Product Reviews

Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation

Average Customer Rating:
3.97 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(135 Reviews) 133
Open Ratings Snapshot
rating snapshot (135 reviews)
5 stars
69
4 stars
27
3 stars
16
2 stars
12
1 star
11
78%would recommend to a friend
Customer Reviews for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
Review 1 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Houston
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Skin Changing
Date:September 10, 2012
I started using this foundation and within a week it totally changed the texture of my skin. It went from dry to moisturized and smooth. I was outside this weekend not wearing any makeup and my husband touched my face and asked me what I was doing different to my skin because it looked really terrific. That made me grin from ear to ear! Buy this product right away ladies. I promise you will be amazed.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Columbus
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Great foundation!
Date:September 21, 2011
I have tried this today and really like it! I put it on in the morning and it still looks good in the evening. No touch ups or shine during the day. Other foundations seem too shiny on my oily/blemished skin after a few hours. I have acne scars and sun spots on my face and this covers great. Would recommend tgis product to others with the same skin problems as me.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Pioneer, California
Gender: Female
Age: 50 -54
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Lack of Firmness
Frequency: Daily
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Great Puchase
Date:April 28, 2013
Great product.. I just dropped in to get some body butter & checked out this cream compact and thought I'd try it out ... I ABSOLUTELY Love it .. I have oily skin, large pores ..WOW .. I have seen a big difference in my skin.. my pores are reduced and when I wear this make up, it doesn't fade, it stays on all day, my face is not oily after 2 hrs .. It works GREAT for me.. I'm online purchasing another .... :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Buffalo, NY
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: Daily
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Transformed my skin
Date:February 10, 2013
This was my first ever purchase from TBS: I was looking for natuaral-ingredient-based makeup in a cream/matte form: not easy to find!!
This is completely blendable: I literally just use my (clean) finger to apply; the brush included is not-so-appropriate for this product and yes, the packaging here could be a bit less wasteful and more compact, but these slight flaws in packaging design are totally overshadowed by the amazing benefits of this product. My skin is so incredibly soft since I began using this, even when I remove it at night and on the days I don't apply it! Its totally non-comedogenic for those of you who are wondering (not sure if this is mentioned in the description). This is moisturizing, but skin never looks greasy. Totally awesome!!! My only other request/minor complaint is that the lightest shade (102) offered is still a bit too dark for my skin in the wintertime: it make me look a bit more "tan" than I am: still offers a nice glow and I can work with it, but please TBS, offer this compact in a lighter shade for all the fair-skinned gals like me!!!!
Also, my friends compliment my complexion all the time; noone ever thinks I'm wearing makeup because this so elegantly covers dark spots, dark circles and small blemishes. <3 TBS
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Spokane, WA
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Awesome makeup but the brush :-(
Date:July 13, 2012
I love this make up, it is super easy to put on and has great coverage. It does feel thick when I first put I smooth it with a round sponge then spray vitamin C spritz on and it's good for the rest of the night shift. The makeup stands up to the running around of a nurses night shift defiantly my favorite everyday makeup.
The brush on the other hand fell apart halfway through putting on makeup on my vacation. Body shop please fix the brush.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Clearwater
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Loved It!
Date:February 3, 2012
This is the first foundation i've ever used, and i'm in love. I use this as my winter foundation ( without powder ) because it makes my skin look so dewy and fresh, and in the summer i use a bit of mineral powder to set it and avoid oily/ greasiness. There's a few things about this product that i didnt like though. First off, its very oily and rubs off easily. Whenever i talk on the phone with this, my screen gets gross and makeup-y. The simple solution to this is to set it with a light powder and i use mineral powder from MAC that works super well. Another thing i wasnt a fan of is the brush, it leaves streaks in the foundation ( i always have to gently rub my face after im done putting it on to get rid of them ), and i ended up having to buy a new brush. I have tan skin all summer , and i really hate being pale in the winter, and this gives me a non-orange naturally tannish glow ( i use rose vanilla ) . Overall , i love the makeup, but if you have oily skin i would not suggest it.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Miaa
 
