Product Reviews

Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream

Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
Average Customer Rating:
3.447 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
rating snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
5
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
7
55%would recommend to a friend
Customer Reviews for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
Review 1 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
njsarah87
Location: philly
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Excellent for what it is
Date:November 11, 2013
I am also a hemp hand cream user, as most who reviewed the absinthe. Yes, it does work better, on dry hands. What I like about absinthe is it is very light and clean and doesn't leave your hands greasy at all like the hemp. I tend to use it more during the summer months because it lets my skin breathe and keeps me from leaving fingerprints everywhere. I also highly recommend it for covering up kitchen hand smells and leaving your hands feeling very clean. The scent is a little strong when you first put it on but it develops into a pleasant light clean scent after it dries. I love this product and was a little disappointed in all the bad reviews. I hope this helps anyone who is on the fence about giving it a try.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brock
Location: Mesquite, Texas
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Very Dry
Frequency: Daily
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Enraptured By The Green Fairy
Date:March 4, 2014
I want to kiss the person who came up with this scent for TBS. It makes me feel THAT happy. As a hand cream it works just fine - its light and fresh. But the magic lies in it's smell. Theres a fresh green start which initially made me panic - it wasn't anything special. But then.... a few minutes later.. something mystical and vibrant caught my attention. The scent matures into something else completely. I'm no good at defining individual scents, so I can't tell you what its like. But its good; like it just contains every pretty smell I ever smelt. If I were a cat, this would be my catnip. Yes - I'm under that green fairy's spell..! (Please expand the range!)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
killerwhaley
Location: Jacksonville
Body Shop employee: Yes
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Other
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Not for Me
Date:October 7, 2013
I have to say that this isn't my favorite product, but it gets the job done. I love hand creams, because I am constantly washing my hands and they are fairly dry. This does moisturize them, but for me, there are better choices. I do not like the smell, nor the consistency of the cream. It is pretty runny and the smell is very...brisk. It is very strong. It does moisturize, but I definitely prefer the Hemp and the Almond hand care lines.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
AliS
Location: Chandler
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
Frequency: Daily
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Bought for my husband- perfect!
Date:July 26, 2013
I previously bought the Hemp hand cream for my hubby, but I wasn't a huge fan of the scent. He loved the cream though, so I wanted a compromise. THIS hand cream is it! The scent is light and neutral but it still delivers the strong moisture his dry hands need. We will be buying this from now on!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
waitingforpeter
Location: Buffalo, WY
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Other
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Musky
Date:April 2, 2013
Very musky scent to it...I couldn't wait for the scent to either fade or for it to absorb some in hopes that the smell would fade. If you've used the Hemp, it's very similar in consistancy and absorbancy, only musky.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
twinsmamma
Location: New York
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
I'll stick to the HEMP...
Date:March 8, 2013
When I purchased the hand cream there were only a few reviews and they all sounded positive. I was terribly disappointed with it!! Over-powering fragrance!!! Would not recommend to anyone with sensitivities to scents or perfumes!!! Wish THE BODY SHOP would relax a little on fragrances. If I want that I would be shopping at Bath and Body Works. PLEASE - PLEASE go back to more natural subtle fragrances!!!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
YldPsyD
 
Please wait while more information about YldPsyD is loaded.
Additional information about YldPsyD could not be loaded.
Top 10 Contributor
I totally agree with you...
Posted March 10, 2013
I, too, switched to TBS from Bath & Body Works because TBS had many natural scents and products. Lately, TBS has been going much stronger - pun intended - on the perfume and fragrance. This is very disappointing. I also gave this product a poor review for the same reason you did. I hope other TBS customers chime in, so that TBS hears us and hopefully goes back to lighter scents. I like natural products.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
sewfun
Location: Helena
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Overpowering Smell
Date:March 6, 2013
This is one product that I wish I had read the reviews on as the scent is overwhelming. If you have even a slight sensitivity to perfumes or scents, I would not recommend this product. The cream does make my hands soft but you have to use quite a bit to get any benefit. I just cannot tolerate the overpowering smell, so this was a waste of money. Unfortunately there are no stores in Montana so I cannot return and don't want to pay additional postage to return.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
YldPsyD
 
