Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Shea Body Scrub

This new reformulated oil-based soft textured body scrub contains loads of exfoliating salt grains.
Average Customer Rating:
4.619 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(118 Reviews) 117
Open Ratings Snapshot
rating snapshot (118 reviews)
5 stars
89
4 stars
17
3 stars
9
2 stars
2
1 star
1
94%would recommend to a friend
Customer Reviews for Shea Body Scrub
Review 1 for Shea Body Scrub
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Location: New York
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Greasy residue
Date:November 10, 2011
This left a greasy residue and made my skin very shiny. I love TBS products but I will stay away from this one. Recommended for very very dry skin. Would recommend for winter weather.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
GSNJ92
 
Please wait while more information about GSNJ92 is loaded.
Additional information about GSNJ92 could not be loaded.
Posted January 8, 2012
I do agree that it can be a bit on the greasy side, but it works well for the winter.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Shea Body Scrub
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Location: Los Angeles
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Ehh
Date:June 26, 2011
I bought this product because of all the good reviews it got and was excited to use it. The first time, I didn't see a difference. I used it a second time to give it a benefit of the doubt, but was still disappointed with this scrub. It didn't really do anything and I'm going to see if I can return or exchange it.
Although, I did like that it had a lot of grainy suds and the smell, but that's about it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MixedChick520
 
Please wait while more information about MixedChick520 is loaded.
Additional information about MixedChick520 could not be loaded.
Posted November 8, 2014
I completely agree. This product has an odd consistency.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Shea Body Scrub
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Chicago
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
My favorite scrub!
Date:February 14, 2012
My first love in bath scrubs was with a delightfully scented sugar scrub from another retailer. It was love at first use, but I always hated how oily the product was. Thus I started seeing other scrubs. And what I love about Body Shop scrubs is that even though they contain oil, the scrubby bits don't sit at the bottom of a pool of the stuff. They never leave me feeling oily before rinsing off in the shower. And the Shea scrub is by far my favorite. Leaves me feeling silky soft with a wonderful light fragrance that's not quite sweet and not quite nutty. It's even nice just to do a brief hand scrub after a long day of work. Can't get enough of the stuff!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shea Body Scrub
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Location: Albuquerque
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: 50 -54
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Lack of Firmness
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
Not as moisturizing as I had hoped....
Date:July 24, 2015
Shea Body Scrub: I LOVE TBS products and especially the body scrubs....(I have tried Mango, Mojito Lime, Coconut and now the Shea scrub). My first body scrub purchase was the Mango and because I have Dry Skin it was absolutely Fantastic! Based on the reviews and verbiage that Shea Scrub was for 'very' dry skin, I thought this would work super great on my skin.
I just bought a jar of this and tried it three times before reviewing. I LOVE the scent - but am disappointed in the moisturizing capabilities. In summer my skin is 'normal to dry' and in winter it is 'dry'. It is summertime as I type this review, and my skin is not nearly as dry as it gets in the winter. When I use the mango scrub I don't even need body butter after (although I use it any way to layer for scent! ) but with the Shea Scrub I absolutely have to put on body butter after as it does not moisturize enough. I am wondering if the product has gone through some changes??? As a matter of fact, the Mojito Lime scrub is way more moisturizing than the Shea, which is odd based on the verbiage for each product that TBS puts out. (Also, all of the Virgin Mojito line is amazing and you should try it!!)
