Product Reviews

Bamboo Pin Hairbrush

Bamboo Pin Hairbrush
Average Customer Rating:
2.952 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
rating snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
15
45%would recommend to a friend
Customer Reviews for Bamboo Pin Hairbrush
Review 1 for Bamboo Pin Hairbrush
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: San Antonio
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Way to ruin a great brush!
Date:April 23, 2011
I was a devotee of your all wood (wood straight bristles & wood handle) brush. It was the only brush that would work with my long hair. I went into your stores and get 5 at once to have everywhere. Eventually I would lose them & wear them down.
Your newly designed brush is the worst thing that could've happened to my hair; simply put, ended up in the trash after one use.
BRING BACK THE PREVIOUS MODEL PLEASE!
~Extremely disappointed ex-The Body Shop buyer...
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
joanofsnark
 
Please wait while more information about joanofsnark is loaded.
Additional information about joanofsnark could not be loaded.
Agreed
Posted September 27, 2011
I totally agree- I loved my old brush- the new one will not go through my hair!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Bamboo Pin Hairbrush
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Portland, OR
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Not for Thick Hair!
Date:May 22, 2011
I have thick wavy hair. This brush barely skims the surface of my mane because the bristles are too short or they get bent/not strong enough. They do not penetrate deep enough through my hair to brush my scalp. Besides the engineering flaws, I like the product quality and overall look. Its eco-friendly and much better looking than the regular plasticky hair brushes found in stores.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bamboo Pin Hairbrush
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Boise, Idaho
Gender: Female
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
You ruined a good product
Date:March 9, 2011
The Body Shop redesigned this brush and now it will not work with wet long hair. I used to be able to easily use a body shop brush (with straight bristles). It would go through with wet hair with ease. This new design just pulls and gets caught in my hair. Please give us back the old design!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
witsend
 
Please wait while more information about witsend is loaded.
Additional information about witsend could not be loaded.
Ditto!!!!
Posted May 30, 2011
I totally agree that the new product is not acceptable to me. I loved the old bamboo brush - without the rounded ends. I, too, have long hair and the new brush does NOT detangle it at all - quite the opposite.
Customer Avatar
rafo
 
Please wait while more information about rafo is loaded.
Additional information about rafo could not be loaded.
this is no good!
Posted March 27, 2011
! agree with McPatty, you have runied a great product!!!
These pins at the end are no good. They don't work well at all no matter what hair length or type.
I am planning on returning this product.
Please give us back the old design!!!
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 4 for Bamboo Pin Hairbrush
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Location: East Lansing, MI
Gender: Female
Age: 45 - 49
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Not like the old ones, but not all bad
Date:December 30, 2012
It is not the round balls at the top that rip out the hair, it is how the "bristles" are connected to the rubber that makes the brush hard to clean and rips out the hair. In the old version, the "bristles" connected differently and hair could not get "caught" under them like it does with the new brush.
Now with that said, I have very coarse, thick, hard to brush hair. This brush did not rip my hair out by any means. The balls on the tips were not a problem at all. I did find the brush hard to clean, which is a definite minus.
I hope the buyers in Corporate really look at how the brushes are constructed when they buy the next lot. Over the past 8 years with my "old" brush, I have lost a few "bristles" (3 to be exact) due to the lack of a "bump" where the bristle meets the rubber. I don't think that will happen with the new brush. If I had my choice, I would take the old style, loose a few bristles over the years and not have the cleaning headache.
I have always loved these brushes, now it is down to a like. I would not recommend them any more.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bamboo Pin Hairbrush
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Location: nh
Gender: Female
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Date:June 29, 2012
i hate this brush, the old one was great I don't know why they changed a very successful design. i'll be buying a brush from somewhere else for the first time in 15 years now!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Reve509
 
