Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Banana Conditioner

Banana Conditioner
Average Customer Rating:
4.508 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(189 Reviews) 183
Open Ratings Snapshot
rating snapshot (189 reviews)
5 stars
134
4 stars
34
3 stars
11
2 stars
3
1 star
7
90%would recommend to a friend
Customer Reviews for Banana Conditioner
Review 1 for Banana Conditioner
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Chicago
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
A Nice Surprise
Date:March 23, 2011
I was skeptical of this product at first, thinking there was no way this conditioner would work effectively on my thick, dry hair. I'm African American, and my hair is prone to breakage and loss of moisture rather quickly. The banana conditioner is great at keeping hair moisturized and really helped with the detangling process! I really like this conditioner and will definitely purchase again.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Banana Conditioner
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
My new Fave!
Date:September 18, 2012
I had recently been using the Rainforest Moisture Hair Butter as my daily conditioner (I still love it and use it twice a week), but I have so much hair on my head that this was getting a bit pricey. I decided to try this Banana conditioner since the cost per ounce ratio is better and it has such rave reviews. I'm usually weary of trying conditioner that is described as being for "normal" or "all hair types" because I have a whole lot of wavy crazy hair on my head that doesn't typically fit that moisture profile. I've been using the Banana conditioner for two weeks and I love it! It's not super thick like the hair butter so I actually find it easier to spread through the many layers of my hair (without it being watery - a definite no-no for conditioners in my book) , and I've noticed an improvement in the condition of my hair (super soft and decreased frizziness). The scent is nice and soft, subtle banana and other fruit/floral notes that aren't overwhelming. I'm hooked!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Banana Conditioner
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Soddy Daisy, TN
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: Daily
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Love This Conditioner But Need A Bigger Bottle
Date:January 27, 2014
This is the best conditioner I have used in a long time. If made my hair feel so soft and silky when I was washing it out, and I was actually able to comb it without my comb getting caught in tangles and breaking my hair off! It smells fantastic too. I just wish The Body Shop would sell a bigger bottle. If they would double the bottle size it would be so much better.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Banana Conditioner
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: La Puente
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Normal
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Best Conditioner EVER!
Date:October 4, 2013
Love love love this product! Been trying all kinds of treatments and nothing has worked except for this! This dramatically changed the texture of my hair from damaged and brittle to soft and silky! I strongly recommend trying this out. I do wish they made this into a bigger bottle though, but other than that, best conditioner ever!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Banana Conditioner
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: portland, or
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Banana Conditioner
Date:August 25, 2012
i use this after the ginger shampoo and my hair and scalp have never felt so fabulous. the only thing that i am not thrilled with is the smell is not quite strong enough - i thought it would leave a strong scent on my hair and it was very light once my hair was dry... but meh i am sure i will live.
the reason it got 4 stars and not 5.... well i have hair down past the middle of my back and this tiny little bottle won't last but a couple of weeks - literally a couple. the ginger shampoo is available in a jumbo size and i think this should be too - honestly i think that all conditioners should be in a jumbo size. i shampoo my hair once or twice a week but i condition my hair every time i get it wet SO i go through a ton of conditioner.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Banana Conditioner
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Queens, NY
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Love it!
Date:June 29, 2012
Every time I go into The Body Shop, I always went up to this conditioner and smelled it because it smelled sooo good. And then I finally decided to get it. It didn't last very long with me because I have extremely curly hair and a lot of it. And that seemed to be the only downside of it. That it is so expensive and you don't get that much. But all in all it left my hair nice and soft and smelling great.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Banana Conditioner
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Clarksville, TN
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Excellent!
Date:May 12, 2012
I love banana conditioner. I have really thick, wavy hair that can be prone to dryness/coarseness, and this moisturizing conditioner is perfect for my hair type. It detangles, hydrates, and smells great, too. Everything you would want in a conditioner; I only subtracted one star because it only comes in the 8 oz size and if you have a lot of hair like me you know that will barely last through a few shampoos. I would love to buy this in a 27.5 oz or something comparable: I love the Body Shop's commitment to fair trade and real quality.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Banana Conditioner
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Pensacola
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
I LOVE BANANA!
Date:October 6, 2011
Banana is the unsung hero of the fruit world; it's great for hair, skin, digestion and overall nutrition. The staff said with my super oily hair that the shampoo/conditioner duo might be too much on my hair but I bought it anyway because they said I could return it. I haven't looked back. I stock up every time there's a sale in case they discontinue it again. My hair is soft, manageable, shiny and full of body. My mother is the complete opposite and found the banana restored her hairs natural luster. I recommend it to every one I know.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Banana Conditioner
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Connecticut
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Best Hair-Care Purchase Ever
Date:March 26, 2011
Love the banana shampoo and conditioner. Makes my hair soft, tangle-free and frizz-free. For once, I don't need any other additional products to detangle or defrizz my hair.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Banana Conditioner
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Location: Los Angeles
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Not the same formula!
Date:March 25, 2011
Banana Conditioner was one of my favorite Body Shop products (hard to choose among the standouts), but the product out now is not what once was and does not compare in my opinion.
The fragrance was like sun ripened fruit and the rich texture was more like a hair mask, now the fragrance matches the Banana Shampoo fragrance which is like candied banana and the formula has lost some of its moisturizing punch.
As a fan of the original I can't use a seeming imposter-did you lose the recipe or have to change suppliers?
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Banana Conditioner
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Location: Medford, OR
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Small and smells bad
Date:November 7, 2011
I was surprised how small the bottle was but since I don't like the smell (doesn't smell like banana) that's a good thing.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Banana Conditioner
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Wisconsin
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Slightly Moisturizing
Date:March 24, 2011
After using this product my hair becomes dry again within a few hours. I would only recommend it to someone who doesn't require deep moisturization or to someone who uses a leave-in conditioner as well.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Banana Conditioner
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: Raleigh
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Ditto for shampoo & conditioner
Date:July 12, 2011
First, I love TBS, I have at least 8-10 TBS bath products in my shower at any given time...however this will never again be in my shower. In fact it may not last a second washing...guest bath here we come - lol!
Banana?? Not so much, it's not a horrible smell, but I've never smelled a banana like that. And to be honest I wasn't real impressed with the performance either. The only GREAT thing was it was CHEAP! Sorry TBS, you have some amazing stuff...but wow does this ever miss the bar!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Banana Conditioner
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: Denver
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Not like I remember
Date:May 1, 2011
I was super excited to see this back because I remembered how soft the shampoo/conditioner combo would make my hair. Plus, you really got a great banana scent and could actually see chunks of banana in the shampoo and conditioner.
Sadly, this is a chemicalized version of the 80's recipe. It smells like a fake banana (chemical) smell, no chunks and worst of all, no soft hair. In fact, my hair is actually a tangled mess using this conditioner. I may not even finish the bottle.
I looked at the bottle to see what the ingredients are. There is no listing anywhere on it. Makes me suspicious that I may be right about the "chemicalized" version of what I fondly remembered. Sad.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Leoleigh
 
