Product Reviews

Big & Curvy Waterproof Mascara

Average Customer Rating:
2.261 out of 5
2.3
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
rating snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
26
33%would recommend to a friend
Customer Reviews for Big & Curvy Waterproof Mascara
Review 1 for Big & Curvy Waterproof Mascara
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Danart
Location: RPV,CA
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Date:December 13, 2012
i hate this product. Clumps and smears. My eyelashes stick together because of the brush. HATE SAVE YOUR MONEY.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Big & Curvy Waterproof Mascara
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
juaninamil
Location: Redding
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Too thick
Date:May 25, 2013
Didn't work for me, too clumpy. Seems that the brush holds too much product. Maybe a different brush would help because the product does work it's just not easy to apply.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Big & Curvy Waterproof Mascara
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
ltuss
Location: Salem, OR
Gender: Female
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Like Cement!
Date:October 2, 2012
I was really disapointed in this mascara. The product was thick and clumpy and felt like cement during the day. It was very difficult to remove at the end of the day. Also, the brush does not have bristles on it and so lashes became stuck together. After 2 uses, I had to dispose of it.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Big & Curvy Waterproof Mascara
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
patkayfla
Location: Greensboro,NC
Gender: Female
Age: 50 -54
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Not good!
Date:July 6, 2012
LOVE The Body Shop but not this product!!! Clumps, flakes, almost impossible to get off!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Big & Curvy Waterproof Mascara
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
wawi
Location: San Francisco
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
One of the best since
Date:December 5, 2011
Ladies, ladies.....ths is a grt prdct! If and when used crrctly. Best mascara since Maybelline's (small beige tube with gold colored handle) classic and original waterproof formula was canclled (this was my mom's fave and so it became mine as well until they stopped making it).
Anyhow, 2 use, rmove the excess from the tube by gently rubbing the tip on the tube and rotating the brush very lightly. U will see lot's mascara come off the brush. SO......Save ur $$ worth, do not throw it away or rub it all of with paper!!!!
Note, This also prevnts excss and clumping while applying. So ok, Make sure the tube catches it . Do this for a min or so to remove the excess. It may seem like a pain 2 do, but really u r just strtchng ur 18 $'s wrth. Then, hold a small piece of kleenex and give the brush a gentle squeeze to get the look of almost zero mascara on the brush. Trust me, their is plenty left on the brush 4 both eyes. Curl lashes and apply slowly and gently! U may wnt 2 repeat the procss depnding on ur style or how u like ur eyes to look. U will look gorgeous!!!! I did my eyes, and my sis's eyes whom has LONG heavy lashes, she is gonna go and buy it tomorrow. Trust me, follow the directns. And For long and quick drying lashes, Curl, follow the dirctions given while sitting in frnt of a small fan. Let it blow air on LOW setting while applying. Not only will ur eyes start to take a new shape, ur eyes will be done and dry with the look u wnt in a snap!!! Apply liner, and voila!!!
Results: Full, thin to thick (how u wnt) and lnger lashes. U will see amazing results! Trust me. No Kidding! I love it!!!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Big & Curvy Waterproof Mascara
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
RoxyA
Location: North Hills, CA
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Oily
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: Daily
I liked it but...
Date:July 31, 2014
I liked this product, it is waterproof. I have used some mascaras before and they are gooey and give my lashes a disgusting feeling, these with one coat did not feel heavy but very light. I did not have a feeling that I had mascara on, but it does make you lashes look fabulous. It is hard to get off, I did not try the Body Shop waterproof makeup remover because I tried everything to get it off and I could not remove any of it but overall i can not complain. I still liked it but it did have its flaws, sometimes it wouldn't come off till 2-3 days later, so try purchasing a waterproof makeup remover because nothing will get this off and it can leave your lashes dry but all waterproof mascaras do. It does take away some of your lashes like it says but all mascaras do, little by little all mascaras ruin your lashes.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Big & Curvy Waterproof Mascara
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Noon
Location: Westford
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Ruined my contacts
Date:July 30, 2014
Worst mascara I have ever tried. It was difficult to apply, and clumped up, pieces getting onto my contacts. When I took them out, the bits of mascara was like cement on my contacts and could not be removed. I wish that I had read the reviews prior to purchasing.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Big & Curvy Waterproof Mascara
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
cvin
Location: Denver
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Daily
Works as it should - with a little work
Date:July 2, 2014
Okay. Now that I've figured out how to apply this mascara, I absolutely love it and it is by far my favorite mascara I've ever purchased.
The main reason I love it is because it truly is very, very waterproof. It stays on all dang day and well into the night. There is no need for me to freshen up my eye makeup when meeting friends after a long day of work. I LOVE that!
Yes, it is difficult to remove. But that's fine by me for the staying power of this product. Nothing a little coconut oil doesn't take care of.
However, the application brush is absolutely atrocious and makes using the mascara a pain. The problem is the brush holds onto WAY too much of the product. The very first time I tried it, my eyes looked like they were dressed with black widow spiders!
Once I figured out that all I needed to do was gently wipe off the excess mascara on a tissue - and take my time applying with a steady hand (because it's so waterproof, mistakes are almost impossible to correct) - it works beautifully!
Great formula. Horrible application design. I truly hope The Body Shop improves the packaging. I will definitely purchase again, simply because it is the best waterproof mascara formula I've ever used.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Big & Curvy Waterproof Mascara
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
ohsoang
Location: Washington, DC
Body Shop employee: No
A little too waterproof.
