Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Banana Shampoo

Banana Shampoo
Average Customer Rating:
4.488 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(248 Reviews) 238
Open Ratings Snapshot
rating snapshot (248 reviews)
5 stars
184
4 stars
31
3 stars
11
2 stars
14
1 star
8
90%would recommend to a friend
Customer Reviews for Banana Shampoo
Review 1 for Banana Shampoo
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Cincinnati
Gender: Female
Age: 45 - 49
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Banana Shampoo; Began a Body Shop Love Affair
Date:May 13, 2012
Twenty-two years ago a dear friend from England brought me my first Body Shop gift set and in it was a bottle of Banana Shampoo and Conditioner (accompanied by some Fuzzy Peach shower gel). I will NEVER forget the first shower using the Body Shop's Banana shampoo and conditioner. Not only was the smell so amazing that I felt as if I were being transported to another world (especially along with the fruity smell of the peach shower gel), but the effect of this shampoo/conditioner combo on my hair was amazing! I was hooked!
From that point on, whenever I traveled, I looked out for a Body Shop and stocked up on Banana Shampoo. Then there was the awful day the Body Shop decided to discontinue my favorite shampoo. I went to my local shop and bought out every bottle they had and stocked up not sure what I'd do when I ran out.
When I did run out, I discovered other Body Shop shampoos that were wonderful, but worked better as a weekly, or occasional shampoo, not an every day shampoo like the Banana shampoo had become for me. And then one day I walked in to do some shopping and there it was!!! My first love....the one shampoo that did things for my hair no other could! (Just ask my hair stylist!) We were joyfully reunited and continue our daily relationship.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Fuzzy Peach Bath & Shower Gel
4.7 out of 5(9)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MaryAnn
 
Please wait while more information about MaryAnn is loaded.
Additional information about MaryAnn could not be loaded.
Love this shampoo
Posted October 7, 2014
Was using Bed Head prior to this and hair felt so weighed down, decided to give this a go because of the rave reviews. I truly love this shampoo. Smells just like bananas not the fake scent like real bananas. Did not need as much as I did of the Bed Head, about a dime size will do and I have very long hair. Nice lather, Hair feels so soft and shines. Hair easy to comb thru did follow with the Banana Conditioner. I will definitely buy again, next sale stocking up!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Banana Shampoo
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: Boston
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Very Disappointed
Date:January 23, 2013
First of, this is not one of those cheap drugstore shampoos. It does smell good and leathers alright. That's about it. The only claim that it lives up to is the shine. My hair does look shiney. (Mind you, it's only the look)
I am almost done with my bottle and I feel I can give a fair review now. I find my hair MORE damaged than EVER (so much so that even my hair stylist noticed). Limp, frizzy, coarse, and full of tangles.
I will never repurchase.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Banana Shampoo
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Waxhaw, NC
Gender: Female
Age: Above 60
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Banana Shampoo and Conditioner
Date:July 31, 2012
Two of the best hair products I have ever used. The smell is fabulous and they work great to put life back to dry hair. They took it off the market for a few years and I searched everywhere to find it. Please don't ever take it off again. It's "that good".
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Banana Shampoo
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Marysville
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Date:June 18, 2012
This is one of the best shamppos I have used in a looooong time!!! I have very fine, brittle, curly, frizzy hair and this works like a champ! I had used this years ago and was so sad when it was dropped. Then when I noticed it was back, I couldn't get my hands on it fast enough! The smell is so nice and it leaves my hair silky smooth. Unlike a lot of natural shampoos, it lathers nicely and leaves my hair feeling clean without over-doing it. I would highly recommend this awesome shampoo!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Banana Shampoo
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Upstate NY
Gender: Female
Age: 55 - 60
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Fabulous!
Date:April 5, 2012
As with the banana conditioner, I bought this shampoo based on the reviews. Great decision! Fabulous - washes clean without stripping my hair, is gentle on my (salon) color, and of course the scent is delightful. Use the banana conditioner with it, and have happy hair!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Banana Shampoo
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Location: Chicago
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Not recommended for colored hair
Date:March 13, 2012
After I read all the positive reviews, I was really looking forward to using this product. I thought it would be safe on colored hair since its a gentle shampoo, but that doesn't seem to be the case. After a few washings, it really stripped most of the color out of my hair. If you have colored hair, I recommend staying away from this product.
