Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Chocomania Body Butter

Chocomania Body Butter
Average Customer Rating:
4.157 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(185 Reviews) 182
Open Ratings Snapshot
rating snapshot (185 reviews)
5 stars
111
4 stars
33
3 stars
16
2 stars
9
1 star
16
78%would recommend to a friend
Customer Reviews for Chocomania Body Butter
Review 1 for Chocomania Body Butter
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Location: Adelanto
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Where's the Chocolate?
Date:January 21, 2012
I would have liked to have more intense chocolate scent in this one...it smells more like the almond/shea than anything. If I'm not mistaken, this smells alot like the cocoa butter too. The chocolate scent is very faint. But of course it is very moisturizing as all the body butters are. Not completely disappointed with this purchase but not exactly thrilled.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Chocomania Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Las Vegas
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Blemishes
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Awesome! But smells off
Date:September 23, 2013
It definitely does smell good! But it has a bit of a weird salty scent to it that the other chocomania products don't. Still love it though, I'll definitely use it up. Not sure if I'll buy again, I like the shower cream and lip butters much better.
Brazil nut body spray smells nice with the chocolate stuff!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Chocomania Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Seattle
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
WORKS AMAZING
Date:April 17, 2012
i have tried many of tbs body butters and this is by far my favorite. all of their butters are extremely moisturizing and have great scents but this one works the best. it gives you 48 hours of moisture so its a better deal then the other ones because its the same price. its really rich and creamy but not greasy at all. the scent is great too! would def. recommend other chocomania items, and would def recommend this butter.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Chocomania Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Waldorf, MD
Gender: Female
Age: 45 - 49
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Amazing Find
Date:May 16, 2012
I found this product by accident, and can't say enough about how wonderful it makes my skin feel. I use it everywhere and my skin has never felt (or smelled) better! Thank you Body Shop for this product. Please keep it in stock!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Chocomania Body Butter
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
4 / 5
4 / 5
Location: Salem
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Fyi: tastes terrible!
Date:February 25, 2012
Was a little surprised when I received this one. It smells very little of chocolate and much more of a subtle cocoa almond scent. Still a decently good scent though. And as always, The Body Shop Body Butters are super moisturizing and creamy. Just be careful not to get any near your mouth or have your sweetie kiss you. It tastes super bitter! Was shocked that it never fully absorbed and the taste lingered on my skin. Kept wiping my mouth because of the taste and realized I was only wiping it on further from the butter that remained on my hands. When my husband kissed my neck the next day he had to run and brush his teeth. Its that bad. :p
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Chocomania Body Butter
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
LOVE except for one thing...
Date:February 12, 2012
I'm completely addicted to EVERYTHING Body Shop and was SUPER excited for Chocomania. I love the smell and it moisturizes amazingly! The ONLY issue I have with it is the taste that can rub off onto other things if you put it on your hands. Other than that, fantastic!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Chocomania Body Butter
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Gender: Female
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
I wasn't a fan!
Date:January 27, 2012
I didn't like the smell as much as I thought I would! It is more like a sweeter-smelling cocoa butter. It gets a little sticky if you wear it a long time, but the worst part is I usually put body butter on my hands and if I accidentally rub it against my face/lips I can taste a really bad chemically taste that lingers.
First product I didn't really enjoy from TBS.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Chocomania Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: NYC
Body Shop employee: No
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Combination
SkinConcern: Other
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
My favorite so far!!!!
Date:March 9, 2014
I came across this butter once when I was in the store getting a gift for my parents. Once I smelled this I was in heaven!!!! It is strongly scented enough but not overwhelming, it is not too sweet, it doesn't smell too young, and it is not straight up chocolate bar like; I can't describe it too well but it is somewhat masculine which I love but it is not manly, it has a creamy and chocolatey undertone. I can best describe the scents as a well perfumed woman in a chocolate store!!!! I bought it without trying it on my skin and just for the smell.