Date:February 21, 2014
The wand has super short bristles, which I've never seen before. But the mascara goes on pretty nicely with no more or less clumping than other mascaras. It's definitely waterproof and not very washable. I don't like eye makeup removers because they make the skin around my eyes super dry and sensitive, so I can only wash mascara off while washing my face with my regular cleanser. Which doesn't do much to get this mascara off. I do the best I can, and then pick off whatever remains before I reapply my mascara the next day. I probably won't buy again, but I'll still try their non-waterproof mascaras.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Big & Curvy Waterproof Mascara
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
VickiFL
Location: Orlando, FL
Gender: Female
Age: 45 - 49
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Shine
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
I really like this mascara!
Date:April 18, 2013
I love this mascara! It stays put, even in humid weather! I noticed that some people had a problem with clumping, but I didn't have that problem. All you need to do is blot the brush with a tissue before applying.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Big & Curvy Waterproof Mascara
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Location: Long Island, New York
Gender: Female
Age: 50 -54
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Fine Lines
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
waterproof mascara
Date:April 2, 2013
I love how strong this product is....and it does stay on for a long length of time. Believe me...I use it for work when I work a double shift and it still holds up. The only downfalls are....One-I wish the brush had a better plush bristles for easier application....Two-It's definitely strong because when you try to take off with a good eye makeup remover it gives you a tough time, which can inturn make your lids irritated because of all the rubbing to remove. It feels fine on and doesn't flake.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Big & Curvy Waterproof Mascara
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
clumpylashes
Location: atkanta
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
good mascara-horrible brush
Date:March 6, 2013
This mascara is really really waterproof and I find that it covers lashes nicely and although it is hard to get off if you take your time with an oil based make up remover you should be fine. But... I still dislike this product and will never buy it again. Because the brush is horrible, it comes out of the container with a glop of mascara you can't even see the bristles. How am I supposed to put that on my face, the moment you touch your lashes they get all stuck together with too much mascara on them so that you can't even separate them. I think they need to make either the brush larger or the neck of the container narrower.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Big & Curvy Waterproof Mascara
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Anonymous
Location: Clarkston, WA
Gender: Female
Age: 55 - 60
clumpy, messy
Date:September 16, 2012
it clumps, then it gets all over your eyelid and because it is waterproof, it is impossible to get off without some sort of solvent. will not buy again.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Big & Curvy Waterproof Mascara
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Momtoegb
Location: Charleston
Terrible brush
Date:June 19, 2012
I think the problem with this is the brush. The mascara globs on the brush then clumps on your lashes. If you wipe the brush with a tissue before using then it is ok. It doesn't make your lashes big and curvy like promised. It does stay on very well.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Big & Curvy Waterproof Mascara
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
pilarzmom
Location: Colorado
Gender: Female
Age: 50 -54
run, don't walk, away from this!
Date:June 9, 2012
Worst mascara ever! I bought this for a vacation since I knew I'd be swimming. It stays on, for sure, but it clumps and doesn't to a thing for lashes. I fortunately didn't pay the full price since I had a lot of points and a birthday gift credit. But a huge disappointment.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Big & Curvy Waterproof Mascara
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
wmmacc
Location: Fairfield, CT
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
Horrible, horrible mascara
Date:May 25, 2012
This is without a doubt the absolute WORST mascara I have ever used. The formula is both clumpy and runny, hard to believe I know. Made a terrible, clumpy mess of my lashes, and then couldn't get the mascara off. The brush is basically useless, it has barely any bristles and is little more than a slightly fuzzy stick. After using the mascara once and recapping tightly, mascara leaked out from the cap. I returned the mascara to the store for a refund. Body Shop ... please, please bring back the super volumizing mascara!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Big & Curvy Waterproof Mascara
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Cbear
Location: columbus
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
Horrible Hot Mess
Date:May 21, 2012
I usually use the waterproof mascara in the summer for the pool, so I just purchased 2 new tubes. I think something must have changed, I don't remember it being like this. Horribly clumpy, and I can't get the stuff off! I've tried numerous waterproof makeup removers, but it won't budge. I'm taking the unopened back for sure. Don't waste your money. Sad bc I LOVE Body Shop and won't wear anything else, but I guess this summer I'll have to. Very disappointed.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Big & Curvy Waterproof Mascara
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sizzla
Location: Minneapolis
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
Super Waterproofing
Date:May 4, 2012
This is a very waterproof product. Use it for working out and works great.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Big & Curvy Waterproof Mascara
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Temp
Location: IL
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
Waste of money
Date:March 6, 2012
I agree with the other reviewers that this mascara is a waste of money. The only reason I did give it another star on performance is because it was extremely waterproof (almost to the point of being difficult to remove even with a remover designed for waterproof makeup). But that asset did not outweigh the clumpiness of the mascara. My lashes also stuck together and I had a difficult time getting them apart.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Big & Curvy Waterproof Mascara
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
CMama
Location: Reading, PA
It's just as bad as they said
Date:February 8, 2012
When I saw they no longer carried my favorite mascara I read the reviews for this one and was disappointed that people didn't seem to like it. I finally caved and ordered it to try it out for myself. It's just as awful as everyone said. I hate it. The brush is weird and the mascara doesn't go on smoothly at all. So disappointed, Body Shop!!!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>