Product Reviews

Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream

Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
rating snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
6
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
7
57%would recommend to a friend
Customer Reviews for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
Review 1 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: philly
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Excellent for what it is
Date:November 11, 2013
I am also a hemp hand cream user, as most who reviewed the absinthe. Yes, it does work better, on dry hands. What I like about absinthe is it is very light and clean and doesn't leave your hands greasy at all like the hemp. I tend to use it more during the summer months because it lets my skin breathe and keeps me from leaving fingerprints everywhere. I also highly recommend it for covering up kitchen hand smells and leaving your hands feeling very clean. The scent is a little strong when you first put it on but it develops into a pleasant light clean scent after it dries. I love this product and was a little disappointed in all the bad reviews. I hope this helps anyone who is on the fence about giving it a try.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Mesquite, Texas
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Very Dry
Frequency: Daily
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Enraptured By The Green Fairy
Date:March 4, 2014
I want to kiss the person who came up with this scent for TBS. It makes me feel THAT happy. As a hand cream it works just fine - its light and fresh. But the magic lies in it's smell. Theres a fresh green start which initially made me panic - it wasn't anything special. But then.... a few minutes later.. something mystical and vibrant caught my attention. The scent matures into something else completely. I'm no good at defining individual scents, so I can't tell you what its like. But its good; like it just contains every pretty smell I ever smelt. If I were a cat, this would be my catnip. Yes - I'm under that green fairy's spell..! (Please expand the range!)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Location: Jacksonville
Body Shop employee: Yes
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Other
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Not for Me
Date:October 7, 2013
I have to say that this isn't my favorite product, but it gets the job done. I love hand creams, because I am constantly washing my hands and they are fairly dry. This does moisturize them, but for me, there are better choices. I do not like the smell, nor the consistency of the cream. It is pretty runny and the smell is very...brisk. It is very strong. It does moisturize, but I definitely prefer the Hemp and the Almond hand care lines.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Chandler
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
Frequency: Daily
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Bought for my husband- perfect!
Date:July 26, 2013
I previously bought the Hemp hand cream for my hubby, but I wasn't a huge fan of the scent. He loved the cream though, so I wanted a compromise. THIS hand cream is it! The scent is light and neutral but it still delivers the strong moisture his dry hands need. We will be buying this from now on!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Location: Buffalo, WY
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Other
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Musky
Date:April 2, 2013
Very musky scent to it...I couldn't wait for the scent to either fade or for it to absorb some in hopes that the smell would fade. If you've used the Hemp, it's very similar in consistancy and absorbancy, only musky.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Location: Portland
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Not For Me
Date:March 13, 2013
I had severe dry skin problems with my hands, and the Hemp Hand Protector fixed everything. So once I didn't rely on the Hemp one so much, I figured I'd try the Absinthe. I personally like the smell, other reviewers don't seem to like it, but I wasn't happy with the quality of the lotion. I wasn't pleased with the liquid-y texture, it feels too watery, and it seems to take the moisture out of my hands rather than keep it in. I would recommend it to people who don't have severe dry skin issues and don't mind the smell.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: Indianapolis
Gender: Female
Age: 55 - 60
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Very Dry
SkinConcern: Other
Frequency: Other
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Very drying
Date:March 11, 2013
The lotion seems to suck the moisture out of my hands, leaving the skin tight, dry and full of wrinkles. I like the smell, which is an evergreen smell, but it's not worth it to put it on my hands. I think it's suppose to be an antiseptic type of lotion? It's more of a lotion, not a cream. I have older skin, age 57.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: New York
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
I'll stick to the HEMP...
Date:March 8, 2013
When I purchased the hand cream there were only a few reviews and they all sounded positive. I was terribly disappointed with it!! Over-powering fragrance!!! Would not recommend to anyone with sensitivities to scents or perfumes!!! Wish THE BODY SHOP would relax a little on fragrances. If I want that I would be shopping at Bath and Body Works. PLEASE - PLEASE go back to more natural subtle fragrances!!!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
YldPsyD
 
