Product Reviews

Rainforest Moisture Hair Butter

Rainforest Moisture Hair Butter
Average Customer Rating:
3.83 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(118 Reviews) 117
Open Ratings Snapshot
rating snapshot (118 reviews)
5 stars
60
4 stars
26
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
22
75%would recommend to a friend
Customer Reviews for Rainforest Moisture Hair Butter
Review 1 for Rainforest Moisture Hair Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kihou
Location: Madison, WI
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Works Great As Shaving Cream
Date:November 11, 2011
Like some other people commented, when I used this I found it hard to wash out of my hair. My hair did feel nice, but it just wasn't what I was looking for and ended up getting some leave-in conditioner instead.
Not wanting to waste the container, I now I use it as shaving cream, and it works wonders. I had a lot of problems with my skin feeling too dry after shaving, and now it feels much better.
So if anyone commented about hair feeling greasy, heavy, or not washed, try using it as shaving cream instead! :)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Rainforest Moisture Hair Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
joolbud
Location: New Hampshire
Gender: Female
Age: Above 60
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Works great!
Date:March 10, 2012
I have very long, white hair but, no matter which conditioner I used, it still looked dry and sort of dead-looking on the ends. I have a lot of fine hair and I used the 2 hazelnut-size(really) amount on my hair. Left it on for 5 minutes while I did the rest of my shower routine, and then rinsed my hair.
Unbelievable! Even my non-observant partner noticed the difference. Hair was really soft and shiny. Excellent product even though I had to find a hazelnut to figure out the amount to us(smile)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Rainforest Moisture Hair Butter
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
wilso219
Location: Southfield, Michigan
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Great product but,
Date:December 28, 2012
I really like this, I have naturally kinky-coily hair and this smoothes, softens, conditions and detangles wonderfully, leaving my hair shiny and springy but my only complaint is the size, since my hair is so dry I use like a third of the jar with one treatment, so I usually mix this product with a shea butter-coconut oil mixture I make at home, to make it stretch, so I wish this came in like an 8,16 and 32 oz, instead of a 6.7 oz as the largest size, but the oils and honey in this conditioner work wonders and when I mix with shea and coconut only just beautiful hair.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Rainforest Moisture Hair Butter
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
rosey
Location: USA
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Great Leave In Conditioner
Date:October 15, 2012
I like this product as a leave in conditioner much better. Initially I used it as a hair butter instead of an intensive conditioner. I was dissapointed in this product as a intensive conditioner, even after leaving it on my hair for 5 minutes. Then I decided to try this product as a leave conditioner. I put abut 3 quarter size dollups on my hair, and combed my hair using a big comb, then used a blow dry and a big round brush, my hair turned out perfect! Great leave in conditioner. I have naturally frizzy hair and my hair is the smoothest ever with this product. It is now day 3 since I used this product, my hair still looks great, no frizzys. Not greasy, plus so far I have not washed my hair for 3 days and it still looks like I just came from a beauty shop. I will buy this product again!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Rainforest Moisture Hair Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
ProductGunkie
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Now my go-to conditioner!
Date:February 1, 2012
I love this product! I was reluctant buying it based on some of the other reviews and not having much info about how it performs on hair of people with African heritage. I must say it's fantastic! I have naturally coarse, curly, color-treated hair with a tendency towards dryness. This softens and moisturizes exceptionally well. I put it in after shampooing with the Ranforest Color shampoo, comb thru with a wide toothed comb and go head about my business in the shower, letting it marinate for about 3-5 minutes. It is not too heavy and does not leave a residue on my hair (contrary to what some others have mentioned in reviews). No problem with using it daily. The fragrance is light and unoffensive and you can't smell it after you rinse it off of your hair. And it's an exceptional value! Lasts a long time and at $14 it's a way better price point than many other African heritage hair care products that are on the market.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Rainforest Moisture Hair Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Xiomara
Location: new york
Gender: Female
Age: Above 60
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Rainforest Butter
Date:November 9, 2011
Love this product. It's one of my staples. For special treatment I put it on during my shower and rinse at the end. If my hair is very dry and I have no plans, I wear it in my hair all day long. If my hair is frizzy I rub a little on my hands and slide over my hair and if I want my hair to "behave" and it's not, I do the same thing and I can mold into what I want. If I want shine, again I do the same. It's become my little miracle workers.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Rainforest Moisture Hair Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Elliejoon
Location: Los Angeles
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Butter me up!
Date:October 5, 2011
I was SO excited to see a hair butter, and this one works! After years of LA's harsh water, my curly hair was brittle and dull... not anymore! I use this 2-3 x a week, leaving it in from 5 to 15 min, depending on my sched, and, after rinsing, put a dab on towel-dried hair to tame the frizzies.
My hair is getting back its mojo! Silky soft curls and nary a crunchy bunch of frizzies! Thank you AGAIN tbs! This rocks!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Rainforest Moisture Hair Butter
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
escribo
Location: Central New York
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
nuh-unh, nope, not for me
Date:October 2, 2011
As I wrote in my reviews of the other Rainforest Moisture products, I think Coconut Oil Shine is a better match for a non-silicone shampoo. This butter is the wrong product for my hair and in my opinion it is not necessary because I found the shampoo moisturizing enough for me. This is getting donated to charity. I strongly recommend getting the travel sizes of this collection and giving it a good week to see if it is for you.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Rainforest Moisture Hair Butter
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
ItalianFlare
Location: seattle
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: Weekly
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Unlocked tangled locks
Date:November 4, 2013
My long hair clump underneath really badly. Despite the fact this is supposed to be used as wash off conditioner i have been using ti as living in conditioner. I put a very tiny amount on my hair after shampooing and style them. My hair are soooo soft and light and do not tangled anymore.
