Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Grapeseed Glossing Serum

A glossing serum that adds great gloss and shine to the hair.
Average Customer Rating:
4.603 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(78 Reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
rating snapshot (78 reviews)
5 stars
58
4 stars
11
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
0
94%would recommend to a friend
Customer Reviews for Grapeseed Glossing Serum
Review 1 for Grapeseed Glossing Serum
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
CosmeticsJunky
Location: Atlanta
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Best product to add shine
Date:December 11, 2011
I have used countless hair products, and this is one of the rare products I finished up one bottle. I couldn't live without this, so just ordered another one.
Take one or two drops on your hand to spread, and touch the ends of your hair first, then the rest of the hair. It adds healthy shine without getting greasy. It also settles a few fluffy hair on the top or around the bangs.
But the main purpose of this product is to add shine. So, to hold styled hair, I would use hair wax instead. And to settle very fluffy hair, you would want to use flizz-ease or alike.
The bottle is small, but it goes a long way. I used to have long straight hair, but two drops were enough for a day. Now I need just one drop for my shoulder length hair.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Grapeseed Glossing Serum
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
KristinaMH
Location: Oberlin
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
Frequency: Daily
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Love it!
Date:February 8, 2013
This is definitely one of the best things I've done for my hair. I comb it in every morning while my hair is slightly damp, and it feels to silky to the touch. It smells fresh and fabulous, and makes my hair so soft and shiny all day, without it feeling heavy or oily. I'll definitely buy another bottle when mine runs out!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Grapeseed Glossing Serum
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
momo2
Location: New York
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
great for damaged, frizzy hair
Date:July 1, 2012
i have damaged hair and it moisturizes and adds shine to my hair. the bottle is small but lasts long, since i use a small amount at a time. i also love the scent! will buy it again!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Grapeseed Glossing Serum
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chloe347
Location: Northern NJ
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Very Pleased with this product
Date:June 17, 2012
I have fine but damaged hair from coloring, and this serum smoothes my unruly strands very well, and smells great! It's also moisturizing. Like that it has natural oils in it, but it's still light. I use two pumps after my hair is dry.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Grapeseed Glossing Serum
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
flightgirl77
Location: Dallas
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Best serum
Date:May 14, 2012
I have naturally curly hair and I straighten it. This stuff works great to control the frizz! And a little goes a long way.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Grapeseed Glossing Serum
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
RLBolding
Location: Pittsburgh
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Great for natural hair!
Date:March 30, 2012
Brown skinned girls... This product is great for natural hair! A little goes a long way and it tames the frizzies, gives a nice shine (not a faux sheen)... I use it every day. I wash, I squirt a 2-3 drops into my hand and rub it into my wet hair... I follow with a curl defining mouse and I am out the door! I'm happy I found this paraben and sulfate free product!
And it smells great, too!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Grapeseed Glossing Serum
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
EarthConscious
Location: Cincinnati
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Excellent hair product
Date:March 13, 2012
I wanted some kind of hair product to help with flyaways and frizziness, and this does the job for both! I have pretty normal hair that can easily turn greasy with certain hair products (like the Coconut Oil Hair Shine) or very dry if I do not use anything. This product has the added bonus of having no parabens or sulfates, and lasts a very long time. You only need a tiny amount, and I have found that if I use too much my hair gets very greasy. Otherwise it is fantastic!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Grapeseed Glossing Serum
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
wheatongirl
Location: Chicago
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Great, great, great!
Date:February 18, 2012
I'm always experimenting with serums, as I have long, super thick hair that has a curl to it--and is also color treated. Feels so light--couldn't believe that was actually my hair the first few times I used it. Smell is fresh and not overpowering and does not irritate my eyes. Makes my hair easy to comb and style, adds shine and body and does not add weight like so many of the other serums out there.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Grapeseed Glossing Serum
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
pandavine
Location: Seattle
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
I actually use a lot at a time....
Date:February 6, 2012
Yeah, the whole "a little bit goes a long way" thing doesn't work so well with me. But I use a LOT and I still feel like the bottle has lasted a long time! My hair dries with a weird wave (not like some girls who have nice curls/waves) and this helps tame it a bit.
I use this right out of the shower on damp hair, making sure to towel-dry really well before applying. Then, once my hair is air-dried I put it up into a bun and my hair gets a nice curl at the end of the day AND feels soft!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Grapeseed Glossing Serum
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
agathena
Location: Portland
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Date:November 26, 2011
This product is good as far as serums go, but not noteworthy at all. I bought one bottle, used it up, and don't intend to buy any more. I have very thick, dry, frizzy, curly hair with especially dry and tangled ends (no splits). This serum definitely added shine, but the amount needed to smooth my hair left it weighed down and greasy. And no wonder. Imagine my dismay when I looked at the list of ingredients after months of using this and found that this serum was chock full of hair-coating, moisture-repelling silicones. I was really disappointed when I saw that because I thought The Body Shop would use stuff like natural oils, not chemicals, in all their products, not just the Rainforest line. I mean, I can get a serum like this at the drugstore if I want to. That said, this product did detangle my hair well, and it smelled awesome, but couldn't tackle my kinky, frizzy ends at all. It also provided no protection against the humidity when I traveled to Central America in the summer - my hair was a fluffball even with tons of this in it. This serum lasted ages though, even after I spilled it several times - from April or so all the way to September. If you've got less thick hair or less frizz than I do and don't mind silicones, this should work really well for you, but it's not for me.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Americangirl
 
Please wait while more information about Americangirl is loaded.
