Product Reviews

Lip Scuff

Lip Scuff
Average Customer Rating:
3.543 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(70 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
rating snapshot (70 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
11
3 stars
10
2 stars
9
1 star
11
63%would recommend to a friend
Customer Reviews for Lip Scuff
Review 1 for Lip Scuff
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: Jersey
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Product formula has changed
Date:August 11, 2011
This product is no longer a scuff. It is more of a moisturizer. All of the scuff is gone. I have used this for years but will not purchase again until the quality returns. I have added a photo. Old formula on left. New tube on right.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Lip Scuff
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: Philadelphia
Body Shop employee: No
Age: 25 - 34
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Does not work
Date:September 19, 2013
I do not really understand this product...it's not a lip scrub, its basically a grainy textured lip balm. It did not work at all and it wasn't moisturizing either. I really like Lush's lip scrubs or in this case I made my own using sugar, olive oil, and honey. I actually got TBS lip scuff for free with buy 3 get 3 and I still didn't keep it.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Lip Scuff
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: Los Angeles
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Formula has changed
Date:November 1, 2011
Wish I had read previous reviews before I purchased replacement for my misplaced Lip Scuff. The old formula was awesome and worked great at exfoliating lips when they were chapped. The formula has changed and this is now just another greasy lip balm. Does nothing to smooth lips. Why did they change it???
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Lip Scuff
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Location: New York
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Doesn't deliver
Date:March 16, 2011
The idea of a lip buffering product is great but this doesn't deliver. There isn't enough "buffering particles" to make any difference in lip texture.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Lip Scuff
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Kamuela, Hawaii
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
Frequency: Weekly
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
surprising... in a good way
Date:March 31, 2013
After wanting this lip scuff forever, I finally purchased it... I was a little leery because of the poor reviews. I absolutely love it... a lot of times, when I put lip stains or lipsticks on, it looks unflattering on my lips because they're dry... this completely takes care of that. I put this on right before applying lip products if my lips are feeling dry or chapped. I put a generous amount on, rub my lips together and get the grit into the problem areas, wipe it off with a tissue, and my lips look and feel baby soft. After these steps I apply the lip color. Just an incredible product... it's unfortunate I waited so long to try it. Lip color can't even compare when I don't use this regularly. I also love the slightly salty mint scent of this product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Lip Scuff
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Spokane
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Excellent buffer
Date:August 6, 2012
I found this product to work quite well on my lips. I live in a very dry area and use this scuff at night. When I wake up my lips are always smooth. I would recommend this product with the shine. The only downside is that there is not much product in the tube--i.e. I went through the tube too quickly I felt for the price I paid.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Lip Scuff
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Petoskey
Gender: Female
Age: 50 -54
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
take your lips to the next level
Date:May 14, 2012
I had never heard of a lip "scuff" before trying this out at the recommendation of a friend and co-worker. I have used many lip "balms" over the years as I live up North where outdoor weather takes a toll on skin - especially lips. The lip scuff is a product I highly recommend for keeping your lips kissable and in tip top shape! If you've never tried a lip scuff - you'll be surprised at how big a difference it makes.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lip Scuff
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: redlands
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
terrible now!!!!!!!
Date:July 16, 2011
This stuff is not at all what I though it would be. I could swear they changed it. It's really yukky now. Why would they change such a good thing? :( More like lipyuk now, what a shame!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Lip Scuff
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: West Lafayette, Indiana
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Date:December 30, 2011
I wish I had read previous reviews before I purchased this product. I am very disappointed. It does nothing to moisturize lips.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Lip Scuff
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: New York
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Looked great but didn't do its job!
Date:November 21, 2014
I was very excited on purchasing this product as it looked sleek and neat. I was very disappointed on using it! It doesn't moisturize and just didn't do anything!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Lip Scuff
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Location: Central California
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Broke with first use
Date:November 9, 2014
Hoping for an exfoliating lip moisturizer, I finally tried Lip Scuff. I was dis appointed that it broke all the way at the base with the first use. Not only that, it was strangely mildly smooth with a gritty, sandy feel on lips. I did not feel kile my lips would get any softer. I exchanged this product for my tried and true and fav lip product, Pink Grapefruit Lip Butter.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Lip Scuff
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Baltimore. MD
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Quite the fast acting product!
Date:July 9, 2014
I've been using this product for only a couple weeks, and i can already see the difference. I use the scuff about every other day during my morning skin routine. I smooth it on liberally, and then wipe off before I put on lip color for the day. I can definitely see and feel a difference!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Lip Scuff
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: south florida
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 55 - 60
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Fine Lines
Frequency: Other
works well
Date:May 30, 2014
I don't use this regularly. But on the odd occasion when my lips inexplicably get dry and peeling, I massage lip scuff whilst applying makeup, then rinse it off and use a balm before my lipstick. It's nice and gritty, has a very subtle minty taste and helps smooth my lips.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Lip Scuff
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Elk Grove
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Oily
SkinConcern: Shine
Frequency: Daily
Looooove it!
Date:April 26, 2014
I have had one product similar this and it was not good at all! Glad I decided to give this lip scrub a try because it gets the job done. Great for everyday use... I will be incorporating this into my morning/nightly/(whenever needed) routine along with my teatree face cleansing products.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Lip Scuff
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Burlington
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: Daily
Great for lips
Date:March 8, 2014
My 9 year old daughter has very dry lips. This product has been a miracle worker!! I would suggest it to anyone. I find that the best time to use it is right after you get out of the shower.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Lip Scuff
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: New York
Body Shop employee: No
Waste of $$
Date:March 6, 2014
I have used the TBS lip scrub years ago and I decided to add it to my recent purchase. I know they had reformulated it and it is the worst. It is way too gentle and does absolutely nothing for my dry chapped lips. The old formula was so much better.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Lip Scuff
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Lafayette, IN
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Dry
Frequency: Weekly
Pretty Good Stuff
Date:February 19, 2014
I had never tried a lip exfoliant before this Lip Scuff, and honestly had never even heard of anything like it. I have always had a problem with dry, cracking lips and I thought I would give it a try. I have to use it twice in a row to get good results from it, but after the second time I can really feel it working. It isn't very abrasive, but then again how abrasive can something like this be? Lips are very sensitive and something too harsh would be a disaster. It does a pretty good job of exfoliating, but then again I have nothing at all to compare it with! If it were less expensive - even less expensive than the on-sale price - I would definitely consider purchasing again!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Lip Scuff
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Weatherford
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
Great Year Round
Date:December 13, 2013
I bought this product on a whim one day & absolutely fell in love with it! It has a nice mint flavor to it; which I love! I would recommend this product to anyone; male or female. It gets my lips so nice and smooth; which is a plus when I want to throw on some color. Definitely buying again and again!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Lip Scuff
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: Mountain View
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Blemishes
terrible
Date:November 29, 2013
Even though I love every single product I have ever purchased from here, I hated this product! By the time it shipped to my house it was melted. It has little exfoliating beads in it, but I didn't find them exfoliating at all. It also tastes horrible if you get it in your mouth! And there is not a lot of product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Lip Scuff
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Cincinnati
Body Shop employee: No
Smells amazing
Date:November 14, 2013
I will continue to buy this lip scrub if only for the smell (peppermint)! I apply the grainy lip balm during my nighttime routine, wipe it off, and apply lip care. It will take awhile to remove flakes that are already present, but it does a nice job at preventing flakes from forming.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>