Product Reviews

Rainforest Shine Shampoo

Rainforest Shine Shampoo
Average Customer Rating:
3.889 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
rating snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
2
67%would recommend to a friend
Customer Reviews for Rainforest Shine Shampoo
Review 1 for Rainforest Shine Shampoo
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mayy
Location: seattle
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Black
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
Date:January 30, 2014
I love it, good for curly, frizzy dry hair. Just sad they discontinue the fill size bottle.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Rainforest Shine Shampoo
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
KathrynH
Location: Washington DC
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Fine Lines
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Great Sulphate-Free Shampoo
Date:December 4, 2013
I have used this product for about 2.5 years and sulphate-free shampoos in general for about 5 years. I think this product is great. I have fine, curly hair that I wash twice a week. I used to have a problem with split ends, but that has improved with the switch to sulphate-free.
I will say that when I first switched to this type of shampoo, there was a transition period. I initially felt like my hair just wasn't clean. However, my hair did adjust and begin producing less oil.
At any rate, this product works great for my hair!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Rainforest Shine Shampoo
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kina
Location: NJ
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Sensitivity
Pretty good
Date:October 17, 2013
I have super soft kinky curly hair that is in transition of growing out a relaxer (6 inches of newgrowth so far!). The relaxed part has recently been getting really tangly and everything I've used has just made my hair miserable. I used this shampoo to remove some product buildup and it worked very well. After one shampoo and did a second shampooing with the Banana one (couldn't help but try it because it smelled so good!). Combined with the conditioner, this is a pretty good line. I need to use it a few more times to see if there is any positive progression. So far, the hair is regaining luster. I will update after a few more times of using the product :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Rainforest Shine Shampoo
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
LeahB
Location: Dublin
Body Shop employee: No
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Shine
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
Not the Greatest
Date:September 8, 2013
I had high hopes for this shampoo. Unfortunately, it didn't deliver. Almost immediately after getting out of the shower, I can smell oil in my hair, meaning that the shampoo didn't clean well. I can only go about a day after using this product before I have to wash my hair again; normally I can go at least 2 days. I've been mixing this shampoo with a regular lathering one, and the results are better. I'm going to try what someone else suggested here and wash my hair 2x with the shampoo; hopefully that will help. As of now, I wouldn't buy this product again.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Rainforest Shine Shampoo
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
HDScooter
Location: New Freedom
Gender: Female
Age: 55 - 60
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Normal
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
Rainforest Shampoo
Date:March 16, 2013
Having grey hair, shine is important and I have found this shampoo to do what it says! True, it doesn't lather like most other commercial shampoos but it works very well and for the first time since switching to 'kind' products, my hair isn't all puffy for the first day or two and looks normal! Paired together with the conditioner, I have found two products that serve me well and get my high recommendations.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Rainforest Shine Shampoo
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Jessi418
Location: Havana, FL
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
Not for me
Date:November 29, 2012
I was recently reading about the evils of sulfates in hair products and turned to the body shop to try my first variety of non sulfate products. When I began using this shampoo I had long hair - to the middle of my back. It's very thick and naturally kinda wavy but can be straightened pretty well. I've always been able to go about 3 days without washing my hair. I used this for about a month and my hair just didn't last as long between washes. It felt greasy and not clean. It didn't lather a whole lot but I know that's a big side effect of non sulfates. Props to TBS customer service though because I called and asked about returning my 4 bottles (BOGO) because the product wasn't for me. They asked what I'd like to try and sent out a banana shampoo and conditioner and another rainforest conditioner in another style. Although the banana shampoo is not sulfate free I do really like it (but I'll review that there!). I do think this shampoo could work for some but unfortunately not for me. But thanks body shop! :)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Rainforest Shine Shampoo
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
CathieB
Location: Texas
Gender: Female
Age: 45 - 49
No Shine....
Date:October 24, 2012
I read reviews for days on all the shampoo/conditioners on here and thought by all the good reviews that this might be for me. It was broken when I recieved it so had to transfer to another container.
I have used this for over 2 weeks now and it lathered nicely. I have extremely long blonde hair, down to my waist, and I didn't have to use a ton to get it to lather. But my hair isn't any shinier then it was before using this shampoo. It's a good cleanser, but no shine.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Rainforest Shine Shampoo
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
NehaD
Location: New Orleans, LA
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
Superiorly Awesome :)
Date:September 26, 2012
I tried all the shampoos in this line before I narrowed down to this one.. so that is my first suggestion to everyone.. Next I started using it but it never lathered.. BUT my hair looked amazing, they were shining for the first time and they also became thick! after using this! Really! then I came back and read the reviews .. and one of them said it is not necessary for a shampoo to lather to be good.. this one fits the bill! so dont freak out if it does not lather.. I use to pour a lot for it to lather .. :( wasted so much in the process.. My hair wash routine is 2X shampoo followed by 1X conditioner from same brand and type (Rainforest shine in this case) and I have pretty awesome hair.. ;) oh and and for the extra tlc use the hair butter I will put in the recommendation below before you condition..
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Rainforest Shine Shampoo
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
kittylady
Location: Cary, NC
I'm in love with this shampoo!
