Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Satsuma Body Butter

Satsuma Body Butter
Average Customer Rating:
4.213 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(61 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
rating snapshot (61 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
7
85%would recommend to a friend
Customer Reviews for Satsuma Body Butter
Review 1 for Satsuma Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
SatsumaMan
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Gender: Male
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Dark
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Other
Frequency: Daily
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
I'm a man. . .
Date:March 21, 2013
And I love Satsuma Body Butter, and the Shower Gel. I'm a very masculine guy, but I have to say I love the way it smells. Ironically, I get comments all the time about how great I smell. A friend of mine came over one evening, and she commented about how great I smelled, and how (in her words) "the entire room smells cirtusy, I thought it was a candle or something." I had a meeting in another state recently, and ended up in my associate's office, and his assistant couldn't leave the room! She kept trying to identify who it was who smelled so good. When she discovered it was me, especially when I told her what I was wearing she was surprised, that as a man I would use Body Butter and be fine with the scent. LOL! I ended up buying her a gift pack a few weeks later when she had mentioned to me how badly she wanted it but had to "wait until her next paycheck". So I just surprised her with it, and had it sent to the office directly. She called me and was very happy. I love stuff from The Body Shop, but I find I don't like many of their "traditional" masculine scents, and like the Satsuma, Mango, and Sweet Lemon much better.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Medium Satsuma Gift Set
5 out of 5(4)
 
 
 
 
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Satsuma Body Butter
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Anonymous
Location: Bloomfield, NJ
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Bad Butter
Date:January 5, 2013
I am a customer of the Body Shop, I love all your products, recently I've been a little disappointed. I received two Satsuma Body Butters for Christmas and they smell of alcohol. I think the sent had separated from the body butter. So each time i use it (i hate to waste it) i smeel like a bar.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Selena
 
Please wait while more information about Selena is loaded.
Additional information about Selena could not be loaded.
Same
Posted March 3, 2013
My strawberry butter smelled fermented as well. It has a sweet smelling strawberry wine smell. Not saying that I don't like the same but it doesn't smell like it's supposed to. But I haven't broken out from using it so maybe only the smell got altered and not the product? I will never buy butters online again.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Satsuma Body Butter
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
fairbank
Location: Fairbank
Gender: Female
Age: 50 -54
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
What happened ?
Date:June 19, 2012
Just recieved my order of Satsuma body butter. What a disappointment! I haven't had to order any for about six months and when I do I find it is completely different. Not the same in smell, texture, durability, Why did you change it?? So disappointed !!! I will miss the REAL Satsuma!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tini1
 
