Product Reviews

Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream

Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
Average Customer Rating:
3.29 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
rating snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
7
52%would recommend to a friend
Customer Reviews for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
Review 1 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lfond
Location: Long Beach, CA
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 45 - 49
SkinTone: Dark
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Normal
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: Daily
Good Stuff
Date:April 17, 2014
I like this product because it smells great and feels great on my hands. I find myself washing my hands more just so I can experience the smell of it newly applied to my skin all over again. I just wish it was a tiny bit thicker and more oily because my skin loses moisture so fast. I'll be buying this product for as long as they make it. Thanks Body Shop.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brock
Location: Mesquite, Texas
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Very Dry
Frequency: Daily
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Enraptured By The Green Fairy
Date:March 4, 2014
I want to kiss the person who came up with this scent for TBS. It makes me feel THAT happy. As a hand cream it works just fine - its light and fresh. But the magic lies in it's smell. Theres a fresh green start which initially made me panic - it wasn't anything special. But then.... a few minutes later.. something mystical and vibrant caught my attention. The scent matures into something else completely. I'm no good at defining individual scents, so I can't tell you what its like. But its good; like it just contains every pretty smell I ever smelt. If I were a cat, this would be my catnip. Yes - I'm under that green fairy's spell..! (Please expand the range!)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
BeachBumming
Location: Portland, Oregon
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Gray
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Other
Great hand cream, horrible fragrance
Date:March 3, 2014
I wanted a good hand cream because I work with my hands and they become extremely chapped and cracked. I chose this as the scent was described by other reviews as being fresh and light (which are terms I'd associate with Absinthe) however it doesn't live up to that in my opinion.
While the cream absorbed quickly and felt good (and non greasy) the odor is overpowering. The scent is quite strong and woodsy, like a heavy mens cologne. I hoped it would dissipate, but it did not.
It is far too heavily scented for use on the hands. I can not imagine trying to eat while wearing this.
If the scent was a faint whisper, it might be nice however I find the amount in this noxious and overpowering.
It is too bad, the cream felt nice but I really dislike the scent. Very earthy, woodsy and strong. I was hoping for crisp and light like the anise and herbs I associate with the liqour.
Might appeal to men or those who like strong scents like patchouli.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
btayzor
Location: Boston, MA
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Very Dry
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Daily
Very pleased!
Date:February 6, 2014
I have extremely sensitive skin and this product doesn't bother me at all. The scent is light, fresh, and long lasting. My skin is also very dry and this creme moisturizes it perfectly without leaving it greasy. I love it so much!
The scent is earthy and feminine without being too overpowering.
PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE make this scent into a body wash and/or shampoo and conditioner. :)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
njsarah87
Location: philly
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Excellent for what it is
Date:November 11, 2013
I am also a hemp hand cream user, as most who reviewed the absinthe. Yes, it does work better, on dry hands. What I like about absinthe is it is very light and clean and doesn't leave your hands greasy at all like the hemp. I tend to use it more during the summer months because it lets my skin breathe and keeps me from leaving fingerprints everywhere. I also highly recommend it for covering up kitchen hand smells and leaving your hands feeling very clean. The scent is a little strong when you first put it on but it develops into a pleasant light clean scent after it dries. I love this product and was a little disappointed in all the bad reviews. I hope this helps anyone who is on the fence about giving it a try.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
saveemily
Location: Nevada City
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinType: Combination
Frequency: Daily
Love the scent!
Date:November 11, 2013
I am constantly washing my hands. I work as an artist and work in a studio. I work with clay, bisque, grout, glue, every paint imaginable and other supplies. There is a lot of washing. Washing of pallets, brushes, bowls and cups, etc. My hands get dried out really easily but I have to be careful of what product I can use on my hands because I can't let it get onto my artwork.
First off, I am in love with this scent. If you like something a little more natural and a hint of citrus, then you will like this. My sister said it reminded her of Dolce and Gabbana Light Blue but not as lemony. So think of a rain forest, very clean. I like this one because I can get every last bit out of the tub, its light and not too bulky in my bag and my main thing is that it absorbs quickly! The scent does linger, which I enjoy! The butter is really nice too if you need something a little thicker for extra TLC.
I have my fingers crossed that a body lotion and maybe a body spray is in the works! Body shop... did you hear me?! Please!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
killerwhaley
Location: Jacksonville
Body Shop employee: Yes
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Other
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Not for Me
Date:October 7, 2013
I have to say that this isn't my favorite product, but it gets the job done. I love hand creams, because I am constantly washing my hands and they are fairly dry. This does moisturize them, but for me, there are better choices. I do not like the smell, nor the consistency of the cream. It is pretty runny and the smell is very...brisk. It is very strong. It does moisturize, but I definitely prefer the Hemp and the Almond hand care lines.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
AliS
Location: Chandler
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
Frequency: Daily
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Bought for my husband- perfect!