I'm a Body Shop loyalist, but their shampoos are just not for me.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Banana Shampoo
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Portland, OR
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
I love this shampoo
Date:February 13, 2012
This shampoo is amazing. I have dry hair and using this product every other day STILL made my hair shiny and supple. PLEASE do not discontinue this shampoo!!!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Banana Shampoo
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Montecito, CA
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Great shampoo, great value
Date:February 11, 2012
This shampoo smells wonderful and is an excellent value. A very small amount goes a long way. I have long hair and usually have to use more shampoo than most people, but this one lathers so well that a small amount is perfect for me. I highly recommend this product and the Banana Conditioner.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Banana Shampoo
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Baton Rouge
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Please Don't Discontinue!
Date:February 8, 2012
I'm still confused whether or not the banana shampoo and conditioner are being discontinued or not - the reps in my store said they're keeping it, and I'm reading in reviews here that they are discontinuing it. I really, really hope they don't! This shampoo (and conditioner) doesn't irritate my skin like most do, and it leaves my hair feeling sooo soft and clean!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Banana Shampoo
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Detroit
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Great scent
Date:December 23, 2011
love the smell of this product however I didn't find that it conditioned my thin dry hair well enough, maybe next time I will use a little more and see if that helps. I would buy other products with this scent though.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Banana Shampoo
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Dallas
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Lifelong friendship
Date:June 28, 2011
I discovered this shampoo/conditioner set a couple of years ago and it was love at first smell! I absolutely love fruity scents and this banana scent is so pure-- you can truly tell that REAL bananas have been used. I personally have thick, somewhat dry hair (I can go 3 days without washing it), and this shampoo and conditioner duo make my hair feel and look amazing. I've never colored my hair but people never fail to ask me if I'm highlighting my hair because it's so shiny! It leaves no residue that you can actually feel from other shampoos and conditioners.There have only been a couple of downsides to this duo: I recently moved to a semi-arid climate in west Texas for a year to go to school and it started to dry my hair out more because the water in that city was very hard and the air was so dry (that's why I gave it 4 stars for performance because it might depend on the type of climate you live in). I might just stick with it when I go back in the fall and stock up more on the conditioner and use more of that! Other than that it, this is one of my all-time favorite products from The Body Shop, and I just wish this and the conditioner came in larger bottles!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Banana Shampoo
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Northern Michigan
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
B-A-N-A-N-A-S
Date:June 1, 2011
I love this stuff! It smells like summer and is a very reasonable price. It lathers really well and does not leave any residue behind. I use it with the conditioner and it leaves my hair very shiny and manageable. My hair is extremely curly and coarse, making it difficult to find the right products. I'm so glad I tried this stuff, the only complaint I have is the yummy scent does not last long enough, I wish this scent came in body care too.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Banana Shampoo
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Location: Chicago
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Its good for oily hair
Date:April 19, 2011
I have used only one bottle. I have very dry hair. It did not work with me. But one of my friend found it very useful. She had oily hair. I would recommend this to those people, who have oily hair.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Banana Shampoo
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Annapolis, MD
Gender: Female
Age: 45 - 49
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Most Amazing Shampoo/Conditioner
Date:April 6, 2011
I have well water and it has been very difficult to find shampoo that cleans and leaves my hair shiny and silky. This is IT!!! There is no more mineral deposits, my hair has never looked better and I tell all my friends about this amazing shampoo!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Banana Shampoo
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Signal Hill, CA
Gender: Female
Age: 55 - 60
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Can't Go Wrong
Date:March 22, 2011
I have used this shampoo for many years. Am so glad it is offered continuously now as an 'Original." I am older, have a very sensitive scalp, and cannot use just any shampoo out there because of that. This shampoo has always left my hair very clean, shiny, and manageable without being greasy or leaving a residue where I must re-shampoo after a day or two. Thank you, Body Shop, for offering such a high-quality, high-value product!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Banana Shampoo
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: San Jose
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Horrible Ingredients, Mediocre Performance
Date:January 12, 2012
Let me start by saying that this may or may not work better if your hair is more difficult to manage, but for people with relatively low-maintenance hair, it will do NOTHING for you but weigh it down.