Please wait while more information about Tini1 is loaded.
Additional information about Tini1 could not be loaded.
I agree 100%!
Posted July 24, 2012
I was so disappointed when I received my last order of Satsuma BB. I have used this product religiously over the past several summers, and people have raved over the scent.... This summer, the BB had an unusual texture; it was almost clumpy, and the smell was neither as fresh nor as citrusy. Even my husband said it smelled very different. I have used it some on my legs and feet, but I have not used it like I normally have in the past. I will not buy this product again unless TBS goes back to the old formula!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Satsuma Body Butter
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
ProductJunkie5
Location: Kansas City
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Normal
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Yuck!
Date:August 16, 2013
This was my first time ordering from the body shop, I loved all of the products expect this one. The texture is wonderful but the smell is awful. I cannot get over it, it smells like hospital cleaning supplies. I'm hoping I can find someone that wants this because I hate wasting the money but there is no way I can use this.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Satsuma Body Butter
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ziggy
Location: Sheboygan
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Favorite Scent!
Date:May 21, 2012
Satsuma is my all-time favorite scent at TBS. It is extremely fragrant (I keep a small pot of it at the office and the people around me can always tell when I'm putting it on (and then consequently would like some)). I really love the body butters. My skin tends to get super greasy with many butters but not this one!! It does take a little while to set in (two minutes or so) and lasts for hours. I have normal to dry skin so I do reapply more often. However, I have very dry skin on my hands and this, unfortunately, doesn't work well for that. Overall though, I really love this and would definitely recommend it!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Satsuma Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
stunningmomma
Location: Dallas
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Best scent in body shop
Date:May 12, 2012
Satsuma is the best scent in Body Shop! And, love love that they carry this scent in products for body and home.
This body butter is my favorite of all time! When I buy in their stores, I buy minimum of 3 at a time. I use it everyday as body moisturizer (and perfume). When I walk by, people turn their heads and some would compliment me on how good I smell!
In fact, the way I got hooked on this was way back in 2008 when my sister used it and I loved how she smelled and told her I'll buy some for myself too! And I never changed what I've been using since then. Keeps your skin hydrated and supple and leaving you smelling fresh all day!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Satsuma Body Butter
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
kimber1967
Location: baxter, tn
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
new satsuma scent?
Date:April 11, 2013
what is with the real strong floral scent in the satsuma body butter?? i have been using this for years and that last few times i ordered it literally stinks!! was told to exchange in person at a local body shop store that it was a new batch and to make sure different batch numbers as it might be a different smell?...i have used the body lotion and the scrub and shower gel and it smells like the same satsuma, but the body butter smells like roses!!! not oranges....was also told it was a new crop of satsuma seeds...please please follow up on this!!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Satsuma Body Butter
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
KDMae
Location: New York
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Disappointing ingredients...
Date:May 20, 2012
I love this body butter but it contains parabens in the ingredients. Really disappointed by the Body Shop. I thought they would know better.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Satsuma Body Butter
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Paperboy
Location: NYC
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Moisturizes Well, Interesting Scent
Date:December 9, 2012
This body butter keeps my dry skin moisturized really well but I have had family members and friends say that the smell has a hint of beer/hops. I do not notice it but others always say this to me when I put it on. So I now limit its use to home.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Satsuma Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jennybird
Location: St. Louis
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Age: 25 - 34
Citrus goodness
Date:July 19, 2014
I absolutely love the satsuma body butter. I love the velvety texture of the butter, it glides onto my skin and absorbs quickly with no greasy feel. I am a fan of citrus scents ( I also love florals, fresh scents and earthy scents-- to get an idea of my preferences). The scent is kind of a complex citrus that is hard to describe. It's not just a straight "orangey" smell but has depth and smells like real fruit not anything artificial or especially not like cleaning products like a previous reviewer stated. Plus I work in a hospital and it in NO way smells like hospital cleaners. Anyhow, I love using this butter after I use the satsuma body wash, which is a life changer body wash! So invigorating and delicious smelling. They make a great combo.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Satsuma Body Butter
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
jmpc2189
Location: Piscataway
Body Shop employee: No
great texture but the smell...
Date:June 20, 2014
I received this body butter as a part of this goodie bag I bought during one of TBS's holiday sale. it's great and it really does make my skin super soft but wow the scent is really strong to the point where it's making me slightly nauseous. I would recommend the body butters but maybe not this particular scent.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Satsuma Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
JLD14
Location: Fairfield, CA
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Normal
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: Daily
First experience
Date:June 17, 2014
