Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Coconut Oil Hair Shine

Shines and defines all hair types.
Average Customer Rating:
4.514 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(72 Reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
rating snapshot (72 reviews)
5 stars
51
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
1
92%would recommend to a friend
Customer Reviews for Coconut Oil Hair Shine
Review 1 for Coconut Oil Hair Shine
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: OR
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Dry hair remedy!
Date:June 14, 2012
This is great for my curly hair! It tames fly away hair and gives it a healthy glow. Definatley not meant for thin hair, but works miricles on curly or coarse hair. A little goes a long way, so you don't need much to get your desired look. the scent is lovely and i will be getting this again!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coconut Oil Hair Shine
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Tucson
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Great for Textured, Thick, Dry Hair
Date:May 14, 2012
I wouldn't recommend this to people who have fine, thin, oily, or non-ethnic hair...not sure how to word that right.
Basically this is great for people of ethnic backgrounds who have very thick, dry, coarse or textured hair.
If you grab a quarter sized amount and rub it in your hands just enough to make it easily spreadable, it works great to helps moisturize the hair or rub into scalp. It smells GREAT!!!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coconut Oil Hair Shine
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Syracuse
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Wow!
Date:May 7, 2012
I was really skeptical about this product. I have incredibly thin hair, that gets greasy really easily. This product got really good reviews, so I decided to give it a try. The container is small, but you really only need a litttttle bit! I wasn't sure how to use it, so I took a small amount, rubbed it between my hands and worked it through the ends of my hair. It is awesome! My hair is soft and silky smooth. My girlfriend actually commented on how soft my hair was, and she didn't know I had put any in! The Body Shop- great job with this one!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Coconut Oil Hair Shine
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Norfolk, VA
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Normal
SkinConcern: Fine Lines
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Great If You Know How To Use It
Date:March 27, 2013
I love it. I have read other reviews and if you know how to use it, its amazing. I have fine hair, my daughter has thick hair, and my best friend has kinky curly hair and we all love it. It only takes a tiny amount, rub your hands together and work through your hair. If you have too much on your hands, lightly grab a towel to remove the excess before using. This is a small tin, yes, but it lasts for a while. Plus they always have awesome sales so you can get it for a lesser price. Also, its way cheaper than the stuff at the salon and has better ingredients. Your hair feels so soft and smooth with this product. The smell is also wonderful. Love it!!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coconut Oil Hair Shine
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Central PA
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Normal
SkinConcern: Fine Lines
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Great for taming frizz
Date:March 21, 2013
I was skeptical about this, but it works a lot like hair oils do. Use sparingly, and keep in mind that a little goes a long way with hair oil. I have thick, coarse hair and I can tolerate a lot, but I still only take a tiny bit. Take a tiny bit, warm in your hands and then smooth over your top layer once hair is dry.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coconut Oil Hair Shine
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Reno
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Lovely when using correct amount
Date:December 14, 2012
This is a balm. This means you have to rub your hand against it, not "dip" into it.
It makes my hair less frizzy. You have to experiment to figure out the right amount for you. Too much and you appear greasy and need another shower. Too little and your hair is dry.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coconut Oil Hair Shine
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Nine Mile Falls
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Great for curly/wavy hair
Date:July 10, 2012
This works best if you apply it the night before - it kind of needs time to soak in or absorb. (Add very little just at the ends & brush/pic through) It's great for those of us with curly or wavy hair. I can actually pic or brush my hair throughout the day when I have this product in & not have it get super poofy. It does NOT smell like coconut at all, but more like the honey based line of skin care. Works great on chapped hands too...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coconut Oil Hair Shine
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: Grand rapids
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Yuck
Date:July 5, 2012
I hoped this smelled very tropical/coconutty. It doesn't.. I didn't like the constancy or the way my hair felt. It is sticky not smooth. I use Enjoy oil and tried this because it was cheaper. You get what you pay for.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Coconut Oil Hair Shine
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Naples, FL
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
A little dab will do ya
Date:June 24, 2012
Great for frizzy hair, but GO EASY. It can be very heavy if you use too much. I have a can that is at least 10 years old and it's still going (I don't use it all the time obviously, but it's still exactly the same as I bought it). I wish they'd bring back the old-school looking red can that it used to be in, though. It was fun looking. :)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coconut Oil Hair Shine
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Arizona
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Great Shine for Frizzy, Dry Hair
Date:April 19, 2012
I am so glad I took a chance on this. It smells great and leaves my hair soft and shiny. Tames the frizzies and lasts all day.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coconut Oil Hair Shine
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Washington, DC
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Excellent product!
