Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Extra Virgin Minerals™ Liquid Foundation

Average Customer Rating:
4.038 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
rating snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
1
81%would recommend to a friend
Customer Reviews for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Liquid Foundation
Review 1 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Liquid Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
MaggieB
Location: Palatka, Florida
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Above 60
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Other
Frequency: Daily
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Love this foundation!
Date:March 17, 2014
I hope the Body Shop is not going to discontinue this product. I am 67 years old, have normal to dry skin, and since I have been using this foundation my complexion has actually IMPROVED! Love the color, the moisturizing properties, even the smell (clean!) I use the foundation brush to apply it. It goes on smooth, covers great, and takes very little product to get the job done. I put a little bit on the back of my left hand, and use that as a pallette and I swear that hand is softer and smoother on the back now than my right one! I STRONGLY recommend this foundation.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Liquid Foundation
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
JadeD
Location: NC
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Green
SkinType: Combination
Frequency: Daily
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
LOVE this foundation, in the right shade...
Date:November 29, 2013
I have been using this foundation for about a year and a half. I love the coverage, the texture, even the scent. The foundation brush is the best way to apply, and a little goes a long way. The only downside is I have a fair complexion and my shade seems to have disappeared! I started out with 102 Natural Ivory and it was perfect. Next time I ordered it was out, so I purchased 105 Rose Ivory and it was okay. Then next time, both colors were out, so I tried 108 Golden Ivory. Whoa--it was nearly orange! Right now I'm on 202 Natural Vanilla, and it is workable, but I miss my perfect shade. I only shop TBS online because the nearest store is an hour away, but if I'm ever near one, I'll check to see if they have my shade in stock. 5 star if it comes back!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hera
 
Please wait while more information about Hera is loaded.
Additional information about Hera could not be loaded.
102 or 105
Posted January 20, 2014
Please bring back the 102 shade. I have a very fair skin and this was the only shade that worked perfectly with my skin color. 105 also works but that is not available any longer. Then I tried to order 202 based on reviews for fair skin but that is not available either.
I purchased 108 but it is a terrible color for me, way too orange/yellow. It makes me look like I have a severe case of jaundice.
I love this product and would love to see my shade back.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Liquid Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shekong1
Location: Plainview NY
Best foundation
Date:July 13, 2013
Great coverage and even better when used with the foundation brush! Love it.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Liquid Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
xquisit
Location: USA
Wonderful
Date:June 19, 2013
I love this product. I have dry to combination skin all year round, and though I do not use everyday, I can say it helps with keeping my skin moisturized. Plus, I do not have to apply a lot.
Best part, the product is made with extra virgin minerals, SPF, and worth the money.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Liquid Foundation
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
BB33
Location: Beaverton
SkinType: Combination
Frequency: Daily
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Not good for oily skin/combo skin
Date:March 19, 2013
This foundation definitely goes on better with a brush. It blends well and doesn't break me out but it does tend to make my face oily by midday even when using a powder over it.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
pat59va
 
Please wait while more information about pat59va is loaded.
Additional information about pat59va could not be loaded.
mix em up
Posted October 27, 2013
I combine this with a small amount of oil free foundation and get a great look and finish without the oily sheen I also got with the bare minerals alone. Love the combo,
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Liquid Foundation
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Enutoki
Location: vegas, nv
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
Use a brush
Date:February 2, 2013
I normally put foundation using my fingers, however that did not work well with this foundation for me. I find that it doesn't blend very well and sort of create a semi "heavy" mask - so after about 5 tries, I almost threw it away. A last ditch effort, I apply the foundation with Mac 130 (Short Duo Fiber) brush and lo and behold it really gives a flawless finish ! :) I have also tried it with the elf flat top powder brush and it also works :)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Liquid Foundation
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
BeautyExplorer35
Location: Northern CA
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Not oil free as advertised in the store
Date:January 16, 2013
This review may be premature, but this is my review of the product thus far... I have combination to oily, acne prone skin, however, during the winter, my skin is a little drier. I had ordered the oil free liquid foundation online and it was the wrong color so I went to exchange it and get matched. Turns out there is no match in the oil free so I went with this one, the Extra Virgin Mineral foundation. It was advertised as oil-free, however, clearly, it is not which is the reason for 4 out of 5 stars. I tend to use oil free products only, due to my skin type, but I'll give this one a try since it's winter time and I'm drier than usual. It was also 50% off making it even more attractive, lol.
I washed my face when I got home to try it on again in different lighting (the normal lighting where I apply my make-up everyday). I left it on for 10-15 minutes to see how it oxidized. It looks extremely natural and sinks right into my skin without the heavy or cakey look or feel. I applied it with my fingers and let me say, the make up didn't wash off my fingers with soap very easily at all. That right there tells me this will be long wearing and long lasting, which is what I desire in a foundation too. I did have to wash my face twice to remove it completely.
