Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Shea Body Butter

Shea Body Butter
Average Customer Rating:
4.461 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(115 Reviews) 115
Open Ratings Snapshot
rating snapshot (115 reviews)
5 stars
92
4 stars
5
3 stars
3
2 stars
9
1 star
6
84%would recommend to a friend
Customer Reviews for Shea Body Butter
Review 1 for Shea Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Gonzales
Gender: Female
Age: 55 - 60
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Mmmm! Love it
Date:March 9, 2013
My daughter gave the Shea body butter to me as a Christmas gift. I was so happy. The smell is soft and wonderful. What it does for my dry skin is fantastic! I have since purchased more on my own.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shea Body Butter
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Location: Houston Tx
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
SAD ABOUT THE NEW SMELL
Date:January 31, 2013
The Shea Body Butter has been a favorite of mine for years, so it seemed a no-brainer to order it online with my last purchase. I noticed a difference in the cover design but thought nothing of it till my then-current moisturizer finished and I opened it up. It now has a decidedly burnt/spicy smell, in a not so very pleasant way. It still moisturizes but I am very sad!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shea Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: NY
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
This is the best lotion
Date:May 1, 2013
We don't have body shop nearby, so always stock up in airports, and occasionally online. Love the stuff -- the moisture lasts so long, but isn't greasy. It is really expensive, but seems there is almost always some sale available if you are buying a few.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shea Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: New York
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Date:September 20, 2012
Due to my dry and very sensitive skin, dermatologists asked me to use moisturizers without fragrance, which were actually non glamorous products. However, I tried Body Shop Shea Butter because I was so frustrated not to be able to use the same products as everybody. What a surprise!! My skin looks healthy, comfortable and not dry anymore, especially in winter. During the very hot months in Summer I use the light version, Shea butter lotion, which is also great for my skin. I love this product and it has been the only product I've kept in my beauty routine for years and that actually improved my skin! Thank you Body Shop!!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shea Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Cincinnati, oh
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Love it
Date:August 28, 2012
I love shea butter. It makes my skin soft. This is my favorite sent.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shea Body Butter
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: Dubai
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Keep the OLD SHEA BODY BUTTER
Date:July 22, 2012
I hate this version of new Shea Body Butter! It doesn't keep my skin soft like the old one and I hate the smell of it! I will NEVER purchase it again!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shea Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Carson City
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
One of my favorites
Date:June 13, 2012
I live in northern Nevada and body butters are a must. I have a fan of many of the butters this one is my favorite. It is moisturizing and has a great, light scent.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shea Body Butter
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: New York City
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Normal
SkinConcern: Other
Frequency: Other
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Smells like a nursing home
Date:August 31, 2013
When you open the jar it has a neutral scent. I applied a little to my hands, smells like I walked into a nursing home. SO GROSS! The body scrub is the same too. Xchanging it for something else.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shea Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Harlow, Essex
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Other
Frequency: Weekly
I go nuts for this nutty scent!
Date:May 26, 2015
This is a great body butter! I am trying other kinds now, but love this one, too. It has a nutty floral scent, and is very thick. It doesn't sink into your skin right away, but it is very moisturizing! I love the container, it is never messy at all! You need to get tis body butter!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shea Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Rochester Hills, MI
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: Daily
So Smoothe
Date:May 24, 2015
This product is so thick and smooth. I'm from the south, but live in the north, and the harsh winters really do a number on my skin. This stuff really helps soothe and repair my skin in the cold winter months. And in the summer I like to use it on my feet so my flip-flop tendencies don't completely wreck them! (I use it daily in the winter, 2-3 times a week in the summer.)
I also really appreciate the scent. It's very light and pleasant. I have a lot of people in my family who are very sensitive to scents and things that have a strong fragrance. I have to be careful around them, and this is perfect--just enough, not too much.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shea Body Butter
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Location: Newark
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Dry
The scent......
Date:May 21, 2015
While it does a great job at moisturizing my dry skin, the scent is very perfumey. For me it smelled overpowering like if I sprayed perfumed I would be a walking potpourri. I'm more simple when it comes to my lotion smells. One that works perfectly for me is the vitamin e body butter
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shea Body Butter
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: New York City
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
Frequency: Daily
Wasn't what I expected
Date:April 4, 2015
I bought the gift bag during the holidays and this Shea cocoa butter cream was apart of the package. The texture of the cream is good, it moisturises dry skin very well. But I am not a fan of the scent, smells bad to me and can't seem to get use to it.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shea Body Butter
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: Colorado Springs
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: Yes
Gender: Female
Over scented
Date:April 1, 2015
I am sure this is very nice, but it is was over scented. I couldn't stand the smell and gave it to a friend. Sorry!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shea Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Lusby
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
shea body butter
Date:March 31, 2015
there is something slightly masculine about this scent that I absolutely love!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shea Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Springfield
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: 50 -54
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Fine Lines
Frequency: Daily
Awesome!!!!
Date:March 25, 2015
Review
This product is the absolute best ever...I cannot live without it. The scent is so soothing, it moisturizes so good, it is unbelievable. I tell everyone about it! Can't say anything but great things about this product....
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shea Body Butter
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Location: Santa Monica
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Former Body Butter Fan
Date:March 10, 2015
I used to be a faithful purchaser of the body butters, especially the nut scents. I even started going out of my way to find a Body Shop or purchase online when stores left my area. But lately the nut butters smell less earthy and more perfumy. This last batch of butters is so offensive to my nose that I only use it on my feet and I don't like the scent it leaves on my hands. I miss the old earthy, nutty smell of the shea and almond and olive butters. I'm done with the Body Shop now and am sad to go, but I miss the clean, classy smells that have been replaced with a cheap perfumy odor.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shea Body Butter
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Daily
Good moisturization! Unusual smell..
Date:February 24, 2015
I really love the texture and the way this product moisturizes my skin; however, I find the scent unusual and not altogether pleasing. I received it at a good price in promotional bag I got for spending a certain amount of money in the store, but I do not believe I will purchase this formulation again. I will, however, be purchasing other scents of body butter to try. I am sold on The Body Shop's body butter!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shea Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: New Jersey
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
Love the thick texture for winter!
Date:January 22, 2015
All of the body butters for very dry skin are amazing but this is my favorite scent. It stays on my dry winter skin all day and doesn't rub off on my clothes! The scent is light and fresh all day.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shea Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Missouri
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: 50 -54
SkinTone: Dark
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Daily
Yes! Just Yes!
Date:January 12, 2015
Under the laws of making sure every woman is properly moisturized & smelling good, this butter is at the top of my list. Creamy-not slick & greasy, rich & sexy-not a smack you in the face smell. This butter delivers a unique experience as soon as you open the container. The smell immediately greets you warmly. You dip some out and it warms in your hands causing you to smell those hands & smile. As it glides silky smooth on your entire body, oooo Lawd! It's an experience. Slide on your yoga pants or power suit or onesie honey! This fragrance & its moisturizing properties will last you allll day long &/or allll night long. Your body, clothing & sheets are rejoicing at this point. Don't miss out y'all!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shea Body Butter
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Location: Midwest
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: Yes
Gender: Female
Age: 55 - 60
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Other
Frequency: Other
This is not what I remember!
Date:December 18, 2014
This is not the Shea Butter that I remember. The scent has changed - and it is not for the better. To me is has the scent of a cheap aftershave. Please bring back the rich and delicious smelling shea body butter from several years ago. It is still silky and rich feeling on the skin. Since this was a free product for ordering a certain $ I have to say it was a great value. Based on the scent I can only give it a "poor" overall rating. If it isn't broken - please don't try to fix it!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>