Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Oil-Free Foundation SPF 15

Oil-Free Foundation SPF 15
Average Customer Rating:
4.36 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
rating snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
86%would recommend to a friend
Customer Reviews for Oil-Free Foundation SPF 15
Review 1 for Oil-Free Foundation SPF 15
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Columbia, MO
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Good Product
Date:November 8, 2012
I bought this product because I wanted a full, matte coverage and this product does the trick. It is thicker than some other foundations but I apply moisturizer first and then I put it on after with a foundation brush and don't have any problems. Even though it is full coverage it still feels very light. I have oily skin and by the end of the day my face does still get a shine but it's less than with other foundations I have used.
I am a redhead with fair skin and my only wish it that the shade 01 was a teeny bit lighter in color.
Overall pretty happy with the product and price and will continue to shop at the Body Shop because of their social activism.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Oil-Free Foundation SPF 15
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Westminster
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
GREAT PRODUCT! Proper way to apply is WITH A BRUSH
Date:October 26, 2012
As with all thick, full-coverage, matte (usually dries faster so it's harder to blend) foundations, the trick to a flawless natural finish- and also the easiest way- is to apply it with a brush. This is one of those products. Do not even try to apply it with your fingers because you will find that it's hard to blend and that it streaks. Use a full, dense, nicely packed bristles buffing brush (dome shaped is best but flat top would work as well).
This foundation is amazing! It really is full coverage- it covers everything without having to use a concealer. It is VERY matte (so best recommended to oily skin- you'll find it drying if you have dry skin)- and if applied correctly you can get such a beautiful looking finished skin. I love that it's oil-free. It's breathable, it feels light and not too heavy, and- if applied correctly- it is not cakey! It looks very natural on my skin. I have very acne-prone skin and oily skin, and this foundation does the trick. It's best if you use a primer underneath. It works with the Body Shop Matte It Primer for a very matte finish overall. When the weather is cold and my skin gets a little dry with too much matte product, I use Laura Geller's Spackle Under Makeup Primer which is more hydrating. Highly recommended!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Oil-Free Foundation SPF 15
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Rochester
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Great Blemish Coverage!
Date:July 24, 2012
I am in my mid-thirties and suffer from adult acne and mild sun damage (aka, age spots) and have tried so many foundations over the years. Finding coverage to zap the redness out of a pimple AND cover brown discoloration, without it sinking into pores and fine lines can be rather difficult. This morning I stumbled across The Body Shop and the friendly staff helped me sort through some skincare and recommended this foundation. I bought it and tried it when I got home. One pump covered my face and my flaws beautifully. I steam cleaned the hall, took a nap then went to dinner with a friend and when arriving home to rinse my face for bed, I'm shocked. Still no shine? Is it possible? The coverage is still there? Its not sunk in to my pores or lines? WOW. I'm giving this five stars, although I should wait a week to see of the SPF breaks me out, but still, the coverage deserves five stars alone. My first face purchase with The Body Shop has been a success!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
LucyR
 
Please wait while more information about LucyR is loaded.
Additional information about LucyR could not be loaded.
UPDATE
Posted August 22, 2012
Since I was hesitant on giving this 5 stars without knowing how it would do with my breakouts, I decided to give an update.
I have been using this for a few weeks, everyday, and usually at least once a week forget to wash before passing out for the night. HORRIBLE of me, I know, BUT I am human. Still, I have noticed no additional breakouts. Not only is this a 5 star product, but its also one that I will forever keep in my makeup bag....and in a small retouch jar in my purse. :)
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Oil-Free Foundation SPF 15
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Philly
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Male
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Shine
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Light looking Makeup with full coverage
Date:October 11, 2013
Well, first off I'm a guy. So it's hard to find product that really covers a five o'clock shadow. You can use it really lightly to just give your skin a finished look, or if you are a dude, just load it up and go at it. The only problem is that if you use too much of this foundation and then try to contour and highlight sometimes it looks dirty, but just apply lightly. (Unless you are a guy.) Enjoy it!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Katttt
 
Please wait while more information about Katttt is loaded.
Additional information about Katttt could not be loaded.
Not heavy, easily blended.
