Product Reviews

Macadamia Straightening Balm

Macadamia Straightening Balm
Average Customer Rating:
3.696 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
rating snapshot (23 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
6
1 star
1
65%would recommend to a friend
Customer Reviews for Macadamia Straightening Balm
Review 1 for Macadamia Straightening Balm
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
jentuck
Location: Austin
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Not a fan
Date:June 2, 2011
This product made my hair feel waxy and tangled. It smells great and I can tell that it is made with quality ingredients, but I will stick to my Bumble & Bumble straightening balm.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Round Body Brush
 
 
 
 
 
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Macadamia Straightening Balm
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Danzie89
Location: Buffalo Grove, IL
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Pretty good balm
Date:May 17, 2011
I have very thick, wavy hair and NOTHING helps calm my hair-- except this. I used about 5 pumps and worked it through my towel dryed hair and noticed that my hair was less "kinky" as I was blow drying it, but it felt a bit greasy (perhaps I used too much balm). As I straightened my hair, I noticed quite a few less fly-aways and my hair seemed to straighten easier. Overall this is a good product and smells really nice once you apply it to your hair.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
GrammiL
 
Please wait while more information about GrammiL is loaded.
Additional information about GrammiL could not be loaded.
Macadamia Straightening Balm
Posted July 10, 2011
I have fine curly hair and have been using this product for three years. I love it and my hair comes out very smooth. Best of all, when it's raining or moist outside, my hair doesn't frizz! I used to use relaxers, but haven't for about 2 years! I just put about 1 teaspoon in my hair, blow dry, and it's great. I hope they never quit selling this product! It's the best!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Macadamia Straightening Balm
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
CurlyCat
Location: San Diego
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Not even close
Date:May 2, 2011
This is NOT a straightening product.
I was hoping this balm could replace my 3 A**da products I use for straightening; as this is suppose to protect against heat and provide a "kink and frizz free finish". Seriously? My hair developed a very obvious halo of fluff while blow drying and my curls were reduced to stringy waves. There was no salvaging that mess. I decided to rinse my hair and go curly.
The smell and price are the only nice things I can say about this product. Sorry, Body Shop, you missed on this product.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
GSNJ92
 
Please wait while more information about GSNJ92 is loaded.
Additional information about GSNJ92 could not be loaded.
Top 10 Contributor
Posted September 22, 2011
I had the same idea--to replace my 3 Aveda products. Fortunately I had success with this balm. Keep trying, as I'm sure you'll find something better (and cheaper) that works for you....
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Macadamia Straightening Balm
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
nyccat
Location: NYC
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
amazing de-frizzing product
Date:December 27, 2012
I have fairly thick wavy hair. This product gets rid of all the frizz which I absolutely love. It will not miraculously straighten coarse, curly, or wavy hair but it will definitely smooth, define, and de frizz. Since I like the wavy texture of my hair, minus the frizz, this product is ideal. It also has an amazing smell which I find very relaxing after my shower. I think the poor reviews on this product are mainly from those expecting miracles from all the positive reviews. I've tried many products out there and this is definitely the best value I've found.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Macadamia Straightening Balm
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
WrinkleFreeGirl
Location: Miami, FL
Pretty good!
Date:November 2, 2012
I have long, fine but thick, naturally curly/wavy hair and this helped noticeably. Not the best straightening balm I've ever tried but definitaly worth the money!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Macadamia Straightening Balm
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Loveit1234
Location: New York
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
Great hair product
Date:September 19, 2012
I have tried many types of straightening products but this one is very good. My hair stays straight And looks natural. When applied u are never left with that gross feeling on your hands! I love and highly recommend. I have long , thick , semi curly hair.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Macadamia Straightening Balm
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
cozyone
Location: Moorpark
Gender: Female
Age: 50 -54
Expecting too much?
Date:August 10, 2012
After reading other reviews I think that I was expecting too much performance from this product. I really don't see much of an improvement in the straightness or silkiness of my hair. I got the product on a terrific sale so I can't complain too much but I wouldn't recommend this at it's regular price.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Macadamia Straightening Balm
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
JoyBee
Location: Harrisburg
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
Awesome!
Date:July 31, 2012
I have naturally waving/ frizzy hair and this product is awesome! Like someone else on here said, the reviews were mixed, but because it was on sale I thought I'd give it a try. I am so glad I did! I used to use at least 3 different products in my hair to get the result of this one item!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Macadamia Straightening Balm
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
GSNJ92
Location: Northern New Jersey
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
WOW....This stuff is great!
Date:September 22, 2011
I don't usually read reviews before making a purchase at TBS, but this one really had me baffled, since the reviews were equally mixed. I decided that I'd give this product a chance, in hope that I would be able to replace the pricier hair products that I have.
I'm so glad that they're about to run out. I used this today and the only thing that I can say is WOW.....
This little bottle does everything that it says it will do. I just have to try it on days that I don't wash my hair. Hopefully I will get the same great result. The other products cost me on the upwords of $60, and at this price, I can buy 5 for what I used to pay! Well worth it!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Macadamia Straightening Balm
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fancy
Location: Midwest US
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
Works Great!
Date:September 7, 2011
I have thick and wavy hair. I apply a light amount to my hair when it's wet. I blow dry, straighten and then when I'm done I will apply another light coat to help cut down on the dry frizzy look from using all the heated styling tools. The Grapeseed Glossing Serum is great for that too! When used as recommended you will love this!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Macadamia Straightening Balm
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
mcjazzie
Location: Boston
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
disappointing
Date:July 22, 2011
I have had high hopes for this product and have used it on and off for years. It's nothing special. I feel like there are better products out there that do a better job. I do not recommend this to anyone that has thick / wavy hair.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
GSNJ92
 
Please wait while more information about GSNJ92 is loaded.
Additional information about GSNJ92 could not be loaded.
Top 10 Contributor
Just a note....
Posted September 22, 2011
Not too many people have wavier hair than I do, and as a result, I can brush my hair only for 5 minutes to go by and it looks like I brushed my hair with a hand grenade.
I'm sorry that this didn't work for you, but keep trying. I had success with it. Just as a side note, if you have that wavy of a mane, try to look into Aveda's products. They came highly recommended to me, and other than the price, I found that they worked well.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Macadamia Straightening Balm
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Rosalina84
Location: Long Beach
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
Not content
Date:July 17, 2011
I wanted to try this out so I could break away from my routine straightening serum, but it turned out to be a failed mission. I am latina with thick, coarse, wavy long hair. This did not meet my expectations. Half way through my blow drying I had to reach for my aloe straightening serum from CVS. I was really dissapointed. I use it now with my original serum so I can have the nice scent in my hair. At least it smells great. :)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Macadamia Straightening Balm
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
K8megs
Location: Denver
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
great
Date:June 27, 2011
I don't like to blow dry my hair so i was hoping this would make my thick wavy hair mostly straight after air drying. At first it didn't work but made my hair smell good so i used it again and you just have to put on a lot and it makes your hair a natural looking straight. love it
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Macadamia Straightening Balm
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
MandaJean526
Location: Allentown, PA
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
Been using it for years
Date:May 26, 2011
I love this product! I have been using it for years and I've even turned my sister and a couple of close friends onto it. I have naturally thick and very wavy hair. I use a dollop of this mixed with a bit of Biolage straightening serum and my hair comes out perfectly straight with a blow-dryer and round brush every single time. Please keep making this!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Macadamia Straightening Balm
Based on the average of (9) ratings-only reviews
Overall Customer Rating
3.9 / 5
3.9 / 5
Would recommend? Yes