Please wait while more information about YldPsyD is loaded.
Additional information about YldPsyD could not be loaded.
I totally agree with you...
Posted March 10, 2013
I, too, switched to TBS from Bath & Body Works because TBS had many natural scents and products. Lately, TBS has been going much stronger - pun intended - on the perfume and fragrance. This is very disappointing. I also gave this product a poor review for the same reason you did. I hope other TBS customers chime in, so that TBS hears us and hopefully goes back to lighter scents. I like natural products.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Location: Helena
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Overpowering Smell
Date:March 6, 2013
This is one product that I wish I had read the reviews on as the scent is overwhelming. If you have even a slight sensitivity to perfumes or scents, I would not recommend this product. The cream does make my hands soft but you have to use quite a bit to get any benefit. I just cannot tolerate the overpowering smell, so this was a waste of money. Unfortunately there are no stores in Montana so I cannot return and don't want to pay additional postage to return.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
YldPsyD
 
Please wait while more information about YldPsyD is loaded.
Additional information about YldPsyD could not be loaded.
Recommendation: call customer service
Posted March 10, 2013
If there are no stores in your state or local area, I would recommend that you call or e-mail TBS customer service and request a return by mail at no cost to you. TBS's in store return policy has been fair. This product is too expensive to just eat the cost and/or pay too much shippping to return. Good luck! :)
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Eagan
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Other
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strong Scent
Date:March 6, 2013
I love the hand lotions at The Body Shop but this one has a very strong masculine scent that does not go away. I thought I'd try it because the previous reviews said that the scent fades quickly. All I could smell was my hands all day long. I will try to return this to the store as I do not care for this scent at all.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: WV
Gender: Female
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Blue
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Absinthe Hand Lotion
Date:February 23, 2013
I wasn't sure what to expect when I ordered this lotin. The name "Absinthe" is why I bought it.
Pros: Works wonders!! I have washed my hands and used tons of hand sanitizer this winter and my hands were suffering - they were visibly dry and the skin actually hurt it was so dry. After using this only twice, they are all better :) It dries very quickly and is not greasy.
Smell: The smell is very odd, kinda like dirt, grass and mint but it doesn't stink... maybe a little medicine smell... even though it smells strange, the smell fades quickly into a clean smell.
Cons: The weird tube is awful!!! As soon as I opened it, a bunch stated coming out. The lid is diffucult to get back on.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: my place
Gender: Female
Age: 45 - 49
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Daily
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
WOW! My hands have a youthful sheen
Date:February 13, 2013
I received this as part of a thank you gift. I will admit that at first I was a bit put off by the scent. I thought it was a tad strong and masculine smelling (it reminds me of a very light evergreen shave cream smell). Boy oh boy was I wrong. Once I applied this it absorbed quickly and completely, not greasy at all. The scent dried down to a light refreshing scent. My hands are so soft and they have a youthful sheen. My hands look like I've had a deep moisturizing treatment at a spa. I will definitely purchase this when I need a replenishment supply. I'll be giving these as gifts and will purchase some of the minis for my purse, gym locker, and travel bag. THIS IS GOING TO BE A BEST SELLER!!!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TiBookChatter
 
