Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Rainforest Balance Shampoo

Rainforest Balance Shampoo
Average Customer Rating:
4.246 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
rating snapshot (65 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
11
3 stars
11
2 stars
4
1 star
1
72%would recommend to a friend
Customer Reviews for Rainforest Balance Shampoo
Review 1 for Rainforest Balance Shampoo
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Sayreville
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Works very well!
Date:March 22, 2011
I have an oily scalp. I researched for the best treatment shampoo and learned that not many reputable companies make an everyday-use shampoo like this. I have been a loyal fan of the Body Shop since I worked there in 1997 and when I heard about this new line I was so happy. I've been using this shampoo for about 4 months now and it really helped. My scalp is less oily and NOT dried out. I used to get blemishes on my head and now I get them MUCH less. My only issue is that it does NOT lather so it's a little difficult to do quickly. I have to wet the shampoo in my hands, make it lather in my hands, the strategically put the lather on my head so I can get it all over, then wet my head again so it spreads out. It sounds like a pain but it's only a few seconds more work than usual. It just took some trial and error to get a routine. But now that I am using it right is works sooooo well. I will never switch and I hope they never stop making it!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Rainforest Balance Shampoo
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Atlanta
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Love it!
Date:March 26, 2011
My hair has always been oily, but now when I wash my hair in the morning, the next morning my hair is not an oil slick. It smells fantastic too, and the scent lasts all day. It's a miracle shampoo for the oily headed.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Rainforest Balance Shampoo
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Location: Asheville
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Not Enough Lather
Date:March 22, 2011
It is great that the new shampoo line is eco-conscious, but I still find myself missing the old nettle shampoo. I prefer the scent and container of this shampoo to the nettle, but performance wise it is just not as good. I have to use a large quantity of shampoo to get any lather at all in my long hair, and the shampoo still does not lather as much as I would like. Consequently, it is difficult to spread the shampoo.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Rainforest Balance Shampoo
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Cambridge
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Best shampoo ever!
Date:September 23, 2012
I bought this on a whim a year ago, and this is the only shampoo I've ever used since. My scalp gets super oily, and this works quite well in controlling the oil without stripping my hair of moisture. I love how it gives a very natural texture to my hair. Plus you can't beat the fact that it has no harmful chemicals. My hair loves this.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Rainforest Balance Shampoo
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Anchorage AK
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Love this stuff!
Date:February 22, 2012
I have to wash my hair once every 12 hours, that is how oily it is. On a whim I decided to try this stuff and WOW it works!!!! It strips all the buildup out of my hair and leaves a sheen of shine I have never seen before in my hair. I use the conditioner as well and it does feel a little dry when I get out of the shower but I comb it carefully and it feels great, smells great, love it!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Rainforest Balance Shampoo
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Florida
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Leaves my ends dry.
Date:February 1, 2012
I was very excited to try this product because it doesn't have the chemicals that regular shampoo does. I have an oily scalp and have to wash my hair everyday. This product does take care of the oil issue however it leaves my ends feeling dry. I've started using it every other day and that seems to help. I would love to find a chemical free shampoo that I could use every day or maybe to alternate with this one.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Rainforest Balance Shampoo
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Location: San Tan Valley
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
disappointed in this product
Date:January 16, 2012
I was really disappointed in this product. I love TBS, but this shampoo just didn't cut it. I have extremely oily hair. I have to wash it everyday or it gets super greasy and limp...to a point where I don't even want to touch the top of my head. I was really hoping that this balance shampoo would work wonders but it didn't do anything. It didnt make my hair soft, my hair wasnt more manageable, my hair was left limp and got oily before the end of the day.
My search for the perfect shampoo continues...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kiki77
 
Please wait while more information about Kiki77 is loaded.
Additional information about Kiki77 could not be loaded.
I agree
Posted February 6, 2012
I love the Ginger shampoo. I switched to this because the Ginger is always out and wasn't in my store anymore.
With this shampoo I have to wash it at least twice to actually get my hair and scalp to feel clean. My hair is oily half way through the day.
I am on the wait list for the Ginger, unhappily waiting.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Rainforest Balance Shampoo
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Location: Florida
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Date:December 4, 2011
I have semi-oily hair so I couldn't use the shampoo or the conditioner more than three times a week. If I did, it dried out my hair and left it feeling stiff. However, after I limited the amount of times I used this product, it did leave my hair feeling clean and soft. I liked this product, but I wanted a shampoo I could use daily since I can't go a day without washing my hair (it looks greasy if I don't wash it daily).
