Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Banana Shampoo

Banana Shampoo
Average Customer Rating:
4.439 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(173 Reviews) 164
Open Ratings Snapshot
rating snapshot (173 reviews)
5 stars
127
4 stars
20
3 stars
8
2 stars
11
1 star
7
88%would recommend to a friend
Customer Reviews for Banana Shampoo
Review 1 for Banana Shampoo
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
patriciaL
Location: Corvallis, OR
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Daily
Very disappointed.
Date:April 6, 2014
I was so excited to purchase the shampoo and conditioner because everybody was telling me how great it worked for them and how many compliments they received on their hair. Before using the shampoo, my hair was relatively healthy, it was long, strong, just some split ends that I wanted to take care of. So I decided to give this shampoo a try! I love bananas and the set smelled so good!
After using it for the first time, my hair came out so dry and weak, and full of tangles! I usually never have to brush my hair with a hairbrush, but this shampoo just put my hair in knots and I was breaking my hair trying to get through the knots. I used the shampoo and conditioner daily for a week and my hair was not getting better, so I have stopped. I even tried to use more product, but it didn't help.
I think it depends on the person's hair whether this shampoo will be beneficial or not. I will definitely be giving the rest of my shampoo/conditioner away. The price isn't too bad especially if there is a special going on, so it won't hurt too much to give the shampoo/conditioner a try.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Banana Shampoo
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
raychowmarie
Location: Columbus
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: Daily
BANANAAAA
Date:March 28, 2014
I LOVE THIS SHAMPOO! really rich and creamy texture and also smells amazing. I have thick curly hair and this shampoo detangles and smoothes my hair. I also like that it doesn't smell like gross sugary banana, but like a salon quality shampoo.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Banana Shampoo
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
smcfa
Location: Louisiana
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
Love It!
Date:March 27, 2014
I bought this shampoo along with the Banana Conditioner about 3 years go when my hair was the healthiest it's ever been. Lately, my hair has been very damaged so I decided to order it again and I love it! It smells amazing and I have definitely seen a difference in my hair. The bottles may be small, but it is not expensive at all to begin with. Plus, there are almost always deals to go along with it. Love this stuff!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Banana Shampoo
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ngata
Location: Irving, TX
Body Shop employee: No
I cannot believe it's shampoo!
Date:March 25, 2014
I tried the Ginger scalp care shampoo and this one with the banana conditioner. They are both amazing. My hair had a serious problem with split end and it is so dry in the winter. After I use this product, I notice my hair has changed its texture and it became so soft and silky, I love to wake up in the morning and feeling my hair touching me so softly. Even my boyfriend notices the difference (he would never notice a thing before). It's a good job, keep it up TBS!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Banana Shampoo
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
AdairFauxx
Location: Växjö, Sverige
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Blue
Frequency: Monthly
Average
Date:March 23, 2014
Nothing special. Honestly I just buy this for the scent which is good enough for me. I believe it to be better than Pantene or Garnier but not as good as AG or Redken. It is equivalent to Organix product line or It's a 10.
If you want something that smells amazing but keeps hair in its present condition this is great. But if you have hair that needs protein/amino acids/ moisture oils due to heating tools or dye damage, this is not for you.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Banana Shampoo
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
LyssMJ
Location: Charlevoix
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: Daily
Wonderful!
Date:March 20, 2014
I just received this product in the mail today, and it's also my first purchase from The Body Shop! Let me tell you, this is beautiful. Everything about it is great! A little goes a long way! It lathered up great and rinsed really well. I also purchased the conditioner of this and that is wonderful too. My hair is naturally wavy/curly, and my hair dries on its own. After using this, my hair was shiny, soft and beautifully curly. So happy I bought this! My only wish is that The body Shop would make a larger one!! Thank you Body Shop! <3
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Banana Shampoo
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
HannahEL
Location: Peoria, Il
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Normal
Frequency: Daily
Love this shampoo!
Date:February 28, 2014
I have problems finding the right shampoo for me. Many shampoos make my head itchy and flaky after just a week of use. I have been using this shampoo for over 2 weeks, and my hair has never looked better! It is shiny and soft, and I don't wake up with a bunch of tangles, either. The only complaints I have are that the bottle is too small, and the smell doesn't last very long once your hair is dry.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Banana Shampoo
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kenzie
Location: Glastonbury
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Normal
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
Wow! Simply amazing
Date:January 31, 2014
Okay, so I ordered this product and the conditioner before I read any of the comments but later when I was going through some of them saying it dried out hair and was watery I got nervous , that was not even close to the case at all, first of all it smelled amazing , it did NOT dry out my hair and actually made it feel so healthy afterwards. I did notice that a film kinda forms at the top of the bottle when it's not being used but after a quick shake it's completely fine, I super recommend this product and love that my hair smells like bananas from it! Love love love the body shop!!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Banana Shampoo
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
pinktink630
Location: Soddy Daisy, TN
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: Daily
Love This Shampoo But I Want A Bigger Bottle
Date:January 27, 2014
This shampoo made my hair felt clean without drying it out. It smells fantastic too. My only complaint is that the bottles are wwaaayyy too small. I've have to order more every time I get one in just because I'll have it gone in the week it takes to get another one. I wish The Body Shop would double the bottle size.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Banana Shampoo
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
aaliyahxx
Location: California
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Normal
SkinConcern: Shine
Frequency: Other
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Smells good,but it make me brush it hard.
