream (I also love the bshop one) your skin will look even more amazing.
A five star product! ;)
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Powder Foundation
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
MSJK427
Location: Cleveland, OH
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
Great light coverage foundation!
Date:February 7, 2013
I ordered this because it was 50% off and I am almost out of my other popular, name-brand mineral foundation. Can't beat 50% off. I ordered the golden ivory. I would say for my winter skin tone, this is the proper color, but if it were summer or if I were self-tanning, I would order a shade darker. The powder feels light on and offers good coverage (the other brand I use; however, offers more coverage I think). The only caveat is after the shipping process, when I opened the actual container the powder had come out of the screen (as opposed to a sifter like some other brands) and was kind of messy. But once that was used up, it seems fine and is no longer falling out. Overall, a great foundation for light coverage.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Powder Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
LegalizeFerretsInCA
Location: Claremont, CA
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
Messy but Great
Date:January 31, 2013
The packaging leaves something to be desired- I've never managed to use this without getting it everywhere. I use the rose ivory shade and it looks great. It matches my skin without looking too pale.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Powder Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
MaggieMae
Location: Texas
Gender: Female
Shame it's being discontinued!
Date:January 22, 2013
This is my favorite product from TBS, and my favorite foundation of all the ones I've tried. I have super sensitive skin, and the mineral makeup from TBS has been the only stuff that works. It doesn't give a lot of coverage (although you can build it up a little), but it is perfect for a nice, even, natural-looking makeup base.
However, I've just found out that this is being discontinued! What a huge shame! I hope TBS comes out with something to replace it - otherwise I'm going to have to look elsewhere for my makeup. Sadface.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Powder Foundation
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Runnergirl
Location: Waldorf
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
Like using nothing:-/
Date:January 9, 2013
I have roseca and it was like I had put NOTHING on after I tried this. I guess this make-up would be ok for someone w/ perfect skin, but not for me. Very disappointed:-(
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Powder Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
BodyShopperMode
Location: Modesto
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
Great Coverage for oily/sensitive skin
Date:December 27, 2012
I really fell in love with this product! Great coverage for my oily and sensitive skin. Does not show much oil even after lunch. My only request is that The Body Shop will please continue to make it in shade 202 - Natural Vanilla!!! Please!!! I was trying to order online today and 202 shade is not in the choices anymore and the customer representative I talked to suggested I go to the nearest store. I went there and bought 5 of it!!! I think they are running out of it and they don't know if they will have it again in that shade. Good thing it was 50% off today!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Powder Foundation
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sofie
Location: Denver, CO
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Great!
Date:December 2, 2012
I love the coverage and how it looks on my face. I look absolutely flawless and I love it. However, I hate the container, it's very messy - I wish I can take this make up and put it in the bare minerals click and go container.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Powder Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nela
Location: Evanston
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
Great for Skin
Date:November 6, 2012
I've been looking for a powdered foundation that will settle on my skin well without becoming too greasy in a short period of time.
This product definitely gives me a great complexion. It is light weight and if you need it to have coverage, you just use a little more.
The color matches my skin perfectly, the only downside is that it is a bit messy... but then again what powdered foundation isn't.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Powder Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Queen7
Location: Las Vegas
:)
Date:October 28, 2012
so far so good. i'm a natural beige and it looks flawless on my skin. if u want medium coverage with a light feel, this foundation is for u.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Powder Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
FireAngel
Location: Springfield
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
Great for sheer coverage
Date:September 23, 2012
I love this if I want to let my skin breathe but still want to make sure my face looks presentable. This evens the skin tone and hides any bumps I might have but still feels sheer and like I have nothing on. My only problem with it is that it can be messy in the container and trying to put it on with a brush. The powder can get everywhere if you aren't careful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Powder Foundation
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
vickib
Location: Fort Worth
Gender: Female
Age: Above 60
Not the best
Date:September 23, 2012
After trying a make-over with this product, I decided to stay with the Bare Escentuals line. Couldn't match my skin color naturally with this one and it felt heavy for mineeral make up.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Powder Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bubbles176
Location: Northern Michigan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Date:August 31, 2012
I bought this for my 16 year old daughter. It is the only foundation that she will wear and she loves it! She has very fair and sensitive skin, the color blends very well and the product does not irritate her skin at all.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Powder Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kaoimhe
Location: Lafayette
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
Ahh, Sweet Freedom From Bad Makeup :)
Date:August 9, 2012
I have super oily skin and this is one of the only foundations that I have found that doesn't clog, cake, or bog down. It's so light and it perfectly balances out my skin. I don't even feel like I'm wearing makeup and yet it makes my skin glow. I've gotten so many compliments on my complexion since I started using this product! This makes me happy... :)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Powder Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aliera666
Location: Denver
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
Great Mineral Makeup
Date:July 19, 2012
I have been using this powder for a while now and it works well for me. It is a very thin, light powder so if you need a lot of coverage it may not do the trick (but works great paired with a liquid foundation underneath!). I agree that the powder does tend to spill if left on its side, but that's only an issue when I travel.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Powder Foundation
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
LisaTheTeaGirl
Location: Trumbull, CT
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Great powder, cruddy container
Date:July 11, 2012
I love pairing this powder with the EVM cream-to-powder foundation base. My skin looks more even and the entire line is perfect for my newly acne-liberated skin (thank you, tea tree!)
My only qualm is the container. Powder just FALLS out of it--even when the lid is on. The sifting portion of the lid releases the powder entirely too easily and powder sprinkles out if you leave the closed container on it's side (say, in a makeup bag in your purse). I think I've lost about a face or two's worth of powder over the past week. For a $25 pot of powder, I am not looking to apply foundation to the inside of my purse.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>