Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Eye Color

Eye Color
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
rating snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
98%would recommend to a friend
Customer Reviews for Eye Color
Review 1 for Eye Color
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
sisipie
Location: San Antonio, TX
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Amazing Eye Shadows!
Date:December 5, 2012
I'm an absolute product junkie. I have used everything from Wet 'N Wild to Nars, and these are some of my favorite eye shadows ever. When I tested them in the store, I initially thought they were cream shadows because they were so soft and dense. I was absolutely blown away to discover they were powder. Those are the pearl formula shadows. The matte shadows are less creamy feeling, but are nonetheless very soft. All of the shadows, regardless of formula, are quite pigmented and long-wearing. (I would recommend using primer for the best results.) I get almost no fallout when applying the pearl shadows; the matte shades have a little more fallout, but still less than most of the eye shadows I've used. And you really can't beat the price. $9 is a great price to begin with for this quality, but you can almost always find some kind of sale going on at The Body Shop (in-store or online).
However, I do have a few minor quibbles. First, the eye shadows don't have names printed on the packages - just numbers. Not a huge deal, but kind of annoying. I ended up writing the names in myself with permanent marker. Second, when buying online, there's no way to tell which shades are matte or pearl. The last thing, and perhaps the biggest issue, is that the matte shades aren't truly matte, at least not the ones I've bought. They seem to have either a satin finish or a shimmery finish, but no true mattes. I don't mind too much - I prefer shimmery eye shadows, and I actually didn't know the ones I got were matte when I bought them online, but it's something to keep in mind. Again, my experience is just based on the four matte shadows that I have (04 Granite, 05 Burnished Brown, 10 Taupe and 15 Pebble Grey); other shades may be different.
If I could give two separate ratings, I would give the pearl shadows a 5 and the matte shadows a 4. But my overall impression of these shadows is that they're amazing, so I'm giving it a 5. I'm attaching some swatches of the shadows that I own. The pearl shadows are shown in natural light, without flash; the mattes are shown in natural light with flash. Not great swatches, I'm afraid, but I hope they will be helpful in some way. (Sorry for the novel-length review!)
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Eye Color
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
MaryB
Location: Nashville
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Best eyeshadow ever
Date:October 2, 2012
I have brown eyes and the golden paprika, using Conker as a highlight, is a great combination. Golden paprika goes on a medium orange, Conker is golden yellow. Both are subtle. I tried Vanilla Cream for a highlight because it appeared to be more yellow in the product photo but it goes on nearly white and a little too shimmery for my taste.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Eye Color
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
NILREM
Location: Philadelphia
Gender: Female
Age: 50 -54
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Smooth
Date:September 1, 2012
I have been using cream based eyeshadow since I turned 50 because the dry shadows were showing my lid wrinkles and gave my eyelids a dry apperance. I decided to try the Body Shop shadow based on the reviews even though it is not a cream and love it. I have blue eyes and ordered the vanilla cream #13 and Taupe #10. The colors are not over powering and are very warm and work well together..
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Eye Color
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
csd68
Location: Roswell, GA
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Love them but note some are quite sparkly
Date:May 4, 2012
I have always been a fan of Body Shop and have bought many, many of their eyecolors in the past. I recently bought two online. I wanted two neutrals to wear during the day. I love the 04 color, it turned out to be a nice lightish brown/ chestnut suitable for every day wear. The 07 surprised me... it is very.... sparkly. For me, that one is too disco for daytime wear, but fine for going out at night. In the past, they offered a lot of matte shadows, so I wish (request, please!) that BS indicate the matte/ shimmer factor better in writing. Also, the SIZES of these have shrunk so much!! Was shocked how much bigger my older ones are than these new ones (for same price). But they do last a really, really long time....
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Eye Color
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Picky
Location: Cedar Rapids
Gender: Female
Age: 55 - 60
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Great Shadows
Date:February 29, 2012
After searching for a shadow that is not full of chemicals that I am sensitive to, I found it in the Body Shop Shadows. Love everything about them. Go on well, wear well. You can apply as sheer or as bold as you like. I only wish that they would state if they are Matte or Pearl. Sometimes you can't always tell when looking on line.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Eye Color
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
boomer
Location: Northeast Ohio
Gender: Female
Age: Above 60
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Soft, subtle color
Date:February 5, 2012
I bought the eye color shadow in #10 (Taupe) to use in the crease of my eyelids. It's a lovely, natural-looking shade that creates the illusion of depth without looking artificial. Goes on smoothly & lasts.
Better product than ones costing 2x as much.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Eye Color
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kikyousama
Location: Mountain View, CA
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
The Best Eye Shadow
Date:December 28, 2011
My favorite eye shadow was Bourjois Pink Pearl until I found this 26 Shell Pink. I don't like to wear too much color but this sparkling pink eye shadow is awesome. It makes you glow without being too much obvious.
