Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Coconut Body Butter

Coconut Body Butter
Average Customer Rating:
4.768 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(233 Reviews) 229
Open Ratings Snapshot
rating snapshot (233 reviews)
5 stars
201
4 stars
20
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
2
95%would recommend to a friend
Customer Reviews for Coconut Body Butter
Review 1 for Coconut Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Brigham City, UT
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Combination
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Long Lasting Moisture
Date:June 2, 2013
I absolutely love the Coconut Body Butter! It is the product that got me hooked on basically everything Body Shop. The scent is absolutely amazing and is nothing like other coconut scented products at other stores. The butter is thick and creamy. It leaves my skin feeling soft all day long. I went through my first one really fast. I recommend mixing it with the Coconut Milk Body Lotion; it makes both products last longer and they work fantastically together!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coconut Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: California
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Fair
Frequency: Daily
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Can't stop, won't stop!
Date:December 17, 2013
One of the first ever TBS products I ever laid my hands on and I'm still a fan. Like all the body butters I've got to try, it moisturizes like no other cream or butter from a different brand I've tried before with a great consistency-- thick, yet creamy. As long as you massage it in, it absorbs well and you can feel the softness of your skin as it hydrates even the driest spots especially during winter time. If you like a coconut smell, then this is true to the smell of coconut oil since it contains it. I find it very light and soothing that doesn't trigger a headache for me like most strong scents. I like to use it simply as a arm/hand cream when I'm at home or for my body after washes. The size is quite big (great value) so it isn't very travel friendly, but TBS makes minis for on-the-go use! This body butter is really one of my all-time favorites-- 5/5.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coconut Body Butter
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: Dallas, Texas
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Normal
Frequency: Daily
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Old Product
Date:May 5, 2015
Having always purchased the 1.69oz tub from ULTA I decided to buy the large one online. The product I received, after reading the negative reviews, is old. :| When I opened the tub it was apparent that the consistency was different than the ones I'd purchased before. This, as said in another comment, was drier and flat/cakey like Noxzema lotions. I had to scrape the product out and once applied it melted down but not much. Others complain it leaves a greasy oily feeling, I love that about this product and the one I received was so dry it didn't do that. I am pretty disappointed because it was definitely not worth the $30 spent... I really thought maybe the consistency was supposed to be this way but after reading reviews and clearly seeing the image above, the lotion should most definitely appear whipped and creamy. :(
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Coconut Body Butter
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Philadelphia
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Don't love the smell
Date:March 27, 2015
While this is a great moisturizer, similar to the other body butters I kind of hate the smell. I use coconut oil and like the smell of that but to me this smells like a coconut greek yogurt or almost a coconut scented play dough. Clearly other people like the smell based off the reviews. I am not usually super sensitive to smell but this one just isn't for me.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coconut Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Manhattan Beach, CA
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Fine Lines
Frequency: Daily
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Obsessed!
Date:April 5, 2013
I swear by the Body Shop Body Butters. Nothing works on my skin like them. I get really dry skin on my legs after shaving, and I can only use the Body Butters to prevent any dry flaking or razor bumps. I definitely notice when I don't use it! I also really love this coconut scent. My bf actually picked it out for me, but it is subtle and refreshing. Not too strong like some other scents. Definitely a must have to your daily routine! I switch scents and go between Moroccan Rose, Love, Dreams, Japanese Cherry, and Vitamin E.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coconut Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Seattle
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 45 - 49
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Lack of Radiance
Frequency: Daily
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Like A lot and No Parabens
Date:November 9, 2013
I use almost every TBS Body butter and although coconut scent wasn't my favorite it has grown on me for it's moisturizing abilities and that is contains no parabens. I can only find no parabens in two of the American Butters. The Coconut and the Aloe. The Coconut and Aloe butter are my go to butters as they perform so well on my dry skin and keep it hydrated for hours. I live in very cold drying NW Washington State. I absolutely must have these butters. The coconut butter is a little thicker and has a bit more scent than Aloe. TBS PLEASE take out the parabens in our American sold body butters, Thanks!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Orangena
 
Please wait while more information about Orangena is loaded.