When I got home and opened it and touched it, it was soooooooooo thick which I thought to be perfect for my ashy, itchy, dry winter skin; I thought correct, very moisturizing!!!! However, it s a bit greasy for a few minutes depending on how your skin condition is; but after a few minutes it sinks in my skin and it leaves it very moisturized, soft, and glowey!!!! No more itchy and ashy skin. I find that this moisturizes from 7:30am when I apply it all the way when I take a shower at 8pm. I have to scrub it off well or I'd feel as I have a film on my skin which I can actually scrape off with nails eww(I apply a lot since my skin is very dry). On times when I take a bath, I can feel the body butter in the water and my skin.
The scent last quite a while, maybe a couple of hours, which is ok because perfumes don't last long on me anyway.
I also use this as a shaving creme and it is awesome!!! Non irritating and closest shave ever, but if you shave in the bath, it can leave an oily film on your tub.
This body butter is close to perfect if it wasn't for the horrible taste!!!! I can only wear this when I'm not with my boyfriend because even thought he loves this scent on me, he kissed me once on my shoulder while I had this on and he said I tasted HORRIBLE; he is correct I had applied this on my hands once and my hair got in my mouth when I put my finger in my mouth to take it out, I ran to brush my teeth. However, I still love this body butter and I will use this as my "perfume" in the summer!!!!!!!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Chocomania Body Butter
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: Missoula
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Sucrose? Really? In a LOTION?!?!?!
Date:January 24, 2012
Okay, I reallllllly wanted to love this product. I love Body Shop. I was really reluctant because of the questions, "Do I want to smell like chocolate? Would it make me crave chocolate?" So I purchased the body butter (full size), lip butter, and travel sizes of the body lotion and shower cream.
The shipment arrived today and I opened up the products. The smell was unique. I *think* it might be nice, but I'm unsure. I put some of the body butter on my hands to try out this 48 hr hydration...and I noticed my hands felt sticky. I thought it might be my imagination and the power of suggestion from the chocolate imagery. So I peeled the label back to look at the ingredient list and see SUCROSE listed. Sucrose is also known as table sugar. What is this doing in a lotion? Maybe it was something else making my hands sticky, but the idea that sugar is in a lotion...are you serious? I am supposed to put this on my entire body (it is the body butter after all) and coat myself in sugar? I checked the label for the body lotion and it did not include sucrose. And immediately after washing my hands with Body Shop Satsuma Liquid Hand Soap and applying some of the travel size chocomania body lotion on my hands, I pulled up the website to write this review.
And I have never, ever returned anything, but if I had a body shop location near me, I would return this. It is too big to take on my carry-on and return at the Sea-Tac airport location so I will just eat the money. Incidentally, is the full ingredient list for this product available online? I will have to check.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Chocomania Body Butter
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Location: Hershey, PA
Gender: Female
Age: 50 -54
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
The Chocolate smell is too overwhelming!
Date:September 18, 2012
I tried this product when it first came out and I have to say I was disappointed. The smell of the chocolate is overwhelming and not in a good way. Heaven forbid that you inadvertantly put your finger in your mouth after you have the cream on your hands ... it almost makes one sick!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Chocomania Body Butter
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: Nashville
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
why so many ingredients ??
Date:February 23, 2012
"Sucrose (Flavoring Agent)" is the 5th ingredient out of a huge list of ingredients...WHY ? WHY ? Sometimes less is more specially when you are making natural body products.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Chocomania Body Butter
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: San Diego
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Disappointed
Date:February 5, 2012
I don't like this product at all, and I am a body-shop-a-holic!
