Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Grapeseed Glossing Serum

A glossing serum that adds great gloss and shine to the hair.
Average Customer Rating:
4.621 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(95 Reviews) 93
Open Ratings Snapshot
rating snapshot (95 reviews)
5 stars
71
4 stars
14
3 stars
8
2 stars
2
1 star
0
94%would recommend to a friend
Customer Reviews for Grapeseed Glossing Serum
Review 1 for Grapeseed Glossing Serum
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Pittsburgh
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Great for natural hair!
Date:March 30, 2012
Brown skinned girls... This product is great for natural hair! A little goes a long way and it tames the frizzies, gives a nice shine (not a faux sheen)... I use it every day. I wash, I squirt a 2-3 drops into my hand and rub it into my wet hair... I follow with a curl defining mouse and I am out the door! I'm happy I found this paraben and sulfate free product!
And it smells great, too!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Grapeseed Glossing Serum
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Atlanta
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Best product to add shine
Date:December 11, 2011
I have used countless hair products, and this is one of the rare products I finished up one bottle. I couldn't live without this, so just ordered another one.
Take one or two drops on your hand to spread, and touch the ends of your hair first, then the rest of the hair. It adds healthy shine without getting greasy. It also settles a few fluffy hair on the top or around the bangs.
But the main purpose of this product is to add shine. So, to hold styled hair, I would use hair wax instead. And to settle very fluffy hair, you would want to use flizz-ease or alike.
The bottle is small, but it goes a long way. I used to have long straight hair, but two drops were enough for a day. Now I need just one drop for my shoulder length hair.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Grapeseed Glossing Serum
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Oberlin
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
Frequency: Daily
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Love it!
Date:February 8, 2013
This is definitely one of the best things I've done for my hair. I comb it in every morning while my hair is slightly damp, and it feels to silky to the touch. It smells fresh and fabulous, and makes my hair so soft and shiny all day, without it feeling heavy or oily. I'll definitely buy another bottle when mine runs out!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Grapeseed Glossing Serum
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: New York
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
great for damaged, frizzy hair
Date:July 1, 2012
i have damaged hair and it moisturizes and adds shine to my hair. the bottle is small but lasts long, since i use a small amount at a time. i also love the scent! will buy it again!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Grapeseed Glossing Serum
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Northern NJ
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Very Pleased with this product
Date:June 17, 2012
I have fine but damaged hair from coloring, and this serum smoothes my unruly strands very well, and smells great! It's also moisturizing. Like that it has natural oils in it, but it's still light. I use two pumps after my hair is dry.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Grapeseed Glossing Serum
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Dallas
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Best serum
Date:May 14, 2012
I have naturally curly hair and I straighten it. This stuff works great to control the frizz! And a little goes a long way.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Grapeseed Glossing Serum
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Cincinnati
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Excellent hair product
Date:March 13, 2012
I wanted some kind of hair product to help with flyaways and frizziness, and this does the job for both! I have pretty normal hair that can easily turn greasy with certain hair products (like the Coconut Oil Hair Shine) or very dry if I do not use anything. This product has the added bonus of having no parabens or sulfates, and lasts a very long time. You only need a tiny amount, and I have found that if I use too much my hair gets very greasy. Otherwise it is fantastic!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Grapeseed Glossing Serum
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Chicago
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Great, great, great!
Date:February 18, 2012
I'm always experimenting with serums, as I have long, super thick hair that has a curl to it--and is also color treated. Feels so light--couldn't believe that was actually my hair the first few times I used it. Smell is fresh and not overpowering and does not irritate my eyes. Makes my hair easy to comb and style, adds shine and body and does not add weight like so many of the other serums out there.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Grapeseed Glossing Serum
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Seattle
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
I actually use a lot at a time....
Date:February 6, 2012
Yeah, the whole "a little bit goes a long way" thing doesn't work so well with me. But I use a LOT and I still feel like the bottle has lasted a long time! My hair dries with a weird wave (not like some girls who have nice curls/waves) and this helps tame it a bit.