Posted December 26, 2013
I'm not one to usually wear makeup, but after feeling that my acne scars were preventing me from feeling confident, I got this foundation in shade 10. The employees were also very nice. I was hesitant at first because I never wore makeup before, but an employee offered me a sample. Unfortunately, they didn't have a shade that matched my skin tone, but she told me to try it and so i did. Though the shade was a little too dark, I was able to blend it in really nicely, making it completely unnoticeable that I was wearing foundation, which is a big confidence booster. I love that it's soft and light and that I can't even feel it. It's AMAZING.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Oil-Free Foundation SPF 15
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Iowa
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: Daily
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Love this foundation!
Date:May 29, 2013
When I first started using this foundation, it seemed thick & dry. It took me until I was 1/3 of the way through the bottle to really like it. I tend to have combo/oily skin, but this foundation stays put and my face doesn't feel oily at the end of the day. I also use the Nutriganics line of serum and moisturizer and this foundation goes on really nice over the top of them. I would highly recommend this foundation if you have combination skin. It does take some getting used to as it is a thicker consistency than other foundations I've used. One bottle has lasted me for 7 months.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Oil-Free Foundation SPF 15
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Orlando, FL
Gender: Female
Age: 45 - 49
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Hazel
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Shine
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
I'm pleased with this foundation
Date:April 20, 2013
I apply this foundation with the TBS foundation brush. I like that it's oil free and has an SPF. It covers well, but I can't do my whole face at once because it's kinda thick, and dries too quickly. That's the only thing I don't like about it.
It provides good coverage, and doesn't feel heavy on my skin. I'm really impressed how it controls oil. I'm not blotting my face all day long when I wear this. I use it with the skin primer matte it, tea tree concealer and pressed face powder.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Oil-Free Foundation SPF 15
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Location: Portland
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Shine
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Not My Favorite
Date:March 13, 2013
I usually use the Extra Virgin Minerals Liquid Foundation, and I really like it, but I wanted to try the Oil Free since my face tends to get a little oily...but apparently it doesn't get oily enough to work well with this foundation. It makes my face feel really dry and even looks dry in certain places. However the color is a really great match, and I think it's a fair amount of product for the price.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Oil-Free Foundation SPF 15
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Good for everyday, light coverage
Date:August 4, 2012
I saw someone else say it was really thick. I usually mix a pump of it with my seaweed daytime moisturizer. This works for me with the tea tree concealer for everyday light coverage. If i want a heavier coverage, I apply the moisturizer first, apply a pump to a pump and a half using a brush for fuller coverage. I think this is a great product, much better than what I've tried from the drug store and cost effective compared to department store type products.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Oil-Free Foundation SPF 15
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Detroit
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Great foundation
Date:August 3, 2012
I was using the Extra Virgin Minerals powder foundation and I liked the coverage but skin would get really oily after a few hours. I switched to this and have been very happy. It goes on smoothly, gives good coverage, and I don't need to use blotting papers.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Oil-Free Foundation SPF 15
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: North Wales
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Really Bad Foundation
Date:July 13, 2012
It could probably be just me, but I'm so fair that even the lightest shade was about 3 shades too dark, probably more, and it was so cakey it looked like I had a mask on. It also didn't blend well when I tried to at least make it passable that I wasn't wearing foundation. There was that dreaded line of demarcation so I had to return it. I'm sticking with their powder mineral foundation instead. This is not a bash fest against The Body Shop. I'm in love with their skincare, body care, and other makeup. I've just had zero luck in finding a liquid foundation that's right for me.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Oil-Free Foundation SPF 15
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: SC via NY
Gender: Female
Age: 50 -54
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Shade numbers not the same as Moisture line
Date:July 5, 2012
Color shade numbers are not the same shades as the Moisture Foundations. I don't know why! I have the Moisture one in an 08 and it's perfect. I figured I'd try the Oil-Free for the summer, ordered 08 and it's way too dark. Returned it to the store, brought my Moisture 08 bottle with me and they don't even have a shade that is the same as my 08. Compromised on the shade with my new Oil Free, and I'm still not loving it. It seems to be a good product, but shade is a big consideration with a foundation. Not sure I'll be purchasing this one again. Purchased on sale, so happy with the price. Only 4 stars on the performance and overall because I end up avoiding using this product because of the shade. :\
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Oil-Free Foundation SPF 15
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: North Wales, PA
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Best foundation Ever!