Additional information about Orangena could not be loaded.
Best product for my skin!
Posted February 6, 2014
My hands get extra dry, red and cracked. I use this daily and my hands never felt so good. I get compliments on how soft my hands are. I absolutely love this product!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Coconut Body Butter
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Location: Cleveland
Body Shop employee: No
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Annoyed
Date:July 30, 2013
I'm really annoyed by this body butter. Let me start out by saying that the ONLY reason I bought it is because I love the smell of coconuts and I wanted a lotion with that scent, but I was sadly disappointed. First of all, the butter smells more like chocolate (which I hate) than coconut (which makes sense since there's more cocoa butter than coconut oil in the composition). That in and of itself is annoying. But then when I rub it on my skin, the scent completely changes into this terrible plastic-like smell. It's a good thing the butter actually works or else I would return it, but I'm definitely not repurchasing.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coconut Body Butter
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Location: Charleston, WV
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 45 - 49
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Gray
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Other
Frequency: Other
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Ehhhh
Date:March 1, 2014
Years ago I was a TBS at Home consultant. The coconut products were my favorite and my customers favorite also. Especially the body butter. I sold tons! The composition was "drier" (like Noxzema - for those of you who know what that is) - but moisturized for 24 hours. The coconut smell was fantastic!!! Made me feel as though I was somewhere tropical every time I used it. When L'Oreal bought into the company the composition of the coconut body butter changed. The product became creamier and smelled more floral than coconut - I do not like floral smelling bath products. Needless to say this body butter became my least favorite.
Even though TBS fazed out the At Home division I still love the products. I still buy the products for myself, friends and family members.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coconut Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: New Jersey
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
I am reviewing this product as an entry to a sweepstakes: Yes
Gender: Female
Age: Above 60
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Normal
Love this!
Date:August 24, 2015
I am a big fan of The Body Shop's body butters, and this is my absolute favorite. Perfect in summer, and pretty great in winter too since it smells like summer! Very moisturizing, and I love the scent. I never want to be without this.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coconut Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
I am reviewing this product as an entry to a sweepstakes: Yes
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Normal
SkinConcern: Other
Frequency: Daily
Great product!
Date:August 23, 2015
I love this body butter, it is very moisturizing & has a wonderful smell! I use it during my pregnancy along with Shea butter & so far , I am 32 weeks, no scratch marks. I would recommend this butter but probably to use during cold months or before going to bed as it takes some time for it to absorbed in your skin.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coconut Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Bourbonnais
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
I am reviewing this product as an entry to a sweepstakes: Yes
Gender: Female
Age: 50 - 54
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: Weekly
Awesome
Date:August 17, 2015
So many places have flavored candles, perfumes etc and they just don't really smell like the flavor they claim to be. This coconut is such a perfect scent. Its texture is luxurious! Coconut body butter makes me remember summers as a teenager and suntanning (before we knew it was bad for us! HA!) and brings back the feeling of innocent summers just swimming, and laying on our towels in the grass in the hot sun. Kool Aid, ice pops and the ice cream truck coming. Ahhhhh sooo relaxing!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coconut Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Memphis
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
I am reviewing this product as an entry to a sweepstakes: Yes
Gender: Female
Age: 50 - 54
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Other
Frequency: Daily
Coconut body butter
Date:August 17, 2015
I have been using products from the body shop for over 15 years. Some I love, others not so much. This body butter is by far the best for me and I have got my sister hooked on it. I prefer it to the others because it easily absorbs into my skin and it smells good. I also use it on my hands and I don't have to keep reapplying it. I suggest putting it on immediately after a shower or bath while the skin is still damp. There's everything to love about it. My skin is radiant and youthful. My daughters love mango and Shea butter line as well, but I am coco for coconut! Sorry!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coconut Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: USA
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
