Product Reviews

Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation

Average Customer Rating:
3.949 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(79 Reviews) 77
Open Ratings Snapshot
rating snapshot (79 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
17
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 star
6
75%would recommend to a friend
Customer Reviews for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
Review 1 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
LL624
Location: Houston
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Skin Changing
Date:September 10, 2012
I started using this foundation and within a week it totally changed the texture of my skin. It went from dry to moisturized and smooth. I was outside this weekend not wearing any makeup and my husband touched my face and asked me what I was doing different to my skin because it looked really terrific. That made me grin from ear to ear! Buy this product right away ladies. I promise you will be amazed.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
SactoMichelle
Location: Sacramento
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Daily
Great product
Date:April 21, 2014
This has the convenience of other mineral makeups, but at half the price. Also, this goes on very smooth, does not make my skin look dry like loose mineral makeup.
One thing I like about this makeup, is that I can adjust the coverage by how much I put on. When blemishes pop up, I just put on a little more in the needed area to cover up.
I've heard that they are discontinuing this product and "reformulating" it. I hope I like the new one just as much.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
meishaann
Location: New York
Body Shop employee: No
SkinTone: Dark
Disappointed
Date:March 16, 2014
I love how his this product feels on my skin but the darkest color available is too light for my skin. I'm not even that dark! Oh well….
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
AgainAnew
Location: Fort Wayne, Indiana
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Lack of Radiance
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Wasn't sure at first...
Date:March 6, 2014
but I'm so happy I bought this product now! I picked it up in-store because it was on sale for 5 dollars. I tried using it the next day and hated it, because I tried applying it with the silly brush that comes along with the product. Left streaks of foundation that just sat on my skin, very uneven, even after re-brushing multiple times. I decided to try again a couple weeks later and I'm so glad I did! I threw out that brush and now apply it using a powder brush (one of my more stiff ones) and buff the foundation in circles, much like you would with mineral powder. You could probably even use a kabuki for heavier coverage. The result is flawless looking and very natural. Has a nice sheen. The only reason that I gave "performance" a four star rating is because after awhile, around my nose, I do start to feel oily. Rice paper fixes this quickly though! Would definitely recommend... just don't use that included brush!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
MakeupExpert
Location: Naples, FL
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
A FIRST!
Date:March 3, 2014
This is the first foundation I've found that
-covers excellently
-matches my skin tone perfectly
-is very light weight
-doesn't change colors
-DOESNT MAKE ME BREAK OUT
All at once!!!!! I LOVE THIS!!!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Isissun
Location: Raleigh
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Lack of Radiance
Frequency: Daily
Very high quality
Date:March 1, 2014
The first thing that struck me as positive about this product was the beautiful black matte finish packaging. It is very elegant and well made. So, when I opened it up, I didnt expect anything less. And I was NOT DISAPPOINTED! The cream is soft to the touch, goes on creamy, but dries quickly to a soft matte finish. The brush applicator was a BRUSH and not a sponge, and also very attractive and well made.
Now, as a woman of color, my complexion is on the lighter side and I ended up getting Golden Caramel. PERFECT MATCH. The color just seemed to disappear into my skin and leave a nice solid glow with minimal sheen. I also purchased the Extra Virgin minerals loose powder as an all over powder to wear over it and they both work flawlessly together
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mkae
Location: Louisville, KY
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 50 -54
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Daily
Best foundation I've ever used!
Date:February 24, 2014
Best foundation! Applies easily and smoothly. Color is perfect. Does not turn orange on my skin, which is a problem with other brands. And best of all, no more breakouts! I'm definitely a fan forever.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Icecrystal
Location: Los Angeles
Body Shop employee: No
Not for oily skin
Date:February 21, 2014
I really like the body shop because it is cruelty free but this foundation caused my skin to break out. Also, I have very oily skin esp around the t zone and nose area and this product made me shiny within an hour. It probably would work very well for dry skin but definitely not for oily/combination skin.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Katkins
Location: Cape Girardeau
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Dark
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: Other
Women of Color, BE FOREWARNED!
Date:February 15, 2014
I was so excited to get this makeup. I love the texture and how smooth it goes on, but the color is OFF! As a woman of color, I've always had some difficulties choosing foundations but according to the color displayed on the site, this SHOULD have worked for me. I got a 405 so I think I'm going to go to the deepest color. Hopefully this works!
Women of color, get the color 1 shade darker than what you think would work for you!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
mindy
Location: Belleville, Michigan
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 50 -54
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Fine Lines
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Wonderful
Date:February 1, 2014
I have never found a foundation that has made me want to wear makeup but I now have. This is light and it goes on great, even though others do not like the brush I like the brush very much. I wish they sold the brush as part of their brush line because i would get a few extra. I am very glad I tried this product and I do hope that it is not going away any time soon. I gave it 5 stars since I bought it when it was on sale.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
SueAnn
Location: Los Angeles
Body Shop employee: Yes
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Normal
SkinConcern: Other
Frequency: Daily
First Concealer that WORKS for ME.
Date:January 22, 2014
This is the first foundation/compact that honestly works for me. I didn't want full coverage and I thought that the EV line would make me break out but it didn't! I used to use the All in One face base and it just looked too powdery on me.
I just put on a bit of this and set it with the face base and BAM! Perfect skin that doesn't look like it's caked with make up.
Buying it in store is SO much better too, $5 is too little for this, and I certainly hope that their not this cheap because they're discontinuing this! I JUST FELL IN LOVE WITH THIS, DON'T TAKE IT AWAY!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
RachelK37
Location: Portland, ME
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: Daily
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Definitely worth trying!
Date:January 7, 2014
I don't usually wear foundation, but I was in the store the other day and this was on sale for $5! I decided to give it a try and I'm in love! As others have said, it is soft and smooth and doesn't look cakey. I have combination skin, but I have found that this doesn't make me look oily. I put the extra virgin minerals powder on top to set it. I like the idea of using both for winter to give me better coverage and skin protection. I am planning to buy a few while they are on sale. A store associate told me that the item is NOT being discontinued- they just have an overage and that is the reason for the sale. I truly hope that is the case.
I am falling more and more in love with the Body Shop's make-up. I have used the skincare for years, but just recently decided to try more of their make-up and so far I have been really happy.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ycyan
 