Date:September 23, 2012
I have difficult hair to deal with if I don't use the right products. It's curly and fine so most products leave it too heavy or greasy and some leave it dry and frizzy. The shine shampoo and conditioner make it perfect!! I hardly have to use anything to style it after using those. I will never run out of those!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Rainforest Shine Shampoo
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Honeysuckle
Location: Bloomington
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
Disappointed
Date:July 1, 2012
My hair, which is long, straight, soft, and thick, has been getting more dry recently, notably at the ends. I decided to try the Rainforest Shine Shampoo and conditioner to see if a little extra moisture would help. Though this product does make my hair very shiny and smells wonderful, it also leaves my hair weighted down, coarse, dry (ironically) and full of static.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Rainforest Shine Shampoo
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
scubastorey
Location: Frisco, Texas
Gender: Female
Age: 55 - 60
Really made my hair shine
Date:May 12, 2012
I was very surprised how much my hair shined after using this shampoo & conditioner. I teach swimming lessons 4 days a week so my hair really takes a beating with all the chlorine. I usually use an anti-chlorine shampoo and conditioner but decided to try this since I recently purchased the travel size package with all 3 shine products. I only used a very small amount and it lathered up really well. The smell was good too.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Rainforest Shine Shampoo
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
grisslypanda
Location: California
Gender: Male
Age: Below 25
best shampoo ever!
Date:May 7, 2012
okay so i been using this shampoo for about 7 months and let me just say the smell is GREAT! it has a very fresh scent not so over powering and leaves my hair soft and shiny my friends complemented me on how good my hair looks :) which i love it also makes my hair so much easier to style my hair is so managable and easy to control no frizzzy either just amazing
it is a bit expensive compared to drug store (pantene, Dive, Garnier, Treseme, etc..) but it is paraben free, sulfate free, and silicone free. i strongly recommend
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Rainforest Shine Shampoo
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Anahita
Location: Bethlehem
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Very Poor Shampoo
Date:May 4, 2012
No lather unless I apply a huge amount of it. Not only it does not smooth my hair, but also makes it frizzy. The bottle is very small. I am very disappointed.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Not a very fair comment.
Posted May 18, 2012
This shampoo doesn't lather because it is sulfate free. Sulfates are like detergents and in turn have a lathering effect. Technically, the lathering from a shampoo is just unnecessary and is caused from the unhealthy ingredient. I can't say anything about the rest of the shampoo, but this is just something to keep in mind about products.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Rainforest Shine Shampoo
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
NancyDG
Location: Washington, DC
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
Makes my hair feel oily
Date:February 29, 2012
This shampoo smells amazing but leaves my hair feeling and looking oily. The first time I used it I thought I may not have rinsed it out well enough- but after a week of continued use may hair feels dirty all the time. Now I need to buy new shampoo again :(
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Rainforest Shine Shampoo
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
SPZP6
Location: Chicago
Shine shampoo
Date:November 18, 2011
I love it., My hair is thick, long,wavey, and corse. It is really hard to control. I have been looking for something that would keep a little more controlled and this does it without weighing it done. I think it smells great and does what i want it to. Thank you.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Rainforest Shine Shampoo
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nic328
Location: Chicago
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
In LOVE!
Date:October 30, 2011
I LOVE LOVE LOVE this shampoo! I have thick-ish long straight hair that gets dry on the ends but oily at the scalp. My hair seems to absorb (in a bad way) most other shampoos, making it impossible to wash out. Even the "clean" shampoos either do nothing or make my hair dry, dull and frizzy. I skeptically bought the small travel size of the Rainforest Shine shampoo and conditioner worried it would be just the same or wouldn't get my hair clean. I have been won over!!!! My scalp feels clean, and the hair is soft. I don't notice it being super shiny, but certainly not dull. It took a day for my hair to adjust, but I found that using a little bit...washing it out...then using the normal amount works best for me. Bonus: the smell is amazing. Kinda fruity fresh without being overly sweet. It's a little pricey compared to drug store, but the quality exceeds even the more expensive salon shampoos. My husband even commented how soft my hair was (and he isn't the type to even notice a new hair cut). Going to order the large size right now! Hope this shampoo sticks around!!! LOVE!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Rainforest Shine Shampoo
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
lovestbs
Location: Atlanta
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
Date:September 22, 2011
This shampoo smells gooood, cleans fairly well, makes my hair shiny and makes it soft. Doesn't fix any hair damage or reduce hairfall though. I mix a few drops of this with the TBS ginger shampoo and use. I do love how this is eco-friendly!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Rainforest Shine Shampoo
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
jules24
Location: New York, NY
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
The best!
Date:August 10, 2011
Every time I wash my hair with this shampoo, I am blown away by how shiny, bouncy, and *healthy* my hair looks. The shampoo is not overly drying or stripping, but definitely leaves my hair feeling and looking clean. My hair is so manageable now, having switched to the Shine shampoo, no matter which conditioner I use, that I am trying to giving away my fairly extensive arsenal of (silicone-based) anti-frizz products, which I used to be completely dependent on for my thick, just-past-the-shoulders hair... I no longer need them. My hair straightener that used to get daily attention is now collecting dust.
I wish I had switched to sulfate-free, silicone-free hair products a decade ago!!
The 8.4 oz bottle has lasted me all summer washing every other day. I'm repurchasing in the largest size before I run out of that bottle. Please never discontinue this!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Rainforest Shine Shampoo
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
etrix22
Location: Long Beach
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
Soft and Touchable
Date:May 20, 2011
I just purchased a bottle of this shampoo at The Body Shop today and washed my hair. My hair has never felt so soft before. I keep running my hands through my hair because it feels so soft and it looks really shiny. I love the smell too. It is quite fruity, but it doesn't have a sickening fruity smell. I'm really enjoying this product and I would recommend it.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Rainforest Shine Shampoo
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Mtanjuakio
Location: Riverside
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
I gave it a chance
Date:May 5, 2011
This shampoo smells great and does leave my hair feeling soft and smooth. I chose this shampoo because my hair is dry and needed the shine boost. However, by the end of the day my hair feels oily and weighed down. I like it enough to use what I have on hand but I will likely try another of the body shop's shampoos. Did not work for me but maybe for someone else.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>