Although I LOVE the mango scrub, I am needing to find a body scrub with a SCENT that is more appropriate for the colder season, but that still moisturizes my skin as much as the Mango.....Unfortunately it is not going to be the Shea Body Scrub.......Still looking.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shea Body Scrub
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: concord, NC
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Good for Dry Skin
Date:July 6, 2015
I have tried a lot of the scrubs for TBS and this is the one I always go back to. It leaves my skin feeling clean and moisturized. I don't worry about moisturizing after I use this scrub because it leaves my skin with a layer of oil on it after the shower. Although it could be slightly more exfoliating in my opinion.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shea Body Scrub
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: chicago
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
not abrasive enough
Date:March 7, 2015
Not much scrubbing power to this one. In fact, the product was lumpy and had an unpleasant smell. I wonder if the product went bad somehow. Also left a residue on my skin that required we to wash myself again.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shea Body Scrub
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Dallas/Ft. Worth
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: 50 -54
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Other
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
LOVE! <3
Date:February 13, 2015
Best.scrub.ever. (Ditto for the Mango)
I've noticed other reviewers commenting on the 'greasy/oily' residue left behind after using this -- and it's true. BUT, that's precisely the reason I love this scrub! This product achieves just the right balance of enough-without-too-much-scrubbiness, with the added bonus of leaving my dry skin so moisturized that I don't even need to apply anything additional after use.
THIS scrub and the Mango are the only two I use, for the reasons stated above.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shea Body Scrub
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: East St. Louis, IL
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: Above 60
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Oily
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: Weekly
Great Product
Date:November 19, 2014
This product lives up to its description. It has done wonders for my very dry skin. Love this scrub. Would recommend this scrub to anyone with dry skin.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shea Body Scrub
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Chicago
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Normal
SkinConcern: Lack of Radiance
Frequency: Weekly
The best scrub ever
Date:September 7, 2014
The body shop shea scrub is one of my favorites from their line. Actually I adore the whole Shea line and every product is really worth mentioning. Especially if you have dry skin like me. I love how gentle it is but moisturizing, never heavy or greasy but it still gives very good nourishment to the skin. Shea scrub has very creamy and thick texture, that is rough enough to provide very good exfoliation but at the same time it's gentle enough if you have dry or sensitive skin. Usually scrubs that are meant for dry skin are way to gentle or the texture is thin and falls apart in the shower. With TBS Shea scrub this never happens since the texture is so thick. A little goes a long way. Usually it lasts me about two months if I use it once a week. This scrub is perfect combo of sea salts and sugar to provide easy removal of dead skin while shea provides moisturizing. When you rinse it off at first you will notice almost "oily" residue since it's rich in oils but it absorbs super quickly and by the time you towel dry your skin you will not feel any kind of residue on the skin. It leaves skin super soft and silky smooth. If your skin is not really dry you do not even have to follow with any kind of moisturizer - shea in this scrub would be just enough moisturizing.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shea Body Scrub
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Big Rapids, Michigan
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
Amazing Item
Date:September 2, 2014
One of the best things I have purchased from The Body Shop. A little goes a long way! This scrub not only smells amazing, but makes your skin feels silky smooth in the shower. I recommend to anyone who wants a gentle scrub!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shea Body Scrub
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Sacramento
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: 45 - 49
Smells Delicious!
Date:August 28, 2014
I love this stuff! It smells so good! I used this after the shea shower cream and could not believe how soft and luxurious this made my skin feel. It just sort of melts into your body. I love it so much!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shea Body Scrub
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Delaware
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Fair
Great for my skin
Date:August 8, 2014
I was skeptical about getting an exfoliator for my skin because my skin is quite sensitive
But this product is awesome. I love the big chunks in it and it really gets rid of the dead skin and leaves my skin extremely soft and not over exfoliated.