Date:July 26, 2013
I previously bought the Hemp hand cream for my hubby, but I wasn't a huge fan of the scent. He loved the cream though, so I wanted a compromise. THIS hand cream is it! The scent is light and neutral but it still delivers the strong moisture his dry hands need. We will be buying this from now on!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Caitlyn
Location: Framingham, MA
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: Daily
Lovely Hand Cream!
Date:May 28, 2013
I purchased this product without having read the reviews of others. I was a little hesitant about it at first, but I absolutely love it! I did not have a problem with it being too runny and pouring out of the tube, and it does a great job moisturizing my hands. If you're looking for something sticky sweet scented, this won't be the hand cream for you. I find it to have a fresh, clean scent that isn't overpowering or cloying.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Maggie
Location: Ohio
Didn't like
Date:April 28, 2013
I didn't like this hand cream AT ALL. Smell is very masculine/overpowering. Didn't moisturized hands. Consistency is runny. I love the hemp hand cream and will stick with that.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Seredetia
Location: Las Vegas
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Other
Frequency: Other
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Terrible Lotion
Date:April 20, 2013
This lotion is terrible for my dry hands. I gave it a shot for a week and my hands began to CRACK. I live in the desert, so things are naturally dry around here, but this lotion was awful. It was about as effective as water; I'd be ashamed to even donate this!
Try the hemp lotion; it's actually useful.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
waitingforpeter
Location: Buffalo, WY
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Other
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Musky
Date:April 2, 2013
Very musky scent to it...I couldn't wait for the scent to either fade or for it to absorb some in hopes that the smell would fade. If you've used the Hemp, it's very similar in consistancy and absorbancy, only musky.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
CoolMable
Location: NY
a lotion...not a cream
Date:April 1, 2013
The texture of the cream is appropriate for a body lotion...not a cream. Lacking in moisturizing ability. I like the scent but it's unusual and I can understand why some don't like it. I was hoping for some stronger bergamot notes as I dearly miss the Bergamot lotion the Body Shop used to sell. This product needs some work.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Iroquoislady
Location: Torrance
SIMPLY RESISTABLE
Date:March 30, 2013
Hands down, this is by far the worst hand cream I've ever purchased. It is thin, runny, and has a horrible scent that seems to permeate the skin and lasts forever. Donated both of them to a local shelter. The strong, almost-medicinal scent reminds me of bug repellant and the cream did absolutely nothing for my hands. Rating? The WORST ever...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
yaya
Location: Boulder, CO
Gender: Female
Age: 55 - 60
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Fine Lines
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
strong scent
Date:March 20, 2013
I love these hand creams, I returned this cream as the scent
was just too strong and masculine, pungent for my liking.
I use the hemp love that cream, and was hoping for something lighter in scent than the hemp. This was STRONGER than the hemp scent and I didn't care for it at all.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
xansnana
Location: avon
Gender: Female
Age: 55 - 60
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
I love the scent!
Date:March 19, 2013
I really like the scent of this lotion. Although it doesn't keep my hands moisturized for very long. I would buy it again because I love the scent!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
MizzBee1
Location: Mebane, North Carolina
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Fine Lines
Frequency: Daily
Deliciously Scented
Date:March 17, 2013
I love the scent of the Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream. I can't stop smelling my hands after I put it on. However, I agree with the other reviewers that it is too runny and doesn't moisturize as well as I'd like. I'd love a body butter that smelled like this!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
DCScientist
Location: Washington, DC
Funky Smell Problem Solver
Date:March 15, 2013
I love this product. Many have commented on the strong smell....that's intended. The product is intended to conceal odors on your hands, such as onion smell after cooking or eating lunch with onions. It is thinner than the usual creams, and is more lotion like. Nice, herbal smell.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
alecksandera
Location: Portland
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
Not For Me
Date:March 13, 2013
I had severe dry skin problems with my hands, and the Hemp Hand Protector fixed everything. So once I didn't rely on the Hemp one so much, I figured I'd try the Absinthe. I personally like the smell, other reviewers don't seem to like it, but I wasn't happy with the quality of the lotion. I wasn't pleased with the liquid-y texture, it feels too watery, and it seems to take the moisture out of my hands rather than keep it in. I would recommend it to people who don't have severe dry skin issues and don't mind the smell.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
CrackofDawn
Location: Payson
Gender: Female
Age: 50 -54
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Fine Lines
I will keep my Hemp Hand Protector
Date:March 13, 2013
I have dry hands and love the Hemp Hand Protector so I thought I would try this new product. The smell is so overpowering and stays there all day, it is much thinner than the Hemp and more like a lotion. I was going to toss it when my daughter-in-law smelled it and liked it so gave it to her. the hand butter was not as strong and thicker so I kept it, as backup. I do not live near a store so just have to buy to try new scents, not happy with this one at all.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>