Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Long Handled Cactus Body Brush

Leaves skin massaged, smooth, and soft.
Average Customer Rating:
4.564 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
rating snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
92%would recommend to a friend
Customer Reviews for Long Handled Cactus Body Brush
Review 1 for Long Handled Cactus Body Brush
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Macon
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 55 - 60
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Daily
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
A slightly longer handle would be superb!
Date:November 21, 2013
The brush is perfect in most ways. The bristles are stiff enough to be great for exfoliating and stimulating circulation, but the handle should have been 2" - 2 1/2" longer. The handle itself is really beautiful thanks to the way the wood is laminated. For anyone who has a problem with the range of motion in their shoulder(s), it may be a bit difficult to get their entire back. You can determine how "brisk" you want to make the scrubbing by how much pressure you apply when you brush.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Long Handled Cactus Body Brush
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Staten Island, NY
Gender: Female
Age: 50 -54
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Weekly
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Excellent for Dry Brushing
Date:June 1, 2013
I purchased this brush a couple of months ago, during a previous sale, and I do not regret it! I read about the technique of dry brushing in "Beauty: The New Basics" by Rona Berg, and it seemed like a really good way to get improved exfoliation results, and it is!
I used the cactus brush today for the first time. I have sensitive skin, but the bristles of the brush were just the right texture - firm, but not unpleasantly harsh. The secret is to not rub too hard with the brush, but just to lightly and quickly brush the skin, preferably always going towards the heart.
I rinsed the brush off with hot water and let it air dry.
I showered and used the exfoliating towel to get an even more complete exfoliation experience, and now my skin is nice and smooth.
The handle of the brush is long enough to reach the back area. For the record, I'm 5'7".
Overall, I highly recommend this brush, and I look forward to many years of use from it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Long Handled Cactus Body Brush
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Las Vegas
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
L.O.V.E This Brush!
Date:June 14, 2012
I went into the Body Shop in Vegas after checking this out online. I wanted to feel it before I bought it. I was recently sunburned to a crisp and was at the lovely peeling stage which even lotion didn't remedy.
I took this brush home and jumped in the shower immediately. I spent 20 minutes scrubbing because it felt so good. I never knew I was so itchy. I got out of the shower and put on the Satsuma body butter and just laid in bed, smelling and feeling like heaven. All the yucky skin flakes were gone, leaving soft, smooth, clean skin.
I LOVE this brush. I use it on my elbows everyday and they're noticeably softer. I hate elephant elbow. I use it after the gym with Satsuma Body Polish and it's like a reward for working my butt off. It's excellent.
Admittedly, I'd rather sheer off a layer of skin than have a gentle scrub so I'm definitely on the higher tolerance side. This brush SCRUBS that's for sure. Love it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Long Handled Cactus Body Brush
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: California
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Best ever
Date:May 28, 2011
I've had this brush for years. It's is GREAT for exfoliating your arms and legs - and it is also great for getting the blood circulating all over your body.
It doesn't hurt - it feels great. Lasts forever - thank you Body Shop!!!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BonnieChristine
 
Please wait while more information about BonnieChristine is loaded.
Additional information about BonnieChristine could not be loaded.
Posted November 30, 2011
Bought this brush as per Mindy Kaling's advice on her blog. Love it!! Keeps my skin feeling fresh and engages circulation. I found it also helps with mild celluloid.
My mom has trouble with dry skin on her back she can't reach, so I bought her one. The length of the stick allows her to reach it, and she feels fresher than she has in awhile!
Great purchase, good deal on price.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Long Handled Cactus Body Brush
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: oakland
Gender: Female
Age: 45 - 49
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
very durable bath/back brush
Date:April 15, 2011
i have had this cactus brush for 5 years and i have used it at least once a week. the bristles have held up very well and have finally started to go flacid. it has been a great investment and will replace it probably at the end of this year. it is a great exfolliator.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Long Handled Cactus Body Brush
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Las Vegas
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Awesome brush
Date:July 2, 2011
This is the best scrubbing brush I ever bought in my 30 years. I love it and it's one of the best things i bought from body shop. Don't waste your money on other back scrubbers and just get this one. It reaches the parts of your body you can't. It also looks bigger than it looks. You will not be sorry. I love a good scrub and this brush delivers.Make sure you hang dry it so it dries naturally.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Long Handled Cactus Body Brush
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Location: Athens, GA
Body Shop employee: No
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Smells AWFUL!!
Date:October 12, 2013
I am so unhappy with this brush I will probably be writing to customer service for a refund. I don't know if this is suppose to be used as a dry brush only but it doesn't say so anywhere on the website and other reviewers have used it in the shower so I assumed it was ok to wet it. Now it smells disgusting! I mean this is one of the weirdest worst smells I have ever smelled. I used it once and then noticed the smell so I took it out of the shower to dry out, but it is dry now and still smells gross. Only one other person has commented on the smell of the handle--it is definitely the handle!--so I don't know if mine was defective or what, but be warned. It's a great brush, it does its job, but it smells AWFUL when wet. If I hear back from customer service I'll try to remember to update this.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
LEW1
 
