Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Banana Conditioner

Banana Conditioner
Average Customer Rating:
4.561 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(173 Reviews) 167
Open Ratings Snapshot
rating snapshot (173 reviews)
5 stars
126
4 stars
30
3 stars
10
2 stars
2
1 star
5
92%would recommend to a friend
Customer Reviews for Banana Conditioner
Review 1 for Banana Conditioner
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
SophieG
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
My new Fave!
Date:September 18, 2012
I had recently been using the Rainforest Moisture Hair Butter as my daily conditioner (I still love it and use it twice a week), but I have so much hair on my head that this was getting a bit pricey. I decided to try this Banana conditioner since the cost per ounce ratio is better and it has such rave reviews. I'm usually weary of trying conditioner that is described as being for "normal" or "all hair types" because I have a whole lot of wavy crazy hair on my head that doesn't typically fit that moisture profile. I've been using the Banana conditioner for two weeks and I love it! It's not super thick like the hair butter so I actually find it easier to spread through the many layers of my hair (without it being watery - a definite no-no for conditioners in my book) , and I've noticed an improvement in the condition of my hair (super soft and decreased frizziness). The scent is nice and soft, subtle banana and other fruit/floral notes that aren't overwhelming. I'm hooked!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Banana Conditioner
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
chanelstar
Location: Chicago
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
A Nice Surprise
Date:March 23, 2011
I was skeptical of this product at first, thinking there was no way this conditioner would work effectively on my thick, dry hair. I'm African American, and my hair is prone to breakage and loss of moisture rather quickly. The banana conditioner is great at keeping hair moisturized and really helped with the detangling process! I really like this conditioner and will definitely purchase again.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Banana Conditioner
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
pinktink630
Location: Soddy Daisy, TN
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: Daily
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Love This Conditioner But Need A Bigger Bottle
Date:January 27, 2014
This is the best conditioner I have used in a long time. If made my hair feel so soft and silky when I was washing it out, and I was actually able to comb it without my comb getting caught in tangles and breaking my hair off! It smells fantastic too. I just wish The Body Shop would sell a bigger bottle. If they would double the bottle size it would be so much better.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Banana Conditioner
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rcan
Location: La Puente
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Normal
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Best Conditioner EVER!
Date:October 4, 2013
Love love love this product! Been trying all kinds of treatments and nothing has worked except for this! This dramatically changed the texture of my hair from damaged and brittle to soft and silky! I strongly recommend trying this out. I do wish they made this into a bigger bottle though, but other than that, best conditioner ever!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Banana Conditioner
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
rhys
Location: portland, or
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Banana Conditioner
Date:August 25, 2012
i use this after the ginger shampoo and my hair and scalp have never felt so fabulous. the only thing that i am not thrilled with is the smell is not quite strong enough - i thought it would leave a strong scent on my hair and it was very light once my hair was dry... but meh i am sure i will live.
the reason it got 4 stars and not 5.... well i have hair down past the middle of my back and this tiny little bottle won't last but a couple of weeks - literally a couple. the ginger shampoo is available in a jumbo size and i think this should be too - honestly i think that all conditioners should be in a jumbo size. i shampoo my hair once or twice a week but i condition my hair every time i get it wet SO i go through a ton of conditioner.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Banana Conditioner
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
AlwayszandForever
Location: Queens, NY
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Love it!
Date:June 29, 2012
Every time I go into The Body Shop, I always went up to this conditioner and smelled it because it smelled sooo good. And then I finally decided to get it. It didn't last very long with me because I have extremely curly hair and a lot of it. And that seemed to be the only downside of it. That it is so expensive and you don't get that much. But all in all it left my hair nice and soft and smelling great.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Banana Conditioner
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Justice
Location: Clarksville, TN
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Excellent!
Date:May 12, 2012
I love banana conditioner. I have really thick, wavy hair that can be prone to dryness/coarseness, and this moisturizing conditioner is perfect for my hair type. It detangles, hydrates, and smells great, too. Everything you would want in a conditioner; I only subtracted one star because it only comes in the 8 oz size and if you have a lot of hair like me you know that will barely last through a few shampoos. I would love to buy this in a 27.5 oz or something comparable: I love the Body Shop's commitment to fair trade and real quality.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Banana Conditioner
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Zulu
Location: Pensacola
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
I LOVE BANANA!
Date:October 6, 2011
Banana is the unsung hero of the fruit world; it's great for hair, skin, digestion and overall nutrition. The staff said with my super oily hair that the shampoo/conditioner duo might be too much on my hair but I bought it anyway because they said I could return it. I haven't looked back. I stock up every time there's a sale in case they discontinue it again. My hair is soft, manageable, shiny and full of body. My mother is the complete opposite and found the banana restored her hairs natural luster. I recommend it to every one I know.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Banana Conditioner
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer
Location: Connecticut
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Best Hair-Care Purchase Ever
Date:March 26, 2011
Love the banana shampoo and conditioner. Makes my hair soft, tangle-free and frizz-free. For once, I don't need any other additional products to detangle or defrizz my hair.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Banana Conditioner
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
greengirl
Location: Los Angeles
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Not the same formula!
Date:March 25, 2011
Banana Conditioner was one of my favorite Body Shop products (hard to choose among the standouts), but the product out now is not what once was and does not compare in my opinion.
The fragrance was like sun ripened fruit and the rich texture was more like a hair mask, now the fragrance matches the Banana Shampoo fragrance which is like candied banana and the formula has lost some of its moisturizing punch.
As a fan of the original I can't use a seeming imposter-did you lose the recipe or have to change suppliers?
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Banana Conditioner
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
AliciaMarie
Location: Medford, OR
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Small and smells bad
Date:November 7, 2011
I was surprised how small the bottle was but since I don't like the smell (doesn't smell like banana) that's a good thing.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Banana Conditioner
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
joannad
Location: Wisconsin
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Slightly Moisturizing
Date:March 24, 2011
After using this product my hair becomes dry again within a few hours. I would only recommend it to someone who doesn't require deep moisturization or to someone who uses a leave-in conditioner as well.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Banana Conditioner
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
SoothingWatersBath
Location: Raleigh
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Ditto for shampoo & conditioner
Date:July 12, 2011
First, I love TBS, I have at least 8-10 TBS bath products in my shower at any given time...however this will never again be in my shower. In fact it may not last a second washing...guest bath here we come - lol!
Banana?? Not so much, it's not a horrible smell, but I've never smelled a banana like that. And to be honest I wasn't real impressed with the performance either. The only GREAT thing was it was CHEAP! Sorry TBS, you have some amazing stuff...but wow does this ever miss the bar!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Banana Conditioner
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
rolo99
Location: Denver
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Not like I remember
Date:May 1, 2011
I was super excited to see this back because I remembered how soft the shampoo/conditioner combo would make my hair. Plus, you really got a great banana scent and could actually see chunks of banana in the shampoo and conditioner.
Sadly, this is a chemicalized version of the 80's recipe. It smells like a fake banana (chemical) smell, no chunks and worst of all, no soft hair. In fact, my hair is actually a tangled mess using this conditioner. I may not even finish the bottle.
I looked at the bottle to see what the ingredients are. There is no listing anywhere on it. Makes me suspicious that I may be right about the "chemicalized" version of what I fondly remembered. Sad.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Leoleigh
 