Please wait while more information about YldPsyD is loaded.
Additional information about YldPsyD could not be loaded.
Top 10 Contributor
Recommendation: call customer service
Posted March 10, 2013
If there are no stores in your state or local area, I would recommend that you call or e-mail TBS customer service and request a return by mail at no cost to you. TBS's in store return policy has been fair. This product is too expensive to just eat the cost and/or pay too much shippping to return. Good luck! :)
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Summerspot
Location: Eagan
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Other
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strong Scent
Date:March 6, 2013
I love the hand lotions at The Body Shop but this one has a very strong masculine scent that does not go away. I thought I'd try it because the previous reviews said that the scent fades quickly. All I could smell was my hands all day long. I will try to return this to the store as I do not care for this scent at all.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
WVGirl
Location: WV
Gender: Female
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Blue
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Absinthe Hand Lotion
Date:February 23, 2013
I wasn't sure what to expect when I ordered this lotin. The name "Absinthe" is why I bought it.
Pros: Works wonders!! I have washed my hands and used tons of hand sanitizer this winter and my hands were suffering - they were visibly dry and the skin actually hurt it was so dry. After using this only twice, they are all better :) It dries very quickly and is not greasy.
Smell: The smell is very odd, kinda like dirt, grass and mint but it doesn't stink... maybe a little medicine smell... even though it smells strange, the smell fades quickly into a clean smell.
Cons: The weird tube is awful!!! As soon as I opened it, a bunch stated coming out. The lid is diffucult to get back on.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
takescareofmyskin
Location: my place
Gender: Female
Age: 45 - 49
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Daily
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
WOW! My hands have a youthful sheen
Date:February 13, 2013
I received this as part of a thank you gift. I will admit that at first I was a bit put off by the scent. I thought it was a tad strong and masculine smelling (it reminds me of a very light evergreen shave cream smell). Boy oh boy was I wrong. Once I applied this it absorbed quickly and completely, not greasy at all. The scent dried down to a light refreshing scent. My hands are so soft and they have a youthful sheen. My hands look like I've had a deep moisturizing treatment at a spa. I will definitely purchase this when I need a replenishment supply. I'll be giving these as gifts and will purchase some of the minis for my purse, gym locker, and travel bag. THIS IS GOING TO BE A BEST SELLER!!!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TiBookChatter
 