Date:June 26, 2012
I got this foundation during a promotion, because I was dying to get it but was hesitating to because of the high price.
It was a little over $11 when I got it, so I'm happy.
I definitely LOVE this product. I have an oily skin with some major breakouts, but the shade 5 of this product was perfect for covering up the blemishes and still didn't make my face all shiny like most of the liquid foundations w/ SPF's do.
I use this over the Seaweed Moisturizer with SPF 15, and it completely protects my skin from the sun, controls my oily-ness, but still gives moisture to prevent major breakouts.
I definitely would buy this again! One of my favorite products from the Body Shop!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Oil-Free Foundation SPF 15
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Collinsville
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
OIL FREE!!! YES PLEASE!!!
Date:May 15, 2012
I have very finicky skin. This foundation has left my skin smooth and acne free for a long time. And it doesn't take much to cover your face so you don't fly through it very fast. Very happy with the product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Oil-Free Foundation SPF 15
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Tempe, AZ
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Good but very thick
Date:May 9, 2011
I first tried the moisture foundation, which turned out a mistake because it doesn't fit my skin type at all, making me feel uncomfortable. It was great that I could exchange for this oil free one (Seems I can only use oil free product).
The only problem is that it is much thicker and hard to apply. It dries quickly so almost impossible to smooth on evenly. So I mix it with my moisture gel before applying. After putting it on in this way, it feels smooth and soft when you touch. And lightweight, comfortable, looks nice. Sometimes a little dry flaky but probably due to the weather here. All in all a good product.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Oil-Free Foundation SPF 15
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Orem
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Best foudation
Date:March 22, 2011
I have oily skin and have been on the hunt for years for a good or even decent foundation. I have tried department foundations all the way down to ones from the grocery store and none of them perform quite like this one. The coverage is fantastic without feeling heavy. It doesnt leave my skin looking oily but rather smooth. The bottle last forever too so it is totally worth the price. My only complaint would be that around 5ish in the evening it has faded a little but not bad at all.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Oil-Free Foundation SPF 15
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Lancaster
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Blue
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: Daily
Bring it Back!!
Date:August 6, 2014
This foundation is amazing! I have very fair skin and this blends in perfectly with my skin. My only complaint is that I can not find it anywhere anymore!! I am not sure if it was discontinued, but it needs to come back!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Oil-Free Foundation SPF 15
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Atlanta, GA
Body Shop employee: No
Sad to see this product go
Date:June 8, 2014
When I switched from powder to liquid foundation, I loved that this product was oil-free as I have oily skin. I am sad to learn that the replacement liquid foundation (Virgin Minerals) was not going to be oil-free, and there was not going to be another oil-free offering. Will just have to wait and see if I will like using Virgin Minerals.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Oil-Free Foundation SPF 15
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Wheaton
Body Shop employee: No
Great Product
Date:March 18, 2014
I really like this foundation. It's stays fresh all day and covers pores and other imperfections.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Oil-Free Foundation SPF 15
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Hayden
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Light
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Blemishes
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
Be careful with spf!
Date:January 21, 2014
Be careful when using spf foundations if you are planning on having any photography done! It creates a funny glow, and if you're like me and usually only use liquid foundation around your eyes, you will look like you were in a tanning bed with the goggles on for too long in the photos. Otherwise, I like this stuff! Seems to blend well. I have never used liquid foundation before and it covers way better than pressed powder. I like how it evens my complexion and the color match is perfect. I set it with loose powder foundation. I am the same color in this as I am with the loose powder and the pressed powder.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Oil-Free Foundation SPF 15
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Providence, RI
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Shine
Frequency: Daily
One of the better ones I have tried
Date:December 5, 2013
I bought this because it was on sale and thought I would give it a try.
To my surprise, i loved it. I have a combo skin (T zone). The coverage is excellent and keeps the oily nose from creeping in around lunchtime and does not dry out my cheek areas.
I used to use the mineral power type make-up, but I think I will stick with this one.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>