SMELL - obviously artificial, nothing like real bananas--smells exactly like those willy wonka banana-flavored candies. This is due to added fragrance. The color, I should mention, is due to Yellow 5 and Red 4, not bananas. Altogether, fake but tricks you into believing you're smelling and looking at bananas. Scent dissipates almost instantaneously, so if you don't like it that's a plus.
INGREDIENTS - FIVE types of PARABENS, not to mention that SODIUM LAURETH SULFATE is the second ingredient. So, product unnecessarily uses the same garbage ingredients as cheap drugstore brands--the only exception is that bananas are a primary ingredient (I wonder how they're used, what part, etc..).
PERFORMANCE - Almost impossible to work into a lather, despite the sles--I had to use two squeezes because I couldn't work it throughout my whole scalp. Did NOT make my hair shinier, feel healthier, or even smell like bananas--all it did was weigh it down.
CONDITIONER - It performs like any other conditioner, BUT it doesn't have any nasty chemicals. If you're looking for an SLS/paraben-free conditioner but aren't expecting miracles, I would recommend it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Banana Shampoo
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: Memphis, TN
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Shine
Frequency: Daily
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Did not care for this product.
Date:April 28, 2013
I didn't like it, neither the shampoo nor the conditioner. They both smelled terrific, but only in the bottles (also, like another reviewer mentioned, the scent was more like a banana candy than an actual banana, but still delicious.). The scent did not linger in my hair. Not sure if this is relevant, but I have very long, fine, thin hair - this did not agree with my hair type. It left my hair looking very dull, and full of tangles. I also had to use a LOT of product to get it to work all the way through my hair. I used each bottle (shampoo & conditioner) 1 time only, and probably used at least an ounce of each in just one shower. It did not lather very well, didn't feel like it was cleaning my hair.
I wouldn't buy again, and cannot recommend it to a friend...but a lot of people seem to love it, so you wont know until you try it for yourself. :-)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
CindyLouBou
 
Please wait while more information about CindyLouBou is loaded.
Additional information about CindyLouBou could not be loaded.
Posted May 23, 2013
This shampoo states it's best for all skin types, not all hair types which they should make it more specific on hair and not skin. Also shampoos aren't supposed to lather that much. In the average persons head "the more the lather the more it's cleaning" is completely untrue. The lather parts in shampoos are just bubble creating agents and trapped air. That's why professional brands don't lather up as much as people would like because they don't realize this and they think it's not making their hair clean. Now from your review saying you have fine, thin hair, this product isn't such a good choice for you. This is more for someone with medium to coarse hair. And if you really do just want a lather then shampoo your hair using only a quarter sized amount, rinse, and then go back a 2nd time with another quarter sized amount.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for Banana Shampoo
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Location: chicago ridge
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Dried out my hair
Date:August 28, 2011
I ordered this during the last sale and was excited to try this. I have highlights bleached in my hair and my hair is pretty dry. I thought the bananas would be nourishing and would give my hair a little moisture. Apparently not. After the third day of using this I could not even get the brush through my hair. This might better be suited for more normal hair that is untreated.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Banana Shampoo
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Location: Houston
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
great smell, poor performance
Date:July 6, 2011
I was so excited to try this shampoo after reading the reviews. I bought this and the conditioner and was for the most part disappointed.
One would think that being an all natural product, that this would be better for your hair. Its not. My hair went from conditioned and shiny, to dry and brittle in ONE DAY! This stuff totally fried it. I used the conditioner with it to try to put some moisture back into my hair but it didnt work. I am now back to my old shampoo/conditioner.
One good thing about this product is that it makes your hair smell great. But i dont think good smelling hair matters when your hairs fried.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Banana Shampoo
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: Raleigh
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
No thanks!
Date:July 12, 2011
First, I love TBS, I have at least 8-10 TBS bath products in my shower at any given time...however this will never again be in my shower. In fact it may not last a second washing...guest bath here we come - lol!
Banana?? Not so much, it's not a horrible smell, but I've never smelled a banana like that. And to be honest I wasn't real impressed with the performance either. The only GREAT thing was it was CHEAP! Sorry TBS, you have some amazing stuff...but wow does this ever miss the bar!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>