I am reviewing this product as an entry to a sweepstakes: Yes
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Oily
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Other
Island Vacation in a Jar
Date:August 17, 2015
This is the creamiest and most moisturizing coconut product I've ever tried. If you're looking to try a product that lives up to its claims, give this one a chance! You won't be disappointed.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coconut Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Renton
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
I am reviewing this product as an entry to a sweepstakes: Yes
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Shine
Frequency: Daily
Coconut Body Butter
Date:August 12, 2015
I have dry feet and this is the only Cream I've found that stops the peeling and cracking. I love it!!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coconut Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Madison CT
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
I am reviewing this product as an entry to a sweepstakes: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Daily
Coconut obsessed
Date:August 7, 2015
I have been buying al my cruelty free products from the Body Shop for 5 yrs now, and I love it.! The coconut line is totally awesome, especially this body butter. The price is a little steep, but a lot of this goes a long way and absorbs into the skin nicely. I am a massage therapist, and would love to see a coconut massage oil added to the line. Definitely buying again! Thank you!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coconut Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Boston, MA
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: Daily
I am reviewing this product as an entry to a sweepstakes: Yes
Love
Date:August 4, 2015
I love this body butter! It smells so good, very fresh and coconutty. Not like the awful sunscreen coconut but real coconut! It's so moisturizing and is a summer must for me!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coconut Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Southern Region
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Can't get enough of this scent!
Date:July 14, 2015
This scent reminds me of the 80's-90's when tanning lotion and sunscreen us to smell phenomenal. I found this scent very nostalgic and can't believe how much I like it. I never, never buy anything coconut but decided to give it a try because of all the reviews. So glad I did. I actually think it would be great in the winter, too. It's a comforting scent to me.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coconut Body Butter
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Location: Know, Where
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Normal
Maybe because it was old?
Date:May 12, 2015
Okay,
So I remember *really* liking this scent the last time I binged out on TBS about a year before I bought this batch.
I got a travel size and a full size coconut butter along with the Raspberry (my fav) and a few other things.
The travel went to a friend and it looked normal. I didn't try it on though.
The full size though, *looks* old and I can't really say I can smell the coconut well when I tried putting it on. Maybe under the shea smell, but yeah, major letdown from the coconut bliss I remember.
It was part of the free promotion though, so maybe they were trying to get rid of old material?
It certainly still moisturizes though, so I can't fault it on that. Guess it's getting relegated to overnight foot cream duty.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Alla
 
Please wait while more information about Alla is loaded.
Additional information about Alla could not be loaded.
update;
Posted May 13, 2015
I tried mixing it in the jar, thinking maybe all the coconut smell had settled on the bottom.
No luck, but it now also feels gritty and uneven.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Coconut Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Daily
Wasn't my fave @ first...
Date:March 13, 2015
Wasn't my fave @ first, thought it smelled kind of plain, but figured it would be a pleasant, neutral scent to get me through the winter (and it didn't give me a headache, which for me, is HUGE!) After I had it on though it seemed to turn sweet and creamy and slightly floral ...just delicious!! I love it on it's own but it also doesn't seem to compete with either honey or mango scents (I can use both without giving myself a headache but I use less of the honey because I'm more sensitive to florals - shower gel is just fine and body butter doesn't stay too strong if i don't use too much. Tried the moringa scent too, pretty but too strong for me). I just bought a couple of the travel size coconut butters to keep in my bag. If you're not super impressed at first, give it a minute.
btw.. I got this in the "Ultimate Body Care" monster box. Every product in it is a winner. Terrific value!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Coconut Body Butter
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Bethlehem
Body Shop employee: Yes
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Lack of Firmness
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
Good
Date:February 26, 2015
It has a mild smell of coconut , I wish it was a bit stronger. I love to use it all over and on my neck .I think it works great as a neck cream! Nice moisturization.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>