The smell is a plus as well. And it's really a bang for your buck because it lasts really long and a little goes a long way
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shea Body Scrub
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Oakdale
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Normal
Frequency: Weekly
Fantastic–– Absolutely Fantastic
Date:June 26, 2014
This product is literally perfect. I have never used an exfoliant like this before. It leaves the skin feeling so hydrated and fresh, and it works wonders on ALL skin types. Another review mentioned the greasy residue. Petting your face down with a cool washcloth takes care of that instantly. I have shared this product with many friends (probably about 10–all with different skin types) and they all rave about it. This product is truly excellent and I would recommend it to literally everyone. You will NOT regret this purchase!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shea Body Scrub
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Madison, WI
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 55 - 60
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Very Dry
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Daily
Best dry skin scrub
Date:June 25, 2014
I have very dry skin. This scrub, along with the Olive Oil Body Wash has been a daily ritual for me in keeping my skin moisturized and smooth.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shea Body Scrub
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Gulfport, Mississippi
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Lack of Radiance
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
Creamy and delicious-smelling
Date:June 13, 2014
This scrub smells AMAZING. I hadn't yet tried the Shea body butter because it smelled a little different to me, but when I smelled this one it was like heaven. It exfoliates pretty well; I use a dry brush in the shower to exfoliate even more because I have very dry skin. This stuff makes my skin smell so good, and my skin looks so radiant after I get out of the shower. I can't wait to try other scents.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shea Body Scrub
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Chicago
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Normal
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: Weekly
Made skin oh so soft!
Date:June 7, 2014
I really like the shea body scrub because it did make my skin really soft after using it. I liked the scent too. Earlier, I had tried the mango body scrub and found it to be extremely moisturizing and I did not need a moisturizer after using it. The shea scrub was the same. I am not sure of the exfoliating property of it but it really softened my skin.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shea Body Scrub
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Lincoln, NE
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 45 - 49
SkinTone: Dark
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Other
Frequency: Daily
Can't Live Without It
Date:March 6, 2014
The best skin care product I have ever used. I live in a very dry climate with harsh winters and hard water. I have spent a small fortune on medicated lotions just to keep my skin from cracking in the winter. For me this works like a dream. It has a soft natural scent that blends with other fragrances. Of all the body scrubs, this one leaves the most oil on your skin - which is a HUGE plus to me. I wish it didn't run out so often. And I wish it came in a larger size because I would buy a whole tub full. Please don't stop making this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shea Body Scrub
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Northridge
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
AMAZING!!!!!!
Date:February 27, 2014
I never write reviews but this stuff is AMAZING!!! I have very dry skin and this scrub adds moisture to every part of my body. And it smells sooo good. I will never use another scrub again!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shea Body Scrub
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Zanesville
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
Great for any skin type!
Date:January 28, 2014
I love this stuff! Makes my skin extremely soft and leaves a great smell for hours! Especially love this for my legs in the winter to keep them moisturized. Definitely will be a re-purchase. :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shea Body Scrub
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Location: San Francisco
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Normal
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Other
Too strong fragrance
Date:November 6, 2013
After reading the reviews, I was excited to receive this in the mail. I do not normally purchase beauty products without seeing them in the store first, but I figured since the reviews were so overwhelmingly positive that I couldn't go wrong. Well- I was wrong. The fragrance for this item, which people reviewed as "light" is actually pretty strong and can best be described as cheap mens cologne (ie: cool water). Also- it is quite greasy. If you have severely dry skin and don't mind that scent then I would say you might enjoy this product. Otherwise, I think I will use this on only my feet and hands for the winter time when they are in dire need of exfoliating.
I do not typically buy The Body Shop, but had 1have 1 aromatherapy product that I enjoy and decided to reorder it online and check out other products. I think I will stick to what I know is good from now on. Would not recommend.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
GIGI69
 
Please wait while more information about GIGI69 is loaded.
Additional information about GIGI69 could not be loaded.
SHEA SCRUB REVIEW
Posted November 19, 2013
I BOUGHT THIS SCRUB ALONG WITH 2 OTHER SCRUBS AND THIS IS MY FAVORITE. I LIKE THAT IT LEAVES MY SKIN SUPER SOFT AND SMELLING GOOD ENOUGH TO EAT. I ALSO LIKED THAT I DIDN'T NEED TO USE LOTION AFTERWARDS BECAUSE THERE'S ENOUGH OIL IN IT THAT MY SKIN SOAKS IT UP.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 3 4 5 next>>