Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Banana Conditioner

Banana Conditioner
Average Customer Rating:
4.525 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(181 Reviews) 175
Open Ratings Snapshot
rating snapshot (181 reviews)
5 stars
130
4 stars
32
3 stars
10
2 stars
2
1 star
7
91%would recommend to a friend
Customer Reviews for Banana Conditioner
Review 1 for Banana Conditioner
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
My new Fave!
Date:September 18, 2012
I had recently been using the Rainforest Moisture Hair Butter as my daily conditioner (I still love it and use it twice a week), but I have so much hair on my head that this was getting a bit pricey. I decided to try this Banana conditioner since the cost per ounce ratio is better and it has such rave reviews. I'm usually weary of trying conditioner that is described as being for "normal" or "all hair types" because I have a whole lot of wavy crazy hair on my head that doesn't typically fit that moisture profile. I've been using the Banana conditioner for two weeks and I love it! It's not super thick like the hair butter so I actually find it easier to spread through the many layers of my hair (without it being watery - a definite no-no for conditioners in my book) , and I've noticed an improvement in the condition of my hair (super soft and decreased frizziness). The scent is nice and soft, subtle banana and other fruit/floral notes that aren't overwhelming. I'm hooked!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Banana Conditioner
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Chicago
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
A Nice Surprise
Date:March 23, 2011
I was skeptical of this product at first, thinking there was no way this conditioner would work effectively on my thick, dry hair. I'm African American, and my hair is prone to breakage and loss of moisture rather quickly. The banana conditioner is great at keeping hair moisturized and really helped with the detangling process! I really like this conditioner and will definitely purchase again.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Banana Conditioner
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Soddy Daisy, TN
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: Daily
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Love This Conditioner But Need A Bigger Bottle
Date:January 27, 2014
This is the best conditioner I have used in a long time. If made my hair feel so soft and silky when I was washing it out, and I was actually able to comb it without my comb getting caught in tangles and breaking my hair off! It smells fantastic too. I just wish The Body Shop would sell a bigger bottle. If they would double the bottle size it would be so much better.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Banana Conditioner
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: La Puente
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Normal
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Best Conditioner EVER!
Date:October 4, 2013
Love love love this product! Been trying all kinds of treatments and nothing has worked except for this! This dramatically changed the texture of my hair from damaged and brittle to soft and silky! I strongly recommend trying this out. I do wish they made this into a bigger bottle though, but other than that, best conditioner ever!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Banana Conditioner
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: portland, or
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Banana Conditioner
Date:August 25, 2012
i use this after the ginger shampoo and my hair and scalp have never felt so fabulous. the only thing that i am not thrilled with is the smell is not quite strong enough - i thought it would leave a strong scent on my hair and it was very light once my hair was dry... but meh i am sure i will live.
the reason it got 4 stars and not 5.... well i have hair down past the middle of my back and this tiny little bottle won't last but a couple of weeks - literally a couple. the ginger shampoo is available in a jumbo size and i think this should be too - honestly i think that all conditioners should be in a jumbo size. i shampoo my hair once or twice a week but i condition my hair every time i get it wet SO i go through a ton of conditioner.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Banana Conditioner
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Queens, NY
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Love it!
Date:June 29, 2012
Every time I go into The Body Shop, I always went up to this conditioner and smelled it because it smelled sooo good. And then I finally decided to get it. It didn't last very long with me because I have extremely curly hair and a lot of it. And that seemed to be the only downside of it. That it is so expensive and you don't get that much. But all in all it left my hair nice and soft and smelling great.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Banana Conditioner
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Clarksville, TN
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Excellent!
Date:May 12, 2012
I love banana conditioner. I have really thick, wavy hair that can be prone to dryness/coarseness, and this moisturizing conditioner is perfect for my hair type. It detangles, hydrates, and smells great, too. Everything you would want in a conditioner; I only subtracted one star because it only comes in the 8 oz size and if you have a lot of hair like me you know that will barely last through a few shampoos. I would love to buy this in a 27.5 oz or something comparable: I love the Body Shop's commitment to fair trade and real quality.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Banana Conditioner
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Pensacola
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
I LOVE BANANA!