Please wait while more information about Miaa is loaded.
Additional information about Miaa could not be loaded.
Love the Natural Look
Posted March 22, 2012
I switched from Smashbox powder to cream foundation to Extra Virgin Minerals powder foundation. Not only am I saving money I see little to no difference in products.Before applying foundation I moisturize my face with the Skin Primer Moisturize It which I find keeps makeup looking fresh and natural. I highly recommend it.
Overall, I stop using/buying well known expensive products. All my skin care and makeup are purchased at The Body Shop! :)
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Best foundation ever!
Date:January 14, 2012
I bought the golden vanilla one and it blends perfectly with my Asian complexion. At first i was confused as to how i should work with the brush that came along in the compact. I realized im supposed to press the brush harder on the creamy foundation. It glides on very smoothy on my face.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Fort Wayne, Indiana
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Lack of Radiance
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Wasn't sure at first...
Date:March 6, 2014
but I'm so happy I bought this product now! I picked it up in-store because it was on sale for 5 dollars. I tried using it the next day and hated it, because I tried applying it with the silly brush that comes along with the product. Left streaks of foundation that just sat on my skin, very uneven, even after re-brushing multiple times. I decided to try again a couple weeks later and I'm so glad I did! I threw out that brush and now apply it using a powder brush (one of my more stiff ones) and buff the foundation in circles, much like you would with mineral powder. You could probably even use a kabuki for heavier coverage. The result is flawless looking and very natural. Has a nice sheen. The only reason that I gave "performance" a four star rating is because after awhile, around my nose, I do start to feel oily. Rice paper fixes this quickly though! Would definitely recommend... just don't use that included brush!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Naples, FL
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
A FIRST!
Date:March 3, 2014
This is the first foundation I've found that
-covers excellently
-matches my skin tone perfectly
-is very light weight
-doesn't change colors
-DOESNT MAKE ME BREAK OUT
All at once!!!!! I LOVE THIS!!!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Location: Los Angeles
Body Shop employee: No
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Not for oily skin
Date:February 21, 2014
I really like the body shop because it is cruelty free but this foundation caused my skin to break out. Also, I have very oily skin esp around the t zone and nose area and this product made me shiny within an hour. It probably would work very well for dry skin but definitely not for oily/combination skin.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Cape Girardeau
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Dark
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: Other
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Women of Color, BE FOREWARNED!
Date:February 15, 2014
I was so excited to get this makeup. I love the texture and how smooth it goes on, but the color is OFF! As a woman of color, I've always had some difficulties choosing foundations but according to the color displayed on the site, this SHOULD have worked for me. I got a 405 so I think I'm going to go to the deepest color. Hopefully this works!
Women of color, get the color 1 shade darker than what you think would work for you!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Belleville, Michigan
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 50 -54
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Fine Lines
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Wonderful
Date:February 1, 2014
I have never found a foundation that has made me want to wear makeup but I now have. This is light and it goes on great, even though others do not like the brush I like the brush very much. I wish they sold the brush as part of their brush line because i would get a few extra. I am very glad I tried this product and I do hope that it is not going away any time soon. I gave it 5 stars since I bought it when it was on sale.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Portland, ME
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: Daily
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Definitely worth trying!
Date:January 7, 2014
I don't usually wear foundation, but I was in the store the other day and this was on sale for $5! I decided to give it a try and I'm in love! As others have said, it is soft and smooth and doesn't look cakey. I have combination skin, but I have found that this doesn't make me look oily. I put the extra virgin minerals powder on top to set it. I like the idea of using both for winter to give me better coverage and skin protection. I am planning to buy a few while they are on sale. A store associate told me that the item is NOT being discontinued- they just have an overage and that is the reason for the sale. I truly hope that is the case.
I am falling more and more in love with the Body Shop's make-up. I have used the skincare for years, but just recently decided to try more of their make-up and so far I have been really happy.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ycyan
 
Please wait while more information about Ycyan is loaded.
Additional information about Ycyan could not be loaded.
$5 is worth it
Posted February 3, 2014
I bought one of these compact foundation, it have great colors, But it makes my skin feel very oily after applying after an hour. When i touch my face it gets all greasy on my finger. Also it does cover red acne marks but it makes my acne looks bumpy and worsen from before. I recommend people with dry skin should use this product.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Manchester, UK
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Daily
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Really Lovely
Date:October 14, 2013
I bought this randomly one day to try it out. I am pleased with this product. It is super creamy but not cakey.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Location: Boise
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Shine
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Meh
Date:September 23, 2013
The foundation was kind of oily. Ok coverage. Good for a base before putting on powder
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Scarborough
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Other
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
A little Oily and Doesn't Last Long
Date:August 7, 2013
I was really excited about this foundation as I always find liquid foundation too oily and power too dry. Cream has always been my number one choice. I also liked the sponge applicator that came with it! Sponges always give me better results than brushes or fingers. However, this product left my skin very oily after a few hours of wear, even when I used the powder foundation to set it. I needed to use a lot of it to get good coverage too. It did not last long enough at all to be worth the price.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Location: Orange
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Too heavy for me
Date:August 18, 2012
I tried this on in store and it is a bit heavy for me. I normally wear tinted moisturizer and this felt like I was wiping clay on my face. It is more full coverage then I had expected. Would recommend if you want something more full coverage.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: Mexico
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Needs lots of improvement
Date:August 13, 2012
I love tbs but this product was very disheartening. The quality of foundation was ok n the color goes well with my skin but the bristle of the applicator keeps coming out n have made a huge mess on the compact.
Moreover the bristles gets stuck to face also while applying, making it more difficult to work with. Tbs have amazing body products but needs a lot of improvement in their cosmetic range.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Shea Shower, Scrub & Soften Collection
5 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
 
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Location: Storrs, CT
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Not the best foundation
Date:June 26, 2012
I am a huge fan of the loose powder in the Extra Virgin minerals line, but sometimes I want a little extra coverage so I thought I would try this. Unfortunately it is very oily on my skin. It feels heavy, which is odd because it doesn't go on heavy. You definitely need the loose powder to go over this foundation because it is far too oily. I can't recommend this product because I have never used a foundation product that felt so oily on my skin.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Boise, Idaho
Gender: Female
Age: 45 - 49
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Like!
Date:January 29, 2012
I really like this foundation. I have a medium olive complexion and I use the #205 Rose Vanilla shade. I like a little more coverage so I use #4 face base over it.
I don't have dry skin and I use the Natrulift firming day cream under the make up. I find that the foundation goes on very smoothly. I use the flat brush it comes with and dot it on my face and then "wipe" lightly to "feather" it out. I use a foundation brush to blend the face base.
The first time I purchased this product I went to the store and the great gals there gave me an application lesson. If you press too hard, it disappears. If you press to lightly, it will be "cakey" - it takes some practice to find just the right number of strokes and pressure but the work is worth it!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Janmarie
 
Please wait while more information about Janmarie is loaded.
Additional information about Janmarie could not be loaded.
very oily for me
Posted April 2, 2012
This product is too oily for me.I have dry skin, age 60. Also, it looks heavy on me and I have to dust over it with powder. I won't order it again. This is the first time I haven't liked a body shop product.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 3 4 5 next>>