Date:January 13, 2012
This oil has brought my dull and burnt hair back to life. It is shiny and silky now. The oil works better than expensive masks and other useless restorative treatments.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coconut Oil Hair Shine
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: chicago ridge
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Awesome!
Date:December 5, 2011
I'm a sucker for anything coconut. I tried it basically because its smells of coconut and my hair is fairly dry. This stuff rocks. Its easy to get out of the container and apply to hair. I was worried that there is a fine line of applying too much and looking like you havent washed your hair in days. Not for me, I have also used this on wet and dry hair with no issues.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coconut Oil Hair Shine
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Tampa
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
love this product
Date:October 1, 2011
Not only does this product make my hair look absolutely amazing, but the scent is also wonderful. It may smell strongly of coconut upon application, but some of the scent fades and leaves your hair smelling subtly of coconut. I've gotten so many compliments! I use it in my hair after blow drying and/or straightening. On lazy days, I don't style at all and just use this product. The frizz and dullness immediately disappear. The product also lasts for a while because you don't need too much, and it's so convenient for travel because it's a solid. This product is definitely a keeper!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coconut Oil Hair Shine
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: virginia beach
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
good
Date:August 20, 2011
When you get to use this product, you need to be very careful with the amount that you gonna use; if you are using to much, your hair will get very oily, very fast. When I used it on my hair, which is medium long, used as much as I could wipe with my fingers from the box, the product it's solid- anyway...1 st day will be wonderful but 2 nd day, not good anymore, my hair need it a wash!!
Otherwise, the smell it's great and the texture of your hair will get a lot softer!!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Coconut Oil Hair Shine
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: New York
Gender: Female
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Superb!
Date:March 23, 2011
I have very kinky curly hair that frizzes easily. This controls that beautifully. You may use a lot and it acts as a hair relaxer. I never leave home without it!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coconut Oil Hair Shine
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: California
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
I'm obsessed
Date:March 26, 2012
I just bought this a couple weeks ago and I am totally obsessed with it. I love the smell and it makes my hair crazy shiny. Now I've been trying to find a coconut scented candle and some coconut body spray, I wish the body shop carried some!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coconut Oil Hair Shine
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Kansas City
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: Daily
This Is Good
Date:December 12, 2014
I was skeptical about trying this at first. I thought it would be similar to a balm that I had already been using. This stuff really made my hair shine and controlled frizz without making my hair greasy. I agree with another person's review that this product seems to be made for ethnic hair. I don't know how else to word that...sorry. I am African American and my hair needs oil so this works very well for me. I've used it everyday and my hair still doesn't feel greasy. Both my daughters have really tight curls that can get frizzy and I tried this on them as well and it really did help tame the frizz and added shine. I would repurchase this item.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coconut Oil Hair Shine
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: New York, New York
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: 50 -54
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Other
Frequency: Daily
EXCELLENT FOR DRY HAIR
Date:December 9, 2014
I am currently going through menopause and my hair has become more like hay that my hair. My hair is kinky/curly (which is naturally dry to start with), it's VERY thick and waist length. So I have all the makings for dry, brittle, breaking hair.
I use all sorts of products to moisturize and tame my locks, but for day to day fly away and moisture, I use the Coconut Oil Hair Shine. Just a little through my hair before I comb through helps to minimize tangles and breakage. It's light and doesn't weigh my hair down. It just tames the frizzies, even the grey hairs behave themselves when I use my Coconut Oil Hair Shine. My hair becomes shiny and supple and easy to manage, plus, I love the smell!!
The price will also keep me coming back. It's a great value for the money, especially when it's on sale! I recommend this for anyone with dry, unmanageable hair.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coconut Oil Hair Shine
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Las Vegas
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Normal
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Weekly
Love!
Date:September 7, 2014
I love the formula of this product, and the light, natural scent of coconut. I like how it adds a subtle shine to my hair without looking greasy. Will be using again!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Coconut Oil Hair Shine
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Hollywood
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Dark
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Lack of Radiance
Frequency: Daily
Smooth n Shiny
Date:May 4, 2014
I can use this product everyday and my hair stays hydrated without feeling weighed down. Its not too oily and it does not leave that greasy feel and smell on my hair.I live in a dry climate and this product is my hair's shield during the day against the crispy weather.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>