Please wait while more information about Reve509 is loaded.
Additional information about Reve509 could not be loaded.
Agreed
Posted September 23, 2012
Agreed! I had my whole family buying the old style brush; everyone loved them. Then they added the little balls at the top, which rip out my hair. We will be buying our brushes elsewhere. Please PLEASE bring back the old brushes, Body Shop!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Bamboo Pin Hairbrush
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: NYC
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
BRING BACK THE OLD VERSION
Date:April 15, 2012
I loved the original brush with the metal pins, its works so well , now i've tried others and they don't work on wet hair. Please bring BACK THE ORIGINAL ONE WITH METAL PINS THAT i got years ago !!!!!!!!!!!!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bamboo Pin Hairbrush
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Denver
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Bring Back the Old Brush!
Date:March 19, 2012
The original pin brush was great. I had used mine for a decade, but broke some pins while traveling and had to replace it with a new one. The new version of this brush has pins with large balls on the pin ends that make it so the brush won't even penetrate through the surface of my thick hair. Bring back the original brush! Please :-)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Rimazat
 
Please wait while more information about Rimazat is loaded.
Additional information about Rimazat could not be loaded.
Posted May 4, 2012
Agreed, i have shopped at bodyshop for the past15years andalwaysgot my hairbrush from here.i lostmybrush a week back and had to buy a new one, this design is poor, its as if they didn't have anyone try it before they made them to sell. I really hope they bring back theold brush. I willbe returning this one and will be going somewhere else for a brush for the first time!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Bamboo Pin Hairbrush
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: Cincinnati
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
So Disappointing
Date:November 26, 2011
I was horrified when I went into the store to replace my brush. The old style brush worked wonderfully on my hair- wet or dry. I refuse to purchase brushes with little knobs on the end of the bristles because they yank and pull out my hair. Please please PLEASE bring back the old style brushes!!!! I've given up hope on seeing the old formula for the honey shampoo and conditioner; please at least leave us the old style (FANTASTIC) brushes!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bamboo Pin Hairbrush
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Maryland
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Best Purchase Ever
Date:August 21, 2011
Bamboo pin brush great buy I have short hair, cut in a bob when I wrap my hair at night great feeling to my scalp
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bamboo Pin Hairbrush
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: Rockland
Body Shop employee: No
Worst Hairbrush Ever
Date:July 8, 2014
I have always used Body Shop products and I was in love with my old straight-pin bamboo brush. Over the years, it has worn down and lost some pins so I need to replace it. I chose the new model hoping that this would be another awesome product. I couldn't have been more wrong. On the first use, the cushion pulled away from the base. The pins get stuck in my hair if it's even slightly knotted. My husband just put a 2-part apoxy glue hoping to at least keep the cushion attached to the base but I'm about ready to just throw it out. Extremely disappointed, Body Shop.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bamboo Pin Hairbrush
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: US
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
BRING BACK OLD MODEL
Date:June 16, 2014
Please bring back the model with out the balls on the tips. The old brush was the best. This brush I can't put in my hair without it getting tangled in my hair. Wet or dry, my hair ends up worse than it was before I brushed it. I now use the brush for my dogs. Horrible, horrible brush.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bamboo Pin Hairbrush
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: SD, Cali
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Daily
Soothing
Date:August 2, 2013
I have long thick wavy hair, it's hard to find a brush that works for my hair. I have no problems with it going thru my hair and it's soothing at the same time. I loved it so much everyone in my house now has one, 3 brushes later...lol.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bamboo Pin Hairbrush
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Springfield, MO
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
Eh..
Date:June 2, 2013
I purchased this brush and was excited to use it. Unfortunately, it doesn't work well for my hair. I have very dry, tangly hair (I work at a pool, so the chlorine eats my hair). This is a good brush for someone with softer hair, but my dry, thick, brittle hair is a challenge for this brush, even after a lot of detangling spray. I am a bit disappointed, but I will try it again when my hair gets healthy.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bamboo Pin Hairbrush
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Seattle, WA
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Fine Lines
Frequency: Daily
LOVE LOVE LOVE!
Date:May 15, 2013
Decades ago, I was addicted to the Body Shop's old metal pin brush. I've had 5+ of them over the years and never thought that i'd be able to find anything nearly as good. Since the Body Shop no longer makes them, I went in to purchase the round pin Paddle Brush instead. The sales associate encouraged me to try this one instead, saying that she has NO problem brushing her half-Samoan daughter's hair (she saw my own daughter's lion-headed hair which needs desperate help!). I had read the reviews and wasn't too excited about it, but figured I may as well give it a try. I'm SO glad I did. While yes, it's not quite as satisfying as the old pin brush (i loved how it scratched!), it is an AMAZING brush. I have no trouble getting through my super thick hair at all. As for my 2 year old? Brushing is a snap. I had even purchased VERY expensive kid-curly-hair brushes for her that were supposed to make life amazing, but nothing works like this. No more fighting, no more screaming, no more begging and running away. I went back and bought a second one for her the very next day.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bamboo Pin Hairbrush
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Kamuela, Hawaii
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
Frequency: Daily
wow
Date:March 28, 2013
I decided to give this brush a try, despite the horrible reviews. I'm honestly shocked that the reviews are so bad! I haven't had much luck with brushes in the past, and this one is just so amazing for my hair. My hair is thick, long, and wavy/curly, and this brushes through it like butter, with such ease I've never experienced with a brush. It also tames my hair down when it's frizzy, rather than making it frizzier like my past brushes. I'm just amazed, it's an excellent brush. Not to mention how light it is in your hand, and I love that it's made from bamboo. The pins are very relaxing on the scalp. My mom even wants me to get her one now!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MAM11
 