Please wait while more information about Ycyan is loaded.
Additional information about Ycyan could not be loaded.
$5 is worth it
Posted February 3, 2014
I bought one of these compact foundation, it have great colors, But it makes my skin feel very oily after applying after an hour. When i touch my face it gets all greasy on my finger. Also it does cover red acne marks but it makes my acne looks bumpy and worsen from before. I recommend people with dry skin should use this product.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ash123
Location: Bloomington
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Blemishes
My New Best Friend
Date:January 6, 2014
I have horrible scars on my face, in addition to a rosy/yellow tan biracial skin tone, so it's always been difficult for me to find a matching foundation that doesn't affect my skin negatively and something I don't have to mix up with multiple colors. I got this in the golden vanilla and after one application it covered up my imperfections almost completely. It's seems like it would be heavy, but once it's on it feels very light, does not clog up my pores, and even softens my skin. This is my new best friend, please keep it in your makeup line!!!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
slee05
Location: san francisco, CA
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Very Dry
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
good for dry skin
Date:January 5, 2014
I have really dry skin
a little dab covers up a lot(depending on the quality of your brush)
covered up redness
This is a good buy for dry skin.. After using moisturizer and primer, i can still see a little cakey/flakey stuff on my skin so I would not say this is an excellent foundation for dry skin, but least better than others that i have used
I got this on after new year's sales( when they try to sell off discontinued products) for f i v e u s d in the store
wondering if i should purchase more of this before it disappears/prices rise if they dont discontinue it
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jillian
Location: Manchester, UK
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Daily
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Really Lovely
Date:October 14, 2013
I bought this randomly one day to try it out. I am pleased with this product. It is super creamy but not cakey.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
erinface
Location: Branford, CT
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Combination
Frequency: Daily
LOVE LOVE LOVE
Date:October 8, 2013
I have been trying to find a foundation that works for me in the almost 20 years I've been wearing makeup. I've found things that were so-so, and I've found things that were terrible, but I've never found anything that fit me and my crazy skin until now. This foundation is FABULOUS. It blends into my dry spots without caking or looking flaky, and it covers my incredibly oily spots without looking slick. Yes, I do still need to blot a couple hours into the night, but I have to do that anyway. This is the perfect color for my super pale skin, and I absolutely adore this foundation. A+, Body Shop!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Tea Tree Pore Minimiser
4.2 out of 5(33)
 
 
 
 
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
barbielala
Location: Boise
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Shine
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Meh
Date:September 23, 2013
The foundation was kind of oily. Ok coverage. Good for a base before putting on powder
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everlong3
Location: Anaheim ca
Body Shop employee: Yes
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Oily
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: Daily
Best makeup
Date:August 26, 2013
I work at the body shop and I have tried every other foundation from every other store and this is by far my favorite. even though I Have oily skin it still makes my complexion look flawless and does not create more oil
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
GettingFit4Me
Location: Lansing
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
Love This Foundation
Date:August 18, 2013
I found this foundation in a catalog where they were reviewing foundations. I liked that it was natural and had olive oil in it. I went to my local body shop and one of the associates helped me pick out the right color match for me. I use the Natural Beige. I have struggled with acne since I was a teenager, now that I'm in my mid twenties it has greatly subsided, so along with some acne I do have some redness as well. Both of these have greatly decreased with the use of natural products. This is why I started shopping at the body shop. This foundation is amazing! I don't think I will go back to anything else. This has great coverage. Covers my acne and redness so well. I do think the price is a bit high but you do have to remember you get what you pay for. I do not look like I have makeup caked on my face , oily, or have a pink tint as Bare Minerals hade left me with when I used to use that brand. Very happy I can use a mineral makeup with amazing coverage that gives my skin a wonderful finish and doesn't dry it out!!! I LOVE this. Go to a store if you have one close by and ask an associate to help you get the right shade for you. Just ordered more while its 40% off I just couldn't pass that deal up!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Compact Foundation
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fallon
Location: Scarborough
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Other
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
A little Oily and Doesn't Last Long
Date:August 7, 2013
I was really excited about this foundation as I always find liquid foundation too oily and power too dry. Cream has always been my number one choice. I also liked the sponge applicator that came with it! Sponges always give me better results than brushes or fingers. However, this product left my skin very oily after a few hours of wear, even when I used the powder foundation to set it. I needed to use a lot of it to get good coverage too. It did not last long enough at all to be worth the price.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>