My favorite part of this product is how well it blends and how natural it looks. I have discoloration and acne scars and it evenly blended looking close to flawless. I think the lady at the store is right, no powder is needed. In my opinion, it makes it look a little cakey and less natural.
I'm glad I found a very natural, well matched liquid foundation that seems to be durable. I will post another review after a whole, long day of wear without touch ups (that will be tomorrow). And hopefully the oils won't break me out, fingers are crossed!!!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Liquid Foundation
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Curlytop
Location: Prescott, Arizona
Gender: Female
Age: Above 60
Color isn't true
Date:January 12, 2013
I have used the Extra Virgin Minerals compact foundation for a couple of years, in the #205 rose vanilla shade. I moved in the last year, and there is no store in my area, so I now order online. At Christmas, there was a great sale, so I placed an order for several items. When I tried to order the compact foundation, the shade was no longer available. Not out of stock, but not even listed any longer. So I thought I'd try the liquid, since it shows the same shade, #205 rose vanilla. However, when I tried it, it was orange! I still have some of the compact makeup, and it's obviously a totally different shade. So I woudn't recommend this product unless you have personally tried the color in a store.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Liquid Foundation
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
cactusgirl
Location: Tucson, AZ
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
Great foundation for a novice
Date:September 19, 2012
I have never really worn foundation before, but thought it was time to try one. I like this one because it evens out my skin without a thick cover. I have freckles and I like that the foundation is thin enough to still let the freckles show, but heavy enough to fix red spots and even out my face. I didn't think it worked that well until I bought the Body Shop's foundation brush, but I find that applying it using the brush really helps. Also, a little bit goes a looooong way, which makes it a good value. I bought the fair color, and it seems to match my skin really well. I don't know if it really lasts all day--I would definitely reapply before going out again after work--but it does the job for me!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Liquid Foundation
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
RainyDayWoman
Location: Los Angeles
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
Great Light Coverage
Date:September 19, 2012
I loved this foundation over summer. I live in a hot climate and I didn't want to feel my makeup in summer. This was light, my skin could breathe, and I got more compliments on my skin than i have in a long time. It's light, but it covers enough. Not great for layering or heavy coverage. But will give you a nice, dewy, refreshed look. I gave it 4 instead of 5 because it does come off if I blow my nose too soon after, wish it stayed on a little better.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Liquid Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
ashs
Location: gilbert az
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
love love love this foundation!!!
Date:September 18, 2012
I have tried so many foundations and this is my very favorite. I have naturally red cheeks and this foundation is great to cover them up without feeling cakey.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Liquid Foundation
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
moxeemaxee
Location: San Jose
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
Great Purchase
Date:August 19, 2012
I really like this product. I was looking for a mineral liquid foundation.I tried it for the first time and it gave me good medium coverage. I feel it works really good with a stippling brush. However, I have oily skin and I had to use the matte prime under it. I will definitely buy it again.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Liquid Foundation
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Auryn17
Location: Boston, MA
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
Kinda Good summertime foundation
Date:July 31, 2012
I was looking for a foundation to wear this summer that wouldn't feel horrible on my oily skin. This foundation achieves that, but it has some drawbacks. It's sheer, but I find I can't really layer it without it feeling like just a film on my skin. It comes off easily, even with a touch of powder on top. As a result I don't feel it lasts very long, which is a bummer. I'm not sure I'd buy this again, but I'll wear it for another few months until colder weather sets in.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Liquid Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lilyd
Location: Sturbridge
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
So many compliments
Date:May 7, 2012
I have never had so many compliments on how my face looks. I have battled for years with oily skin and trying to hide some scarring. I love Body Shop products because they are natural but needed more coverage than the mineral powder foundation. So when they came out with the liquid mineral, I was so excited. People tell me that my skin looks so healthy and radiant and glowing. It's wonderful to hear. I will keep purchasing this foundation!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Liquid Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nadine68
Location: Safety Harbor
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
Safe product
Date:April 24, 2012
I insist on makeup that doesn't contain dangerous chemicals. I'm so happy that the Body Shop offers a foundation I can feel good about using, in a light shade for my pale complexion. Goes on silky smooth, covers evenly, and looks completely natural.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Liquid Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
HoneyOrTar
Location: Tucson
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Wow
Date:March 25, 2012
I have been searching for a foundation that A) doesn't make me breakout, B) covers blemishes/acne scars, and C) can still have a dewy fresh finish and coverage. I love this foundation because the olive oil in it REALLY makes a difference, it soaks into your skin instead of staying glossy, it doesn't need touch ups, and it lasts all day. Something I never thought I be able to say without makeup. I'm paranoid about my makeup wearing/rubbing off so I'm constantly checking and touching it up. It was such a relief to be able to hug someone and not have your makeup smudge onto their t-shirt. I have ridiculously dry, VERY sensitive, temperamental skin. I had to stop using powder because it was too drying and my face literally had flakes. I cannot use any drugstore makeup due to my sensitive skin, so I tried the Jane Iredale liquid foundation. I wanted to like it so bad, but it had the coverage of a tinted moisturizer which wasn't for me. I was looking online for something else and for whatever reason I look here(I didn't know the body shop even had makeup) The olive oil foundation caught my attention because right away I knew it wouldn't dry my skin out. I got some of it, took it home and put it on, and its heavenly. I have NEVER loved a foundation. I hope they don't discontinue this because it the only foundation I've ever liked. It doesn't make me breakout,and covers my scars AND looks natural.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Liquid Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
earthmother
Location: Bergen County, NJ
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
excellent formula, virgin olive oil scent
Date:March 13, 2012
I can understand why the reviews on this one is 50/50. The first time I tried it, my face looked like an oil spill and I was so turned off by the heaviness. But then I realized that: I applied too much product, I didn't blend the product well on my face, and I used my fingertips to apply.
