Product Reviews

Absinthe Purifying Hand Gel

Absinthe Purifying Hand Gel
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
rating snapshot (7 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
57%would recommend to a friend
Customer Reviews for Absinthe Purifying Hand Gel
Review 1 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Gel
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Summertym
Location: St. Paul, mn
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
Not what I expected- but I love it
Date:February 18, 2014
I bought this thinking it was a hand sanitizer, once I got it home I realized it was for odor.
My husband plays hockey and his hands always smell so bad after (from his gloves). He can wash his hands 4 times and shower and they still smell. He tried this the other night; used it once and washed his hands once and the smell was gone!!! I'm going to have to buy a case of this stuff- I love it!!!!!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Gel
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
featherdown
Location: Brooklyn
Body Shop employee: No
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Is this a sanitizer?
Date:September 6, 2013
I can't figure this product out. Unlike the other gels, they are calling this one a "purifying" gel. If it's a sanitizer that kills microorganisms, why isn't that in the description anywhere? The other hand sanitizers say "Kills 99.9% of germs." If it's not, then... it's a useless product and don't buy it, because you're just rubbing some random amount of alcohol into your skin. Body Shop, please publish this info! I love The Body Shop's hand sanitizers; they're the only ones I buy.
As far as this product othewise... I like the scent, mostly. It's clean and herby, only a little too perfumed. My hands are very dry and I always put body butter (olive) on after the sanitizing gel, and the fragrance of the gel isn't too strong at all.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Gel
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
JeffR
Location: Atlantic Beach
Disappointed
Date:June 5, 2013
I have always loved TBS' hand washes, but this stuff just smells bad. I can't for the life of me figure out why they discontinued all of the hand washes with pleasant odors. Please bring back strawberry, mango and lemon so my hands don't have to wreak of Absinthe.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Gel
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Boots10
Location: San Francisco
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
Frequency: Daily
Good Hand Wash
Date:May 9, 2013
This smells nice and fresh, not flowerly just fresh and green. it's good to keep in the kitchen to wash away odors from food such as onions when cooking. It doesn't leave your hands dry either. It's great stuff. I intend to purchase another bottle.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Gel
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
pinkcocohawaii
Location: Kamuela, Hawaii
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
Frequency: Daily
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
pleasant smell
Date:March 14, 2013
I bought this as something to carry around in my backpack at school, just to keep my hands fresh. I really like the smell, but I can understand the people that think it's too overpowering, because it's definitely strong. I would recommend making sure you like the smell, but it's a great product. I plan on buying more from the absinthe line.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MeetJaneDoe
 
Please wait while more information about MeetJaneDoe is loaded.
Additional information about MeetJaneDoe could not be loaded.
Multi-Purpose
Posted September 27, 2013
I ran out of my KMF patchouli natural deodorant, sooo... on a whim, I tried using this as a natural deodorant and it worked great. I've also been using the excess on my hands as a fragrance, rubbing higher up onto my wrists (lasts a while). Now a nice multi-purpose item. Did not burn shaved armpits either :-)
However, the scent is strong, but I love the woodsy notes. I hope TBS comes out with a fragrance line for this one (for us femmes, at least).
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Gel
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
AmyDGC
Location: Southern California
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Combination
Wonderful Unique Scent
Date:March 8, 2013
I really love this scent! It's very clean and fresh but unique. Even my husband liked and he usually hates anything with a scent. I was expecting to be a little licoric-y like absinthe, but it's not. It does have herbal notes like absinthe though. It's definitely something that could be used by men, as it's decidedly not feminine, but I also wouldn't call it masculine either. I plan to stock up on this line just in case it disappears, but I really hope it sticks around. Definitely give it a try!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Absinthe Purifying Hand Gel
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
YldPsyD
Location: Central California
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Strange & overpowering scent
Date:February 23, 2013
Absinthe has a strange medicinal scent to it that overpowers most other scents on hands. It takes at least 3 thorough hand washings to get the scent off your skin. I wanted to like this product, so I tried it for 3 days. I used it as hand sanitizer after handling my dogs and before handling food. I just could not get past the men's drug store aftershave-like scent. I'm glad I tried it, but I will not purhcase this product again.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.