I use this right out of the shower on damp hair, making sure to towel-dry really well before applying. Then, once my hair is air-dried I put it up into a bun and my hair gets a nice curl at the end of the day AND feels soft!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Grapeseed Glossing Serum
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Location: Portland
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Date:November 26, 2011
This product is good as far as serums go, but not noteworthy at all. I bought one bottle, used it up, and don't intend to buy any more. I have very thick, dry, frizzy, curly hair with especially dry and tangled ends (no splits). This serum definitely added shine, but the amount needed to smooth my hair left it weighed down and greasy. And no wonder. Imagine my dismay when I looked at the list of ingredients after months of using this and found that this serum was chock full of hair-coating, moisture-repelling silicones. I was really disappointed when I saw that because I thought The Body Shop would use stuff like natural oils, not chemicals, in all their products, not just the Rainforest line. I mean, I can get a serum like this at the drugstore if I want to. That said, this product did detangle my hair well, and it smelled awesome, but couldn't tackle my kinky, frizzy ends at all. It also provided no protection against the humidity when I traveled to Central America in the summer - my hair was a fluffball even with tons of this in it. This serum lasted ages though, even after I spilled it several times - from April or so all the way to September. If you've got less thick hair or less frizz than I do and don't mind silicones, this should work really well for you, but it's not for me.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Americangirl
 
Please wait while more information about Americangirl is loaded.
Additional information about Americangirl could not be loaded.
Thanks for ingredient review
Posted July 23, 2013
Thanks for listing ingredients and commenting on them.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Grapeseed Glossing Serum
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Princeton, NJ
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Awesome Detangler
Date:July 5, 2011
I use this serum to comb my 2 year old daughter's hair. Works wonders on wet or dry hair to remove tangles. This product runs circles around any of the other detanglers on the market.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Grapeseed Glossing Serum
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: San Diego
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Not what I had hoped for
Date:May 9, 2011
Sad to say this product is getting returned.
I use a curl enhancing gel which leaves my hair a little stiff, which I am ok as it really defines my curls and reduces frizz. I was hoping this product would help soften my curls and provide shine. I does neither. This also does nothing for my hair when I straighten it.
The smell is decent. I will go back to using the pricier Aveda Smoothing Fluid.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Grapeseed Glossing Serum
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Minnesota
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Best Hair Product Ever!
Date:March 22, 2011
I have pretty dry hair, and am always looking for new hair products. I haven't found one that has surpassed this yet. The gloss is so light, it hardly feels like a product - but it gets the job done. Especially useful if you have normal to dry hair. You will not be let down!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Grapeseed Glossing Serum
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: St. Paul, MN
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Great smelling serum!
Date:March 22, 2011
I bought this on a whim while in the Body Shop a few years ago and now it's one of my daily hair staples! I love, love, love! the smell and it's great for nourishment, too.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Grapeseed Glossing Serum
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Los Angeles
Gender: Female
Age: 45 - 49
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
gets rid of frizzies
Date:March 17, 2011
This serum smells pleasant and gets rid of the frizzies.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Grapeseed Glossing Serum
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Location: Kentucky
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Okay
Date:April 13, 2011
This stuff is okay..kind of expensive for how little the bottle is..I have to use about 10- 12 pumps on my hair because it is so long and thick, therefore this bottle will probably only last a month. The smell is amazing though..just like fresh grapes.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Grapeseed Glossing Serum
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Little Neck, NY
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
I am reviewing this product as an entry to a sweepstakes: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Very Dry
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
Truly Grapesseed
Date:August 17, 2015
I can say that it is truly grape-seed which smells different with other man-made product. It smells nice and it looks close to oil. Do not use too much each time otherwise will make your hair look heavy and dirty. Like it and recommend it.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Grapeseed Glossing Serum
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Southern Region
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
LOVE THIS!
Date:July 3, 2015
I love this. It is not greasy and doesn't weigh my hair down. I have loose curl that's cut in a bob. I use this along with a cream, and tad of mouse. I've found that I have to layer multiple products to build curl in my thick but fine hair. This add a nice gloss and smells great! My daughter has thick, long straight hair and uses it, as well. She likes it a lot. I went back to get her own bottle. I may use more than others but I use 5 pumps as does my daughter. We both a lot of hair!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Grapeseed Glossing Serum
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
Great serum
Date:January 12, 2015
I just ordered my second bottle. I've used a lot of serums over the years and it's rare that I finish an entire bottle and go on to repurchase! I prefer to use a different serum on my wet hair before drying/styling, but I really like to use this on dry hair: just a bit on the ends and blend though. Adds shine and doesn't make my hair look greasy. Smells great too! Love it!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Grapeseed Glossing Serum
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Illinois
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Age: Below 25
Frequency: Daily
Lovely Product
Date:December 31, 2014
I use The Body Shop exclusively for products not tested on animals. This serum does not compromise at all and it is comparable to salon brands I've used. I use one pump for the ends of my chest length, thick hair while my hair is still wet and its keeps my hair soft.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>