Date:October 6, 2011
Banana is the unsung hero of the fruit world; it's great for hair, skin, digestion and overall nutrition. The staff said with my super oily hair that the shampoo/conditioner duo might be too much on my hair but I bought it anyway because they said I could return it. I haven't looked back. I stock up every time there's a sale in case they discontinue it again. My hair is soft, manageable, shiny and full of body. My mother is the complete opposite and found the banana restored her hairs natural luster. I recommend it to every one I know.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Banana Conditioner
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Connecticut
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Best Hair-Care Purchase Ever
Date:March 26, 2011
Love the banana shampoo and conditioner. Makes my hair soft, tangle-free and frizz-free. For once, I don't need any other additional products to detangle or defrizz my hair.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Banana Conditioner
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Location: Los Angeles
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Not the same formula!
Date:March 25, 2011
Banana Conditioner was one of my favorite Body Shop products (hard to choose among the standouts), but the product out now is not what once was and does not compare in my opinion.
The fragrance was like sun ripened fruit and the rich texture was more like a hair mask, now the fragrance matches the Banana Shampoo fragrance which is like candied banana and the formula has lost some of its moisturizing punch.
As a fan of the original I can't use a seeming imposter-did you lose the recipe or have to change suppliers?
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Banana Conditioner
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Location: Medford, OR
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Small and smells bad
Date:November 7, 2011
I was surprised how small the bottle was but since I don't like the smell (doesn't smell like banana) that's a good thing.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Banana Conditioner
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Wisconsin
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Slightly Moisturizing
Date:March 24, 2011
After using this product my hair becomes dry again within a few hours. I would only recommend it to someone who doesn't require deep moisturization or to someone who uses a leave-in conditioner as well.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Banana Conditioner
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: Raleigh
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Ditto for shampoo & conditioner
Date:July 12, 2011
First, I love TBS, I have at least 8-10 TBS bath products in my shower at any given time...however this will never again be in my shower. In fact it may not last a second washing...guest bath here we come - lol!
Banana?? Not so much, it's not a horrible smell, but I've never smelled a banana like that. And to be honest I wasn't real impressed with the performance either. The only GREAT thing was it was CHEAP! Sorry TBS, you have some amazing stuff...but wow does this ever miss the bar!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Banana Conditioner
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: Denver
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Not like I remember
Date:May 1, 2011
I was super excited to see this back because I remembered how soft the shampoo/conditioner combo would make my hair. Plus, you really got a great banana scent and could actually see chunks of banana in the shampoo and conditioner.
Sadly, this is a chemicalized version of the 80's recipe. It smells like a fake banana (chemical) smell, no chunks and worst of all, no soft hair. In fact, my hair is actually a tangled mess using this conditioner. I may not even finish the bottle.
I looked at the bottle to see what the ingredients are. There is no listing anywhere on it. Makes me suspicious that I may be right about the "chemicalized" version of what I fondly remembered. Sad.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Leoleigh
 
Please wait while more information about Leoleigh is loaded.
Additional information about Leoleigh could not be loaded.
Musa Paradisiaca Fruit
Posted December 1, 2011
Ingredients: Water (Solvent/Diluent), -------Musa Paradisica (Banana)----- Fruit (Emollient/Lubricant), Cetearyl Alcohol (Emulsifier), Cetrimonium Chloride (Hair Conditioner), Phenoxyethanol (Preservative), Hydroxyethylcellulose (Stabiliser/Thickener), Lecithin (Stabiliser/Emulsifier), Propylene Glycol (Humectant), Panthenol (Skin/Hair Conditioning Agent), Fragrance (Fragrance), Benzyl Alcohol (Preservative), Sodium Hydroxide (pH Adjuster), Ascorbic Acid (Antioxidant), Yellow 5 (Colour), Yellow 6 (Colour).
Musa Paradisiaca Fruit is the scientific Name for a Plantain also known as the Banana.
Although you might be confused because "Musa sapientum" and "Musa paradisiaca" are the old scientific terms for parthenocarpic bananas.
The modern terms are Musa acuminata and or Musa balbisiana.
Either way right in the ingredients it says there is Banana......