This was given to me as a gift, first experience with Satsuma and the Body Shop, fell in love with Satsuma. The body butter works great & keeps my skin moisturized very well. A bit pricey, but I just bought the jumbo for $15 on sale. Lasts a long time, you only need a little bit, a little goes a long ways.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Satsuma Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
niccig
Location: Colorado Springs
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 45 - 49
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Lack of Firmness
Frequency: Monthly
GREAT GIFT-FANTASTIC SOFT SKIN
Date:May 8, 2014
This SUMPTUOUS THICK & CREAMY Satsuma Body Butter has a MASS APPEAL SCENT of GREAT REAL CITRUS/ REAL CLEMENTINE OIL, EASILY SPREADS EVENLY, IS NOT GREASY, SOAKS IN WELL, a Bit goes a LONG WAY, Jumbo size is a money-saving winner. TRY mini for travel/gym. I START shower/bath with Satsuma bar SOAP/body WASH & sometimes BODY POLISH. My FINAL steps to ultra soft & mild long-lasting citrus-scented soft skin include: LAYERING of the GREAT SATSUMA: BUTTER, BEAUTIFYING OIL & BODY LOTION. I have given 7 handmade gift sets of Satsuma line & ALL love it! I often add "Travel Kit" (under "bath accessories") to gifts, or add TBS's ALL-NATURAL EXFOLIATING HEMP BODY MITT whose fibers shrink to fit hand when first time wet. NOTE REGULAR EXFOLIATION MAKES all products SINK IN FASTER. People ask what I am wearing when I use Satsuma BODY BUTTER! Thanks TBS!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Satsuma Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
misterpotato
Location: Portsmouth, NH
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Combination
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
My favorite
Date:April 1, 2014
This is my very favorite Body Butter. Love the smell and the texture. If you like citrus, you'll like this a lot.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Satsuma Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
goodadvisor
Location: Glen Ellyn
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 55 - 60
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Fine Lines
Frequency: Daily
lovely...
Date:March 18, 2014
This is my second body butter I have purchased (coconut was my first) and I love it. It smells like you are putting a fresh orange on your body. The aroma fills the room and it is wonderful. Smooth consistency, goes on nicely. My daughter-in-law recommended this to me!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Satsuma Body Butter
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
YldPsyD
Location: Central California
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Frequency: Weekly
Smells like orange & honey
Date:March 1, 2014
While Satsuma shower gel smells like zesty clementine, the body butter smells like oranges and honey. The texture is smooth & since it's moisturizing, I use the body butter on dry skin or just shaved legs. I prefer the Satsuma body lotion since it smells more similar to the shower gel, but the body butter is nice variety.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Satsuma Body Butter
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Americangirl
Location: Seattle
Body Shop employee: No
Nice in it's texture & softening
Date:February 22, 2014
This is probably a really great cream and I know I am in the minority here but I don't like the scent (on me). It is nice and uplifting scent when in the jar. I love the scent of TBS vitamin C line so thought I would like this. I do think it has a good texture that is light and makes my skin hydrated and smoother in all fairness is a great creme. I prefer the Almond Creme most and also like the Olive and Aloe cream as well as Vitamin E cream and Shea Cream so with exception of Moringa and the Honeymania stay away from much fragrance is my conclusion.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Satsuma Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
killerwhaley
Location: Jacksonville
Body Shop employee: Yes
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
lovely!!!
Date:October 7, 2013
At first, satsuma had a little too much citrus for me, but I decided to dive in and really give it a try and I am sure glad i did! It is super fragrant and has wonderful hints of an orange-like smell. So invigorating! It is great for use during spring or summer. Such an awakening smell.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Satsuma Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
seayomama
Location: Seattle
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 55 - 60
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Very Dry
SkinConcern: Other
Frequency: Daily
Great Aroma, Great Product
Date:September 30, 2013
I usually shop with the competitor because they are a little bit cheaper, and I enjoy their products. However, my daughter really wanted to shop this site, and I hated to see a teenager spend bucks on shipping, so I agreed to order my body butter--which is not a luxury purchase for me but a medical necessity, since I have an illness of which very dry skin is one symptom.
My husband says this is the best-smelling body butter I've brought home yet, and I am of a similar mind. I find I don't have to reapply this as often as the other brand. I put it on my hands, feet and any other problem spots about 3 times a day, far fewer than with the other store's product, so it lasts longer and I can focus on other things.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Satsuma Body Butter
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
AcademicallyInclined
Location: Pittsburgh
Body Shop employee: No
Something was off this time
Date:July 30, 2013
So sad --the Satsuma body butter is one of my favorites, and I would normally rate it 5 stars. This time though, I think something was off in this particular batch I got, or maybe the heat damaged it (it arrived in the middle of a heat wave), but there was a strange off smell to it --almost like BO. I've never had a problem with the ones I buy in store, which makes me suspect it was the heat during shipping.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
OrangeLover
 
Please wait while more information about OrangeLover is loaded.
Additional information about OrangeLover could not be loaded.
Something WAS off this time
Posted October 22, 2013
I received my latest order of the Satsuma body butter, which I have used and love for years, this past week. This was NOT the body butter I have become used to. The containers were not sealed, one was broken, the texture of the body butter was entirely different than usual and the smell was awful (not remotely like the lovely orange scent I love). If this is the "new" version of this product I will no longer purchase it.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 3 next>>