Please wait while more information about Leoleigh is loaded.
Additional information about Leoleigh could not be loaded.
Musa Paradisiaca Fruit
Posted December 1, 2011
Ingredients: Water (Solvent/Diluent), -------Musa Paradisica (Banana)----- Fruit (Emollient/Lubricant), Cetearyl Alcohol (Emulsifier), Cetrimonium Chloride (Hair Conditioner), Phenoxyethanol (Preservative), Hydroxyethylcellulose (Stabiliser/Thickener), Lecithin (Stabiliser/Emulsifier), Propylene Glycol (Humectant), Panthenol (Skin/Hair Conditioning Agent), Fragrance (Fragrance), Benzyl Alcohol (Preservative), Sodium Hydroxide (pH Adjuster), Ascorbic Acid (Antioxidant), Yellow 5 (Colour), Yellow 6 (Colour).
Musa Paradisiaca Fruit is the scientific Name for a Plantain also known as the Banana.
Although you might be confused because "Musa sapientum" and "Musa paradisiaca" are the old scientific terms for parthenocarpic bananas.
The modern terms are Musa acuminata and or Musa balbisiana.
Either way right in the ingredients it says there is Banana......
Customer Avatar
baby
 
Please wait while more information about baby is loaded.
Additional information about baby could not be loaded.
Ingredients are listed here on the site
Posted May 3, 2011
AND on the bottle.
Fruit is the second ingredient after water.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 15 for Banana Conditioner
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
29always
Location: Twin Falls
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
didn't love it
Date:April 26, 2014
My hair felt dry and it did not detangle
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Banana Conditioner
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
smcfa
Location: Louisiana
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
Okay.
Date:March 27, 2014
This is the second time I have bought this Conditioner and it's just okay. I have thin hair so it takes me a while to go through an entire bottle. As for the quality of it, there are certainly other conditioners that work better than this one. It doesn't damage your hair, but it certainly does not do anything noticeably different to your hair.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Banana Conditioner
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
AdairFauxx
Location: Växjö, Sverige
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Blue
Frequency: Monthly
Average
Date:March 23, 2014
Nothing special. Honestly I just buy this for the scent which is AMAZING. Like banana taffy. This is better than Pantene or Garnier but not as good as AG or Redken. About like using the Organix or It's a 10 line.
If you have healthy maintained hair and you are looking for something that smells great and keeps hair in its current condition this is good. If you want something to help heat or dye damaged hair I would search for something else.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Banana Conditioner
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
AMichele
Location: Austin, TX
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
Not a fan
Date:March 18, 2014
I was very disappointed in this conditioner. It smells amazing but leaves my hair feeling blah and not tangle-free. It was not thick and creamy as described either.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Banana Conditioner
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
BlueEyedBoston
Location: Boston
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Fine Lines
Frequency: Daily
Does not detangle at all!
Date:January 2, 2014
Wow, this is quite possibly the worst conditioner I've ever used. It is incredibly thin and watery, definitely not what I was expecting for a product that is supposed to moisturize dry, damaged hair. And it did not detangle at all! I kept applying more conditioner to my hair and seriously think I had applied 1/4 of the bottle, and allowed it to penetrate for 5 minutes, before I could even run my fingers through my shoulder-length hair. Yes, it smells nice, but that is all this "conditioner" has going for it - since it certainly does not condition!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Banana Conditioner
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
rrwills
Location: Colorado
Body Shop employee: No
I was expecting something thicker
Date:December 9, 2013
It's true that this product smells amazing and is overall yummy. A miracle worker though? No i don't think so. I was hoping for/expecting something much thicker and creamier. This condition is just a little too thin for my taste. I don't think it has more of an effect than a normal conditioner, honestly. It works fine and smells delicious but it wasn't the thick creamy mixture I was hoping for.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>