Some online review say it smells like play-do but i don;t think so and either way the smell it is not a put off.
i will definitely buy it again.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Rainforest Moisture Hair Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Joalita
Location: Catskill Mountains
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Made for my hair
Date:June 27, 2013
This nourishing butter works like a dream for moisturizing, shine and control of heavy, wavy hair in particular.
With my native/latina/polynesian combination hair I was so disappointed when you discontinued your hazelnut straightener product -- but this is getting me through a way-too-humid summer.
I'd agree with other reviews - I'd definitely buy a larger size if you made it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Rainforest Moisture Hair Butter
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
WrinkleFreeGirl
Location: Miami, FL
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Meh
Date:November 2, 2012
Maybe my hair is just too dry but this was less effective than my everyday conditioner. I'd skip it. (I have long, fine but thick naturally curly/wavy hair.)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Rainforest Moisture Hair Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Curly
Location: dc
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
LOVE this stuff
Date:October 2, 2012
I've just recently started using this hair butter and it works WONDERS on my dry kinky/curly hair. I use it as a leave in conditioner - I use it every day - and my dry hair soaks it all up. Afterwards, my hair is soft, easy to detangle, and moisturized. It also helps to control frizzies here in the very humid southeast. It's completely changed my hair care routine. Thank you, thank you, thank you Body Shop!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Rainforest Moisture Hair Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
ChelleY
Location: Naples
Gender: Female
Age: 45 - 49
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Love, love, love it!
Date:July 11, 2012
My hair was excessively dried out and damaged from color and blow drying. I was spending a ton of cash on treatments that either made it even drier or else left a weighty residue. The store clerk encouraged me to try this product in the small size with my birthday cash and also told me to make sure I rinsed well. I fell in love on my first application and went back to purchase the gift set on sale so I could also try the shampoo and conditioner. It is a very small container but a huge value because my hair has never looked o good. I am using it twice per week and EVERYONE is remarking about how healthy and bouncy my hair looks. For $10 it works as well as the reconstruct treatments used at upscale salons. Love, Love, LOVE this product!!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Rainforest Moisture Hair Butter
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
ShareBear
Location: PA
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Not worth it
Date:July 1, 2012
It smells great, but didn't do anything for my hair.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Rainforest Moisture Hair Butter
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Anonymous
Location: Carbondale
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Underwhelming
Date:March 28, 2012
I didn't see any vast or significant improvements from using this product. My main complaint is that after using it, my hair feels greasy and weighed down - and not in a moisturized kind of way. I had high hopes for this product because I have long, dry, wavy hair that needs some deep conditioning, but this product did not deliver as I had hoped. I continue to use it just so that my money doesn't go to waste, but I definitely will not be purchasing this product again.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Rainforest Moisture Hair Butter
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nani11
Location: Irvine
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Good Weekly Treatment
Date:October 10, 2011
I needed more than the recommended amount but it did make my hair feel soft after rinsing and drying. I think this is a good weekly treatment but you really have to rinse it out! I will buy again because it is really moisturizing!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Rainforest Moisture Hair Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
lindarnbsn
Location: Charleston WV
Gender: Female
Age: 55 - 60
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
A great find
Date:September 28, 2011
I read a positive review of this product in a women's magazine and tried it for my slightly dry, color-treated hair. Use it once a week, makes my hair soft and easy to manage. Great value, and lasts longer than over-the-counter products because it's thicker and you don't need to use as much. Does not leave hair heavy or greasy.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Rainforest Moisture Hair Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
LCM14
Location: Boston, MA
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Great for dry, damaged hair
Date:July 16, 2011
Part of my hair has been bleached multiple times so it's very damaged and dry. It breaks easily, tangles all the time, and is full of split ends. It's plain horrible. No product can truly "tame" it but this comes close. I've tried many other extreme conditioning treatments (costing upwards of quadruple the price) and this is the only one that truly conditions my hair as opposed to coating it with a layer of smooth slime. I can actually feel the dry dead-ness of my hair improving. It doesn't randomly break off in the middle of brushing or tangle as much anymore. Other products make your hair feel smooth and sleek until the next wash (temporary fix), but this one actually makes it healthier (permanent fix). I use this every other day because it is a bit too heavy for everyday use on the unbleached half of my hair.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Rainforest Moisture Hair Butter
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Natasha
Location: San Francisco
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
SUPER DUPER AWESOME
Date:June 21, 2011
I just simply love this product. I have dry hair and specially after shampoo they become very frizzy. I wanted something that can soften my hair and make them controllable. Since I've got this product, I am no more scared of washing my hair. They become so soft that I love to touch them. In my entire life I have never found such thing but now I am going to use this my entire life. I would recommend this to everyone - makes hair so fresh...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Rainforest Moisture Hair Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
ColormeBarbara
Location: Houston
Gender: Female
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Goodbye Kinks, Hello Curls!
Date:May 26, 2011
This product is fantastic! My hair is curly,coarse, thick, and frizz-prone (did I mention tangles easily?). This product is very softening and moisturizing, and the smell is lovely (fresh & floral). It's not super-oily feeling, yet leaves my hair with a beautiful shine. I think if you have hair like mine (or close) then you'll fall in love with this product too.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>