Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Coconut Oil Hair Shine

Shines and defines all hair types.
Average Customer Rating:
4.538 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
rating snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
1
92%would recommend to a friend
Customer Reviews for Coconut Oil Hair Shine
Review 1 for Coconut Oil Hair Shine
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Twindwarfsmom
Location: Columbus, OH
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 50 -54
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Normal
SkinConcern: Fine Lines
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
Amazing!
Date:March 6, 2014
This product is amazing! I have long thick color treated hair that gets abused with hairdryers and straightening irons. My hair gets a little upset after all this and using this product helps calm it down. I just rub three fingers of each hand lightly over the oil and gently drag and rub it throughout my hair. It really helps with the little frizzies and makes it shine and look really healthy. I never want to be without it. I've tried just about every product on the market and this is my favorite!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coconut Oil Hair Shine
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
aaliyahxx
Location: California
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Normal
SkinConcern: Shine
Frequency: Other
I love it
Date:January 18, 2014
I love everything with Coconut,so this was a new try for me. I usually NEVER use something for my hair,because I'm scared,that I can't brush it anymore or it would look ugly,but this one made my hair smell like Coconut and it feels very soft on your hand and like a soap. I would recommend this to a friend,who loves Coconut too ! :)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coconut Oil Hair Shine
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Revelationgirl
Location: Monongahela
Gender: Female
Age: 45 - 49
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Normal
SkinConcern: Fine Lines
Frequency: Other
Not for fine hair!
Date:May 16, 2013
I wanted to try a shine product that you could use on dry hair. This doesn't work for me. The product feels heavy on my fine hair, leaves it feeling dirty.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Coconut Oil Hair Shine
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
DollMaryDMSE
Location: New York
Great for Men
Date:May 9, 2013
I bought this for my husband, who has thick and curly hair. It works very well and the smell is light and unisex.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coconut Oil Hair Shine
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Location: Norfolk, VA
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Normal
SkinConcern: Fine Lines
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Great If You Know How To Use It
Date:March 27, 2013
I love it. I have read other reviews and if you know how to use it, its amazing. I have fine hair, my daughter has thick hair, and my best friend has kinky curly hair and we all love it. It only takes a tiny amount, rub your hands together and work through your hair. If you have too much on your hands, lightly grab a towel to remove the excess before using. This is a small tin, yes, but it lasts for a while. Plus they always have awesome sales so you can get it for a lesser price. Also, its way cheaper than the stuff at the salon and has better ingredients. Your hair feels so soft and smooth with this product. The smell is also wonderful. Love it!!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coconut Oil Hair Shine
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
M3ASM
Location: Central PA
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Normal
SkinConcern: Fine Lines
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Great for taming frizz
Date:March 21, 2013
I was skeptical about this, but it works a lot like hair oils do. Use sparingly, and keep in mind that a little goes a long way with hair oil. I have thick, coarse hair and I can tolerate a lot, but I still only take a tiny bit. Take a tiny bit, warm in your hands and then smooth over your top layer once hair is dry.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coconut Oil Hair Shine
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
LeahB
Location: Dublin
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Dry
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
Works Well!
Date:March 11, 2013
A little goes a long way with this product! I wasn't sure about the smell at first (somewhat coconutty, but with something a little earthy added in there too) but I've gotten used to it and it's pleasant, just different. It does smooth my hair and condition it a little, but I wouldn't recommend it for all-day smoothing. I like to put a good amount in my hair and wrap it in a bun to sleep on. Getting this product at half price makes it a good value; I would not buy it at regular price. I've had mine since December and I haven't used up probably more than 1/16th of the tin (and I use it a lot!) so it lasts a long time. Overall, a good product!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
PollyB
 
Please wait while more information about PollyB is loaded.
Additional information about PollyB could not be loaded.
It's ok
Posted May 11, 2013
The reviews of this product are all great but I can't join that group. Guess there has to be a decenter in every group. A little goes a long way but 1/2 of that is too much for my hair. I'll pass it along to someone with lots of thick hair. Might work for her.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Coconut Oil Hair Shine
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
pinkcocohawaii
Location: Kamuela, Hawaii
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
so helpful with frizzy hair
Date:December 29, 2012
I have long, wavy hair and when I get out of the shower, it frizzes as it dries. I've always been really frustrated with this problem, and decided to try this on a whim. I've tried plenty of products in the past and none works as well as this does. It dries in the container, but all it takes is a few rubs with your fingers and it brings the product back to life. It is notable to mention it's a solid balm, not a butter consistency as some would expect. A little goes a long way, and be careful not to use too much... especially around the hairline, as this can make it look greasy. Running this through my hair a couple times while it's drying completely eliminates my frizziness, and the product will last me a very long time. Great value.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coconut Oil Hair Shine
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
allsmiles
Location: Reno
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Lovely when using correct amount
Date:December 14, 2012
This is a balm. This means you have to rub your hand against it, not "dip" into it.