Please wait while more information about TiBookChatter is loaded.
Additional information about TiBookChatter could not be loaded.
Give it a few minutes...
Posted February 18, 2013
When I first tried this at the shop, it had a slightly medicinal smell but within minutes it smelled really good. Very green and plant like but in a fresh, totally good way. The scent lingers softly but it's very refreshing.
As a moisturizer, it works well. Sinks in, not greasy and you don't have to reapply very often which is good. Additionally, I was told by the sales lady that Absinthe has purifying properties so if you use hand sanitizer all the time, this is a good alternative for you.
I got it when it was half off so only paid $10 but I'd pay full price for it too. I also tried the Hand Butter version and it was thicker, but did not smell as fresh.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Seredetia
Location: Las Vegas
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Other
Frequency: Other
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Terrible Lotion
Date:April 20, 2013
This lotion is terrible for my dry hands. I gave it a shot for a week and my hands began to CRACK. I live in the desert, so things are naturally dry around here, but this lotion was awful. It was about as effective as water; I'd be ashamed to even donate this!
Try the hemp lotion; it's actually useful.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Daeva
Location: LA
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
Frequency: Daily
Don't Be Fooled! It's GREAT Stuff!
Date:August 27, 2014
Before I purchased this product I read all the reviews about it's "strong odor", "overpowering", "too light", "Hemp is better"...NONSENSE!
This hand cream is AMAZING! The scent does infact say 'conceals odour' right on the packaging, and Bergamot...well yeah it smells like Bergamot and that's the best part!!! It's a light hand cream so not for someone with lizard hands, if you want a super greasy formula, you should go for the Hemp (which in my opinion smells pretty terrible & feels even worse, but that doesn't make it a bad product, just different)
This cream is amazing to me! Usually when you put hand cream on you have to wait a while for it to absorb otherwise you will get it on everything you touch. NOT THIS STUFF!! Absorbs super fast and leaves skin soft with an earthy citrus scent AKA BERGAMOT...
GREAT SCENT <3
Only con to this product is The Body Shop's typical hand cream packaging that they use for most of their hand creams, hopefully they will change this in the future.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
DreamyShoe
Location: Seattle
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Does not work for me
Date:July 20, 2014
The only thing I like about this hand cream is how it smells.
Other than that, it doesn't work for me. It's too thin and runs, and does not moisturize my hands at all. Prefer the hemp and almond hand creams.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Glasskat
Location: North carolina
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 45 - 49
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
Love this lotion
Date:June 22, 2014
I love this lotion and it's fragrance. You need to try it at the store - don't just rely on others. This is an all time favorite. I too would like to know what "purifying" means in the title of this product. Still, I love it!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
SmilingLotus
Location: NYC
Body Shop employee: No
Frequency: Daily
Great for the Heat of Summer!
Date:June 17, 2014
This is an amazing light creme with a fresh scent that both men and women would like. It smells soft and grassy, woodsy and clean. Just use a dab, this stuff goes a long way and lasts a long time! I would always try a scent in the store to see if you like this crisp, refreshing scent, but during sticky NYC summers this is WONDERFUL to bring light hydration, antibacterial without tricolsan, and a sense of balance to the mind and body. I use this in packed classes after sweaty Power Yoga, and sink deeper into savasana. I like that is NOT heavy, that it is light and I can barely feel it on my skin, that I don't slip on my yoga mat right after putting it on, and that it's not sugary smelling. Perhaps an acquired taste, but I tend to not like too sweet fragrances or heavy "butters".
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
TLM1
Location: Southeast Michigan
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Other
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
Good for hands & feet
Date:May 4, 2014
I was gifted this over a year ago. I'd only used once because I don't like the scent. Recently, I developed a regular hand & feet care regiment. I decided to add this as my moisturizer, so I can at least use it up. I apply it after exfoliating my hands and feet. I still don't like the scent and I wish it was a little thicker. It helps make my skin feel brand new.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lfond
Location: Long Beach, CA
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 45 - 49
SkinTone: Dark
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Normal
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: Daily
Good Stuff
Date:April 17, 2014
I like this product because it smells great and feels great on my hands. I find myself washing my hands more just so I can experience the smell of it newly applied to my skin all over again. I just wish it was a tiny bit thicker and more oily because my skin loses moisture so fast. I'll be buying this product for as long as they make it. Thanks Body Shop.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
BeachBumming
Location: Portland, Oregon
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Gray
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Other
Great hand cream, horrible fragrance
Date:March 3, 2014
I wanted a good hand cream because I work with my hands and they become extremely chapped and cracked. I chose this as the scent was described by other reviews as being fresh and light (which are terms I'd associate with Absinthe) however it doesn't live up to that in my opinion.
While the cream absorbed quickly and felt good (and non greasy) the odor is overpowering. The scent is quite strong and woodsy, like a heavy mens cologne. I hoped it would dissipate, but it did not.
It is far too heavily scented for use on the hands. I can not imagine trying to eat while wearing this.
If the scent was a faint whisper, it might be nice however I find the amount in this noxious and overpowering.
It is too bad, the cream felt nice but I really dislike the scent. Very earthy, woodsy and strong. I was hoping for crisp and light like the anise and herbs I associate with the liqour.
Might appeal to men or those who like strong scents like patchouli.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
btayzor
Location: Boston, MA
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Very Dry
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Daily
Very pleased!
Date:February 6, 2014
I have extremely sensitive skin and this product doesn't bother me at all. The scent is light, fresh, and long lasting. My skin is also very dry and this creme moisturizes it perfectly without leaving it greasy. I love it so much!
The scent is earthy and feminine without being too overpowering.
PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE make this scent into a body wash and/or shampoo and conditioner. :)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Cream
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
saveemily
Location: Nevada City
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinType: Combination
Frequency: Daily
Love the scent!
Date:November 11, 2013
I am constantly washing my hands. I work as an artist and work in a studio. I work with clay, bisque, grout, glue, every paint imaginable and other supplies. There is a lot of washing. Washing of pallets, brushes, bowls and cups, etc. My hands get dried out really easily but I have to be careful of what product I can use on my hands because I can't let it get onto my artwork.
First off, I am in love with this scent. If you like something a little more natural and a hint of citrus, then you will like this. My sister said it reminded her of Dolce and Gabbana Light Blue but not as lemony. So think of a rain forest, very clean. I like this one because I can get every last bit out of the tub, its light and not too bulky in my bag and my main thing is that it absorbs quickly! The scent does linger, which I enjoy! The butter is really nice too if you need something a little thicker for extra TLC.
I have my fingers crossed that a body lotion and maybe a body spray is in the works! Body shop... did you hear me?! Please!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>