I also love the travel size, so I can take it everywhere, for every occasion.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Eye Color
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
SparkysMom
Location: Lincoln
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Lasts all Day!
Date:June 3, 2011
I have extremely oily skin & eye lids & this, so far, is the only shadow I've found that actually lasts all day! My only displeasure is that they do not provide a sponge applicator...then they would be AWESOME!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BrookeO
 
Please wait while more information about BrookeO is loaded.
Additional information about BrookeO could not be loaded.
Posted July 22, 2011
Go buy a brush.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Eye Color
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
tiggerr044
Location: Manassas
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Great eyeshadow
Date:April 8, 2011
Awesome colors, lasts all day, love!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Eye Color
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
GSNJ92
Location: Northern New Jersey
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Just what I've been looking for.....
Date:March 13, 2012
I just bought the 04. It's great! I've wanted a purple eyeshadow, not blue violet, and this one does the job. I just wish that it stayed a little longer, though.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Eye Color
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
KC687
Location: Miami, FL
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Beautiful, Intense Color
Date:March 8, 2011
Strong pigment, drier texture, iridescent. Copper!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Eye Color
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Healdsburg43
Location: Healdsburg, CA
Heartbreak time
Date:July 12, 2013
I have loved #13 matte, and now it seems to be gone. I'm so disappointed. It is light and natural looking, brightens my lids and is wonderful both day and evening. I don't want a pearly look, and can find nothing in your other choices to substitute for it. Please bring back these wonderful simple shades for women like me who finally found something that's perfect, only to see it discontinued.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Eye Color
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Location: New York, NY
Best gold ever!!
Date:March 28, 2013
Love the golden paprika! Very upset that it is no longer sold in stores. As long as it is still available online, I'll be happy. Its my everyday go to color! I have a bunch of the colors and love them all. Goes on smooth with great pigment. Must have!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Eye Color
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
lovealotmom
Location: Waco, TX
Love the consistency
Date:March 8, 2013
I am allergic to most eye shadows out there. EXCEPT this one. It doesn't make my eyes water, nor does it smear. It holds all day and it looks fantastic. Am always using at least 3 colors and they are all blending well and don't get streaky during the day, etc. Perfect for all day wear and great looks.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Eye Color
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
LindaD
Location: Los Angeles
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
Date:January 5, 2013
I bought 04 and 39 (Granite and Soft Black). I use them as eye liner for the day since they give me a nice, natural-ish look. They're nicely pigmented and adhere easily to my angled brush. It feels so smooth, you know it's a quality product. Also, eye makeup never lasts very long on me, but instead of drooping and smearing like other products have in the past, this seems to just fade away without too much trouble.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Eye Color
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
SusanInSFL
Location: South Florida
Gender: Female
Age: 55 - 60
I gave it only 4 stars because
Date:December 27, 2012
of the very limited color choices in matte shades. The glittery shades are very aging and while I do not have problems with my eyes in the least (they look 20 years younger than my age) I don't wish to MAKE them look older. I like a soft look and except for a few shades, most of these are very shiny.
Also, for me, they don't seem to last as long as Nars or Urban Decay or Too Faced. My problem with those products is simply the amount of space their 'kits' take up in my makeup bag with colors I don't even care for.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Eye Color
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shelby
Location: Morgantown
Favorite Eye Makeup
Date:October 4, 2012
I love this stuff. it goes on great and it's so soft and light feeling. it doesn't take a lot of the product to get the desired color, and it's so light that it doesn't clump up in the creases of your eyelids over throughout the day. Only down side is I had one crack and crumble while loose in my makeup bag, but I've since been keeping them in a small organza bag inside of my makeup bag and haven't had a problem. By far my favorite eyeshadow to date!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Eye Color
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovebeautystuff
Location: Orange
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
Terrific shadows
Date:August 18, 2012
I am a beauty junkie and have tons of make up. After reading so many reviews on tbs shadows, I had to try them. They r highly pigmented, soft and blendable. Because they r soft these will break easily and i received two broken ones in my shipment. Just call customer service and they will send a new one. Wish they had more colors to choose from.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Eye Color
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
ExquisiteWithEczema
Location: Atlanta
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
The Best!
Date:July 3, 2012
This is the best eyeshadow I have ever used! The pigment is perfect and they are so soft. And they stay on all day. I LOVE them. The best thing is that they do not irritate my sensitive, eczema prone eye lids. I currently have four shades and cannot wait to get more. The shades I have are Golden Peach, Spearmint, Velvet Green and Chocolate.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Eye Color
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
ellee
Location: long beach
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
Great eyeshadow!
Date:June 14, 2012
These eyeshadows go on great. They go on smooth and are pretty pigmented. The eyeshadow does not crease and do stay on pretty much all day. I would highly recommend this product
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>