Please wait while more information about LEW1 is loaded.
Additional information about LEW1 could not be loaded.
Ordering for a friend
Posted November 10, 2013
I love this brush and want to give one to a friend for Christmas. So nice when you don't have someone handy to scrub your back. The bristles may seem a little coarse at first but they soften up. Be sure to let it dry throughly after each use, I put mine on the open window sill to dry.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Long Handled Cactus Body Brush
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: California
Gender: Female
Age: 55 - 60
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Repeat Buyer
Date:November 2, 2011
Love it. Wouldn't use any other. This is the about the 4th.one I have bought. I have been using this for the last 5 years.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Long Handled Cactus Body Brush
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Bronx Ny
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
SkinTone: Dark
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Other
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
I love this body brush
Date:May 13, 2014
when I saw this brush was on sale I had to have it . And was so glad i got it at a great sale price .
It really gets rid of the dead skin and does not feel to harsh on your skin like some brushes can be .
Your skin will feel very soft after and glow .
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Long Handled Cactus Body Brush
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Daily
Lovely and Luxurious
Date:January 4, 2014
I purchased this to use with the Pink Grapefruit Shower gel and was glad I did. It's got a great rough scrubbing texture and reaches everywhere on your back easily. If you hang it to dry, there is no odor issue and I loved it so much I purchased two as gifts for other family members! My husband tried it with soap and while it works, the body wash is a better option. My brush arrived with some bristles bent from the packaging but it resumed it's shape in a couple of days. Overall the brush is durable and helps create a spa-like feel in my tiny bathroom.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Long Handled Cactus Body Brush
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Everett, WA
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Male
Age: 40 - 44
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
BLISS!!!
Date:December 4, 2013
I highly recommend this brush! I was afraid due to reviews of a scent the brush had, but purchased it anyway on a hunch. AMAZING! I am so very happy that I bought it. Use it with your favorite body wash (like Honeymania or Moringa) and there is no odor. Or, keep it in a dry place like a rack/shelf near the shower and you won't have any issue with odor whether you use a body wash with it or not. Made from sustainable products...save the trees and my skin at the same time! Thank you Body Shop!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Long Handled Cactus Body Brush
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Chicago
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Shine
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
Love at first scrub!
Date:June 25, 2013
I love how this brush really exfoliates my skin! It is perfect before shaving to achieve great results :)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Long Handled Cactus Body Brush
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Abilene
Gender: Female
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Green
Frequency: Daily
Sturdy
Date:March 30, 2013
The bristles are quite stiff but definitely exfoliate well. The handle length works fine for me. Only drawback is that the handle has a strong odor that I do not find pleasant. Hopefully it will fade.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Long Handled Cactus Body Brush
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: my place
Gender: Female
Age: 45 - 49
The bristles do soften up
Date:December 28, 2012
I love this brush. When I first got it, I was concerned because the bristles seemed so stiff. After using it several times the bristles softened up and it's perfect. I love using this with a body polish/scrub; it exfoliated perfectly. My skin is left silky smooth. I would recommend this to family and friends.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Long Handled Cactus Body Brush
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: central coast, CALIF
Gender: Female
Age: 45 - 49
So far, so good
Date:September 5, 2012
The name of this brush is very fitting! it IS a cactus brush. Has some very sturdy, hard bristles that really scrub the heck out of your skin! but don't be scared, it's in a good way. It takes some getting used to if you have sensitive skin, but the results are well worth it. Leaves my skin glowing and feeling really clean. I have no issue with the handle being too short? like another reviewer stated. In fact, it's a perfect length. Reaches all of your back. I am thinking of ordering another just to have on hand for when this one loses it's umph!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Long Handled Cactus Body Brush
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Atlanta
Excellent but Unusable
Date:July 20, 2012
This product deserves both a 5-star rating and a 1-star rating. Since the 5-stars are covered, I am giving the other point of view.
This extremely high-quality brush has two flaws that together are fatal. First, the handle is too short. I am not 100% sure that the brush in the picture is the same as the brush that i received, because the pictured brush handle looks longer. In any case, if you are not super limber it will be hard to reach your entire back. I couldn't
Second, the bristles on this thing are HARD. It ought to be called a "cactus brush". (What do you know, that *is* what it is called!) It is comparable to a stiff hairbrush, finger nail brush, or dish scrub brush. It was just too painful to use.
Obviously the Body Shop know about these flaws, because it is priced so incredibly low, . This brush is made in Germany, the handle is gorgeous, and the bristles seem excellent. I would expect it to cost $50. It is with a heavy heart that I return the best-made body brush that I will ever own.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted May 28, 2013
the brush gets softer after 3 uses
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Long Handled Cactus Body Brush
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Flemington
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
Best Body Brush Available
Date:June 21, 2012
My skin tends to clog very easily and scrubs by themselves do not do the job as well as I'd like. This brush is a godsend. I haven't used it with a scrub yet (just body wash; Chocomania, mmm!) and the difference in my skin is dramatic. It's really soft, not rough and all the dead skin has been exfoliated.
I have a new quarter sleeve tattoo on my shoulder that's a few months old and I've had problems with dead skin buildup and blackheads forming over it from the hair regrowth. Ew! It's never happened to me before. I scrub it daily but with the cactus brush I've seen huge improvement and healthier skin.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Long Handled Cactus Body Brush
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Taneytown
Gender: Male
Age: 55 - 60
Mr
Date:June 17, 2012
I have tried all kinds of back brushes but this is the best I have found, all the others fall apart or matt up. You can't find this type of brush in any stores. I've tried Bed Bath & beyound, Walmart, they just don't carry any brushes that are tough like this one.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Long Handled Cactus Body Brush
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Buffalo NY
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
Love it!
Date:May 23, 2012
I totally love this brush. It was stiff at first but once you get used to it (brushing in strokes toward the heart) it's very effective for body brushing and exfoliation. I can't explain to you how nice it feels.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Long Handled Cactus Body Brush
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Olympia, wa
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
Scrubs well, but it is a stiff one!
Date:May 17, 2012
This brush definitely gets the dead skin cells gone! No more will you wonder how to get rid of it. My skin is soft and this brush was great at taking care of that.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>