Additional information about Americangirl could not be loaded.
Top 10 Contributor
Thanks for ingredient review
Posted July 23, 2013
Thanks for listing ingredients and commenting on them.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Grapeseed Glossing Serum
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
MBM1
Location: Princeton, NJ
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Awesome Detangler
Date:July 5, 2011
I use this serum to comb my 2 year old daughter's hair. Works wonders on wet or dry hair to remove tangles. This product runs circles around any of the other detanglers on the market.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Grapeseed Glossing Serum
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
CurlyCat
Location: San Diego
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Not what I had hoped for
Date:May 9, 2011
Sad to say this product is getting returned.
I use a curl enhancing gel which leaves my hair a little stiff, which I am ok as it really defines my curls and reduces frizz. I was hoping this product would help soften my curls and provide shine. I does neither. This also does nothing for my hair when I straighten it.
The smell is decent. I will go back to using the pricier Aveda Smoothing Fluid.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Grapeseed Glossing Serum
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Christina
Location: Minnesota
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Best Hair Product Ever!
Date:March 22, 2011
I have pretty dry hair, and am always looking for new hair products. I haven't found one that has surpassed this yet. The gloss is so light, it hardly feels like a product - but it gets the job done. Especially useful if you have normal to dry hair. You will not be let down!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Grapeseed Glossing Serum
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rhapsodies
Location: St. Paul, MN
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Great smelling serum!
Date:March 22, 2011
I bought this on a whim while in the Body Shop a few years ago and now it's one of my daily hair staples! I love, love, love! the smell and it's great for nourishment, too.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Grapeseed Glossing Serum
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
bodymom
Location: Los Angeles
Gender: Female
Age: 45 - 49
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
gets rid of frizzies
Date:March 17, 2011
This serum smells pleasant and gets rid of the frizzies.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Grapeseed Glossing Serum
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Candace
Location: Kentucky
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Okay
Date:April 13, 2011
This stuff is okay..kind of expensive for how little the bottle is..I have to use about 10- 12 pumps on my hair because it is so long and thick, therefore this bottle will probably only last a month. The smell is amazing though..just like fresh grapes.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Grapeseed Glossing Serum
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
blueberrymonster
Location: Charlotte, NC
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: Daily
Miracle serum!
Date:July 3, 2014
I've always had issues with dry, frizzy hair. The Grapeseed Glossing Serum has worked wonders on my hair and makes my hair super soft and shiny. For the first time in serveral months I did not use this product and I realized just how great this stuff makes my hair look! I I have shoulder length hair and a bottle has lasted me 5 months, so I'd say this is a good deal, especially on sale!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Grapeseed Glossing Serum
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Kirby
Location: Michigan
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Fair
SkinType: Combination
Frequency: Daily
Fine, But Not For Me
Date:May 3, 2014
My hair is mid-back-length, thick, and frizzy. I tried this with damp hair before blow-drying on working days, letting it air dry, and also on dry hair. I did find it worked best on completely dry hair.
This serum worked "okay" - it did smooth my hair a bit, but not as much as I wanted and the amount required to get the look I wanted ended up making my hair feel heavy. It didn't do much in the way of moisturizing or shine. Also, I did find the scent odd: it wasn't unpleasant per se, but it really reminded me of dish soap.
Ultimately, I think this serum would work well for someone with finer hair than mine who just needs a bit of helping with flyaways and such. I would recommend it to friends to try with hair that isn't as coarse or dry as mine; I just need something stronger.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Grapeseed Glossing Serum
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lenars
Location: Virginia Beach
Body Shop employee: No
LOVE!!!
Date:April 2, 2014
LOVE the smell and what this product does!!!! I have used hundreds of expensive serums for my brittle, bleached hair that splits easily...this saved it! Even my hair dresser said, "wow, what have you been using, your hair feels great!" I use this after I wash with the Rain Forest Shine Shampoo/Conditioner on my wet hair, then blow dry, then use again on my dry hair to smooth it down. It's light weight and is helping the health of my hair. Don't ever stop making this!!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Grapeseed Glossing Serum
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reggie
Location: Somerdale
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 45 - 49
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Lack of Firmness
Frequency: Other
Luv Luv
Date:March 13, 2014
I have so many hair products, its crazy but I always come back to this serum. I put this on my damp hair and when it dries it's supper soft and shiny. Never greasy and I use a lot squirts because I have long hair. It really helps with frizzes. Luv this serum.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>