True, it is oilier than most foundations, but the ingredients are truly superb, all-natural, and good for your skin. Really! Now, after a couple more tries, I've finally got the "right" steps to apply it.
1) you'll only need a teeny-weeny amount--5 dots to be exact, on forehead, cheeks, nose, and chin. I still use my usual moisturizer underneath.
2) Then blend well using the mineral brush. Yes, that mineral powder round brush! I use this brush on any liquid because it really blends/spreads well and since it's synthetic, the bristles stay put.
3) dust powder ever so lightly on t-zone to set. The result is an airbrushed, dewy and lightweight unmade-makeup look!!!
Promise, try it this way and you'll fall in love with this product. It is very light and the scent is of fruity extra-virgin olive oil. Furthermore, after I cleansed my face by the end of the day, my skin is as soft as a baby's bottom. Really! I plan to use this during the colder months because it's very moisturizing. I would avoid it during summer and stick to tinted moisturizer.
Caution if you're oily, this might not be for you. I have combo/dry skin in the winter and combo/normal in the summer. I hope this helps. Last thought, try to get it on sale. I think the price is high for just a 0.6 oz bottle.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Liquid Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
llga
Location: Naples, FL
Gender: Female
Age: 45 - 49
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Pleasantly surprised!
Date:January 3, 2012
Fully expecting this formula to be "oily/greasy" after reading the reviews, and figuring I'd have to deal with some shininess with blotting powder, this was NOT at all greasy on me.. My skin is "normal," and I found the texture to be PERFECT. Dewy, matte and hydrating. Furthermore, the coverage is medium to full (depending on how I spread it) and at least thus far, seems to blend well. NO complaints! Like the title says, "pleasantly surprised."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Liquid Foundation
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
KimY
Location: Pennsylvania
Gender: Female
Age: 50 -54
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Not quite there
Date:December 18, 2011
This takes a little getting use to. Its not like any of the other Body Shop foundations I have used. It may be that I didn't order the right shade. I will continue to try to get adusted to the way it works. NOT saying its a bad product. I just may not know how to use it. It may be great for you.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Extra Virgin Minerals™ Liquid Foundation
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
star
Location: Dubai
Gender: Female
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Extra Virgin Minerals Liquid Foundation is my HG!
Date:November 26, 2011
This is an awesome product! I have incredibly sensitive, allergenic, acne prone skin which is combination oily and dry as well as sundamaged! I have used the Laura Mercier mineral powder for years which is great and never specifically broke me out (although I still had spots using it) however mineral powders can be kind of cakey and annoying to apply with all the buffing etc. The Extra Virgin Minerals Liquid Foundation has managed to replace all of that hassle! It has natural SPF(from titanium) natural (no fragrance, parabens, sillicones etc) comegenic, antioxidants, blendable and non transferrable! I do not have perfect skin and it covered my thread veins, blemishes and red blotches to my satisfaction but not completely. The coverage is slightly sheer more in the texture of a tinted moisturiser. If you have heavy duty acne I would say you need a concealer also. Overall this really worked for me. It is so hard to find good products let alone natural ones! My face does get a little shiny towards the end of the day (I live in the desert) I do not mind this (some people like a dewy look) but if you want to stay matt a bit of blotting and further application solves this. The colours are varied and nicely toned. I use Golden Vanilla which makes me look naturally sunkissed. (I have very pale skin with yellowish undertones) I did not notice any oxidisation or color change during the day. I LOVE this product! My HG foundation for sure!Thank you Body Shop!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>