It makes my hair less frizzy. You have to experiment to figure out the right amount for you. Too much and you appear greasy and need another shower. Too little and your hair is dry.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coconut Oil Hair Shine
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Location: St. Augustine
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
Big power in a little tin
Date:November 24, 2012
Love love this product and will def buy again before Christmas. It's effective lasting quite some time despite being only 1 oz. I love using it when I flat iron my medium length 3b hair as it adds healthy shine and a little hold with a nice mild scent.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coconut Oil Hair Shine
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
AmberSunshine
Location: Paducha, KY
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
Surprised
Date:November 20, 2012
I have long(past the middle of my back) wavy hair. It's not extremely wavy, but gets frizzy easily. I bought this product on a whim, and since my hair gets greasy fast I was afraid to use it. But pleasantly I found that I'm in LOVE with this product! It takes my hair to a whole new level, it literally defines my curls, and de-frizzes instantly. The smell isn't so much coconut, but still nice.(Not strong smelling) I will say that I've only applied this to my hair while dry, and only on the middle, and tips. The only dislike I have is that, the tin this comes in is way smaller than I'd imagined...but other than that I will absolutely re-purchase. I'd say if you're thinking about buying this do so, for 10$ it's definitely worth a try!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coconut Oil Hair Shine
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
ValerieD
Location: San Antonio
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
Great and good value
Date:October 28, 2012
I have curly hair and this is great. When your hair is dry, just smooth this on and fizziness is gone and your hair smells like Hawaiian Tropic tanning oil. That's what it smells like to me anyways. It adds a healthy shine to your hair. But for me, it was just amazing how it treated my curls. I can even twirl some strands together to make very smooth spirals.
But use very little. And I mean very little! I rub my finger over it a few times like I'm mixing fingerpaints. Then I rub my hands together and smooth it all over. If you're dipping your finger in it or scraping it off, you're most likely using way too much. Use as little as possible and then apply more if needed. It's easier to add more than it is to remove.
If you apply it to the ends of your hair, it won't look oily by your scalp. The next day it will look even more worked through. I tried applying it to damp hair when in a rush. It didn't go on very well for me. If you are constantly running your hands through your hair like me, it will leave your hands very smooth.
I use the banana shampoo and conditioner, it washes it completely out.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coconut Oil Hair Shine
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
ForeverFan
Location: Round Lake Beach, IL
Gender: Male
Age: 35 - 39
Just perfect!
Date:October 10, 2012
It smells heavenly and adds just the right amount of shine and control.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coconut Oil Hair Shine
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
VanBeeks
Location: Salt Lake City
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
Good Product
Date:August 3, 2012
I like this product. It had good reviews so I bought it when it was on sale. Good purchase! It controls the frizzy hair and it makes my hair shiny. I can't really smell the good coconut smell when I put it on, but at least it doesn't smell bad!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coconut Oil Hair Shine
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Momster
Location: Nine Mile Falls
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Great for curly/wavy hair
Date:July 10, 2012
This works best if you apply it the night before - it kind of needs time to soak in or absorb. (Add very little just at the ends & brush/pic through) It's great for those of us with curly or wavy hair. I can actually pic or brush my hair throughout the day when I have this product in & not have it get super poofy. It does NOT smell like coconut at all, but more like the honey based line of skin care. Works great on chapped hands too...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coconut Oil Hair Shine
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
hairpicky
Location: Grand rapids
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Yuck
Date:July 5, 2012
I hoped this smelled very tropical/coconutty. It doesn't.. I didn't like the constancy or the way my hair felt. It is sticky not smooth. I use Enjoy oil and tried this because it was cheaper. You get what you pay for.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coconut Oil Hair Shine
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
vmpyrchik
Location: Naples, FL
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
A little dab will do ya
Date:June 24, 2012
Great for frizzy hair, but GO EASY. It can be very heavy if you use too much. I have a can that is at least 10 years old and it's still going (I don't use it all the time obviously, but it's still exactly the same as I bought it). I wish they'd bring back the old-school looking red can that it used to be in, though. It was fun looking. :)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coconut Oil Hair Shine
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Location: Austin, TX
I love this stuff!
Date:June 15, 2012
I have very short hair and this is perfect to keep it shiny and smelling great. A little bit goes a long way, a portion about the size of a dime works great.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coconut Oil Hair Shine
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
sunshine93
Location: OR
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Dry hair remedy!
Date:June 14, 2012
This is great for my curly hair! It tames fly away hair and gives it a healthy glow. Definatley not meant for thin hair, but works miricles on curly or coarse hair. A little goes a long way, so you don't need much to get your desired look. the scent is lovely and i will be getting this again!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Coconut Oil Hair Shine
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jocie
Location: Pittsburgh
Be Careful
Date:June 2, 2012
The first time I tried this product I used WAY to much and my hair was gross, so you have to be really careful about how much you use. This is great for thick, dry hair that needs an extra boost, like mine. However, I let my sister try it, who has very thin hair, and it made hers extremely greasy. But, it smells great!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>