Customer Avatar
baby
 
Please wait while more information about baby is loaded.
Additional information about baby could not be loaded.
Ingredients are listed here on the site
Posted May 3, 2011
AND on the bottle.
Fruit is the second ingredient after water.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 15 for Banana Conditioner
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Seattle
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
Great Conditioner, smells lovely
Date:November 13, 2014
I had my hair was Japanese magic straightened about 5 months ago. One of the things i have noticed since getting my hair styled is the dramatic difference that a good/bad shampoo and conditioner can make, no matter how great my leave in styling products, post shower, are. This conditioner is great. I have no complaints. My hair is shiny and moisturized. It is not dry and dull like a cheaper conditioner would give me. I have not tried the matching shampoo (scared because of the not so good reviews), but I will definitely be buying this conditioner again.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Banana Conditioner
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Alexandria, VA
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: Weekly
Try it!
Date:October 19, 2014
I read page after page of reviews on this, and was torn about ordering because they were kind of mixed reviews. Since it was on sale, I decided to try it. I was also hesitant, because like one reviewer said, I don't usually give a second thought to any product that is for "normal" hair; I have very thick and dry hair, so I had my concerns because nothing ever seems to quench my hair's thirst. I don't think I've ever owned a hair care product that didn't have words like dry/damaged/color-treated/repair on the label. I'll usually have to squeeze out a literal handful of a conditioner like Pantene, so I guess in retrospect the fact that I had to use about 1/3 of the small bottle isn't *all* that crazy...but I really do wish they would offer this in a larger size (deducting a star in hopes that The Body Shop notices! That seems to be everyone's #1 complaint).
While showering, I was still skeptical, because it didn't *feel* like my hair was drenched in conditioner as per usual. However, as soon as I began to rinse it out, I could feel a difference. My hair felt super soft under the water as I rinsed. I let my hair air dry, and it is SO soft! My hair usually still feels like straw after I air dry it and is super frizzy and all over the place, but this conditioner made my hair super soft, tangle-free, and seemed to tame it during the air dry process. This conditioner definitely exceeded my expectations. I used it for the first time tonight, and I already ordered one more on sale while I could!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Banana Conditioner
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Orlando
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Shine
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
The only replacement for the honey conditioner
Date:October 16, 2014
TBS discontinued my favorite Honey conditioner a few years back. I was so sad. So I started to search for a replacement. Not an easy choice. Lucky this banana's consistency is somewhat similar, not as thick and moisturizing as the honey one. It's by far the only replacement I can use and I have been using it for a few years. My heart cried out for the honey, but what I can do? I hope more people will join me and demand the honey conditioner back then I will stock a dozen all at once:)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Banana Conditioner
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
If you don't like it, your dog might. Seriously.
Date:October 2, 2014
I used to use this product in high school. That was in Houston, Texas where it's very humid. Now I live in Los Angeles where it's very dry. While I love the smell of this stuff, it doesn't do a very good job moisturizing my hair for the dry air here. If anything, my hair seems more dry than it's ever been, even when I double up on it and let it sit there for five minutes. It's performance on my schnoodle's coat, however, is AMAZING! My schnoodle, Charlie, is a poodle and schnauzer mix. His hair is more like a schnauzer's than a poodle's. He smells delicious after his bath, and his skin looks beautiful. He doesn't have any skin issues to begin with, so it's certainly not for every dog. My point is, if you buy this product for yourself and it doesn't work, maybe you can try it on your dog! I will keep buying this stuff just for mine! I can't imagine him smelling any other way now, and I think he likes the smell, too! I don't recommend it for dry hair, but I do recommend it for your dog if he has oily hair! Thanks!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Banana Conditioner
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Las Vegas
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Normal
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
Love!
Date:September 7, 2014
I love the scent of this shampoo so much I want to eat it! The formula is a good everyday formula and I LOVE the scent!!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Banana Conditioner
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: New York
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Knotted up hair
Date:August 15, 2014
The Conditioner knotted up hair. I used it and it tangled up my African American hair and than my Italian friend used it and it left tangles (knots) in his hair. The shampoo did the same. Both are too aggressive he said.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>