Please wait while more information about MAM11 is loaded.
Additional information about MAM11 could not be loaded.
Wonderful!
Posted November 29, 2013
I bought this brush over 10 yrs or more ago. My brush is slowly loosing bristles to the point That it's time for a new one. And I'm so very Happy to find that The Body Shop still sells this brush.
My hair is thick and coarse and is the best brush I've ever found for my hair type. Thank You Body Shop for keeping this product on your shelves!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Bamboo Pin Hairbrush
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: New York, NY
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
OUCH! NO! PLEASE RETURN OLD VERSION.
Date:December 7, 2012
This brush pulls out my hair and is hard to clean! I logged online hoping to find the older wood version without the round-tip pins since I haven't been able to find it in stores for a couple of years. What I found instead is others who have the same complaints about this brush!
What's the use of the round-tip pins if they're going to pull your hair out! Ouch. Please return the old version, I don't know where to buy an all wood brush anymore.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bamboo Pin Hairbrush
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: Silver Spring
Gender: Female
Age: 45 - 49
Awful Brush
Date:November 7, 2012
Like many others, I got this brush as a replacement for my old, trustworthy Body Shop brush with pins, rather than bamboo knobs. It rips out my hair, is difficult to clean and generally terrible. I have already gotten rid of it and subsequently wasted my money. PLEASE Body Shop - bring back the old version!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bamboo Pin Hairbrush
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Lafayette
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
Overall pleased
Date:August 9, 2012
I love that this brush is bamboo, I love the price, I love that it does a good job. The only thing that I dislike about it is that the wooden prongs catch my hair sometimes resulting in a few strands being ripped out. Not too big of a deal as I have just learned to be uber gentle; I just wish that the prongs were a bit smoother.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Louis7
 
Please wait while more information about Louis7 is loaded.
Additional information about Louis7 could not be loaded.
Bamboo Hair Brush
Posted February 20, 2013
Glides through your hair. Gives a beautiful brushed neat appearance when getting out of shower. Also great for pets-gets rid of tangles. Easy to clean. Dries quickly , so works wet of dry
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Bamboo Pin Hairbrush
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: California
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
Great Brush!
Date:May 12, 2012
Makes my hair so smooth and soft. Best brush I've ever owned.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ElleM
 
Please wait while more information about ElleM is loaded.
Additional information about ElleM could not be loaded.
BRING BACK THE OLD VERSION OF THIS BAMBOO BRUSH
Posted December 7, 2012
I logged on to the website in the hope of finding the wooden brush I used to buy from The Body Shop. All I can find in stores is this Bamboo version, and I hate it! It pulls out my hair and it is hard to clean! And it turns out I'm not the only one making this comment!
What happened to the older wooden version of this brush without the round-tip pins? There is absolutely no benefit in these pins if they end up pulling your hair out! Ouch. Pleease, return your old brush. I don't know where to buy an all-wood hair brush anymore.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Bamboo Pin Hairbrush
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: Baltimore
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
Not worth the money
Date:May 12, 2012
This brush hurts when you use it. We need the old brush BACK!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>