Please wait while more information about Leoleigh is loaded.
Additional information about Leoleigh could not be loaded.
Musa Paradisiaca Fruit
Posted December 1, 2011
Ingredients: Water (Solvent/Diluent), -------Musa Paradisica (Banana)----- Fruit (Emollient/Lubricant), Cetearyl Alcohol (Emulsifier), Cetrimonium Chloride (Hair Conditioner), Phenoxyethanol (Preservative), Hydroxyethylcellulose (Stabiliser/Thickener), Lecithin (Stabiliser/Emulsifier), Propylene Glycol (Humectant), Panthenol (Skin/Hair Conditioning Agent), Fragrance (Fragrance), Benzyl Alcohol (Preservative), Sodium Hydroxide (pH Adjuster), Ascorbic Acid (Antioxidant), Yellow 5 (Colour), Yellow 6 (Colour).
Musa Paradisiaca Fruit is the scientific Name for a Plantain also known as the Banana.
Although you might be confused because "Musa sapientum" and "Musa paradisiaca" are the old scientific terms for parthenocarpic bananas.
The modern terms are Musa acuminata and or Musa balbisiana.
Either way right in the ingredients it says there is Banana......
Customer Avatar
baby
 
Please wait while more information about baby is loaded.
Additional information about baby could not be loaded.
Ingredients are listed here on the site
Posted May 3, 2011
AND on the bottle.
Fruit is the second ingredient after water.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 15 for Banana Conditioner
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Location: hickory
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
Smells good but wont buy again
Date:July 3, 2015
Small! I got this and shampoo. I have thick curly hair and this seems to do absolutely nothing to my hair unless I use ALOT of it. So obviously it doesnt last long. Smells good but smell does not last after shower. So I wouldnt buy again. Feels like a waste of money.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Banana Conditioner
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Seattle, WA
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
Moisturizing
Date:April 2, 2015
I like the banana conditioner -it is moisturizing and leaves my hair soft and silky. Sometimes I use it with the banana shampoo, other times with other shampoo. Both times it works great. It smells great out of the bottle and when I am using it. But it leaves no residual banana scent after rinsing.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Banana Conditioner
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Eureka
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
Smells Amazing
Date:January 30, 2015
I LOVE this conditioner. My hair is so soft and shiny now, even my boyfriend noticed a difference. And it smells amazing - I sniff my hair throughout the day because it smells that good. Love this conditioner.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Banana Conditioner
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Lewiston, NY
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Black
SkinType: Oily
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
Smells great but wish it moisturized better.
Date:January 23, 2015
I love the smell of the Banana Shampoo and Conditioner but I have to use them every other day since they started to dry my hair. I also recommend using the coconut oil hair shine in between to keep hair feeling silky smooth.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Banana Conditioner
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Location: Baltimore, MD
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Did not live up to expectations
Date:January 19, 2015
We love Body Shop products, and after seeing the excellent reviews for the Banana Shampoo & Conditioner, when my daughter asked to try it, I said of course. She's been using it for a couple of weeks now and I have to say that it is just not cutting it.
Her hair is lovely, healthy, balanced, long, straight, medium thick hair, and has no special needs at all. Since using the Banana Shampoo & Conditioner, her hair is dry, tangles easily, has even developed mats. It has no life to it anymore.
It smells great (if you like fruity bath products), and seems to work wonderfully for a lot of people, but I feel as though we wasted our money.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Banana Conditioner
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Las Cruces
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Better Than Expected
Date:January 6, 2015
I've been using Body Shop Body Butter for several years, and that's really been the only product I've used. I've slowly started trying different products because I love the Body Butter so much. I was hesitant to try the Banana Conditioner because I have very long, full hair and I usually have to use a ton of conditioner. I've tried expensive salon products and inexpensive drug store products, and honestly the inexpensive ones work better. I read all the reviews for this product and it was on sale, so I gave it a try and I LOVE it. I've been living in the southwestern desert of NM for about 12 years and my hair has suffered from the dry conditions, but this conditioner is amazing. I didn't have to use as much as I thought I would and it smells great. My hair is soft, shiny, and full of life. It is expensive when you're used to giant bottles of off brand products for less than $5, but it is totally worth it. I don't think I can afford to buy it all the time, but I will keep using it when I can.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>