Didn't moisturize enough for me, and the smell isn't pleasant at all. I was excepting a deliciously intense chocolate smell that would drive the sane mad. Nope, not at all,nooooooooo, not even close. I take a shower first thing before breakfast, well, I found out that the lotion has a NASTY taste, it got on my breakfast sandwich from my hands. Ewww.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Chocomania Body Butter
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Location: Los Altos, CA
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Disappointed
Date:February 5, 2012
I am quite disappointed to the fact that it does not smell like chocolate at all. It smells like coconut instead.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Chocomania Body Butter
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Location: Tulsa
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Disappointing at Best
Date:February 7, 2012
If you're looking for something that smells like chocolate, this isn't it. With such scrumptious, indulgent looking packaging, I was expecting a really decadent and rich chocolate scent. Instead, this smells faintly of dead flowers and cocoa butter with a touch of sweaty feet. Couldn't wait to wash it off. Once again, Body Shop has an awesome idea poorly executed.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Chocomania Body Butter
overall
1 / 5
1 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality
1 / 5
1 / 5
Location: Atlanta
Gender: Female
Age: 35 - 39
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
HORRIBLE!!
Date:February 7, 2012
This stuff smells horrible! It literally stinks..I can't wait to take it back. I purchased it to make my kids smell nice and chocolatey but after trying it out myself, I jumped right in the shower to get it off me. Who's idea was it to associate it with chocolate?? Don't buy this!!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Chocomania Body Butter
overall
2 / 5
2 / 5
Performance
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Location: Ohio
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Not My Favorite
Date:February 3, 2012
I did not find this body butter moisturizing enough for my dryer skin. The scent was okay (sweet & creamy), but not exactly chocolatey.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Chocomania Body Butter
overall
3 / 5
3 / 5
Performance
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
2 / 5
2 / 5
Location: Lighthouse Point
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Rather waxy in consistency
Date:October 11, 2014
I find that while this product smells amazing, it's very waxy and actually as I'm massaging it into my skin it sort of peels off and leaves brown bits everywhere, which is pretty gross. I do love the smell, though, but I can still smell like chocolate using the perfume or the body scrub. I wouldn't buy this again unless they change the recipe.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Chocomania Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Chicago
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: 40 - 44
SkinTone: Dark
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Normal
Frequency: Daily
Sad that it's gone!!!
Date:September 22, 2014
I love chocomania! I had been looking for a chocolate scent for a long time and thought I could keep coming back:( love the way it moisturizers and the smell lasts all day!
PLEASE BRING ANOTHER CHOCOLATE SCENT!!!!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Chocomania Body Butter
overall
4 / 5
4 / 5
Performance
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality
3 / 5
3 / 5
Location: Mission Viejo
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: 25 - 34
SkinTone: Medium
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Normal
SkinConcern: Lack of Firmness
Frequency: 2-3 times/week
Chocolate Yum
Date:September 19, 2014
I bought this product when it first came out and I have to say that I liked the original version MUCH better than the new version they have now. It was more moisturizing and actually lasted for about 48 hours like the label said it would. This was perfect for me because there would be some days where I would have to be at work for over 24 hours so the body butter made me feel reassured that my skin was stayed undehydrated. And the chocolaty smell was AMAZING. Sometimes i was tempted to taste the body butter cause it was so intoxicating but after having accidentally done that once I can recommend NOT to do that. This newer version works just about the same but with half of the effect of the older version; smell is less intense and the body butter feels like it lasts only about 24 hours now. I would still recommend this to a friend as I still use it myself but do miss the original.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Chocomania Body Butter
overall
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performance
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality
5 / 5
5 / 5
Location: Springfield,MO
Body Shop employee: No
I received a free trial of this product: No
Gender: Female
Age: Below 25
SkinTone: Fair
Eye color: Brown
SkinType: Dry
SkinConcern: Other
Frequency: Daily
Chocomania 4 Ever!
Date:August 28, 2014
I personlly Love it!Smells like expensive chocolate!A little perfumey,but it's still fades away after a while.Phew!For $10 it's worth a try!I had to go back to stock up.Was told they're discontinuing it....Hope they bring it back.
Hopefully before I run out!Lol!
OBTW:SUPER MOISTURIZING!I don't even need lotion throughout the day!Yay!
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>