Please wait while more information about TiBookChatter is loaded.
Additional information about TiBookChatter could not be loaded.
Give it a few minutes...
Posted February 18, 2013
When I first tried this at the shop, it had a slightly medicinal smell but within minutes it smelled really good. Very green and plant like but in a fresh, totally good way. The scent lingers softly but it's very refreshing.
As a moisturizer, it works well. Sinks in, not greasy and you don't have to reapply very often which is good. Additionally, I was told by the sales lady that Absinthe has purifying properties so if you use hand sanitizer all the time, this is a good alternative for you.
I got it when it was half off so only paid $10 but I'd pay full price for it too. I also tried the Hand Butter version and it was thicker, but did not smell as fresh.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: Las Vegas
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Other
Frequency: Other
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Terrible Lotion
Date:April 20, 2013
This lotion is terrible for my dry hands. I gave it a shot for a week and my hands began to CRACK. I live in the desert, so things are naturally dry around here, but this lotion was awful. It was about as effective as water; I'd be ashamed to even donate this!
Try the hemp lotion; it's actually useful.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Midwest
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: 50 - 54
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Combination
Frequency: Daily
New customer~love this product!
Date:January 25, 2015
I have never used any Body Shop products before. Was shopping with my niece and she wanted to stop in the store to get a product she uses. So, I just walked around, looking and sampling a few products. Being a Professional Pet Groomer, my hands are in water for most of the day, and I am constantly looking for hand creams that absorb, and leave no residue. I am in love with the Absinthe scent~to me it is a clean, fresh smell, but not the fresh smell I believe most people are used to. I do not like strong smelling lotions, but to me, this is a clean, light scent that I am crazy about. Looking forward to trying the other products in this line!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Pittsburgh
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Fair
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
Such a great scent!
Date:January 23, 2015
My fiance and I love this product! We use it for massages. I wish Body Shop would make a massage oil in this scent, we'd certainly buy it! The scent is pretty strong when you first put it on, so if you haven't smelled the absinthe line before, I'd recommend trying it in the store before you buy.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Columbus
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: 45 - 49
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Normal
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: Daily
Great for odor cover up
Date:December 29, 2014
This is not ideal for moisturizing; however, it works great for odor cover up on your hands! Even cutting an onion I can wash my hands and then use this lotion and viola, the odor is almost completely eliminated! this is my sole purpose of purchasing this lotion!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: LA
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
Frequency: Daily
Don't Be Fooled! It's GREAT Stuff!
Date:August 27, 2014
Before I purchased this product I read all the reviews about it's "strong odor", "overpowering", "too light", "Hemp is better"...NONSENSE!
This hand cream is AMAZING! The scent does infact say 'conceals odour' right on the packaging, and Bergamot...well yeah it smells like Bergamot and that's the best part!!! It's a light hand cream so not for someone with lizard hands, if you want a super greasy formula, you should go for the Hemp (which in my opinion smells pretty terrible & feels even worse, but that doesn't make it a bad product, just different)
This cream is amazing to me! Usually when you put hand cream on you have to wait a while for it to absorb otherwise you will get it on everything you touch. NOT THIS STUFF!! Absorbs super fast and leaves skin soft with an earthy citrus scent AKA BERGAMOT...
GREAT SCENT <3
Only con to this product is The Body Shop's typical hand cream packaging that they use for most of their hand creams, hopefully they will change this in the future.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Location: Seattle
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Does not work for me
Date:July 20, 2014
The only thing I like about this hand cream is how it smells.
Other than that, it doesn't work for me. It's too thin and runs, and does not moisturize my hands at all. Prefer the hemp and almond hand creams.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: North carolina
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 45 - 49
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
Love this lotion
Date:June 22, 2014
I love this lotion and it's fragrance. You need to try it at the store - don't just rely on others. This is an all time favorite. I too would like to know what "purifying" means in the title of this product. Still, I love it!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: NYC
Body Shop employee: No
Frequency: Daily
Great for the Heat of Summer!
Date:June 17, 2014
This is an amazing light creme with a fresh scent that both men and women would like. It smells soft and grassy, woodsy and clean. Just use a dab, this stuff goes a long way and lasts a long time! I would always try a scent in the store to see if you like this crisp, refreshing scent, but during sticky NYC summers this is WONDERFUL to bring light hydration, antibacterial without tricolsan, and a sense of balance to the mind and body. I use this in packed classes after sweaty Power Yoga, and sink deeper into savasana. I like that is NOT heavy, that it is light and I can barely feel it on my skin, that I don't slip on my yoga mat right after putting it on, and that it's not sugary smelling. Perhaps an acquired taste, but I tend to not like too sweet fragrances or heavy "butters".
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>