Date:January 18, 2014
I ordered the first time from The Body Shop,and saw that this product was a Best Seller,and I just ordered this Shampoo,because I like the smell of Banana and thought I just try something new. Today when I first used it,normally my hair smells like the Shampoo that I used (my hair always smells during the shower like the Shampoo that I use and even if I get out of the shower),but this one didn't smell very long or even on my hair,only on my hand. After I got out of the shower I brushed my hair and I used a Conditioner,but I couldn't brush my hair ! it was too hard it just stucked togheter an d I had to cut it. I don't know if it's,because I have thick weavy/curly hair or if it's this Shampoo. But anyway I would recommend this product to a friend,who has thin and straight hair.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Banana Shampoo
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
snickypoo
Location: Georgetown, TX
Body Shop employee: No
Date:August 28, 2013
This is the best stuff ever! The shampoo and conditioner smell just like a real banana. I love it so much that I used it only twice, and I had to buy another set so I wouldn't ever run out!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Banana Shampoo
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
BeeBee89
Location: New Jersey
Body Shop employee: No
Yummy!
Date:July 29, 2013
I love the scent of this shampoo. The Banana scent is delicious and this shampoo leaves hair shiny and soft!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Banana Shampoo
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ananya
Location: Maryland
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Black
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Lack of Radiance
Frequency: Weekly
best sulphate shampoo n silicone conditioner :P
Date:June 21, 2013
PROS- very less hair fall during shower
shiny! and super soft even 4 days after wash!
very manageable hair.
cons-shampoo contains sls and conditioner contains cones :/
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Banana Shampoo
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
ShellyB1202
Location: Memphis, TN
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Shine
Frequency: Daily
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Did not care for this product.
Date:April 28, 2013
I didn't like it, neither the shampoo nor the conditioner. They both smelled terrific, but only in the bottles (also, like another reviewer mentioned, the scent was more like a banana candy than an actual banana, but still delicious.). The scent did not linger in my hair. Not sure if this is relevant, but I have very long, fine, thin hair - this did not agree with my hair type. It left my hair looking very dull, and full of tangles. I also had to use a LOT of product to get it to work all the way through my hair. I used each bottle (shampoo & conditioner) 1 time only, and probably used at least an ounce of each in just one shower. It did not lather very well, didn't feel like it was cleaning my hair.
I wouldn't buy again, and cannot recommend it to a friend...but a lot of people seem to love it, so you wont know until you try it for yourself. :-)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
CindyLouBou
 
Please wait while more information about CindyLouBou is loaded.
Additional information about CindyLouBou could not be loaded.
Posted May 23, 2013
This shampoo states it's best for all skin types, not all hair types which they should make it more specific on hair and not skin. Also shampoos aren't supposed to lather that much. In the average persons head "the more the lather the more it's cleaning" is completely untrue. The lather parts in shampoos are just bubble creating agents and trapped air. That's why professional brands don't lather up as much as people would like because they don't realize this and they think it's not making their hair clean. Now from your review saying you have fine, thin hair, this product isn't such a good choice for you. This is more for someone with medium to coarse hair. And if you really do just want a lather then shampoo your hair using only a quarter sized amount, rinse, and then go back a 2nd time with another quarter sized amount.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Banana Shampoo
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
zappy
Location: bakersfield
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Lack of Firmness
Frequency: Daily
awesomeeee
Date:April 12, 2013
best shampoo ever,please don't discontinued.i will keep purchasing this product.smell awesome'lives my hair soft and delicious...thank you body shop.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Banana Shampoo
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
livysgma
Location: Riverside, CA
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Daily
Love It!
Date:April 10, 2013
I absolutely love this product. I have long, very fine hair and a lot of it. This shampoo does not weigh my hair down, but gives it body and leaves it looking full, shiny and healthy. It also smells really yummy! I use it with the banana conditioner which is the only conditioner that leaves my hair virtually tangle free and easy to comb through.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Banana Shampoo
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coccinella
Location: Cincinnati
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
Frequency: Daily
Yum!
Date:March 17, 2013
This shampoo is wonderful - it smells amazing, and it's just fun. I really have enjoyed it so much. My hair looks great too, and I've had no problems. Definitely recommend, and it's great when you can get it on sale.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Banana Shampoo
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
lovealotmom
Location: Waco, TX
Smells sooooo good...
Date:March 8, 2013
I bought this one for my daughter and it smells sooo good. She loves it. It rinses out good and doesn't leave a residue in her hair. Good product for children.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Banana Shampoo
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alyloe13
Location: Tuckerton, NJ
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
Best!
Date:January 31, 2013
Love the banana shampoo and conditioner! My hair is so sensitive to certain shampoos but these products leave my hair feeling amazing! It went from being dull to coming alive after just a few shampoos!! Love love love
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Banana Shampoo
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Hairjunkie
Location: Boston
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Very Disappointed
Date:January 23, 2013
First of, this is not one of those cheap drugstore shampoos. It does smell good and leathers alright. That's about it. The only claim that it lives up to is the shine. My hair does look shiney. (Mind you, it's only the look)
I am almost done with my bottle and I feel I can give a fair review now. I find my hair MORE damaged than EVER (so much so that even my hair stylist noticed). Limp, frizzy, coarse, and full of tangles.
I will never repurchase.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>