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Rainforest Balance Shampoo
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Dallas
Gender: Female
Age: 55 - 60
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Takes Care of the Oil
Date:November 24, 2011
This is a shampoo that i use about once a week to clean up what other shampoos leave behind. It leaves my hair silky instead of oily and it definitely does away with any residue from hair spray. It's in my top three favorite shampoos.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Rainforest Balance Shampoo
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Maine
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Great scent
Date:May 20, 2012
Smells very clean & fresh. Purchased for a young lady as gift - have not used personally.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Rainforest Balance Shampoo
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Orlando
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
My girl loves it.
Date:May 2, 2012
My daughter really loves it. she always look for a good shampoo, it is right for her.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Rainforest Balance Shampoo
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: Mexico
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Disappointed
Date:October 11, 2011
I have oily scalp and curly long hair.
I had to use huge to feel like I got all my hair and not lather at all. I noticed a lot dropped hair in the shower and the worst thing is that I felt it very rough.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Rainforest Balance Shampoo
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Philadelphia
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
lather lather lather
Date:June 3, 2011
i love how this product is all natural/eco friendly and smell very nice and works with my oily hair well, but not having enough lather is a big turn off for me. I'm a college student who like to take shower in the morning before class so I'm often in a rush. The shampoo doesn't have enough lather to spread out nicely all over my hair so I always have to wash TWICE (I did follow the instruction to create latter, but still). Plus morning showers are usually my time to calm and relax, but having to struggle just to wash my hair clean is rather annoying.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Rainforest Balance Shampoo
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Atlanta
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Weekly
Great Product
Date:October 3, 2014
I wanted to move back to a sulfate-free shampoo to bring my hair back to healthier state. I had tried sulfate-free shampoos before and had good results, and I LOVE all the body shop products i have, so i decided to give their shampoo a try. I so disappointed after my first and second wash, my hair still felt oily and it was hard for me to straighten my hair the next day. I was ready to go back to my old shampoo. So I read a few more reviews on the product, and some people said their hair had to adjust to the product. SO i gave it another try, and tried some of the tips mentions. I found removing as much water from your as possible, then applying the shampoo worked the best for me. With most shampoos, the first wash is not going to have much lather, but the second wash has a much stronger lather. I am truly happy with the product, not mention my hair smells great and i can really see a difference in texture. I recommend to everyone who ask about my hair.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Rainforest Balance Shampoo
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Grapevine
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Male
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Oily
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: Daily
The only shampoo I will ever use again
Date:August 13, 2014
I have tried pretty much every shampoo. I have used Redken, Biolage, Purology, Bedhead, and pretty much any other expensive brand you can think of. But this shampoo is by far the best I have ever used. I have very fine, very oily hair that gets dirty after a day, but my hair looks good even the day after with this shampoo. I do not use the conditioner and my results have been outstanding. I would definitely recommend this to anybody who has oily hair and needs something to make your hair shiny, workable, and clean.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Rainforest Balance Shampoo
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: South Carolina
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Oily
SkinConcern: Fine Lines
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
Love this non-stripping shampoo!
Date:July 7, 2014
I love this shampoo for my fine, oily hair. Not only does it not strip my hair, it gives it a fullness as well. The scent is lovely and a little goes a long way. Definitely a keeper in my book!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Rainforest Balance Shampoo
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Harpers Ferry, WV
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Daily
LOVE this shampoo!
Date:January 31, 2014
I bought this shampoo on a whim because I was looking for something more natural and it was on sale--I am SO glad I did! This is honestly the best shampoo I've ever used--it smells wonderful, my hair loves it, and a little goes a long way; plus, it's much less harmful than other shampoos! I have noticed that my hair is less oily than it was before, while still retaining it's heath and shine. (FWIW, I have quite long hair that tends to be oily) I recommend that you try it for a couple of weeks before you decide as it can take your hair a few days to adjust and it can also take a few days to adjust mentally to the lack of lather. Seriously, this stuff is wonderful--I hope they never discontinue it!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Rainforest Balance Shampoo
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: İzmir
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Very Dry
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
A LITTLE GOES A LONG WAY
Date:December 2, 2013
I don't have too much hair but still so much economic than the others. Because it's really clarifying shampoo, literally really clarifying. So even one time washing is enough on my 5th day hair. I'm not kidding, 5th day hair! Also, it has no parabens which is the thing I'm always looking for.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Rainforest Balance Shampoo
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Miami
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
Works Great!
Date:December 18, 2012
I have super oily, fine hair. This strips al the oil away without stripping the moisutre! I love this so much that I honestly only use it on special occasions when I need my hair to look its best!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Rainforest Balance Shampoo
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Chattanooga
Date:July 24, 2012
I bought a travel size bottle of this to replace the nettle oil shampoo that TBS used to carry and it's very comparable. I switch between this at the ginger shampoo. I really feel that this does exactly what the bottle says: balance. I wash my hair every other day and this keeps my hair from getting too oily. I am disappointed that this contains sulfates, however.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>